ELLMAN FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text ELLMAN FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2009–2016. https://furp.org/org/ellman-foundation-136160971. Retrieved 2026-10-24.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). ELLMAN FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2009–2016]. Retrieved October 24, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/ellman-foundation-136160971

MLA “ELLMAN FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2009–2016, https://furp.org/org/ellman-foundation-136160971. Accessed 24 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-24; covers tax years 2009–2016. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2016 · Form 990PF · revenue $327K · expenses $2.3M · assets $0

Also known as
C/O MARKS PANETH LLP
EIN
13-6160971
Address
685 THIRD AVENUE NO FL 5, NEW YORK, NY 10017
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
-
Ruling date
-
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 3 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

3 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Jan Ellman PRESIDENT/TREASURER/SECRETARY2009-2016 5 $0 reported 1
Esther Ellman PRESIDENT (DEC'D)2011-2016 1 $0 reported 1
Ester Ellman (former) PRESIDENT2009 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2016 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAN ELLMAN PRESIDENT/TREASURER/SECRETARY5 $0-$0 $01
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT (DEC'D)1 $0-$0 $01
2015 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER/SECRETARY1 $0-$0 $01
2014 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER/SECRETARY1 $0-$0 $01
2013 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER1 $0-$0 $01
2012 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER1 $0-$0 $01
2011 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTHER ELLMAN PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER1 $0-$0 $01
2009 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
ESTER ELLMAN PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
JAN ELLMAN TREASURER0 $0-$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

State business registration

The same business name in the same state, from the state’s official registry data.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2016 · 11 grants to organizations · $2.2M
2015 · 7 grants to organizations · $115K
2014 · 7 grants to organizations · $115K
2013 · 10 grants to organizations · $118K
2012 · 11 grants to organizations · $137K
2011 · 13 grants to organizations · $100K
2009 · 14 grants to organizations · $88K

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.

2012 · 1 contributor · $100K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 ESTHER ELLMAN Person BOCA RATON, FL $100,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2012 · filing
2011 · 1 contributor · $100K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 ESTHER ELLMAN Person BOCA RATON, FL $100,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2011 · filing
2009 · 1 contributor · $100K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 ESTER ELLMAN Person BOCA RATON, FL $100,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2009 · filing

Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2016 · Form 990PF period ending 2017-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$326,625$2,254,690 $0$0 -- $0--
2015 · Form 990PF period ending 2016-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$104,404$148,483 $1,928,065$1,928,065 -- $0--
2014 · Form 990PF period ending 2015-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$117,914$148,776 $1,972,144$1,972,144 -- $0--
2013 · Form 990PF period ending 2014-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$128,946$153,971 $2,003,006$2,003,006 -- $0--
2012 · Form 990PF period ending 2013-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$389,986$171,795 $2,028,031$2,028,031 -- $0--
2011 · Form 990PF period ending 2012-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$239,761$129,602 $1,809,840$1,809,840 -- $0--
2009 · Form 990PF period ending 2010-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$192,035$107,976 $1,677,543$1,677,543 -- $0--

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
TSP FOUNDATIONNYT20 $275,241$402,120 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
W20 FOUNDATIONNYB82 $210,404$209,688 Vice President$100,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
SCS FOUNDATIONNYT20 $511,500$510,534 Trustee$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
AYN FOUNDATIONNYP20 $530,446$859,513 Secretary$122,800 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
ESHELMAN FOUNDATIONDET20 $415,150$561,897 Dir, Pres$89,582 Similar name, revenue within 2x
ELARDI FOUNDATIONNVT20 $267,676$260,116 SecretaryTreasurer$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
NEWMAN FOUNDATIONTXT20 $187,332$100,024 PRES, SEC, TREAS, DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
FG FOUNDATIONOHT20 $356,097$338,000 SECRETARY$1,012,706 Similar name, revenue within 2x
J & J FOUNDATIONNVF12 $273,469$239,854 DIRECTOR$72,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
EDEN FOUNDATIONTNNot reported $364,561$1,251,887 TRUSTEE$18,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
EYAS FOUNDATIONWYT20 $177,017$125,956 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
FAN FAM FOUNDATIONMAT22 $174,435$259,466 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
4S FOUNDATIONWAT50 $306,628$42,243 President & CEO$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
HO HO FOUNDATIONPAB99 $425,000$421,761 Director$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
LE FOUNDATIONKYB82 $193,992$226,722 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
2L FOUNDATIONFLP84 $559,305$504,503 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
BP FOUNDATIONCAT22 $585,068$876,082 TRUSTEE$108,571 Similar name, revenue within 2x
ALMAR FOUNDATIONNJNot reported $379,277$2,500,624 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
AMANA FOUNDATIONPAP20 $278,496$270,094 BOARD MEMBER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
EDEN8 FOUNDATIONCAT23 $500,000$0 TRUSTEE, CEO$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
EAGLE FOUNDATIONARP19 $199,383$208,030 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
DELLE FOUNDATIONNMT22 $187,305$109,290 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
AMMERMAN FOUNDATIONFLNot reported $324,126$312,976 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SHEARMAN FOUNDATIONLANot reported $164,142$404,727 Trustee$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SHT FOUNDATIONTXT20 $316,315$252,450 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
PATTERSON-BARCLAY MEMORIAL FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$3,453,1032 12020–2020 DJA FOUNDATION
WAVERLEY STREET FOUNDATION Private foundation$900,0002 12024–2024 LQ FOUNDATION
TIDES FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$558,3333 22021–2023 LQ FOUNDATION; MDP FOUNDATION
GS DONOR ADVISED PHILANTHROPY FUND FOR WEALTH MANAGEMENT INC DAF sponsor$500,0001 12024–2024 EDEN8 FOUNDATION
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$418,15319 72017–2024 MDP FOUNDATION; BOW FOUNDATION; AFE FOUNDATION; CCC FOUNDATION and 3 more
MITTLER FAMILY FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$400,0008 12018–2025 RPM FOUNDATION
MULCHAND & PARPATI THADMANI FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$355,0002 12023–2024 AFE FOUNDATION
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$322,54116 52019–2024 LQ FOUNDATION; MDP FOUNDATION; AFE FOUNDATION; CCC FOUNDATION and 1 more
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$314,90023 72016–2024 CCC FOUNDATION; RPM FOUNDATION; MDP FOUNDATION; BIG MAN FOUNDATION and 3 more
RUTH MOTT FOUNDATION Private foundation$190,4006 12018–2023 CLINGMAN FOUNDATION
GREATER HOUSTON COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$144,3114 12010–2014 LQ FOUNDATION
HAGERTY DRIVERS FOUNDATION Private foundation$100,0002 12021–2023 RPM FOUNDATION
LISA AND DOUGLAS GOLDMAN FUND Private foundation$84,50018 12018–2024 MDP FOUNDATION
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$80,0004 42020–2024 FOUNDATION 99; LQ FOUNDATION; 2L FOUNDATION; IAM FOUNDATION
TWENTY-SEVEN FOUNDATION Private foundation$75,0005 12016–2020 RPM FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2016 · Form 990PF · $2,254,690 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,216,006 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $2,216,006 98.3%
Fees: other professional $18,594 0.8%
Fees: accounting $11,750 0.5%
Fees: legal $5,147 0.2%
Taxes $3,193 0.1%
Total$2,254,690100%

View the filing

2015 · Form 990PF · $148,483 spent · pay $0 · grants $115,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $115,000 77.4%
Fees: other professional $29,145 19.6%
Fees: accounting $4,000 2.7%
Other expenses $250 0.2%
Taxes $88 0.1%
Total$148,483100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990PF · $148,776 spent · pay $0 · grants $115,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $115,000 77.3%
Fees: other professional $29,604 19.9%
Fees: accounting $3,922 2.6%
Other expenses $250 0.2%
Total$148,776100%

View the filing

2013 · Form 990PF · $153,971 spent · pay $0 · grants $118,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $118,000 76.6%
Fees: other professional $28,958 18.8%
Fees: accounting $3,756 2.4%
Taxes $3,257 2.1%
Total$153,971100%

View the filing

2012 · Form 990PF · $171,795 spent · pay $0 · grants $137,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $137,000 79.7%
Fees: other professional $27,532 16.0%
Taxes $3,833 2.2%
Fees: accounting $3,430 2.0%
Total$171,795100%

View the filing

2011 · Form 990PF · $129,602 spent · pay $0 · grants $100,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $100,000 77.2%
Fees: other professional $26,149 20.2%
Fees: accounting $3,300 2.5%
Taxes $153 0.1%
Total$129,602100%

View the filing

2009 · Form 990PF · $107,976 spent · pay $0 · grants $88,500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $88,500 82.0%
Fees: other professional $15,766 14.6%
Fees: accounting $3,000 2.8%
Taxes $710 0.7%
Total$107,976100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.