BUCKEYE POWER INC
Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.
Cite this
Plain text BUCKEYE POWER INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/buckeye-power-inc-310676582. Retrieved 2026-11-03.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). BUCKEYE POWER INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved November 3, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/buckeye-power-inc-310676582
MLA “BUCKEYE POWER INC.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/buckeye-power-inc-310676582. Accessed 3 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-03; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $915.5M · expenses $886.3M · assets $1.60B
- EIN
- 31-0676582
- Address
- 6677 BUSCH BLVD, COLUMBUS, OH 43229-1101
- Website
- www.buckeyepower.com
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(12): benevolent life insurance or mutual company (corporation)
- Ruling date
- April 1974 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- No
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
Deliver to Members stably and competitively priced economical and highly reliable wholesale power for the benefit of their members and their communities.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
27 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Latest year pay | Total pay from here | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick OLoughlin | President CEO July to Dec 2024 | 2020-2024 | $1,394,914 | $8,439,501 | 3 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 2020-2024 | $525,638 | $2,501,320 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Council | 2020-2024 | $493,455 | $2,359,181 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | President CEO Jan to June 2025 | 2020-2024 | $567,648 | $2,357,685 | 3 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 2020-2024 | $351,004 | $1,600,272 | 2 |
| Doug Miller | VP Statewide Services | 2022-2024 | $481,860 | $1,463,190 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 2020-2024 | $306,679 | $1,420,593 | 2 |
| Greg Niese | Director of IT | 2021-2024 | $336,931 | $1,297,646 | 2 |
| Tom Alban | VP Power Generation | 2022-2024 | $431,505 | $1,296,862 | 2 |
| Kevin Zemanek | VP Operations | 2022-2024 | $321,322 | $856,506 | 3 |
| Randall Keefer | Director Fuel Procurement Byproduct Sales | 2023-2024 | $286,718 | $559,802 | 2 |
| Ben Wilson | Assistant VP Power Delivery | 2023-2024 | $277,641 | $518,272 | 3 |
| Dwight Miller | Sr Director Safety Training Loss Prevention | 2024 | $318,529 | $318,529 | 2 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 2020-2024 | $11,800 | $49,675 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 2020-2024 | $5,200 | $21,250 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 2020-2024 | $3,600 | $12,600 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 2020-2024 | $2,800 | $11,450 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 2020-2024 | $1,425 | $3,650 | 1 |
| Tom Musick | Trustee | 2023-2024 | $400 | $400 | 1 |
| Douglas Miller (former) | VP Statewide Services | 2020-2021 | $493,776 | $946,430 | 3 |
| Thomas Alban (former) | VP Power Generation | 2020-2021 | $431,814 | $826,299 | 2 |
| Randell Keefer (former) | Director Fuel Procurement Byproduct Sales | 2020-2022 | $284,319 | $806,039 | 2 |
| Paul Jackson (former) | Director Project Management | 2020-2023 | $251,404 | $733,997 | 2 |
| James Palmisano (former) | Chief Accounting Officer | 2020-2021 | $259,011 | $504,633 | 2 |
| Kevin Fletcher (former) | OM Plant Technician Principal | 2022 | $271,428 | $271,428 | 2 |
| Lija Kaleps-Clark (former) | Senior Counsel | 2020 | $214,954 | $214,954 | 3 |
| George Carter (former) | Trustee | 2020-2022 | $1,500 | $4,475 | 1 |
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
29 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Don Englet | Trustee | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Tom Wolfenbarger | Trustee | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 2020-2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 2020-2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Erika Ackley | Trustee | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Kent Eldridge | Trustee | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Matt Berry | Trustee | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Randy Price | Trustee | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Tim Street | Trustee | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ken Tolliver | Trustee | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Daniel McNaull (former) | Trustee | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Tom Wofenbarger (former) | Trustee | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ronald Salyer (former) | Trustee | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| William Swango (former) | Trustee | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Tonda Meadows (former) | Trustee | 2020-2022 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Joe Waltz (former) | Trustee | 2020-2022 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ryan Smith (former) | Trustee | 2022 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| George Walton (former) | Trustee | 2021 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 40 people listed · 19 paid, $6.1M · 84 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick O'Loughlin | President CEO July to Dec 2024 | 32 | $1,018,694 | $223,616 | $152,604 | $1,394,914 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | President CEO Jan to June 2025 | 37 | $378,698 | $28,505 | $160,445 | $567,648 | 3 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 32 | $317,678 | $79,419 | $128,541 | $525,638 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Council | 34 | $326,560 | $57,629 | $109,266 | $493,455 | 3 |
| Doug Miller | VP Statewide Services | 10 | $78,394 | $235,184 | $168,282 | $481,860 | 2 |
| Tom Alban | VP Power Generation | 38 | $296,901 | $12,371 | $122,233 | $431,505 | 2 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 40 | $291,040 | $0 | $59,964 | $351,004 | 2 |
| Greg Niese | Director of IT | 36 | $182,300 | $32,171 | $122,460 | $336,931 | 2 |
| Kevin Zemanek | VP Operations | 37 | $237,741 | $17,895 | $65,686 | $321,322 | 3 |
| Dwight Miller | Sr Director Safety Training Loss Prevention | 0 | $4,209 | $206,252 | $108,068 | $318,529 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 40 | $222,771 | $0 | $83,908 | $306,679 | 2 |
| Randall Keefer | Director Fuel Procurement Byproduct Sales | 40 | $215,301 | $0 | $71,417 | $286,718 | 2 |
| Ben Wilson | Assistant VP Power Delivery | 36 | $197,418 | $21,935 | $58,288 | $277,641 | 3 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 4 | $11,800 | $0 | $0 | $11,800 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 2 | $5,200 | $0 | $0 | $5,200 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 2 | $3,600 | $0 | $0 | $3,600 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 1 | $2,800 | $0 | $0 | $2,800 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 1 | $1,425 | $0 | $0 | $1,425 | 1 |
| Tom Musick | Trustee | 1 | $400 | $0 | $0 | $400 | 1 |
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Don Englet | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Wolfenbarger | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Erika Ackley | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kent Eldridge | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Matt Berry | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Randy Price | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tim Street | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ken Tolliver | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 42 people listed · 18 paid, $5.6M · 83 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick O'Loughlin | President CEO | 32 | $964,657 | $211,754 | $140,840 | $1,317,251 | 3 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 32 | $303,241 | $75,810 | $132,704 | $511,755 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | Chief Operating Officer | 37 | $329,249 | $24,782 | $127,072 | $481,103 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Council | 34 | $316,328 | $55,823 | $99,609 | $471,760 | 3 |
| Doug Miller | VP Statewide Services | 10 | $75,680 | $227,039 | $161,763 | $464,482 | 2 |
| Tom Alban | VP Power Generation | 38 | $284,716 | $11,863 | $114,243 | $410,822 | 2 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 40 | $258,783 | $0 | $59,556 | $318,339 | 2 |
| Greg Niese | Director of IT | 36 | $170,182 | $30,032 | $116,312 | $316,526 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 40 | $214,876 | $0 | $75,690 | $290,566 | 2 |
| Randall Keefer | Director Fuel Procurement Byproduct Sales | 40 | $207,374 | $0 | $65,710 | $273,084 | 2 |
| Kevin Zemanek | VP Operations | 37 | $192,794 | $14,512 | $60,846 | $268,152 | 3 |
| Paul Jackson | Director Project Management | 40 | $204,440 | $0 | $46,964 | $251,404 | 2 |
| Ben Wilson | Assistant VP Power Delivery | 36 | $168,265 | $18,696 | $53,670 | $240,631 | 3 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 2 | $11,725 | $0 | $0 | $11,725 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 2 | $4,800 | $0 | $0 | $4,800 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 1 | $3,600 | $0 | $0 | $3,600 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 1 | $2,625 | $0 | $0 | $2,625 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 1 | $2,225 | $0 | $0 | $2,225 | 1 |
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel McNaull | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Don Englet | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Musick | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Wofenbarger | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ronald Salyer | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Erika Ackley | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kent Eldridge | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Matt Berry | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Randy Price | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tim Street | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| William Swango | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 43 people listed · 17 paid, $6.7M · 79 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick O'Loughlin | President CEO | 32 | $1,950,699 | $428,202 | $145,556 | $2,524,457 | 3 |
| Doug Miller | VP Statewide Services | 10 | $71,817 | $215,452 | $229,579 | $516,848 | 2 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 32 | $285,837 | $71,459 | $145,434 | $502,730 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Council | 34 | $309,080 | $54,544 | $117,873 | $481,497 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | Chief Operating Officer | 38 | $279,676 | $14,720 | $168,681 | $463,077 | 3 |
| Tom Alban | VP Power Generation | 38 | $282,144 | $11,756 | $160,635 | $454,535 | 2 |
| Greg Niese | Director of IT | 36 | $172,196 | $19,133 | $132,233 | $323,562 | 2 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 40 | $241,945 | $0 | $66,947 | $308,892 | 2 |
| Randell Keefer | Director Fuel Procurement Byproduct Sales | 40 | $198,832 | $0 | $85,487 | $284,319 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 40 | $200,124 | $0 | $83,520 | $283,644 | 2 |
| Kevin Fletcher | OM Plant Technician Principal | 40 | $203,391 | $0 | $68,037 | $271,428 | 2 |
| Kevin Zemanek | Assistant VP Operations | 37 | $180,281 | $13,570 | $73,181 | $267,032 | 3 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 0 | $9,350 | $0 | $0 | $9,350 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 2 | $5,300 | $0 | $0 | $5,300 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 2 | $2,875 | $0 | $0 | $2,875 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 2 | $2,250 | $0 | $0 | $2,250 | 1 |
| George Carter | Trustee | 1 | $1,500 | $0 | $0 | $1,500 | 1 |
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel McNaull | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tonda Meadows | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joe Waltz | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Wofenbarger | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ronald Salyer | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Erika Ackley | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kent Eldridge | Trusett | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Matt Berry | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Randy Price | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ryan Smith | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tim Street | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| William Swango | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 38 people listed · 17 paid, $5.6M · 84 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick OLoughlin | President CEO | 32 | $928,929 | $203,911 | $420,127 | $1,552,967 | 3 |
| Douglas Miller | VP Statewide Services | 10 | $70,234 | $210,701 | $212,841 | $493,776 | 3 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 32 | $284,621 | $71,155 | $137,847 | $493,623 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Counsel | 35 | $309,583 | $42,216 | $113,832 | $465,631 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | VP Market Operations | 38 | $269,837 | $14,202 | $158,800 | $442,839 | 3 |
| Thomas Alban | VP Power Generation | 38 | $272,066 | $11,336 | $148,412 | $431,814 | 2 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 40 | $257,854 | $0 | $63,853 | $321,707 | 2 |
| Greg Niese | Director of IT | 36 | $160,044 | $17,783 | $142,800 | $320,627 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 40 | $196,469 | $0 | $81,143 | $277,612 | 2 |
| Randell Keefer | Manager Power Gen Performance | 40 | $190,246 | $0 | $81,825 | $272,071 | 2 |
| James Palmisano | Chief Accounting Officer | 38 | $161,493 | $8,500 | $89,018 | $259,011 | 2 |
| Paul Jackson | Manager Power Gen Assets | 40 | $194,004 | $0 | $57,941 | $251,945 | 2 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 8 | $8,575 | $0 | $0 | $8,575 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 1 | $2,800 | $700 | $0 | $3,500 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 2 | $1,750 | $0 | $0 | $1,750 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 1 | $1,575 | $0 | $0 | $1,575 | 1 |
| George Carter | Trustee | 2 | $1,575 | $0 | $0 | $1,575 | 1 |
| William Swango | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tonda Meadows | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Wofenbarger | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel McNaull | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joe Waltz | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ronald Salyer | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| George Walton | Trustee | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 37 people listed · 17 paid, $5.3M · 85 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick OLoughlin | President CEO | 32 | $902,917 | $198,200 | $548,795 | $1,649,912 | 3 |
| William Roberts | VP Finance CFO | 36 | $303,893 | $33,766 | $129,915 | $467,574 | 3 |
| Douglas Miller | VP Statewide Services | 10 | $68,138 | $204,410 | $180,106 | $452,654 | 3 |
| Kurt Helfrich | General Counsel | 35 | $296,832 | $40,476 | $109,530 | $446,838 | 3 |
| Craig Grooms | VP Market Operations | 38 | $256,146 | $13,482 | $133,390 | $403,018 | 3 |
| Thomas Alban | VP Power Generation | 38 | $260,599 | $10,858 | $123,028 | $394,485 | 2 |
| Bethany Schunn | Plant Manager | 40 | $243,651 | $0 | $56,679 | $300,330 | 2 |
| Dave Richardson | Plant Manager | 40 | $189,993 | $0 | $72,099 | $262,092 | 2 |
| Randell Keefer | Manager Power Gen Performance | 40 | $180,860 | $0 | $68,789 | $249,649 | 2 |
| James Palmisano | Chief Accounting Officer | 38 | $155,880 | $8,205 | $81,537 | $245,622 | 2 |
| Paul Jackson | Manager Power Gen Assets | 40 | $182,048 | $0 | $48,600 | $230,648 | 2 |
| Lija Kaleps-Clark | Senior Counsel | 36 | $153,587 | $17,065 | $44,302 | $214,954 | 3 |
| Steven Nelson | Chairman | 8 | $8,225 | $0 | $0 | $8,225 | 1 |
| John Metcalf | Vice Chairman | 3 | $2,450 | $0 | $0 | $2,450 | 1 |
| Todd Ware | Treasurer | 3 | $1,575 | $0 | $0 | $1,575 | 1 |
| George Carter | Trustee | 5 | $1,400 | $0 | $0 | $1,400 | 1 |
| Brett Perkins | Trustee | 3 | $1,400 | $0 | $0 | $1,400 | 1 |
| William Swango | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tonda Meadows | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Wofenbarger | Trustee | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Larry Fenbers | Trustee | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phillip Caskey | Trustee | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Holsapple | Trustee | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel McNaull | Trustee | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Brian Hill | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Bill Barnhart | Trustee | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Glenn Miller | Trustee | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joe Waltz | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Rowland | Trustee | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Gary Knapke | Trustee | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dan Bodette | Trustee | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ed VanHoose | Trustee | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darin Thorp | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ronald Salyer | Trustee | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Lemonds | Secretary | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Anthony Smith | Trustee | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jeff Triplett | Trustee | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
2024 · 5 contractors · $4.7M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACES Power Marketing | Indianapolis, IN | power marketing services | $2,589,883 |
| Morgan Stanley | New York, NY | power marketing services | $981,075 |
| MPW Industrial Services | Hebron, OH | Industrial services | $417,402 |
| Aveva | Houston, TX | Industrial intelligence | $403,605 |
| Thompson Hine | Columbus, OH | Legal | $355,874 |
2023 · 4 contractors · $852K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spiegel & McDiarmid LLP | Washington, DC | Legal | $304,585 |
| THOMPSON HINE LLP | Cleveland, OH | Legal | $258,872 |
| CROWE LLP | South Bend, IN | Audit | $161,000 |
| Shumaker Loop & Kendrick LLP | Columbus, OH | Legal | $127,618 |
2022 · 4 contractors · $1.5M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| THOMPSON HINE LLP | Cleveland, OH | Legal | $1,138,170 |
| CROWE LLP | Chicago, IL | Audit | $161,454 |
| Crowne Electric Engineering | Middletown, OH | Other Services | $124,200 |
| Distributed Solar Development | Schenectady, NY | Other Services | $101,902 |
2021 · 5 contractors · $1.3M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| THOMPSON HINE LLP | Cleveland, OH | Legal | $852,149 |
| Spiegel & McDiarmid LLP | Washington, DC | Legal | $128,532 |
| CROWE LLP | Chicago, IL | Audit | $124,000 |
| Patriot Power Group LLC | Tomball, TX | Other Services | $116,728 |
| Wagner-Meinert LLC | Fort Wayne, IN | Other Services | $113,038 |
2020 · 3 contractors · $1.7M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| THOMPSON HINE LLP | Cleveland, OH | Legal | $1,423,201 |
| CROWE LLP | Chicago, IL | Audit | $122,000 |
| SHUMAKER LOOP & KENDRICK | Toledo, OH | Legal | $110,474 |
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $915,533,213 | $886,312,808 | $1,599,226,510 | $511,867,982 | $0 | $906,845,308 | $2,682,405 | 84 | 0 |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $815,866,022 | $795,831,880 | $1,696,416,205 | $512,052,558 | $0 | $807,658,695 | $2,565,830 | 83 | 0 |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $832,696,275 | $791,988,048 | $1,688,219,536 | $521,390,484 | $0 | $825,996,768 | $0 | 79 | 0 |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $814,420,643 | $777,806,668 | $1,739,976,540 | $517,604,610 | $0 | $809,956,444 | $0 | 84 | 0 |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $739,686,456 | $712,071,623 | $1,764,183,038 | $520,217,816 | $0 | $735,204,423 | $2,849,677 | 85 | 0 |
Connected to
Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.
- OHIO RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES INC COUNTRY LIVING MAGAZINE Columbus, OH · 12 people in common (Ben Wilson, Bethany Schunn, Craig Grooms) · related organization (Schedule R)
- COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF OHIOS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES Columbus, OH · 7 people in common (Ben Wilson, Craig Grooms, Kevin Zemanek)
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BUCKEYE CLUB INC | OH | N50 | $26,084 | $33,221 | MANAGER | $3,780 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state |
| BUCKEYE CLUB INC | OH | Not reported | $74,014 | $69,930 | TREASURER | $1,200 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state |
| M-POWER INC | MA | Not reported | $5,523 | $27,906 | CLERK/TREASU | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| POWER INC | MI | Not reported | $191,677 | $190,229 | Member | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 4 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
| Grantor | Type | Total given | Grants | Organizations funded | Years | Which ones |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NATIONAL CHRISTIAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | $100 | 1 | 1 | 2012–2012 | POWER INC |
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $886,312,808 spent · pay $9,780,624 · grants $0 · events $114,665
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Fuel | $341,025,336 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 38.5% |
| Other (as described) | Transmission | $200,528,929 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 22.6% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $124,048,270 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 14.0% | |
| Other (as described) | Production | $107,247,052 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 12.1% |
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $43,106,030 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 4.9% |
| Interest | $41,876,170 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 4.7% | |
| All other expenses | $11,403,511 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.3% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $4,058,201 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.5% | |
| Insurance | $3,437,151 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees | $2,682,405 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $2,282,564 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Pension plan contributions | $1,340,311 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Other employee benefits | $1,039,008 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Payroll taxes | $660,699 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Fees: legal | $552,935 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $315,719 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Travel | $290,901 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $165,001 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Occupancy | $137,950 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $114,665 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $886,312,808 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990 · $795,831,880 spent · pay $9,332,861 · grants $0 · events $108,376
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Fuel | $288,295,224 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 36.2% |
| Other (as described) | Transmission | $187,200,053 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 23.5% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $113,059,717 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 14.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Production | $90,310,760 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 11.3% |
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $48,594,453 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 6.1% |
| Interest | $41,991,741 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.3% | |
| All other expenses | $9,879,725 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.2% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $3,832,059 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.5% | |
| Insurance | $3,290,278 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees | $2,565,830 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other employee benefits | $2,321,184 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $2,240,706 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Payroll taxes | $613,788 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Fees: legal | $570,670 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $383,495 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Travel | $283,192 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $161,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Occupancy | $129,629 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $108,376 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $795,831,880 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990 · $791,988,048 spent · pay $8,743,505 · grants $0 · events $97,315
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Fuel | $320,807,858 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 40.5% |
| Other (as described) | Transmission | $169,070,186 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 21.3% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $112,155,663 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 14.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Production | $85,560,993 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 10.8% |
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $51,310,495 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 6.5% |
| Interest | $40,062,204 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.1% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $6,037,213 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.8% | |
| Insurance | $2,857,413 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $2,362,895 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other employee benefits | $2,105,534 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Payroll taxes | $600,758 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Fees: legal | $534,426 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $286,224 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Travel | $247,678 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $157,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Occupancy | $107,360 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $97,315 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| All other expenses | -$2,373,167 | $0 | $0 | $0 | -0.3% | |
| Total | $791,988,048 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990 · $777,806,668 spent · pay $8,331,657 · grants $0 · events $75,695
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Fuel | $303,504,431 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 39.0% |
| Other (as described) | Transmission | $152,645,859 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 19.6% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $111,334,621 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 14.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Production | $94,063,572 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 12.1% |
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $43,328,373 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.6% |
| Interest | $42,275,927 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.4% | |
| All other expenses | $15,138,677 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.9% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $5,704,508 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.7% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $2,470,152 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Insurance | $2,393,268 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other employee benefits | $2,064,884 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Fees: legal | $1,514,008 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Payroll taxes | $562,265 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $292,668 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Travel | $186,770 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $148,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Occupancy | $102,990 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $75,695 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $777,806,668 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990 · $712,071,623 spent · pay $7,980,311 · grants $0 · events $88,049
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Fuel | $252,655,094 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 35.5% |
| Other (as described) | Transmission | $135,655,638 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 19.1% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $109,228,511 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 15.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Production | $91,851,872 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 12.9% |
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $49,531,604 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 7.0% |
| Interest | $45,391,274 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 6.4% | |
| All other expenses | $13,120,759 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $2,937,484 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees | $2,849,677 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $2,478,426 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Insurance | $2,206,220 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other employee benefits | $1,747,108 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Fees: legal | $1,059,010 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Payroll taxes | $446,042 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $340,284 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $287,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Occupancy | $107,512 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Travel | $90,059 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $88,049 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $712,071,623 | 100% |
Federal grants and contracts
Awards from USAspending.gov to a recipient with this organization's name and zip code. Obligations by federal fiscal year (October to September); each award links to its page on usaspending.gov.
| Fiscal year | Grants and other assistance | Contracts | Awards |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $34,000,000 | $0 | 1 |
| 2025 | $36,280,862 | $0 | 2 |
Largest awards · 2 shown
| Year | Agency | Kind | Program | Description | Obligated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Department of Energy | Grant or other assistance | FOSSIL ENERGY RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT 81.089 | BUCKEYE POWER, INC. APPLIED FOR FUNDING UNDER DE-FOA-0003605 TITLED RESTORING RELIABILITY: COAL RECOMMISSIONING AND MODERNIZATION UNDER TOPIC AREA 2 TITLED RURA | $34,000,000 |
| 2025 | Rural Utilities Service | Grant or other assistance | NEW EMPOWERING RURAL AMERICA (NEW ERA) PROGRAM 10.758 | RUS IRA NEW ERA GRANT | $36,280,862 |
Trademarks
2 US trademarks, 2 live.
- Buckeye Power, Inc. 2 marks, OH EXACT high confidence: identical full name and state
| Mark | Serial | Filed | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OHIO'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES | 97201941 | 2022-01-04 | Registered | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| OHIO'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES | 86937095 | 2016-03-11 | Registered | TRTDXFAP, file of 2025-09-15 |
The newest marks of the trademark owners above, matched to this record by name (and state).
Comments