CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOL FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOL FOUNDATION (EIN 36-4141583)
Tax period
2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
Filed
2024-04-25
IRS object ID
202411169349301121
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-04-25T15:30:19-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN362938874PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OSTROW REISIN BERK & ABRAMS LTDBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1455 N CITYFRONT PLAZA DR SUITE 1600AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60611ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364141583EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOL FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCHICBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3126515000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111 EAST ADAMS 600AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60603ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKRIS CHEUNGPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone3126515000PhoneNum
Signature2024-04-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstKRISPersonFirstNm
Person LastCHEUNGPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJAMES G QUAIDPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00641738PTIN
Phone3126707444PhoneNum
Preparation2024-04-15PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHICAGO INTERNATIONAL CHARTER SCHOOLBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKRIS CHEUNGPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111 EAST ADAMS 600AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60603ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$135,154,116GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.CHICAGOINTL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1997FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOUR VIBRANT NETWORK OF DIVERSE CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOLS ENABLES STUDENTS TO THRIVE EVERY DAY, PUTS THEM ON A PATH TO SUCCESS IN COLLEGE AND LIFE, AND EMPOWERS ENTREPRENEURIAL EDUCATORS TO PURSUE EXCELLENCE THROUGH INNOVATION.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee422TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers8TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$118,583,279PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$115,586,281CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$7,521,730PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$6,923,385CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$778,751PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$484,635CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$36,343PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$109,057CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$126,920,103PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$123,103,358CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$76,654,672PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$79,188,960CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$25,422CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$44,079,359PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$42,369,097CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$120,734,031PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$121,558,057CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$6,186,072PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,545,301CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$120,200,318TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$117,812,382TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$71,020,650TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$66,662,855TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$49,179,668NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$51,149,527NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOUR VIBRANT NETWORK OF DIVERSE CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOLS ENABLES STUDENTS TO THRIVE EVERY DAY, PUTS THEM ON A PATH TO SUCCESS IN COLLEGE AND LIFE, AND EMPOWERS ENTREPRENEURIAL EDUCATORS TO PURSUE EXCELLENCE THROUGH INNOVATION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$99,199,975ExpenseAmt
Revenue$6,923,385RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDE EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR YOUTH THROUGH THE OPERATION OF 13 CAMPUS LOCATIONS SERVING 7,127 STUDENTS IN GRADES KINDERGARTEN THROUGH TWELVE DURING FY JUNE 30, 2023. CICS' VIBRANT HUB OF DIVERSE CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOLS ENABLES STUDENTS TO THRIVE EVERY DAY, PUTS THEM ON A PATH TO SUCCESS IN COLLEGE AND LIFE, AND EMPOWERS ENTREPRENEURIAL EDUCATORS TO PURSUE EXCELLENCE THROUGH INNOVATION.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$99,199,975TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document103IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee422EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE ORGANIZATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3126515000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111 EAST ADAMS 600AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60603ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DAVID BLINDERMAN
PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID CHIZEWER
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIFFANY N JOHNSON
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VENKAT MADDILA
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK MORGAN
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN NOVELLINE
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ILEANA P RODRIGUEZ
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EVAN SHARP
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRIS CHEUNG
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER40.00$318,795$0$543Yes (X)
CHRISTINE LEUNG
PRESIDENT40.00$201,753$0$35,296Yes (X)
TORRY BENNETT-DAVIS
CEP CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER40.00$177,990$0$26,758Yes (X)
LAHARI GOUD
CEP PRESIDENT40.00$182,738$0$12,928Yes (X)
PELIN DENIZ
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER40.00$180,567$0$8,705Yes (X)
EDWINDRA JOHNSON
CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER - TERM40.00$164,589$0$11,996Yes (X)
DERRICK ORR
CEP SCHOOL PRINCIPAL40.00$145,428$0$23,213Yes (X)
ALLISON HANSEN
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER40.00$161,135$0$6,131Yes (X)
LINDSEY GIRARD
SCHOOL DIRECTOR40.00$161,230$0$0Yes (X)
TAQUIA HYLTON
CEP SCHOOL PRINCIPAL40.00$139,405$0$6,586Yes (X)
PETE PELLEGRINO
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER - TERM40.00$93,933$0$17,254Yes (X)
YESICA RUFINO-PEREZ
CHIEF GOVERNANCE OFFICER40.00$158,538$0$6,933Yes (X)
MATSUO MARTI
CHIEF SCHOOLS OFFICER40.00$140,939$0$5,351Yes (X)
TYSON DANIEL
SCHOOL PRINCIPAL40.00$135,876$0$9,056Yes (X)
CHRYSTAL FIELDS
MANAGING DIR OF STUDENT AND FAM SUPP40.00$131,048$0$0Yes (X)
ALAN JACKSON
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$123,536$0$5,718Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,617,500TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$176,468TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K21IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PROGRESSUS THERAPY LLC
2701 NORTH ROCKY POINT DRIVE SUITETAMPAFL33634SCHOOL-BASED THERAPY$505,603
NORTHCREEK
633 BROADMOOR AVEMUNSTERIN46321FACILITIES AND MAINTENANCE SERVICES$247,155
ROSE PAVING LLC
7300 W 100TH PLACEBRIDGEVIEWIL60455PAVING$204,998
DARRICK BOBO
1200 RING ROAD 1506CALUMET CITYIL60409ELECTRICIAN$167,132
SCHOOL FOOD & WELLNESS GROUP
804 MAIN ST STE C-322BATON ROUGELA70802CAMPUS FOOD MANAGEMENT$146,868
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$115,454,347GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$131,934AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$375,304NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$115,586,281TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SCHOOL LUNCH PROGRAM611600$5,759,682$5,759,682
STUDENT FEES, BOOKSTORE, EXTENDED611600$1,163,703$1,163,703
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$6,923,385TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$670,658TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$670,658ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$11,864,735SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$11,945,336SecuritiesAmt
Other$105,422OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$80,601SecuritiesAmt
Other-$105,422OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$186,023TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$186,023ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business611600BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$109,057TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$109,057ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$109,057OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$123,103,358TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$6,923,385RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$593,692ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,003,166TotalAmt
Program Services$543,960ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,436,724ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,482FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,189,467TotalAmt
Program Services$56,242,577ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,946,890ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,875,886TotalAmt
Program Services$6,285,163ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$590,442ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$281FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,619,977TotalAmt
Program Services$4,899,123ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$719,877ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$977FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,500,464TotalAmt
Program Services$2,049,581ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$449,201ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,682FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,954,675TotalAmt
Management And General$4,954,675ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,033,941TotalAmt
Program Services$4,263,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,770,267ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,803,789TotalAmt
Program Services$5,174,886ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,628,903ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,857,897TotalAmt
Program Services$5,602,955ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$254,942ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,217,807TotalAmt
Program Services$2,211,297ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,510ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,646,303TotalAmt
Program Services$4,558,236ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$88,067ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
STUDENT PROGRAMS$7,368,523$7,368,523
CPS ADMIN FEE$2,486,162$2,486,162

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,558,057TotalAmt
Program Services$99,199,975ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,332,660ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,422FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,065,733BOYAmt
EOY$33,727,244EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,510,188BOYAmt
EOY$2,960,036EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$564,618BOYAmt
EOY$328,717EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$107,538,730LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$57,121,145LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,820,446BOYAmt
EOY$50,417,585EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,952,456BOYAmt
EOY$16,840,130EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,286,877BOYAmt
EOY$13,538,670EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,200,318BOYAmt
EOY$117,812,382EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,798,943BOYAmt
EOY$8,802,248EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$113,510EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,192,807BOYAmt
EOY$47,227,650EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$331,004BOYAmt
EOY$331,004EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,697,896BOYAmt
EOY$10,188,443EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,020,650BOYAmt
EOY$66,662,855EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,155,509BOYAmt
EOY$51,122,527EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,159BOYAmt
EOY$27,000EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,179,668BOYAmt
EOY$51,149,527EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,200,318BOYAmt
EOY$117,812,382EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,545,301ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$424,558NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$100,842,948CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$102,991,448CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$107,368,944CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$118,583,279CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$115,586,281CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$545,372,900TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$586,645CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$584,407CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$923,692CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$459,765CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$448,978CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,003,487TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$101,429,593CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$103,575,855CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$108,292,636CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$119,043,044CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$116,035,259CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$548,376,387TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$548,376,387PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$897,962CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$730,377CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$518,933CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$455,427CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$670,658CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,273,357TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$452,336CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$99,218CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$67,694CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$36,343CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$109,057CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$764,648TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$552,414,392TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$31,778,699GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.99270PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.99200PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,015,386OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,015,386BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$73,366,895OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$31,739,434DepreciationAmt
Book Value$41,627,461BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,031,625OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,286,258DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,745,367BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,150,669OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,095,453DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,055,216BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,974,155OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,974,155BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$50,417,585TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
DEPOSITS$32,233
CASH & INVESTMENTS RESTRICTED BY BOND INDENTURE$4,312,738
ROU ASSETS$9,193,699
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$13,538,670TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
OPERATING AND FINANCE LEASES$9,860,069
DUE TO MANAGEMENT COMPANIES$328,374
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$10,188,443TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$123,976,894TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$424,558NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$448,978DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$873,536RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$123,103,358RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$123,103,358TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$122,007,035TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$448,978DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$448,978ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$121,558,057ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$121,558,057TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOUNDATION IS A TAX-EXEMPT ORGANIZATION AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (THE CODE) AND IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES ON RELATED INCOME PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(A) OF THE CODE. IN ADDITION, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS DETERMINED THAT THE FOUNDATION IS NOT A PRIVATE FOUNDATION WITHIN THE MEANING OF SECTION 509(A) OF THE CODE. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT THE FOUNDATION WAS NOT REQUIRED TO RECORD A LIABILITY RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2023 AND 2022.ExplanationTxt

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THROUGH THE SCHOOL MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATIONS AND APPLICATION PROCESS, THE FOUNDATION FULLY DISCLOSES ITS NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY TO ALL POTENTIAL STUDENTS. COPIES OF THE POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE FOUNDATION RECEIVES FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENTAL FUNDS PASSED THROUGH CHICAGO PUBLIC SCHOOLS TO ASSIST IN THE FOUNDATION'S EFFORTS TO PROVIDE A FREE EDUCATION, OPEN TO THE PUBLIC, AND AVAILABLE TO ANY CITY OF CHICAGO STUDENT.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KRIS CHEUNG
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$318,795$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$543$0$319,338$0$0$0
CHRISTINE LEUNG
PRESIDENT$201,753$0$0$0$0$0$19,500$0$15,796$0$237,049$0$0$0
TORRY BENNETT-DAVIS
CEP CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$177,990$0$0$0$0$0$19,577$0$7,181$0$204,748$0$0$0
LAHARI GOUD
CEP PRESIDENT$182,738$0$0$0$0$0$6,706$0$6,222$0$195,666$0$0$0
PELIN DENIZ
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER$180,567$0$0$0$0$0$4,537$0$4,168$0$189,272$0$0$0
EDWINDRA JOHNSON
CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER - TERM$164,589$0$0$0$0$0$5,865$0$6,131$0$176,585$0$0$0
DERRICK ORR
CEP SCHOOL PRINCIPAL$145,428$0$0$0$0$0$18,481$0$4,732$0$168,641$0$0$0
ALLISON HANSEN
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER$161,135$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$6,131$0$167,266$0$0$0
YESICA RUFINO-PEREZ
CHIEF GOVERNANCE OFFICER$158,538$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$6,933$0$165,471$0$0$0
LINDSEY GIRARD
SCHOOL DIRECTOR$161,230$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$161,230$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ILLINOIS FINANCE AUTHORITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN861091967BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP452022BR6CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2017-11-30BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$54,626,298IssuePriceAmt
PurposeIFA SERIES 2017 BOND, SEE PART VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$4,215,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$55,036,372TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$3,229,386InReserveFundAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$1,030,286IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$11,777,092CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$38,999,608OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2020SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebateYes (1)ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE K, PART I A(F)TO REFUND SERIES 2007 BONDS AND TO FINANCE FACILITY IMPROVEMENTS AT THE NORTHTOWN, LONGWOOD, AND BASIL CAMPUSES.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, LINE 3THE AMOUNT INCLUDES INVESTMENT EARNINGS ON THE PROJECT FUND AND ON THE RESERVE FUND FOR THE PERIOD ENDING 6/30/23.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, LINE 4AMOUNT SHOWN IS THE AMOUNT ON DEPOSIT ON 6/30/23, WHICH IS DIFFERENT FROM THE AMOUNT INITIALLY DEPOSITED IN THE RESERVE OF $3,180,000.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, LINE 11THIS AMOUNT WAS USED TO REFUND PRIOR BONDS.
SCHEDULE K, PART III, LINE 4THE PERCENTAGE OF FINANCED PROPERTY USED IN A PRIVATE BUSINESS BY ENTITIES OTHER THAN A SECTION 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATION OR A STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT IS ZERO.
SCHEDULE K, PART III, LINE 5THE PERCENTAGE OF FINANCED PROPERTY USED IN A PRIVATE BUSINESS USE AS A RESULT OF UNRELATED TRADE OR BUSINESS ACTIVITY CARRIED ON BY THE ORGANIZATION, ANOTHER 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATION, OR A STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT IS ZERO.
SCHEDULE K, PART IV, LINE 2CON OR ABOUT NOVEMBER 2022 THERE WAS NO REBATE EXPOSURE AT THAT TIME.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescFOOD COMMODITIESDesc
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$375,304NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesWHOLESALE VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV LINE 24C - TAX-EXEMPT BONDS:A TRUSTEE DOES MAINTAIN A DEBT SERVICE RESERVE FUND AND A CAPITALIZED INTEREST FUND FOR TAX-EXMPT BONDS, BUT SINCE THESE FUNDS ARE NOT USED TO DEFEASE ANY TAX-EXEMPT BONDS, THE ORGANIZATION HAS ANSWERED "NO" TO #24C.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT HAVE ANY COMMITTEES WITH THE AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FINANCE COMMITTEE ASSISTS IN PREPARING AND THEN REVIEWS A DRAFT OF FORM 990 THAT IS INITIALLY PREPARED BY THE FOUNDATION'S CPA FIRM. A FINAL COPY OF FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE FULL BOARD PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CMANAGEMENT OR BOARD MEMBERS BRING ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST TO THE ATTENTION OF THE BOARD FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION. THE FOUNDATION ACTIVELY MONITORS COMPLIANCE WITH ITS CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND REQUESTS EACH BOARD MEMBER TO SIGN ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15AA COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, INCLUDING THE BOARD TREASURER AND OTHER DESIGNATED BOARD MEMBERS, REVIEW THE COMPENSATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. IN ADDITION, THE FINANCE COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE COMPENSATION OF ALL EMPLOYEES AS PART OF THE ANNUAL BUDGET REVIEW.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE FOUNDATION FURNISHES ITS ANNUAL AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS UPON REQUEST.
SCHEDULE R PART I - IDENTIFICATION OF DISREGARDED ENTITIES:THE FOUNDATION IS THE SOLE MANAGER AS WELL AS THE SOLE MEMBER OF CIVITAS EDUCATION PARTNERS, LLC. THE FOUNDATION IS THE SOLE MANAGER OF CIVITAS SCHOOLS, LLC. CIVITAS EDUCATION PARTNERS, LLC IS THE SOLE MEMBER OF CIVITAS SCHOOLS, LLC. THE INFO REPORTED ON SCHEDULE R PART I FOR CIVITAS EDUCATION PARTNERS, LLC INCLUDES INFO OF CIVITAS SCHOOLS, LLC.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CIVITAS EDUCATION PARTNERS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1901 WEST JACKSON BOULEVARD SUITE 20AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60607ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN452578723EIN
Primary ActivitiesSCHOOL MANAGEMENT COMPANYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$32,934,380TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$8,424,893EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOL FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHICAGO INTERNATIONAL CHARTER SCHOOL BACK-OFFICE SERVICESBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111 E ADAMS SUITE 600AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60603ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN825440045EIN
Primary ActivitiesADMINISTRATIVE SERVICESPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHICAGO CHARTER SCHOOL FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of EOY Assets$8,170ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.