JAMES AND SUSAN HE FOUNDATION
Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.
Cite this
Plain text JAMES AND SUSAN HE FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2011–2021. https://furp.org/org/james-and-susan-he-foundation-205282768. Retrieved 2026-11-04.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). JAMES AND SUSAN HE FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2011–2021]. Retrieved November 4, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/james-and-susan-he-foundation-205282768
MLA “JAMES AND SUSAN HE FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2011–2021, https://furp.org/org/james-and-susan-he-foundation-205282768. Accessed 4 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-04; covers tax years 2011–2021. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2021 · Form 990PF · revenue $130K · expenses $698K · assets $0
- EIN
- 20-5282768
- Address
- 874 PECAN COURT, SUNNYVALE, CA 94087
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- -
- Ruling date
- -
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 2 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
2 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Runsheng He | CEO | 2011-2021 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Fang Wu | SECRETARY | 2011-2021 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2021 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2019 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2018 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2017 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2016 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | Secretary | 2 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2015 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 2 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FANG WU | Secretary | 2 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2011 · 2 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FANG WU | Secretary | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| RUNSHENG HE | CEO | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2021 · 3 grants to organizations · $693K
2019 · 2 grants to organizations · $58K
2018 · 1 grant to organizations · $50K
2017 · 2 grants to organizations · $23K
2015 · 0 grants to organizations · $0 · 1 grant to individuals · $40K
2011 · 0 grants to organizations · $0 · 1 grant to individuals · $20K
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $130,081 | $697,833 | $0 | $0 | $3,538 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $29,687 | $2,487 | $567,752 | $567,752 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2019 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $19,300 | $64,688 | $540,552 | $540,552 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2018 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $24,035 | $55,987 | $585,940 | $585,940 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2017 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $14,616 | $28,995 | $617,892 | $617,892 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $26,772 | $6,481 | $632,271 | $632,271 | - | - | - | - | - |
| 2015 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $101,795 | $42,869 | $611,980 | $611,980 | - | - | - | - | - |
| 2011 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $21,056 | $32,258 | $461,302 | $461,302 | - | - | - | - | - |
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ED AND SUSAN YANG FOUNDATION | CA | T50 | $84,529 | $52,146 | CEO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| THE JAMES AND ANN SWINEHART FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $211,260 | $271,135 | PRESIDENT & SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| JAMES A FOLGER AND JANE C FOLGER FOUNDATION THE | CA | Not reported | $80,673 | $47,797 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| JAMES E DAVIS AND SUSAN FROST DAVIS FOUNDATION | FL | T20 | $95,971 | $83,145 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND SUSAN RATNER FAMILY FOUNDATION | OH | T20 | $231,778 | $1,032,758 | VP/DIR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND ANGELA RYAN FOUNDATION | PA | T22 | $84,847 | $40,204 | MANAGER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| RON AND SUSAN KRUMP FOUNDATION | NV | T20 | $167,997 | $84,197 | CO-TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND EDITH SPAIN FOUNDATION | TX | A12 | $173,615 | $321,522 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND JANE SUTOW FAMILY FOUNDATION | PA | T20 | $120,445 | $36,326 | PRESIDENT & TREASURER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES J AND SHARON R ABEL FOUNDATION | OH | T20 | $94,803 | $110,199 | PRESIDENT/TR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JOAN AND JAMES SHAPIRO FOUNDATION INC | IL | Not reported | $199,247 | $153,046 | PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES R ASH FOUNDATION | TX | T20 | $101,586 | $14,108 | Trustee | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ETHAN JAMES FOUNDATION | CO | T22 | $92,311 | $63,071 | Dir, Pres | $31,745 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SUSAN ADLER FOUNDATION | IL | Not reported | $85,733 | $93,918 | VP & DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE JAMES AND JUDY FAMILY FOUNDATION | DE | T22 | $105,152 | $32,161 | Dir | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ALBERT J AND SUSAN E ROT FOUNDATION | IL | Not reported | $99,550 | $103,205 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| PETER AND SUSAN BROWN FOUNDATION | MO | T22 | $110,326 | $118,761 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES & JOHN FOUNDATION | WA | T20 | $165,222 | $88,000 | DIRECTOR & PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SKIP AND SUSAN GILLILAND FOUNDATION | FL | E22 | $173,602 | $82,941 | PRES, TREA, | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND KAREN HYDE FOUNDATION INC | WI | T22 | $95,979 | $87,500 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ST JAMES FOUNDATION INC | NY | Z99 | $182,014 | $142,213 | BOARD MEMBER | $1,591,441 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND JUANITA C WO FOUNDATION | HI | Not reported | $219,771 | $308,222 | PRESIDENT/SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES AND JANICE KREUTZ FOUNDATION | MO | T20 | $71,159 | $14,389 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE HENRY AND SUSAN GARCIA FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $598,954 | $117,716 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| J AND J FOUNDATION | CA | T12 | $51,486 | $5,903 | CEO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
| Grantor | Type | Total given | Grants | Organizations funded | Years | Which ones |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROBERT A AND SUSAN C WILSON FOUNDATION | Private foundation | $10,834,850 | 1 | 1 | 2024–2024 | BOB AND SUSAN WILSON FOUNDATION |
| THE NEW YORK COMMUNITY TRUST | DAF sponsor | $1,351,428 | 3 | 1 | 2023–2024 | JAMES FOUNDATION |
| FORGOOD INC | DAF sponsor | $14,793 | 1 | 1 | 2019–2019 | ROMAN JAMES FOUNDATION |
| UNITED WAY OF GREATER ST LOUIS INC | DAF sponsor | $10,000 | 1 | 1 | 2022–2022 | PETER AND SUSAN BROWN FOUNDATION |
| MILLER FAMILY FOUNDATION INC | Private foundation | $10,000 | 1 | 1 | 2025–2025 | PETER AND SUSAN BROWN FOUNDATION |
| DRYDEN FAMILY FOUNDATION | Private foundation | $8,000 | 8 | 1 | 2018–2025 | ROMAN JAMES FOUNDATION |
| AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION | Private foundation | $1,307 | 6 | 2 | 2020–2023 | ROMAN JAMES FOUNDATION; ST JAMES FOUNDATION INC |
| EDSEL B FORD II FUND | Private foundation | $1,000 | 1 | 1 | 2021–2021 | JOHN A JAMES FOUNDATION |
| JENNIFER LYNN STROUD FOUNDATION | Private foundation | $754 | 1 | 1 | 2021–2021 | MR AND MRS JAMES A STROUD FOUNDATION |
| JPMORGAN CHASE FOUNDATION | Private foundation | $350 | 1 | 1 | 2020–2020 | ROMAN JAMES FOUNDATION |
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2021 · Form 990PF · $697,833 spent · pay $0 · grants $693,180 · events $628
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $693,180 | 99.3% | |
| Fees: accounting | $3,403 | 0.5% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $628 | 0.1% | |
| Taxes | $374 | 0.1% | |
| Other expenses | $200 | 0.0% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $48 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $697,833 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990PF · $2,487 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: accounting | $1,656 | 66.6% | |
| Taxes | $621 | 25.0% | |
| Other expenses | $210 | 8.4% | |
| Total | $2,487 | 100% |
2019 · Form 990PF · $64,688 spent · pay $0 · grants $58,000 · events $2,037
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $58,000 | 89.7% | |
| Other expenses | $2,300 | 3.6% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $2,037 | 3.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,608 | 2.5% | |
| Taxes | $501 | 0.8% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $242 | 0.4% | |
| Total | $64,688 | 100% |
2018 · Form 990PF · $55,987 spent · pay $0 · grants $50,000 · events $723
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $50,000 | 89.3% | |
| Other expenses | $2,295 | 4.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,560 | 2.8% | |
| Taxes | $1,027 | 1.8% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $723 | 1.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $382 | 0.7% | |
| Total | $55,987 | 100% |
2017 · Form 990PF · $28,995 spent · pay $0 · grants $23,000 · events $1,357
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $23,000 | 79.3% | |
| Other expenses | $1,665 | 5.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,515 | 5.2% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $1,357 | 4.7% | |
| Taxes | $1,076 | 3.7% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $382 | 1.3% | |
| Total | $28,995 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990PF · $6,481 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taxes | $3,992 | 61.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,515 | 23.4% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $637 | 9.8% | |
| Other expenses | $337 | 5.2% | |
| Total | $6,481 | 100% |
2015 · Form 990PF · $42,869 spent · pay $0 · grants $40,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $40,000 | 93.3% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,265 | 3.0% | |
| Other expenses | $683 | 1.6% | |
| Taxes | $555 | 1.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $366 | 0.9% | |
| Total | $42,869 | 100% |
2011 · Form 990PF · $32,258 spent · pay $0 · grants $20,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $20,000 | 62.0% | |
| Other expenses | $10,047 | 31.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $1,265 | 3.9% | |
| Taxes | $946 | 2.9% | |
| Total | $32,258 | 100% |
Comments