FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CARLINVILLE AREA HOSPITAL ASSOCATION: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CARLINVILLE AREA HOSPITAL ASSOCATION (EIN 37-0645239)
Tax period
2024-08-01 to 2025-07-31
Filed
2026-06-11
IRS object ID
202631629349301348
Schema version
2024v5.5
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-06-11T16:51:34-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-07-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-08-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN370645239EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCARLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2178543141PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120733 North Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityCarlinvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62626ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBrian BurnsidePersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2178543141PhoneNum
Signature2026-06-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2026-06-10PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBrian BurnsidePrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120733 North Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityCarlinvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62626ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$60,712,519GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.cahcare.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvide quality acute and preventative health care benefitsActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee408TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers7TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$4,676TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$35,261PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,060,909CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$51,711,436PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$53,385,896CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$658,715PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$626,444CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$54,526PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$107,935CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$52,350,886PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$56,965,314CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$30,448,414PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$31,774,345CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$22,279,066PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$22,603,424CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$52,727,480PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$54,377,769CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$376,594PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,587,545CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$40,073,743TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$46,415,657TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$16,984,037TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$20,563,957TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$23,089,706NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$25,851,700NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTo maintain a professional medical community, a primary care hospital and other health care services, in order to provide quality acute and preventative health care for the benefit of those persons living in the service area.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$43,367,932ExpenseAmt
Revenue$53,385,896RevenueAmt
DescCarlinville Area Hospital Association is a 25-bed acute care hospital located in Carlinville, Illinois. The Hospital provides inpatient, outpatient and emergency care services for residents of Central Illinois.During fiscal year 2025, we carried out our exempt purpose in the following ways:1) Provided quality short term acute care medical services to 404 inpatients, of which 72.8% were eligible for Medicare. Without our services, these elderly patients would have had to travel over 20 miles to receive similar services. (Continued on Schedule O) 2) Provided quality short-term skilled care to 154 patients in our swing bed unit, with an Average Length of Stay of 12.2 days.3) Provided 24-hour a day emergency room services. Our emergency room treated 7,139 patients during fiscal year 2025. We treat everyone who presents themselves to our emergency room regardless of their medical condition or ability to pay. We provide 24-hour physician service so people residing in the Carlinville area do not have to travel long distances for emergency medical care.4) In addition to the inpatient and emergency services we provide, we also had 40,318 visits in our outpatient departments. These services range from preventative care items such as mammograms and lab tests to rehabilitative services such as Physical and Occupational therapy.5) The hospital also had 12,007 visits to the specialty clinic. These clinics bring specialists from metropolitan areas to Carlinville on a rotating basis. This provides access to specialty services not otherwise offered in the area.6) The hospital also had 23,191 visits in our Rural Health Clinics (of which 3,600 were seen in our newly constructed Virden RHC). These clinics allow for patients to stay closer to home and get in to see a medical provider.The hospital provides health care services to patients who meet certain criteria under its charity care policy without charge or at amounts less than its established rates. Since the hospital does not pursue collection on these amounts, they are not reported as patient service revenue. The estimated costs of providing these services was $70,000 for the year ended July 31, 2025, calculated by multiplying the ratio of cost to gross charges for the Hospital by the gross uncompensated charges associated with providing charity care to its patients.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$43,367,932TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document14IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee408EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJay HodgesPersonNm
Phone2178543857PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120733 North Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityCarlinvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62626ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Dennis Pickrel
Chair1.000.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Walden
Vice Chair1.000.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heather DeNeve
Treasurer1.000.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ralph March
Secretary until Jan '251.000.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Salske -Director
until Dec '24/Secr as of Jan '251.000.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Denby
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Katie Goodman-Thomas
Director1.000.30Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harald Lausen MD
Director/Medical Staff President41.000.00Yes (X)$529,873$0$27,087
Brian Burnside
CEO40.001.30Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Courtney
CFO until Aug '2440.001.30Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay Hodges
CFO as of Aug '2440.001.30Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas Hatley MD
Internal Medicine30.000.00$180,011$0$18,507Yes (X)
Connee Sloman
CRNA40.000.00$376,679$0$36,475Yes (X)
Kate Wilkens MD
Internal Medicine40.000.00$342,704$0$13,700Yes (X)
Mary Damery
CRNA40.000.00$254,065$0$45,962Yes (X)
Therese Polo MD
Pediatrician40.000.00$240,929$0$41,524Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,924,261TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$183,255TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K63IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
HealthTech Management Service Inc
5110 Maryland Way Ste 200BrentwoodTN37027Management Services$1,347,007
Macoupin Physician Services
PO Box 677979DallasTX752677979Hospitalist Physicians$971,055
Sanburg Emergency Group PC
PO Box 677979DallasTX752677979Emergency Room Physicians$910,057
Metro East
311 W Lincoln St Suite 101BellevilleIL62220Gastroenterology Services$625,500
Vestis
26792 Network PlaceChicagoIL60673Laundry Service$457,960
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K28CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$1,532,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$1,504,072GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$24,837AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,060,909TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPatient service revenueDesc
Business621110BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$52,746,839TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$52,746,839RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$639,057TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$639,057RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$53,385,896TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$546,125TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$546,125ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$224,589RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$332,524RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$107,935RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$107,935TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$4,676UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$103,259ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,495,000SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,414,681SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$80,319SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$80,319TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$80,319ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$56,965,314TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$53,385,896RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$4,676UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$523,185ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$536,544TotalAmt
Program Services$536,544ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,327,105TotalAmt
Program Services$20,107,443ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,219,662ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$678,868TotalAmt
Program Services$587,188ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$91,680ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,470,855TotalAmt
Program Services$4,728,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$741,915ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,760,973TotalAmt
Program Services$1,523,156ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$237,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,277,869TotalAmt
Management And General$1,277,869ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$119,827TotalAmt
Management And General$119,827ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$191,977TotalAmt
Management And General$191,977ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,656,149TotalAmt
Program Services$5,622,116ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,034,033ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$270,566TotalAmt
Management And General$270,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,956,045TotalAmt
Program Services$3,918,078ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,037,967ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$131,216TotalAmt
Management And General$131,216ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$417,505TotalAmt
Program Services$369,694ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,811ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,007TotalAmt
Program Services$57,319ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,688ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$319,186TotalAmt
Program Services$88,239ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$230,947ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$552,126TotalAmt
Program Services$433,478ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$118,648ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,218,356TotalAmt
Program Services$1,722,380ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$495,976ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$872,383TotalAmt
Program Services$225,052ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$647,331ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical supplies$2,932,597$2,932,597
Food$416,173$415,672$501
Repairs and maintenance$76,951$54,147$22,804

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,491TotalAmt
Program Services$45,889ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,602ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,377,769TotalAmt
Program Services$43,367,932ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,009,837ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,362,077BOYAmt
EOY$4,379,708EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,877,869BOYAmt
EOY$7,989,686EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$332,317BOYAmt
EOY$385,487EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$680,715BOYAmt
EOY$620,627EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$49,803,927LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$32,568,412LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,753,023BOYAmt
EOY$17,235,515EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,612,558BOYAmt
EOY$12,677,768EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,000BOYAmt
EOY$125,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,330,184BOYAmt
EOY$3,001,866EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,073,743BOYAmt
EOY$46,415,657EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,609,847BOYAmt
EOY$5,814,426EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$100,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,382,117BOYAmt
EOY$11,619,531EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$99,924EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$992,073BOYAmt
EOY$2,930,076EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,984,037BOYAmt
EOY$20,563,957EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,433,117BOYAmt
EOY$25,174,510EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$656,589BOYAmt
EOY$677,190EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,089,706BOYAmt
EOY$25,851,700EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,073,743BOYAmt
EOY$46,415,657EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,587,545ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$153,848NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$20,601OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$645,780OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$645,780BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$32,362,492OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,094,375DepreciationAmt
Book Value$12,268,117BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,220,594OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,623,262DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,597,332BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,575,061OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,850,775DepreciationAmt
Book Value$724,286BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$17,235,515TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Beneficial interest in perpetual trust$597,190
ROU asset - operating leases$1,472,676
Estimated third-party payor settlement$932,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$3,001,866TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Employee Health Claims$385,049
Operating Lease Liability$1,449,865
Due from Affiliates$325,418
Finance lease liability$769,744
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,930,076TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,451,686TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$153,848NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$153,848RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$57,297,838RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$332,524OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$332,524RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$56,965,314TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$54,710,293TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$332,524OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$332,524ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$54,377,769ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$54,377,769TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Hospital believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Hospital would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Rental expenses recorded in revenue for Form 990 -332,524.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Rental expenses recorded in revenue for Form 990 332,524.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd

Free Care Oth Percentage FreeCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Free Care Other125.000000000000FreeCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Percent300Yes (X)Percent300Ind
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed Budget0ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Annual Community Bnft Report0AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$70,000TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$70,000NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00130TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$70,000TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$70,000NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00130TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,563,441TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,578,200DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,985,241NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.07330TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,563,441TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,578,200DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,985,241NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.07330TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,633,441TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,578,200DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$4,055,241NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.07460TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$2,381,705BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$613,289BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$12,481,687ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$12,567,178CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$85,491MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120733 North Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityCarlinvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62626ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website Addresswww.cahcare.comWebsiteAddressTxt
State License0005686StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd
Other4 provider based RHCs and 1 provider based clinicOtherDesc

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted23CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLSee Part V, Page 8OwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt23ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLSee Part V, Page 8StrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care125.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care300.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Asset Level CriteriaYes (X)AssetLevelCriteriaInd
Medical Indigency CriteriaYes (X)MedicalIndigencyCriteriaInd
Underinsurance Stat CriteriaYes (X)UnderinsuranceStatCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Provided Nonprofit ContactYes (X)ProvidedNonprofitContactInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLwww.cahcare.com/financial-assistance-processFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLwww.cahcare.com/financial-assistance-processFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLwww.cahcare.com/financial-assistance-processFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
Other PublicityYes (X)OtherPublicityInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Made Presumptive Elig DetermYes (X)MadePresumptiveEligDetermInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back Medicare PrivateYes (X)LookBackMedicarePrivateInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross ChargesYes (1)GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 5: In conducting the community health needs assessment, a survey was sent to targeted community members and posted for the community at large via the CAH&C social media accounts, CAH&C website, and through direct email correspondence. The three target groups were:1. Community At Large2. Medical Professionals and Partners3. Community Leaders and RepresentativesSeventeen total Illinois zip codes were represented in the survey and consisted of those surrounding the CAH&C primary service area.
Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 11: Carlinville Area Hospital completed a Community Health Needs Assessment in fiscal year 2024. The following are the needs identified:1. Access to Healthcare2. Access to Mental Health and Behavioral Health Services3. Food Insecurity4. Workforce DevelopmentCarlinville Area Hospital Association has addressed the issue of Access to Care by becoming a comprehensive rural health system, offering many specialty services through partnerships with various specialists seeing patients in our Specialty Clinic. We also opened a new RHC in Virden, IL. To address the issue with Access to Mental and Behavioral Health Treatment, we have implemented virtual counseling and psychiatric services as well as embedded behavioral health specialists into our primary care clinics. CAH&C has addressed the issue of food insecurity by partnering with local food pantries, offering education on Nutrition and partnering with local farmers to promote local farmers' markets and community-supported agriculture programs. Finally, to address the need for Workforce Development, CAH&C has partnered with local schools to create training programs for healthcare roles, offered job shadowing opportunities for students interested in healthcare careers, developed competitive recruitment and retention packages to retain top talent, and engaged in outreach programs such as career fairs, workshops and education events to raise the awareness of opportunities within the healthcare field.
Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 16j: Financial assistance contact information is provided on each bill. A notice about the availability of charity care is posted in the admitting areas, including the ER. The Hospital also employs a full-time financial counselor to discuss the availability of various government services and charity care with patients.
Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 24: All individuals eligible under the hospital financial assistance policy are provided a discount for emergency and other medically necessary care. The financial assistance policy does not apply to elective procedures. Therefore, FAP-eligible patients without insurance may be charged gross charges on elective procedures.
Form 990, Schedule H, Part V, Line 7 and Line 10:CHNA and Implementation Strategy:https://www.cahcare.com/community-outreach/community-health-needs-assessment

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 7:Charity care expense was converted to cost on line 7a based on an overall cost-to-charge ratio addressing all patient segments. The cost for subsidized health services reported on line 7g was determined using the Medicare Cost Report.
Part III, Line 2:The amount on line 2 represents implicit price concessions. The Hospital determines its estimate of implicit price concessions based on its historical collection experience with this class of patients.
Part III, Line 3:The estimated amount of the Organization's implicit price concessions attributable to patients eligible under the Organization's charity care policy is calculated based on the percentage of individuals living below the most recently available poverty level. 25.75% can reasonably be considered a community benefit as it would have been written off to charity care.
Part III, Line 4:The footnote to the Organization's financial statements can be found on page 11 and 12 of the attached audited financial statements.
Part III, Line 8:Carlinville Area Hospital Association is a critical access hospital with a Medicare shortfall. This is considered a community benefit because providing services to Medicare patients is essential to the patients and the community and increases their access to healthcare services.Both the total revenue received from Medicare and the Medicare allowable costs are reported from the Medicare Cost Report. The Medicare Cost Report is completed based on the rules and regulations set forth by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.Hospital services reimbursed on a fee schedule are not included in the Medicare calculation per the 990 instructions. Had this been reported the total loss from Medicare services would have increased by $219,568.Medicare fee schedule revenue $ 297,034Medicare estimated costs of care relating to payments (516,601)Net (Shortage) $ (219,568)
Part III, Line 9b:Carlinville Area Hospital Association will give the charity care applicant at least 120 days from the date of the first bill to apply for financial assistance without any collection efforts. If the applicant has applied for health care coverage under Medicaid, Kidcare, or other government sponsored health care programs, Carlinville Area Hospital will await the approval or denial of the application without additional collection efforts.Carlinville Area Hospital Association will not refer a bill to collection without first offering the patient the opportunity to request a reasonable payment plan for the amount personally owed by the patient.
Part VI, Line 2:The Hospital works with physicians, the health department, nursing homes and other health care providers in the community to determine the health care needs of the community. The Hospital completed a CHNA in FY 2024 and it is posted to the Hospital's website.
Part VI, Line 3:Financial assistance contact information is provided on each bill. A notice about the availability of charity care is posted in the admitting areas, including the ER. The Hospital also employs a full-time financial counselor to discuss the availability of various government services and charity care with patients.
Part VI, Line 4:Carlinville Area Hospital Association is a 25-bed acute care hospital located in Carlinville, Illinois. The Hospital serves the residents of Macoupin County. Carlinville Area Hospital is the only hospital within a 14-mile radius of Carlinville Illinois, a small rural community in central Illinois. Illinois Route 4 passes through Carlinville. Interstate 55 is also within 12 miles of the city. The community is mostly agricultural.Other hospitals and medical centers near Carlinville are St. Francis Hospital, a Critical Access Hospital in Litchfield, IL, approximately 14 miles away, Community Memorial Hospital, a Critical Access Hospital in Staunton, IL, approximately 20 miles away and Hillsboro Area Hospital, a Critical Access Hospital in Hillsboro, IL, approximately 24 miles away.Carlinville had a population of 5,576 in 2022. Unemployment was 3.8% compared to 4.8% in the state of Illinois in 2022. The median household income in Carlinville is $53,583. The poverty level in Carlinville was 25.7%.
Part VI, Line 5:Carlinville Area Hospital Association's core purpose is "Excellent healthcare close to home." This is very important to our board as all of our members live in our service area and use our facility. The Hospital extends medical staff privileges to all qualified physicians in the community. Carlinville Area Hospital invests in improvements in the community and continues to minimize long-term debt. The Hospital also provides the following services that would not otherwise be available within the Hospital's service area: Twenty-four hour a day emergency room that treats all patients regardless of ability to pay. Specialty Clinic - The Hospital has an arrangement with a physician group out of Springfield, IL that brings specialists to the Carlinville Area that would not otherwise be available.Throughout the year, Carlinville Area Hospital offered CPR training to the community for a special rate of $30 per participant. We also offer Stop the Bleed classes for a nominal fee.The Hospital provided free blood pressure checks in Carlinville and Palmyra on a monthly basis.CAH&C offers a Chronic Care Management program through the RHCs.Carlinville Area Hospital's Imaging Department hosted a free community presentation in observance of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month in October. Early detection, benefits of digital mammography, and how the advanced technology aids in early detection were discussed.Carlinville Area Hospital provides a number of services to the community such as the Safe Sitter Class and participation in various health fairs.The Hospital also operates a Weekend Walk-In Clinic to provide for the community who might need medical care on the weekend, but do not want to go to the Hospital Emergency Room.Carlinville Area Hospital participated in the Illinois Cooperative Work Study Program. The program offered opportunities for college students to gain hands-on experience in their field of study. The Hospital also served as a clinical site for students in Radiology from Southwestern Illinois College, Lewis and Clark Occupational Therapy Assistant program, Pharmacy students from St. Louis College of Pharmacy, Maryville University Doctorate of Physical Therapy students, Missouri State University Masters' in Occupational Therapy students and Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner students, SIU School of Medicine students and Southwestern Illinois College Physical Therapy Assistant students. We also host CAN students from Lewis and Clark and the High School as well as nursing students from SIU and Lewis and Clark.Other community activities:1. RHC Providers did Free Community Presentations 2. Teamed up with the U of I Extension Office to participate in Health Jam 3. Lunch Bunch Summer Food Program4. Project Third Day - Provide food for kids during long weekends5. Parkinson's Support Group - free classes6. Fall and Balance Class for Seniors - free classes7. Teamed up with Blackburn to offer the Rural Immersion Program. Blackburn college students spend their spring break learning and exploring careers in health care.8. CAH&C hosted a University of Illinois - Springfield student for an internship.9. CAH&C hosted an Illinois State University student intern for cybersecurity.10. Collaborated with the Carlinville Community Chamber and Macoupin Count Public health Department to offer a free community health fair geared toward families.11. Supported the Auxiliary 5K to provide a health/wellness related activity to the community.12. Continue to encourage usage of the Wellness Path.
Part VI, Line 7, Reports Filed With StatesIL

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Harald Lausen MD
Director/Medical Staff President$336,023$0$193,850$0$0$0$5,517$0$22,844$0$558,234$0$0$0
Connee Sloman
CRNA$263,937$0$112,742$0$0$0$13,109$0$25,259$0$415,047$0$0$0
Kate Wilkens MD
Internal Medicine$242,704$0$100,000$0$0$0$13,700$0$600$0$357,004$0$0$0
Mary Damery
CRNA$190,818$0$63,247$0$0$0$8,811$0$38,105$0$300,981$0$0$0
Therese Polo MD
Pediatrician$224,429$0$16,500$0$0$0$4,372$0$38,459$0$283,760$0$0$0
Thomas Hatley MD
Internal Medicine$180,011$0$0$0$0$0$7,123$0$14,029$0$201,163$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCarlinville Area Hospital Association does not pay compensation to the CEO directly. The CEO is compensated by an unrelated management company, HealthTech Management. The Hospital Board of Directors uses the processes described in Part I, Question 3 to determine appropriate compensation for the CEO. The Board of Directors also approves the Organization's contract with the Management Company.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aThe Executive Committee is composed of the elected officers of the Board and includes the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer of the Association. The Executive Committee has the power and authority to manage and control the business and affairs of the Association as the Board of Directors; however, the Executive Committee is not allowed to exercise those powers prohibited by Illinois law which include: amending the Articles or Bylaws; sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of substantially all of the Association's assets; or adopt Articles of Merger or Consolidation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2James Salske, Secretary, and Richard Walden, Vice Chair have a business relationship.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3Management Company Compensation (CY 2024): Brian Burnside, CEO Compensation: $376,863 Paul Courtney, CFO thru August Compensation: $ 81,635 Jay Hodges, CFO as of August Compensation: $241,809 The officers are common law employees of HealthTech Management Service, Inc., an unrelated management company, and are compensated for services to Carlinville Area Hospital Association. The CEO has the responsibility of supervising the management, administration and operation of the Organization. The CFO has the responsibility for managing the Organization's finances.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The Organization's sole member is Middle Macoupin Health Care Systems.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Member has the exclusive right and power to designate three of its Directors to serve as members of the Board of Directors, and by resolution has authority to appoint and remove all Directors from the Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe Member has the exclusive right and power to approve or reject the following actions prior to the Board of Directors taking any action: 1. the annual operating budget, capital budget, long-range plan and any action which will result in a substantial change in the expenditures or revenue forecast; 2. the undertaking of or substantive amendments to a contractual obligation in excess of $50,000, or the guaranteeing of any obligation in excess of $50,000; 3. the purchase, lease, transfer, mortgage or sale of any asset or property with a value in excess of $50,000, except with respect to transactions specified and previously approved within the capital budget; 4. any plan of construction or remodeling involving an expenditure in excess of $50,000, except with respect to transactions specified and previously approved within the capital budget; 5. any borrowing; 6. any application for a government grant; 7. any general plan for the solicitation of charitable contributions or the solicitation or acceptance as a gift of any real property or any interest; 8. any proposal to adopt Articles of Dissolution, Merger, or Consolidation; 9. any selection, removal or change in the compensation or other terms of employment of the operating officers; 10. any substantial change in employee fringe benefits or personnel policies; and 11. any other matters as may be required by law to be submitted to the Member or as to which the Member determines, by resolution, that submission is advisable.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 was not provided to the governing body before it was filed. The CEO and CFO reviewed the Form 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAny duality of interest or possible conflict of interest on the part of any Board member should be disclosed to the other members of the Board and made a matter of record through an annual procedure and also when the interest becomes a matter of Board action. Any Board member having a duality of interest or possible conflict of interest on any matter should not vote or use his or her personal influence on the matter. The minutes of the meeting must reflect the disclosure, the abstention from voting, and the quorum situation. Any new member of the Board will be advised of this policy upon entering on the duties of office. The governing Board, CEO, and CFO complete and sign the conflict of interest form yearly. The forms are reviewed by the CEO of the Organization and if a potential conflict is identified the CEO follows up.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The CEO and CFO are compensated through HealthTech Management Service, Inc., an unrelated management company. They are considered common law employees of the management company. HealthTech Management Service, Inc. gives the Board of Directors a recommended salary range for the CEO and CFO and the Board sets the compensation within this range after review of performance evaluations and comparability data. The process is documented and is completed on an annual basis.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Organization's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are not available to the public. Financial information is available through the public disclosure copy of the 990.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gProfessional Fees: Program service expenses 5,472,767. Management and general expenses 618,760. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 6,091,527. Purchased Services and contract lab: Program service expenses 149,349. Management and general expenses 415,273. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 564,622.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in beneficial interest in perpetual trust 20,601.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
Carlinville Area Hospital Foundation
20733 North Broad StreetCarlinvilleIL62626371193348Support Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationIL501(c)(3)Line 7Middle Macoupin Healthcare Systems0
Middle Macoupin Healthcare Systems
20733 North Broad StreetCarlinvilleIL62626371193396Provide support and benefit Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationIL501(c)(3)Line 12c, III-FI0N/A
Carlinville Area Hospital Foundation
200 E Homer Adams ParkwayAltonIL62002376024648Support Carlinville Area Hospital AssociationIL501(c)(3)Line 12d, III-O0N/A
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd