GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE INC: Form 990, tax year 2024
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE INC (EIN 95-4492653)
- Tax period
- 2024-09-01 to 2025-08-31
- Filed
- 2026-06-16
- IRS object ID
- 202621679349300542
- Schema version
- 2024v5.5
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2026-06-16T13:47:43-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2025-08-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 391859910 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BAKER TILLY ADVISORY GROUP LP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 4747 EXECUTIVE DRIVE STE 1300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN DIEGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 92121 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2024-09-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 954492653 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | GEFF | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3102086500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10886 LE CONTE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LOS ANGELES | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 90024 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SARAH STURDIVANT | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3102086500 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2026-06-12 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (1) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | JANE COLEMAN | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01391236 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8586271400 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2024 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | SARAH STURDIVANT | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10886 LE CONTE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LOS ANGELES | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 90024 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $13,255,882 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.GEFFENPLAYHOUSE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1994 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 24 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 22 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 312 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 36 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $6,860,370 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $6,302,653 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $6,069,076 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $5,807,370 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,007,302 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $867,884 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | -$174,945 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $166,846 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $13,761,803 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $13,144,753 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $9,108,164 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $8,450,354 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $839,197 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $7,796,232 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $7,056,037 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $16,904,396 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $15,506,391 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$3,142,593 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$2,361,638 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $23,510,923 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $20,178,292 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $5,621,912 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $4,811,974 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $17,889,011 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $15,366,318 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE, INC. IS AN ORGANIZATION DEVOTED TO PROVIDING QUALITY THEATER THROUGH A SERIES OF PRODUCTIONS, WORKSHOPS, SEMINAR, PLAY READINGS & LECTURES TO THE SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES IN THE CITY OF LOS ANGELES & THE STUDENTS OF UCLA SCHOOL OF THEATER, FILM & TELEVISION. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $12,230,790 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $5,807,370 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATION DEDICATED TO ENRICHING THE CULTURAL LIFE OF LOS ANGELES THROUGH PLAYS AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS THAT INFORM, ENTERTAIN, AND INSPIRE. FOUNDED BY GILBERT CATES IN 1994, GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE IS NAMED IN HONOR OF ENTERTAINMENT MOGUL AND PHILANTHROPIST DAVID GEFFEN, WHO MADE THE INITIAL DONATION TO THE THEATER. NOTED FOR ITS INTIMACY AND CELEBRATED FOR ITS RENOWNED MIX OF CLASSIC AND CONTEMPORARY PLAYS AS WELL AS PROVOCATIVE WORLD PREMIERE PRODUCTIONS, GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE PRESENTS A BODY OF WORK THAT GARNERS NATIONAL RECOGNITION. OUR ARTISTIC PROGRAMMING REFLECTS OUR BOLD COMMITMENT TO TRANSFORMING THE LANDSCAPE OF CONTEMPORARY AMERICAN THEATER BY PRIORITIZING CREATIVE STORYTELLING, NEW ARTISTIC PERSPECTIVES, ADVANCED TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS, AND PRODUCTION DESIGN, MAKING GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE A HAVEN FOR PLAYWRIGHTS AND A WORLD-CLASS LABORATORY FOR NEW PLAYS. GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE IS LED BY ARTISTIC DIRECTOR TARELL ALVIN MCCRANEY AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEO GIL CATES, JR.EACH SEASON WE PRODUCE PLAYS IN THE 500-SEAT GIL CATES THEATER AND IN OUR FLEXIBLE BLACK BOX SPACE, THE AUDREY SKIRBALL KENIS THEATER. PROUDLY ASSOCIATED WITH UCLA, GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE WELCOMES AN AUDIENCE OF MORE THAN 80,000 EACH YEAR AND MAINTAINS EXTENSIVE EDUCATION AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT PROGRAMS DESIGNED TO INVOLVE UNDERSERVED YOUNG PEOPLE AND THE COMMUNITY AT LARGE IN THE ARTS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $511,963 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $0 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | EDUCATION AND OUTREACH PROGRAMS SEE MISSION & HISTORY STATEMENT ON LINE 4A. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $12,742,753 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 172 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 312 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 24 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 22 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE ORGANIZATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3102086500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10886 LE CONTE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LOS ANGELES | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 90024 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GIL CATES JR | |||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $288,461 | $0 | $13,051 | |
| TARELL ALVIN MCCRANEY | |||||||
| ARTISTIC DIRECTOR | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $265,385 | $0 | $8,816 | |
| ADI GREENBERG | |||||||
| CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| MARY ANN CLOYD | |||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| LINDA BERNSTEIN RUBIN | |||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| HOWARD TENENBAUM | |||||||
| TREASURER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| BONNIE E ESKENAZI | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BRENDA GARCIA | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BRIAN MANN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARK FLEISCHER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CARLA MALDEN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CYNTHIA P STAFFORD | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (THRU 6/25) | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DANNY PASSMAN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DR BRAD EDGERTON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ERIC HEER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (THRU 6/25) | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| HOLLY RICE | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAHAN WANG | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN HORN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARC WEINSTOCK | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARY OSAKO | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MERLE DANDRIDGE | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MIRANDA TOLLMAN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| NOBLE HANSEN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (THRU 8/25) | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PATRICIA L GLASER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RICHARD SHERMAN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SUE NAHLEY FLEISHMAN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TIFFANY MAYBERRY | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SARAH STURDIVANT | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $141,693 | $0 | $7,893 | ||
| AMY LEVINSON MILLAN | |||||||
| ARTISTIC ASSOCIATE/LITERARY DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $128,285 | $0 | $12,000 | Yes (X) | ||
| DAN IONAZZI | |||||||
| PRODUCER | 40.00 | $152,908 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| PATRICK BROWN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF MARKETING | 40.00 | $138,548 | $0 | $9,445 | Yes (X) | ||
| SARAH WEINBERG | |||||||
| CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER | 40.00 | $153,942 | $0 | $7,694 | Yes (X) | ||
| ZENON DMYTRYK | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS | 40.00 | $123,153 | $0 | $15,975 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,392,375 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $74,874 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 13 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SITUATION MARKETING LLC | |||||
| 469 7TH AVENUE SUITE 1300 | NEW YORK | NY | 10018 | MARKETING | $168,169 |
| SPEC CONCEPTS | |||||
| 711 SANTA MONICA BLVD STE B 499 | WEST HOLLYWOOD | CA | 90046 | SECURITY SERVICES | $165,325 |
| THEATER DIRECT INC | |||||
| 6855 ATOLL AVENUE | NORTH HOLLYWOOD | CA | 91605 | TELEMARKETING SERVICES | $149,314 |
| ANDERSON HOPKINS INC | |||||
| 70 LAYFAYETTE STREET 7TH FLOOR | NEW YORK | NY | 10013 | PHOTOGRAPHY SERVICES | $122,956 |
| BULLSEYE MARKETING | |||||
| 9400 OSO AVENUE | CHATSWORTH | CA | 91311 | MARKETING | $109,143 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $93,500 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $6,209,153 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $89,340 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $6,302,653 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| TICKET SALES | 711110 | $5,714,755 | $5,714,755 |
| OTHER THEATER REVENUE | 711110 | $92,615 | $92,615 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $5,807,370 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $61,347 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $61,347 | ExclusionAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $46 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $46 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $812,812 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,275 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $806,537 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $806,537 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $806,537 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $271,654 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $104,854 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $166,800 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $166,800 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $13,144,753 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $5,807,370 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,034,730 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $791,428 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $307,213 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $484,215 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,227,886 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,013,666 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $608,809 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $605,411 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $869,930 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $703,352 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $111,342 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $55,236 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $561,110 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $434,582 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $77,016 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $49,512 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,071 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,993 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,078 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $79,878 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $79,878 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $353,799 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $310,924 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $41,125 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,750 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $764,853 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $729,976 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Fundraising | $34,877 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $676,164 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $373,732 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $251,021 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $51,411 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $313,329 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $163,667 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $138,336 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,326 | FundraisingAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $420,422 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $420,422 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $900,295 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $900,295 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $360,671 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $326,032 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $23,369 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,270 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,023 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,595 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,524 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,904 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $82,097 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $82,097 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $836,906 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $836,906 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $106,728 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $106,728 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PRODUCTION EXPENSES | Desc |
| Total | $2,139,801 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,123,301 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Fundraising | $16,500 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,506,391 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $12,742,753 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,924,441 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $839,197 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $114,448 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $204,710 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,220 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,999,685 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,167,210 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $330,138 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $224,984 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $13,067 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,864 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,014,786 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,027,963 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $23,884,584 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $12,432,810 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,254,641 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,451,774 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $45,696 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,693,896 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,072,133 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,510,923 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,178,292 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,154,880 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $944,293 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,753,198 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,139,428 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $500,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $500,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $213,834 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $228,253 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,621,912 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,811,974 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,322,149 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,403,032 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,566,862 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,963,286 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,889,011 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,366,318 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,510,923 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,178,292 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$2,361,638 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$161,055 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $6,442,251 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $16,258,504 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $7,354,916 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $6,860,370 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $6,302,653 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $43,218,694 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $6,442,251 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $16,258,504 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $7,354,916 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $6,860,370 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $6,302,653 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $43,218,694 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $5,631,552 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $37,587,142 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $97,276 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $111,878 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $119,948 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $67,454 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $61,393 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $457,949 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $509 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $157,558 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $229,920 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $174,578 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $271,654 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $834,219 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $44,510,862 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $25,832,483 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.84440 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.79250 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | OTHER INCOME - 2020 AMOUNT: $ 509. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 157,558. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 229,920. 2023 AMOUNT: $ 174,578. 2024 AMOUNT: $ 271,654. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $10,615,167 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $708,810 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $278,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $11,045,977 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $11,730,387 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $986,883 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $2,102,103 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $10,615,167 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $11,280,014 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $216,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $234,373 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $11,730,387 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $3,850,786 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $7,650,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$220,772 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $11,280,014 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $3,265,398 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $585,388 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $3,850,786 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 1.00000 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.00000 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | Yes (1) | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $17,844,726 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $8,898,376 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $8,946,350 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $4,008,569 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,735,888 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,272,681 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,031,289 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $798,546 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,232,743 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $11,451,774 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| FUNDS HELD BY UCLA | $43,592 |
| FUNDS HELD BY UC REGENTS | $4,648,671 |
| RIGHT OF USE ASSETS | $228,253 |
| DEPOSITS | $151,617 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $5,072,133 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | RIGHT OF USE LIABILITIES | Desc |
| Amt | $228,253 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $228,253 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $13,088,552 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$161,055 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$161,055 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $13,249,607 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$104,854 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | -$104,854 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $13,144,753 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $15,611,245 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $15,611,245 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | -$104,854 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | -$104,854 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $15,506,391 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART V, LINE 4: | THE PURPOSE OF THE ENDOWMENT IS TO PROVIDE FUNDS FOR FUTURE OPERATIONS. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE ORGANIZATION IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATION THAT IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND SECTION 23701D OF THE REVENUE TAXATION CODE OF CALIFORNIA. AS A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY, GP FILMS IS NOT SUBJECT TO FEDERAL INCOME TAX. THE INVESTORS SEPARATELY ACCOUNT FOR THEIR PRO RATA SHARE OF GP FILM'S ITEMS OF INCOME, DEDUCTIONS, LOSSES, AND CREDITS. THEREFORE, NO PROVISION IS MADE IN THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR LIABILITIES FOR FEDERAL INCOME TAXES SINCE SUCH LIABILITIES ARE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE INDIVIDUAL INVESTORS. DURING THE YEARS ENDED AUGUST 31, 2025 AND 2024, THE ORGANIZATION PERFORMED AN EVALUATION OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AND DID NOT NOTE ANY MATTERS THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR WHICH MAY HAVE AN EFFECT ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD -104,854. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD -104,854. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GIL CATES JR | ||||||||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $257,692 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $30,769 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,051 | $0 | $301,512 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TARELL ALVIN MCCRANEY | ||||||||||||||
| ARTISTIC DIRECTOR | $265,385 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,816 | $0 | $274,201 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SARAH WEINBERG | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER | $133,942 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,694 | $0 | $161,636 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAN IONAZZI | ||||||||||||||
| PRODUCER | $152,908 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $152,908 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | SARAH WEINBERG, A HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEE, RECEIVED SEVERANCE IN THE AMOUNT OF $20,000. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 8 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $89,340 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 0 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | 0 | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, COLUMN (B): | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART I, LINE 1, DESCRIPTION OF ORGANIZATION MISSION: | GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE, INC. IS AN ORGANIZATION DEVOTED TO PROVIDING QUALITY THEATER THROUGH A SERIES OF PRODUCTIONS, WORKSHOPS, SEMINAR, PLAY READINGS & LECTURES TO THE SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES IN THE CITY OF LOS ANGELES & THE STUDENTS OF UCLA SCHOOL OF THEATER, FILM & TELEVISION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S TAX ADVISORS AND IS REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S CFO, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE REVIEWED AND DETERMINED AT THE BOARD LEVEL. THE ORGANIZATION ENFORCES COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY WHICH IS SIGNED BY ALL BOARD MEMBERS AND ALL NEW BOARD MEMBERS. IF A CONFLICT ARISES, THAT BOARD MEMBER CANNOT VOTE ON THE TRANSACTION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION OF THE ORGANIZATION'S TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL AND OTHER OFFICERS ARE DETERMINED AND APPROVED BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE AND THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHO ARE ALL INDEPENDENT. THE ORGANIZATION RELIES ON THEATER COMMUNICATION GROUP'S SALARY SURVEY AS THEIR GUIDE AND PARTICIPATES IN ANNUAL FINANCIAL AND SALARY SURVEYS. THE PROCESS IS COMPLETED EVERY THREE YEARS. THE PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED AND WAS LAST DONE AUGUST 2023. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18 | THE ORGANIZATION'S MOST CURRENT FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE ON THE WEBSITE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND FORM 990 AVAILABLE ON ITS WEBSITE. THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | GP FILMS LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10886 LE CONTE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LOS ANGELES | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 90024 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 811329335 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | VIDEO PRODUCTIONS | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | CA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Total Income | $0 | TotalIncomeAmt |
| End Of Year Assets | $0 | EndOfYearAssetsAmt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | GEFFEN PLAYHOUSE INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |