SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH CARE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH CARE CORPORATION (EIN 62-1113169)
Tax period
2014-07-01 to 2015-06-30
Filed
2016-02-15
IRS object ID
201620479349301147
Schema version
2014v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-02-15T19:22:30-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN621113169EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH CARE CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSHELBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9015457928PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 Jefferson AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphisCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38103ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ Richard Wagers JrPersonNm
Person TitleChief Financial OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Phone9015458234PhoneNum
Signature2016-02-15SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-08-17 19:52:53ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerReginald Coopwood MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 Jefferson AveAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphisCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38104ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$410,847,511GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.regionalonehealth.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1981FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHealthcare delivery operating a public charity hospital providing inpatient and outpatient servicesActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee3197TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers179TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$34,898,524PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$30,148,741CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$303,180,150PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$347,134,962CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,485,001PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$12,388,239CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$18,106,584PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$21,175,569CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$360,670,259PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$410,847,511CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$160,916,630PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$181,249,543CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$194,492,901PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$216,759,585CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$355,409,531PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$398,009,128CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,260,728PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$12,838,383CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$278,214,251TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$295,970,493TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$53,018,520TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$61,805,592TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$225,195,731NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$234,164,901NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionRegional One Healths' mission is to improve the health and well-being of the people we serve by providing compassionate care and exceptional services.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$345,993,227ExpenseAmt
Revenue$410,847,511RevenueAmt
DescShelby County Health Care Corporation, dba Regional One Health, is a healthcare organization providing accessible, efficient, quality healthcare to individuals from a five-state region within 150 miles of the Memphis area. Regional One Health provides access to the only Level I trauma center to patients within 150 miles of Memphis, and is the safety net to the region. Providing inpatient and outpatient services, Regional One Health is anchored by five highly respected Centers of Excellence: Trauma, Burn, Wound Care, Neonatal/Perinatal and High Risk Obstetrics. Regional One Health is a major teaching site for the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center, training more than half of the doctors in Tenenssee. In fiscal year 2015, there were: 15,704 discharges; 2,768 normal newborn discharges; 1,088 high risk newborn discharges; 139,329 outpatient visits; 11,834 trauma visits; and 46,246 other emergency room visits.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$345,993,227TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document126IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G3197IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee3197EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJames ProctorPersonNm
Phone9015458254PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 Jefferson AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphisCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38103ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Phil Shannon
Chairman10Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brenda Hardy MD
Secretary1Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pam Brown
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Scott Lenoir
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Scott McCormick
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
David T Popwell
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anthony Tate
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Vergos
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Reginald Milton
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ken Brown MD
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bill Evans MD
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tyrone Burroughs
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Freeman MD
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edith Kelly-Green
Board Member1Yes (X)$0$0$0
Reginald Coopwood MD
President and CEO40Yes (X)$814,997$0$133,760
J Richard Wagers Jr
Senior EVP and Chief Financial Officer40Yes (X)$519,736$0$75,154
Rob Sumter
EVP, COO and CIO40$411,184$0$6,952Yes (X)
Susan Cooper
SVP Ambulatory Svcs/Chief Integration Officer40$317,608$0$12,204Yes (X)
Pam Castleman
Senior VP and CNO40$257,425$0$11,753Yes (X)
Brett Perisho
Executive Staff40$349,483$0$18,752Yes (X)
Leticia Towns
Senior VP, External Relations40$260,032$0$11,548Yes (X)
Monica Wharton
Senior VP and Chief Legal Counsel40$304,805$0$22,878Yes (X)
Sarah Colley
Senior VP, HR40$226,555$0$17,827Yes (X)
Judy Briggs
VP, Revenue Cycle40$214,049$0$15,683Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,675,874TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$326,511TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K135IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
UTMG
956 Court Ave G326MemphisTN38103Physician Services$8,842,506
UT
910 Madison AveMemphisTN38163Physician services$10,526,166Suite 1031
McKesson
P O Box 409521AtlantaGA303849521MEDICAL DRUG SUPPLIER$18,795,916
Owens Minor
PO Box 841420DallasTX75312Medical Goods Supplier$11,783,323
Cerner Health Services
2800 Rockcreek ParkwayKansas CityMO64117Software$5,064,347
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K629CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$30,148,741GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$0AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$30,148,741TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNet Patient Service RevenueDesc
Business622000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$347,134,962TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$347,134,962RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$347,134,962TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,388,239TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$12,388,239RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Outpatient Pharmacy900099$18,390,105$18,390,105$0$0
Parking Lots812930$508,421$508,421$0$0

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,277,043TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,277,043RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$21,175,569OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$410,847,511TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$380,698,770RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$146,888,369TotalAmt
Program Services$105,475,743ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,412,626ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,525,560TotalAmt
Program Services$1,813,522ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$712,038ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,705,773TotalAmt
Program Services$15,586,207ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,119,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,129,841TotalAmt
Program Services$7,499,134ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,630,707ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,277,565TotalAmt
Program Services$15,277,565ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$828,154TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$828,154ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$312,810TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,810ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,945TotalAmt
Program Services$188,945ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,923,605TotalAmt
Program Services$69,923,605ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,049,428TotalAmt
Program Services$1,049,428ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$474,836TotalAmt
Program Services$474,836ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,579,890TotalAmt
Program Services$10,579,890ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,290,056TotalAmt
Program Services$14,290,056ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,478,518TotalAmt
Program Services$1,478,518ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,170TotalAmt
Program Services$83,170ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,527,554TotalAmt
Program Services$13,527,554ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,034,964TotalAmt
Program Services$1,034,964ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMedical SuppliesDesc
Total$69,515,223TotalAmt
Program Services$69,515,223ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,194,867TotalAmt
Program Services$18,194,867ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$398,009,128TotalAmt
Program Services$345,993,227ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$52,015,901ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,642,807BOYAmt
EOY$9,693,921EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,228,762BOYAmt
EOY$340,000EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$337,080BOYAmt
EOY$1,025,254EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,186,428BOYAmt
EOY$82,998,360EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,221,600BOYAmt
EOY$19,221,600EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,271,126BOYAmt
EOY$3,280,696EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,728,582BOYAmt
EOY$2,702,540EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$338,453,980LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$281,766,177LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,222,386BOYAmt
EOY$56,687,803EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,375,480BOYAmt
EOY$109,020,443EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$10,999,876EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$278,214,251BOYAmt
EOY$295,970,493EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,785,630BOYAmt
EOY$37,988,325EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$742BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,382,547BOYAmt
EOY$164,375EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,851,085BOYAmt
EOY$23,652,892EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,018,520BOYAmt
EOY$61,805,592EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,999,590BOYAmt
EOY$19,999,590EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$205,196,141BOYAmt
EOY$214,165,311EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$225,195,731BOYAmt
EOY$234,164,901EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$278,214,251BOYAmt
EOY$295,970,493EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$12,838,383ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$0NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,869,213OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$224,125OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$224,125TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNAExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$4,313,278InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,313,278BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$49,091,873InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$46,053,535DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,038,338BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$6,297,602InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,351,859DepreciationAmt
Book Value$945,743BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$239,722,937InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$206,985,209DepreciationAmt
Book Value$32,737,728BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$39,028,290InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,375,574DepreciationAmt
Book Value$15,652,716BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$56,687,803TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Reserves$16,012,858
Compensated Absenses$7,640,034
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$23,652,892TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$410,847,511TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$0NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$410,847,511RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$410,847,511TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$398,009,128TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$398,009,128ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$398,009,128TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd
Percent150Yes (X)Percent150Ind
FPG Reference Discounted Care0FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetYes (1)ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Unable To Provide Care0UnableToProvideCareInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (1)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (1)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$87,417,450TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$75,527,193DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$11,890,257NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$116,233,238TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$62,310,386DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$53,922,852NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.135TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Activities Or Programs0ActivitiesOrProgramsCnt
Persons Served0PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$203,650,688TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$137,837,579DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$65,813,109NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.165TotalExpensePct

Health Professions Education HealthProfessionsEducationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$17,384,768TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$7,743,130DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$9,641,638NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.024TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Activities Or Programs0ActivitiesOrProgramsCnt
Persons Served0PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$17,384,768TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$7,743,130DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$9,641,638NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.024TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Activities Or Programs0ActivitiesOrProgramsCnt
Persons Served0PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$221,035,456TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$145,580,709DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$75,454,747NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.189TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$26,505,642BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$0BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$44,151,030ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$36,583,559CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall$7,567,471MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cost To Charge RatioYes (X)CostToChargeRatioInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Regional One HealthBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 Jefferson AveAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphisCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website Addresswww.the-med.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Teaching HospitalYes (X)TeachingHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd
OtherInpatient rehabilitation facility, outpatient primary care clinics, Well/Sick Baby Nursery.OtherDesc

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Regional One HealthBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PYYes (1)FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Information GapsYes (X)InformationGapsInd
CHNA Conducted12CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLwww.regionalonehealth.orgOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt14ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted Website0StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Attached0StrategyAttachedInd
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
Income Level CriteriaYes (X)IncomeLevelCriteriaInd
Medical Indigency CriteriaYes (X)MedicalIndigencyCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Provided Nonprofit ContactYes (X)ProvidedNonprofitContactInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP Notice DisplayedYes (X)FAPNoticeDisplayedInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit Report To Credit AgencyYes (X)PermitReportToCreditAgencyInd
Collection ActivitiesYes (1)CollectionActivitiesInd
Reporting To Credit AgencyYes (X)ReportingToCreditAgencyInd
FAP Notified Upon AdmissionYes (X)FAPNotifiedUponAdmissionInd
FAP Notified Before DischargeYes (X)FAPNotifiedBeforeDischargeInd
FAP Notified All PatientsYes (X)FAPNotifiedAllPatientsInd
Documented Elig DeterminationYes (X)DocumentedEligDeterminationInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Other Method UsedYes (X)OtherMethodUsedInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 3-Regional One HealthIn order to take into account input from persons who represent the community in its most recent CHNA, Regional One Health collected information from multiple sources, including key stakeholder interviews and telephone-based community surveys. Primary data was obtained through key stakeholder interviews used to gather information and professional opinions from persons who represent the broad interests of the community served. Thirty-four (34) interviews were conducted for the CHNA in October and November 2012. Specifically, 16 interviews were conducted with Regional One Health staff - internal key stakeholder's - representing various departments and functions, and 18 interviews - external key stakeholders - were conducted with local healthcare professionals, partners, academia, community officials and religious leaders. The 16 internal key stakeholder interviews were conducted to assess the current Regional One Health community health initiatives and resources. The 18 external key stakeholder interviews were conducted to gain insight on the perceived current health status, in addition to identifying the healthcare, social service and quality of life issues affecting those who reside in the community. Additionally, household surveys were conducted to ascertain insight on the community's socioeconomically factors that can impact health, access to healthcare, and their perception of their overall health status. The survey also gathered basic demographic information from participants. Overall, 122 surveys were conducted.
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 5-Regional One HealthIn order to take into account input from persons who represent the community in its most recent CHNA, Regional One Health collected information from multiple sources, including key stakeholder interviews and telephone-based community surveys. Primary data was obtained through key stakeholder interviews used to gather information and professional opinions from persons who represent the broad interests of the community served. Thirty-four (34) interviews were conducted for the CHNA in October and November 2012. Specifically, 16 interviews were conducted with Regional One Health staff - internal key stakeholder's - representing various departments and functions, and 18 interviews - external key stakeholders - were conducted with local healthcare professionals, partners, academia, community officials and religious leaders. The 16 internal key stakeholder interviews were conducted to assess the current Regional One Health community health initiatives and resources. The 18 external key stakeholder interviews were conducted to gain insight on the perceived current health status, in addition to identifying the healthcare, social service and quality of life issues affecting those who reside in the community. Additionally, household surveys were conducted to ascertain insight on the community's socioeconomically factors that can impact health, access to healthcare, and their perception of their overall health status. The survey also gathered basic demographic information from participants. Overall, 122 surveys were conducted.
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 7-Regional One HealthThe following identified health needs from the CHNA will not be addressed by a Regional One Health led initiative; however, each need is considered to be important. Life expectancy and overall health status will be positively affected as result o the cumulative effect of the initiatives regarding the prioritized needs identified. Additionally, the following health needs will be positively affected as result of specific initiatives targeting the prioritized needs of diabetes and adult obesity/overweight: exercise/fitness, nutrition, heart disease, stroke, high cholesterol, and high blood pressure (hypertension). Regional One Health does not intend to specifically address the following health needs due to lack of demonstrated experience and limited resources which will be allocated appropriately to the priority needs identified above. Other community and government organization have taken the lead in addressing the following health needs in the city of Memphis and/or Shelby County: Poverty, access to primary care, violence, health equity, access to health insurance and appropriate utilization of health care services. Regional One Health partners with several of these organizations working to address needs identified in the CHNA. Regional One Health is actively involved in supporting and sponsoring community health promotion efforts which also address community health needs, i.e. diabetes monitoring, heart health, hypertension detection, etc. Regional One Health is the sponsoring healthcare organization for a community collaborative violence prevention program. Homicide, specifically youth violence, is identified as a priority in the CHNA and other community reports. The health system has also launched a plan to address health disparities in the communities served. As defined in Part VI, Line 4, Memphis is a majority minority community and has seen growing trends among other ethnic groups. The health status, as identified in the CHNA, of our community is poor. There is a high rate of chronic diseases which disproportionately impacts the minority communities.
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 11-Regional One HealthAll unisured are eligible for a discount
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 20-Regional One HealthThe organization discounts self-pay charges using JAR (Tennessee Joint Annual Report) cost to charge ratio times 175%
Schedule H, Part V, Section B, Line 22d-Regional One HealthThe Organization discounts self-pay charges using JAR(Tennessee Joint Annual Report) cost to charge ratio times 175%

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule H, Part I, Line 3cOrganization discounts self-pay charges using cost-to-charge ratio times 175%
Schedule H, Part I, Line 7Amounts Reported were calculated using a cost-to-charge ratio
Schedule H, Part III, Section A, Line 4Bad debt expense (cost) was estimated using a cost-to-charge ratio.
Schedule H, Part III, Section B, Line 8Not Applicable
Schedule H, Part III, Section C, Line 9bOrganization contracts with an agency to assist patients with completing applications for eligibility under federal and state government programs and provide charity care applications.
Schedule H, Part VI, Line 2Regional One Health uses multiple sources to assess the health care needs of the communities served. These sources include publicly reported health statistics and vital records, commissioned research and reports by non-profit organizations (i.e. Urban Child Institute) and local community and across the state, and our community health needs assessment.Organization sends uncompensated care applications to patients for completion and submission of income proof to determine eligibility for the uncompensated care program.
Schedule H, Part VI, Line 3Organization sends uncompensated care applications to patients for completion and submission of income proof to determine eligibility for the uncompensated care program
Schedule H, Part VI, Line 4Regional One Health is located in Memphis, Tennessee. Memphis is in Shelby County and part of the Memphis Tennessee, Metropolitan Mississippi and Arkansas MSA. The total population of Memphis is approximately 650,000 and the approximate population of Shelby County is 935,000. More than two-thirds of the county's population resides in Memphis. In Memphis, 63.3 percent of the population is black and 29.4 percent is white, compared to a 52.3 percent black population and 43.6 percent white population in Shelby County. Twenty-six percent of the population in Memphis lives below the poverty level. The median earnings for workers in Memphis is $24,882, and the median household income is $37,000. Twenty-three percent of Memphis population over the age of 25 has a bachelor's degree
Schedule H, Part VI, Line 5Regional One Health partnered with and /or supported numerous organizations and initiatives aimed at building our community during fiscal year 2013. Organizations that we partnered with and/or supported included Memphis Tomorrow, Healthy Memphis Common Table, Memphis Medical District, Memphis Area Chamber of Commerce, City of Memphis Innovation Delivery Team, and the Downtown Commission. Regional One Health's affiliations with these & other groups are varied, and include being paid members or sponsors as well as in-kind support. Members of Regional One Health staff serve as volunteer board members or in leadership capacities with several community organizations. The aforementioned organizations and others have a primary focus on improving the quality of life in the community through health improvement initiatives, environmental issues, and economic development. Community building activities are planned, and necessary partnerships formed to improve the quality of life and health in our community based on needs identified by our staff, through our planning process, community requests and our resource capacity. Our community building activities are also planned-based needs identified and reported by other organizations. In addition to the previously mentioned affiliations, Regional One Health supports and partners with March of Dimes, local colleges and universities, Susan Komen, American Heart Association, Memphis Symphony and a myriad of other organizations to respond to identified community health improvement needs.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Reginald Coopwood MD
President and CEO$652,251$0$162,746$0$0$0$99,933$0$33,827$0$948,757$0$0$0
J Richard Wagers Jr
Senior EVP and Chief Financial Officer$433,587$0$86,148$0$0$0$55,387$0$19,767$0$594,889$0$0$0
Rob Sumter
EVP, COO and CIO$353,062$0$58,123$0$0$0$0$0$6,952$0$418,137$0$0$0
Brett Perisho
Executive Staff$273,032$0$76,451$0$0$0$0$0$18,752$0$368,235$0$0$0
Susan Cooper
SVP Ambulatory Svcs/Chief Integration Officer$264,380$0$53,652$0$0$0$0$0$12,204$0$330,236$0$0$0
Monica Wharton
Senior VP and Chief Legal Counsel$258,817$0$45,987$0$0$0$0$0$22,878$0$327,682$0$0$0
Leticia Towns
Senior VP, External Relations$218,428$0$41,603$0$0$0$0$0$11,548$0$271,579$0$0$0
Pam Castleman
Senior VP and CNO$223,088$0$34,337$0$0$0$0$0$11,753$0$269,178$0$0$0
Sarah Colley
Senior VP, HR$188,138$0$38,418$0$0$0$0$0$17,827$0$244,383$0$0$0
Judy Briggs
VP, Revenue Cycle$184,572$0$29,477$0$0$0$0$0$15,683$0$229,732$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bMembers of the organization's Board of Directors were given access to a draft copy of the from 990 thorugh a secured website
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cLegal and Compliance conduct an ongoing annual request for submission of conflict of interest froms. Precess is monitored by Corporate Compliance to ensure that all froms are completed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15Compensation of executive the executeive management team was approved by the Human Resource Committee and was deemed to be cometitive based on business circumstances and prevaioling market conditions. The organization purchases compensation/salary informaiton annually from three national consuting groups and the state hospital association. The infromation is used as a reference in determining levels for internal and external equity.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The organization makes its governing documents, confilct of interest policy, and financial statements availiable to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 11gPurchased Medical Services.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Contributed Capital

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Regional Med Exteded Care Hospital LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 Jefferson AveAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphiCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN208930584EIN
Primary ActivitiesLong Term Accute Care HospitalPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$14,598,482TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$1,981,641EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Shelby County Health Care CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Regional Medical Center at Memphis Foundation
877 Jefferson AvenueMemphisTN38103581737037Foundation raises funds to support SCHCCTN501(c)(3)509(a)(3), Type IIN/A0
Shelby County Health Care Self Insurance Trust
6200 Poplar AveMemphisTN38119586202436Trust fund managementTN501(c)(3)N/A0
Shelby County Health Care Properties Inc
877 Jefferson AveMemphisTN38013463479985hold title to and lease, the real property theron which comprises the indigent and acute care hospitTN501(c) 2N/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (1)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Regional Medical Center at Memphis Foundation
b$15,000book
Regional Medical Center at Memphis Foundation
c$290,479book
Regional Medical Center at Memphis Foundation
n$475,744book
Regional Medical Center at Memphis Foundation
o$421,154book

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.