HARDING UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HARDING UNIVERSITY (EIN 71-0236896)
Tax period
2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
Filed
2024-05-14
IRS object ID
202421359349310717
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-05-14T03:53:31-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710236896EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHARDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5012794018PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Box 10772AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTamara HallPersonNm
Person TitleVP of Finance and CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5012794018PhoneNum
Signature2024-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerfalseDiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstTamaraPersonFirstNm
Person LastHallPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMichael D WilliamsPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1HU Box 10772AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$114,513,535GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.harding.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHardings mission is to provide a quality education that will lead to an understanding and philosophy of life consistent with Christian ideals.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body21VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent16VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee2779TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$478,314TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$75,900NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$23,616,989PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$19,265,143CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$95,040,033PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$95,034,128CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$9,875,287PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$214,264CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$128,532,309PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$114,513,535CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$179,823PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$247,173CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$69,296,324PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$69,334,078CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$48,673PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$73,654CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,881,077CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$53,583,164PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$55,932,432CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$123,107,984PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$125,587,337CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,424,325PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$11,073,802CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$471,532,675TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$475,682,750TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$55,877,789TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$71,101,666TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$415,654,886NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$404,581,084NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionHardings mission is to provide a quality education that will lead to an understanding and philosophy of life consistent with Christian ideals through the integration of faith, learning and living, as well as the development of Christian scholarship, ethics, lasting relationships, wellness and promotion of global citizenship.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$110,974,928ExpenseAmt
Revenue$95,034,128RevenueAmt
DescHigher EducationDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$110,974,928TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundYes (true)DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document6496IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee2779EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryITForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryGRForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryASForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryUKForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members21GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member16IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (true)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTamara HallPersonNm
Phone5012794018PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1915 E Market Ave Box 10772AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (31 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Michael Williams
President040.00001.00Yes (X)$187,069$0$26,631
Michael McGalliard
Dean CAH/Assoc Provost HS040.00$155,656$0$39,432Yes (X)
Tamara Hall
Secretary/Treasurer040.00001.00Yes (X)$144,288$0$41,407
Daniel Atchley
Professor Pharm Science040.00$166,732$0$17,284Yes (X)
Marty Spears
Provost040.00$151,326$0$31,124Yes (X)
Jeffrey Morgan
Athletic Director040.00$117,465$0$58,125Yes (X)
Julie Hixson-Wallace
Dean College of Pharmacy040.00$146,469$0$20,342Yes (X)
David Collins
Dean of Intercultural Education / Director Walton Scholars Program040.00$135,917$0$28,966Yes (X)
Jean-Noel Thompson
Executive Vice President040.00001.00Yes (X)$100,948$0$12,055
Bruce McLarty
President former$109,132$0$0Yes (X)
Timothy Bewley
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Craig Cheatham
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stephanie Cochran
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
James Cone
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Crews
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Harrell Freeman
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Charles Ganus
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Richard Gibson
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
James Holsombake
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michael Justus
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Robin Maynard
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Harold Redd
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Reese
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Simmons
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Swaid Swaid
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
David Waldron
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Robert Charles Walker
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rodney Waller
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Weeks
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Joe Wild
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Howard Wright
Board Member001.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,415,002TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$275,366TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K47IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNmCountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCd
Chartwells Food Service
2 International DrPort ChesterNY10573Residential food service$6,717,440
Delk Construction
111 W Booth RdSearcyAR72143Construction$4,459,594
ARAMARK Facility Services
24818 Network PlaceChicagoIL606730001Janitorial$2,454,325
Flynco
Construction$2,198,5697711 Distribution DriveLittle RockAL
Arnold-Blevins Electric Company
16 Maumelle Curve CtNorth Little RockAR72113Construction$2,043,918
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K74CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,975,271GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$17,289,872AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,802,957NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$19,265,143TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Tuition Fees611710$65,957,965$65,957,965
Housing721310$11,762,308$11,762,308
Food service722320$9,515,765$9,409,335$106,430
Bookstore455000$2,672,912$2,595,461$77,451
Sales and services611710$1,250,278$1,250,278

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,874,900TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,580,467RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$294,433UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$95,034,128TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$505,980TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$505,980RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$559,903SecuritiesAmt
Other-$851,619OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$559,903SecuritiesAmt
Other-$851,619OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$291,716TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$114,513,535TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$95,061,794RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$478,314UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$247,173TotalAmt
Program Services$247,173ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,832,224TotalAmt
Program Services$46,256,116ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,571,375ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,004,733FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,458,804TotalAmt
Program Services$3,069,625ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$315,671ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$73,508FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,282,770TotalAmt
Program Services$9,159,997ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,057,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$65,108FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,760,280TotalAmt
Program Services$3,405,587ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$307,656ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,037FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,096TotalAmt
Management And General$91,096ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$129,064TotalAmt
Management And General$129,064ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,654TotalAmt
Fundraising$73,654FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,380,585TotalAmt
Program Services$8,947,239ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$218,686ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$214,660FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,117,011TotalAmt
Program Services$552,285ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$519,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$45,326FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,824,606TotalAmt
Program Services$5,639,414ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$999,137ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$186,055FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,707,991TotalAmt
Program Services$1,106,146ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,601,845ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,110,088TotalAmt
Program Services$5,951,197ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$158,891ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,071,964TotalAmt
Program Services$5,722,416ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$276,899ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$72,649FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$402,849TotalAmt
Program Services$315,162ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$55,992ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$31,695FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,359,691TotalAmt
Program Services$1,273,586ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$86,105ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,754,533TotalAmt
Program Services$11,047,785ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$706,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,675,166TotalAmt
Program Services$1,193,596ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$469,203ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,367FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Food$2,476,144$2,377,030$61,886$37,228
Purchase for resale$2,071,859$2,071,859
Small equipment furnishings$735,117$668,540$62,808$3,769

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,024,668TotalAmt
Program Services$1,970,175ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,041,205ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,288FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$125,587,337TotalAmt
Program Services$110,974,928ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,731,332ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,881,077FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,140,939BOYAmt
EOY$1,660,525EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,540,327BOYAmt
EOY$2,629,238EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,200,675BOYAmt
EOY$11,769,820EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,073,643BOYAmt
EOY$15,098,241EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,536,949BOYAmt
EOY$1,562,321EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,385,359BOYAmt
EOY$1,284,205EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$402,529,362LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$181,156,538LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$209,325,923BOYAmt
EOY$221,372,824EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,444,517BOYAmt
EOY$86,572,499EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$124,884,343BOYAmt
EOY$133,733,077EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$471,532,675BOYAmt
EOY$475,682,750EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,103,684BOYAmt
EOY$3,413,373EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,814,563BOYAmt
EOY$3,686,359EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,870,520BOYAmt
EOY$18,368,346EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$750,000BOYAmt
EOY$750,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,339,022BOYAmt
EOY$44,883,588EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,877,789BOYAmt
EOY$71,101,666EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,318,562BOYAmt
EOY$184,873,649EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$231,336,324BOYAmt
EOY$219,707,435EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$415,654,886BOYAmt
EOY$404,581,084EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$471,532,675BOYAmt
EOY$475,682,750EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$11,073,802ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Donor Advised Funds Held3DonorAdvisedFundsHeldCnt
Donor Advised Funds Grants$67,630DonorAdvisedFundsGrantsAmt
Donor Advised Funds Vl EOY$3,208,052DonorAdvisedFundsVlEOYAmt
Disclosed Org Leg CtrlYes (true)DisclosedOrgLegCtrlInd
Disclosed For Charitable PrpsYes (true)DisclosedForCharitablePrpsInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$219,637,477BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,322,675ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$913,391InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$10,850,232GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$212,023,311EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$215,620,486BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,615,111ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,808,982InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$9,407,102GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$219,637,477EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$166,223,072BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,037,995ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$54,240,891InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$6,881,472GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$215,620,486EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$152,714,178BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,219,243ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$15,055,439InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,765,788GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$166,223,072EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$142,705,175BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,760,783ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,280,142InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$6,031,922GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$152,714,178EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.09000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.91000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,471,375OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$11,471,375BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$312,105,285OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$122,710,189DepreciationAmt
Book Value$189,395,096BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$35,542,763OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$27,765,651DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,777,112BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$30,263,335OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,020,737DepreciationAmt
Book Value$11,242,598BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,146,604OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,659,961DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,486,643BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$221,372,824TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDesc
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Managed funds$127,487,628
Investments in real estate$5,142,937
Other investments$1,102,512
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$133,733,077TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal income taxes
Payroll deductions payable$675,364
Accrued liabilities$1,971,962
Deposits and other liabiliteis$2,615,366
Reserve or split interest agreements$4,217,037
Refundable grants$2,913,307
Leases payabe$1,165,872
Unsecured lines of credit$31,324,680
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$44,883,588TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$117,948,681TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$3,435,146OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,435,146RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$114,513,535RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$114,513,535TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$129,043,646TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$3,456,308OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$3,456,308ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$125,587,338ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$125,587,338TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
V 4The Universitys endowment is intended to further the mission of Harding through scholarships and departmental support.
X 2As of June 30, 2023 the University had no uncertain tax positions that qualify for either recognition or disclosure on the financial statements. With few exceptions, the University is no longer subject to US federal, state and local income tax examinations by tax authorities for years before 2018.
XI 2dEffects of wholly-owned affiliated entity with revenues of 3,435,146.
XII 2dEffects of wholly-owned affiliated entity with expenses of 3,456,308.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line Reference6aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationVarious funding has been received by the University from federal agencies.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (5 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe Including Iceland and Greenland322Program servicesEducational programs$4,071,069
South America12Program servicesEducational programs$558,828
Sub-Saharan Africa12Program servicesEducational programs$633,694
East Asia and the Pacific11Program servicesEducational programs$513,733
Europe Including Iceland and GreenlandInvestments
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices6SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees27SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office6TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee27TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$5,777,324SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$5,777,324TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PhilantroCorpBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1111 S Tejon St Ste 520AddressLine1Txt
CityColorado SpringsCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80903ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityMailout teleconferenceActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of FundsfalseFundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Retained By Contractor$42,000RetainedByContractorAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Retained By Contractors$42,000TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (9 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
College Church of Christ
712 E Race StSearcyAR72143$76,223BookMission work
Eastern European Missions
2475 Earl Rudder Freeway SCollege StationTX77845$50,000BookMission work
Gadsen Church of Christ
PO Box 967GadsenAL35902$6,548BookMission work
Holmes Road Church of Christ
PO Box 1345SouthavenMS38671$14,400BookMission work
IHCF African Christian Hospitals
102 N LocustSearcyAR72143$30,700BookMission work
Mission UpReach
196 Alps Rd Ste 2-395AthensGA30606$40,000BookMission work
Pleasant Valley Church of Christ
10900 N Rodney Parham RdLittle RockAR72212$12,825BookMission work
Sunset International Bible Institute
3723 34th StLubbockTX79410$6,477BookMission work
Trinity International University
2065 Half Day RdDeerfieldIL60015$10,000BookMission work
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org9Total501c3OrgCnt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Michael Williams
President$187,069$16,917$9,714$213,700
Tamara Hall
Secretary/Treasurer$144,288$15,323$26,084$185,695
Michael McGalliard
Dean CAH/Assoc Provost HS$155,656$9,180$30,252$195,088
Marty Spears
Provost$151,326$15,910$15,214$182,450
Jeffrey Morgan
Athletic Director$87,465$13,253$44,873$175,591$30,000
Daniel Atchley
Professor Pharm Science$166,732$16,542$742$184,016
Julie Hixson-Wallace
Dean College of Pharmacy$146,469$14,601$5,740$166,810
David Collins
Dean of Intercultural Education / Director Walton Scholars Program$135,917$13,879$15,088$164,884
Bruce McLarty
President former$109,132$109,132

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
A521595697812254NW62017-08-30$6,095,046Refunding 10-20-2011 issuefalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
B521595697812254PK02019-12-26$7,879,085Refunding 04-01-2012 issue Refunding 03-01-2013 issuefalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
C521595697812254QB92020-12-22$9,999,756Refunding 12-10-2014 issuefalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$2,335,000$6,095,046$297,075$102,162Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$2,010,000$7,879,085$388,500$127,802Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$905,000$9,999,756$368,513$156,889Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
CfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)
CYes (true)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan To OrganizationLoanToOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
Don Lois Shores
Board memberOperating cashYes (X)$250,000$250,000falsefalseYes (true)
Shores Unitrust
Board memberOperating cashYes (X)$500,000$500,000falsefalseYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$750,000TotalBalanceDueAmt

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmtAssistance PurposeAssistancePurposeTxt
Substantial contributor
Substantial contributor$10,218Tuition discount
Family member of intetrested partie
Family member of intetrested parties$25,955Tuition discount
Substantial contributor
Substantial contributor$74,125Merit-based scholarship
Family member of intetrested partie
Family member of intetrested parties$90,956Merit-based scholarship

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVarious family membersPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionRelated to officer, trustee, and/or key employeeRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$433,812TransactionAmt
TransactionCompensationTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Closely Held Stock SecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution24ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,034,784NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesMarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$619,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesMarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)Other - Equipment3$11,848Book value
Yes (X)Ohter - Product/Service9$137,325Book value
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationUse of realtors to sell donated real estate.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11BBoard members received a copy of Harding Universitys completed Form 990 for review via e-mail.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12CBoard members and officers complete a conflict of interest questionnaire annually. Depending on potential conflict or conditions, restrictions are enforced to reduce or eliminate conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15AComparable data is made available to the board for determination of the organizations top management officials salary.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Harding Universitys governing documents and conflict of interest policy are available upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding Place IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 S BentonAddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72143ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710780709EIN
Primary ActivitiesRetirement CommunityPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501c3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status9PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (20 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
HU CRUT - 1
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716169914investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 2
36 Gloucester StLittle RockAR72227716172992investmentARTrust0.80000falseN/A
HU CRUT - 3
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716147280investmentARHU TTEETrust0.71000false
HU CRUT - 4
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716154181investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 5
2719 E Race AveSearcyAR72143716168109investmentARTrust1.00000falseN/A
HU CRUT - 6
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716171792investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 7
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716146015investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 8
Box 10772SearcyAR72149266098581investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 9
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716179445investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU Trust - 1
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716130150investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU Trust - 2
Box 12241SearcyAR72149716161353investmentARTrust1.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 3
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716171178investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU Trust - 4
Box 10772SearcyAR72149206126036investmentARHU TTEETrust0.60000false
HU Trust - 5
400 West CapitolLittle RockAR72201716185442investmentARTrust1.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 6
401 North Arkansas AveRussellvilleAR72801716098252investmentARTrust1.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 7
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716178640investmentARTrustfalseN/A
HU Trust - 8
Box 10772SearcyAR72149237380574investmentARTrustfalseN/A
HU CRUT - 11
Box 10772SearcyAR72149477059457investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 12
Box 10772SearcyAR72149816730335investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
HU CRUT - 13
Box 10772SearcyAR72149826911929investmentARHU TTEETrust1.00000false
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Harding Place
d$3,090,328Cost
Harding Place
j$171,212Cost
Harding Place
q$1,569,000Cost
Harding Place
c$400,000Cost
Harding Place
nmailing list

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.