WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CORPORATION (EIN 55-0779739)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-10-02
IRS object ID
201702759349300005
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-10-02T09:07:16-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN550779739EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1West Virginia University Medical Corporation Charleston DivisionBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWESTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3043471297PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 7000AddressLine1Txt
CityMorgantownCityNm
State AbbreviationWVStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP265077000ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJane Weise HaleyPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3043471206PhoneNum
Signature2017-10-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerfalseDiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address157.182.216.2IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-10-02IPDt
IP Tm12:59:55IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id301490902228FB36277D3D3837D95EF666DC4F65AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id234EA096CFDA6C5369FDA0DB45BC1B6247EDF7C0AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1West Virginia University Physicians of CharlestonBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJohn C Linton PhDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13110 MacCorkle Ave SEAddressLine1Txt
CityCharlestonCityNm
State AbbreviationWVStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP25304ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$49,409,076GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswvupc.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2001FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWVLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo support the West Virginia University School of Medicine - Charleston Division.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent0VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee269TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$49,989,628PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$49,205,283CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$393,080PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$195,497CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,767PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$8,296CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$50,386,475PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$49,409,076CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,477,542PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,372,513CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$36,098,829PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$37,421,235CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$9,217,761PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,334,952CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$47,794,132PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$49,128,700CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,592,343PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$280,376CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$21,341,442TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$21,997,249TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,756,715TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$3,693,995TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$17,584,727NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$18,303,254NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of West Virginia University School of Medicine Charleston Division d/b/a West Virginia University Physicians of Charleston, is to support the West Virginia University School of Medicine improve the lives of our patients, physicians, students, employees by maintaining an efficient, effective friendly academic clinical setting.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$35,917,825ExpenseAmt
Grant$17,378GrantAmt
Revenue$49,409,077RevenueAmt
DescThe Corporation supported the faculty physicians of the West Virginia University School of Medicine in their provision of medical services with approximately 95,725 patient visits and 279,071 procedures during 2016. The Corporation incurred expenditures for salaries, wages and employee benefits on behalf of the School of Medicine for faculty physicians and staff.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,796,821ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,355,135GrantAmt
DescThe corporation continuously meets its exempt purpose by providing funds to the state-supported West Virginia University School of Medicine. By providing these funds, the Corporation has both lessened the burdens of government and advanced graduate medical education in West Virginia. As part of its mission to support the School of Medicine, the Corporation incurred expenditures for professional liability premiums on behalf of the faculty physicians of the School of Medicine of approximately 1,441,686 for the year ended December 31, 2016.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$118,500ExpenseAmt
DescThe Corporation has also lessened the burdens of government by relieving poverty in West Virginia by supporting the faculty physicians in their provision of charity care. In addition, the Corporation has promoted health for the benefit of the community, West Virginia both rural and metropolitan areas and surrounding states. For example, the Corporation has supported the faculty physicians in their non-revenue producing endeavors such as practicing in free care clinics, providing health-related information via telemedicine and printed materials, and providing phone access to the faculty physicians for the states rural physicians.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$39,833,146TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document33IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee269EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member0IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMelissa McCoyPersonNm
Phone3045984554PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 8059AddressLine1Txt
CityMorgantownCityNm
State AbbreviationWVStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP26506ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
John Linton PhD
Chairman, President CEO040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$188,739$0$22,392
Roberto E Kusminsky MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$388,579$0$34,851
Raheel Khan MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$259,368$0$23,465
Martin Kommor MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$201,401$0$22,019
Jeffrey V Ashley MD
Director040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$315,301$0$27,442
Stephen H Bush MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$493,173$0$34,851
Mike Hall MD
Member at Large040.00Yes (X)$381,669$0$34,851
Clay Marsh MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shawn Chillag MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$150,215$0$4,927
Dave A Perry
Secretary/Treasurer040.00Yes (X)$181,596$0$44,255
Jane Weise Haley
CFO040.00Yes (X)$132,808$0$30,316
Eric B Kampsnider
Chief Information Officer040.00Yes (X)$127,424$0$20,650
Frank C Lucente MD
Physician040.00$517,068$0$34,851Yes (X)
John A Deluca
Physician040.00$450,004$0$34,850Yes (X)
Patrick Stone
Physician040.00$469,536$0$34,851Yes (X)
Bryon C Calhoun
Physician040.00$431,519$0$34,850Yes (X)
Chafik Assal
Physician040.00$435,391$0$34,851Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$5,123,791TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$474,272TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K97IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Direct Patient Care621110$26,779,578$26,779,578
Education and Research611710$2,302,931$2,302,931
Expense Reimbursements900099$6,454,804$6,454,804
Other Health Care900099$13,667,970$13,667,970
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$49,205,283TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$195,497TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$195,497ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCash RebatesDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$8,296TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,296RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$8,296OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$49,409,076TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$49,213,579RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$195,497ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,372,513TotalAmt
Program Services$2,372,513ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,120,290TotalAmt
Program Services$2,809,092ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$311,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,703,774TotalAmt
Program Services$22,506,161ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,197,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,186,075TotalAmt
Program Services$1,714,066ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$472,009ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,033,215TotalAmt
Program Services$1,580,398ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$452,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,377,881TotalAmt
Program Services$1,080,374ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$297,507ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,562TotalAmt
Management And General$17,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,150TotalAmt
Management And General$47,150ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fees For Services Prof FundraisingFeesForServicesProfFundraising

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,577,210TotalAmt
Program Services$2,049,257ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$527,953ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,106TotalAmt
Program Services$51,769ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,337ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$904,997TotalAmt
Program Services$719,604ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$185,393ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,736TotalAmt
Program Services$35,572ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,164ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$617,668TotalAmt
Program Services$491,136ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$126,532ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$357,893TotalAmt
Program Services$284,577ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$73,316ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$519,789TotalAmt
Program Services$413,308ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$106,481ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,649,046TotalAmt
Program Services$1,311,231ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$337,815ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Provision for Doubtful Accounts$1,668,206$1,668,206
Medical Supplies$281,234$281,234
Recruiting$80,257$63,816$16,441
Taxes, Licenses and Fees$258,190$205,299$52,891

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$245,908TotalAmt
Program Services$195,533ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50,375ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,128,700TotalAmt
Program Services$39,833,146ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,295,554ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,059BOYAmt
EOY$3,059EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,174,828BOYAmt
EOY$2,159,570EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,232,795BOYAmt
EOY$4,421,820EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,977BOYAmt
EOY$74,272EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,176BOYAmt
EOY$211,048EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$3,656,013LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,526,248LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,296,546BOYAmt
EOY$1,129,765EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,438,343BOYAmt
EOY$13,717,170EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,718BOYAmt
EOY$280,545EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,341,442BOYAmt
EOY$21,997,249EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,756,715BOYAmt
EOY$3,693,995EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,756,715BOYAmt
EOY$3,693,995EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,584,727BOYAmt
EOY$18,303,254EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,584,727BOYAmt
EOY$18,303,254EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,341,442BOYAmt
EOY$21,997,249EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$280,376ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$438,154NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd
Public Support CY1700.00000PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support CY5090.00000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00000InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$615,853OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$252,813DepreciationAmt
Book Value$363,040BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,635,422OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,073,374DepreciationAmt
Book Value$562,048BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,404,738OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,200,061DepreciationAmt
Book Value$204,677BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,129,765TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDesc
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther Board Designated InvestDesc
Book Value$13,717,170BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$13,717,170TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFederal income taxesDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,715,924TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$438,154NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$1,668,206OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,230,052RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$42,945,976RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$6,463,100OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$6,463,100RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$49,409,076TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$40,997,396TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$6,463,100OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$6,463,100ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$47,460,496ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,668,204OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,668,204ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$49,128,700TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
X 2The Corporation accounts for uncertainty in income taxes using a recognition threshold of more-likely-than-not to be sustained upon examination by the appropriate taxing authority. Measurement of the tax uncertainty occurs if the recognition threshold is met. Management determined there were not tax uncertainities that met the recognition threshold in 2016 and 2015.
XI 2dBad debt and recovery of bad debt totaling 1,668,206 is reported as an offset to revenue on the audited financial statements, but reported as expense on Form 990.
XI 4bCash rebates of 8,296 and salary / fringe benefit reimbursements of 6,454,804 are posted as offsets to expense on the audited financial statements, but reported as revenue on Form 990.
XII 2dCash rebates of 8,296 and salary / fringe benefit reimbursements of 6,454,804 are reported as expense on the audited financial statements but are reported as revenue on Form 990.
XII 4bBad debt and recovery of bad debt totaling 1,668,206 are reported as offsets to revenue on the audited financial statements but are reported as an expense on Form 990 and 2 rounding.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
WVU School of Medicine - Charleston
3110 MacCorkle Ave SECharlestonWV25304556000842501c3$2,355,135Support
CAMC Health Education and Research
PO Box 1547CharlestonWV25326550753754501c3$7,000Support
Multicultural Festival of WV
707 Virginia St ECharlestonWV25301550726301$5,000Sponsorship
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationWest Virginia University Medical Corporation Charleston Division provides cash contributions to various charitable organizations that support education, healthcare, or community building activities. WVU Medical Corporation Charleston Division does not monitor the use of grants after awarded.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount
John Linton PhD
Chairman, President CEO$185,649$3,090$22,392$211,131
Roberto E Kusminsky MD
Director$385,489$3,090$34,851$423,430
Raheel Khan MD
Director$194,570$1,548$23,465$282,833$63,250
Martin Kommor MD
Director$183,268$7,083$22,019$223,420$11,050
Jeffrey V Ashley MD
Director$217,815$2,473$27,442$342,743$95,013
Stephen H Bush MD
Director$386,722$1,548$34,851$528,024$104,903
Dave A Perry
Secretary/Treasurer$163,920$676$44,255$225,851$17,000
Frank C Lucente MD
Physician$415,524$101,544$34,851$551,919
John A Deluca
Physician$399,572$432$34,850$484,854$50,000
Mike Hall MD
Member at Large$379,293$2,376$34,851$416,520
Jane Weise Haley
CFO$120,073$168$30,316$163,124$12,567
Patrick Stone
Physician$353,246$90$34,851$504,387$116,200
Bryon C Calhoun
Physician$347,800$1,548$34,850$466,369$82,171
Chafik Assal
Physician$418,962$324$34,851$470,242$16,105
Shawn Chillag MD
Director$147,577$2,638$4,927$155,142

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIn 2015 WVUPC implemented the quarerly payout plan, it is based on achieving predetermined performance goals set by the chair of each department in conjunction with other key stakeholders. It is not based on revenue or net earnings of the organization or any related organizations.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6The membership of the Corporation consists of physicians who are faculty members of the West Virginia University School of Medicine, Charleston Division the School of Medicine. Revenues of the Corporation are used for the public purpose of futhering the goals and objectives of the School of Medicine and are derived principally from billings for medical services furnished by the Corporations membership within the scope of their duties as faculty of the School of Medicine.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7aThere are nine voting members of the Corporations board of directors. The members consists of the Associate Vice President and six 6 departmental chairs. The eighth is elected for a 2 year term from and by the full-time faculty members of the West Virginia University Medical Corporation - Charleston Division. The nineth is the Vice President Executive Dean for Health Sciences.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7bAny substantive changes in the bylaws proposed by the board of directors must be consistent with West Virginia University Board of Governors policies and shall not be adopted by the Board or implemented until the same have been approved by the President of the University or his designee.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bForm 990 is prepared by the tax accountant at West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. with assistance from the West Virginia University Medical Corporation Manager of Accounting. Before the 990 is filed with the IRS, the CFO reviews the 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cAll new employees must complete an electronic disclosure module at the outset of employment that addresses whether they have any relationships that could constitute a conflict of interest as described in the corporations by-laws and related conflict of interest policy. The electronic disclosure forms must also be updated annually, and any disclosures of potential conflicts of either the initial or recurring annual disclosures will be reviewed and analyzed to determine whether a conflict exists and, if so, the employment ramifications of the same.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cAdditionally, the corporation has adopted a policy that requires employed faculty to disclose annually, in writing, any outside relationships which could potentially constitute a conflict of interest on forms prescribed by the corporations conflict of interest policy. Again, documented disclosures of potential conflicts will be reviewed and analyzed to determine whether actual conflicts exist.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The corporation reviews compensation of the CEO, officers, and faculty against reported benchmarks. The corporation also obtains fair market value studies from its affiliated hospitals. These are reviewed at least annually.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The corporation provides financial statements to be public upon written request. The corporation has a website where its code of conduct which containts information regarding conflict avoidance is posted, along with the corporations conflict of interest policy, related resources and disclosure forms www.wvupc.org/compliance.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Other changes in net assets or fund balance of 3 is due to rounding.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1West Virginia University School of Medicine Charleston DivisionBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13110 MacCorkle AveAddressLine1Txt
CityCharlestonCityNm
State AbbreviationWVStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP25304ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN556000842EIN
Primary ActivitiesEducationPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateWVLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501c3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status2PublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.