WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM INC: Form 990, tax year 2016
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM INC (EIN 55-0754713)
- Tax period
- 2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
- Filed
- 2017-11-15
- IRS object ID
- 201723199349310582
- Schema version
- 2016v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-11-15T02:03:02-00:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2016-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2016-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 550754713 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | West Virginia United Health System Inc | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | WEST | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3042857150 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 8034 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Morgantown | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 26505 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Douglas Coffman | PersonNm |
| Person Title | VP CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Signature | 2017-11-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | false | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 157.182.216.2 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2017-11-15 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 13:32:41 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | ES | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 301490902228FB36277D3D3837D95EF666DC4F65 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 234EA096CFDA6C5369FDA0DB45BC1B6247EDF7C0 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2016 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2017-02-10 21:41:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | West Virginia University Health System | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Albert Wright Jr | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1 Medical Center Drive | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Morgantown | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 26505 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $102,402,917 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.wvunitedhealthsystem.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1997 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | WV | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | West Virginia United Health System is committed to improving the health of the communities it serves through quality, cost effective health care services support of health professional training and research. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 18 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 17 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 529 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 17 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $22,868 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $15,978 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $17,346,976 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $102,374,291 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $11,143 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $18,634 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $3,133 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $9,992 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $17,361,252 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $102,402,917 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,180,010 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,106,600 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $14,108,376 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $47,412,666 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,143,068 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $54,706,566 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $17,431,454 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $103,225,832 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$70,202 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$822,915 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $24,610,630 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $63,247,649 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $9,532,952 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $29,098,037 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $15,077,678 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $34,149,612 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | West Virginia United Health System is committed to improving the health of the communities it serves through the delivery of quality, cost effective health care services support of health professional training and research. WVUHS provides integrated support services to reduce costs for member hospitals. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $98,374,596 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $102,361,415 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | West Virginia United Health System, Inc. d/b/a West Virginia University Health System WVUHS was formed to serve as a part of an integrated health science and healthcare delivery system. The primary function of WVUHS is to provide strategic leadership, oversight, and centralized support services for member hospitals and affiliated organizations which allow those entities to deliver higher quality healthcare, reduce the costs of services provided to the public, and provide a better environment for education and research. One example of the support services provided by WVUHS includes centralized contracting and procurement services that has historically produced costs savings in excess of 10 million per year to the member organizations. The structure of WVUHS also facilitates the sharing of information in clinical areas to streamline development of quality improvement, clinical best practice, and data sharing efforts across the system. Finally, there is a highly shared focus on quality of care and patient satisfaction at the system level, as the WVUHS Board of Directors continuously | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $98,374,596 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (true) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (true) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | false | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (true) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (true) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part V | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVInd |
| IRP Document | 114 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 529 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (true) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (true) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 18 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 17 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Douglas Coffman CFO | PersonNm |
| Phone | 3042857150 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1 Medical Center Drive | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Morgantown | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 26505 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part VII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (35 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| E Gordon Gee | |||||||||
| Chair | 001.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| John P Keeley | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Thomas Heywood | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Patrick Deem | |||||||||
| Vice Chair | 001.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kathy Eddy | |||||||||
| Secretary | 001.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mark Nesselroad | |||||||||
| Treasurer | 001.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Richard Adams | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Joe Campbell | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Terry Capel MD | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Ellen S Cappellanti | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Hon Kevin J Craig | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Michael A Morehead MD | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Clay Marsh MD | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Richard Pill | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Eric Radcliffe MD | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $343,184 | $34,432 | 040.00 | |||
| William Stone | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| H Wood Thrasher | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Judie Charlton MD | |||||||||
| Director | 001.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Robert O'Neil | |||||||||
| VP Legal Services | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $558,696 | $0 | $87,048 | ||||
| Christopher Colenda MD | |||||||||
| President/CEO, Jan-Aug | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $1,516,175 | $0 | $2,212 | Yes (X) | |||
| Gary Murdock | |||||||||
| VP of Planning and External Affairs | 025.00 | Yes (X) | $359,399 | $89,850 | $25,960 | 025.00 | |||
| Douglas Coffman | |||||||||
| CFO/VP Finance | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $634,325 | $0 | $4,865 | ||||
| James Venturella | |||||||||
| VP/CIO | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $471,829 | $0 | $78,685 | ||||
| G Daniel Martich | |||||||||
| CMO | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $792,710 | $0 | $97,724 | ||||
| Leslie Gambita Miele | |||||||||
| VP of Stratgic Plan Implementation Integration | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $353,586 | $0 | $53,080 | ||||
| Brian Cotrill | |||||||||
| AVP/Information Technology | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $283,239 | $0 | $26,262 | ||||
| Melanie Davies | |||||||||
| Chief Compliance Officer | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $332,403 | $10,303 | ||||
| Frank Briggs | |||||||||
| Chief Quality Officer | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $313,039 | $0 | $63,801 | ||||
| Brandon Koehler | |||||||||
| CFO, Physician Services | 050.00 | Yes (X) | $185,758 | $0 | $8,887 | ||||
| Albert Wright | |||||||||
| President/CEO Aug - Current | 017.00 | Yes (X) | $349,111 | $698,222 | $171,175 | 033.00 | |||
| Steve Bowman | |||||||||
| Director Procurement | 048.00 | $257,886 | $0 | $1,771 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Christine Vaglienti | |||||||||
| Associate Litigation Counsel | 040.00 | $257,943 | $0 | $25,996 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Paul E Parker III | |||||||||
| Associate General Counsel | 040.00 | $259,638 | $0 | $20,687 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Kimberly Clarke | |||||||||
| AVP/Chief Applications Officer | 050.00 | $283,592 | $0 | $27,298 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Sunita Kellermeyer | |||||||||
| Associate Healthcare Counsel | 040.00 | $234,131 | $0 | $36 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $7,111,057 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $1,463,659 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $740,222 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 68 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (true) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G2 Works LLC | |||||
| 4404 Bayou Oaks Drive | Panama City | FL | 32404 | Data Analytics Solutions | $1,646,403 |
| Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP | |||||
| PO Box 7398 | Madison | WI | 837077398 | Accounting and Advisory Services | $606,395 |
| Strata Decision Technology Holdings | |||||
| 200 E Randolph Street Floor 49 | Chicago | IL | 616016436 | Capital Strategic Planning | $357,489 |
| The Chartis Group LLC | |||||
| 220 W Kinzie 5th Floor | Chicago | IL | 60654 | Advisory Services | $327,211 |
| DI Acqusition Subsidary Inc | |||||
| 120 Kimball Avenue Suite 100 | South Burlington | VT | 05403 | Advisory Services | $231,477 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 14 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Assessments | 900099 | $102,351,423 | $102,351,423 | |
| Premier Partnership | 900099 | $22,868 | $22,868 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $102,374,291 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $18,634 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $18,634 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other Income | 900099 | $1,730 | $1,730 |
| Cash Discounts | 900099 | $8,262 | $8,262 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $9,992 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $102,402,917 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $102,351,423 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $22,868 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $28,626 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,106,600 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,106,600 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,413,299 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,413,299 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,825,677 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $28,927,189 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,898,488 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,540,156 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,461,637 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $78,519 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,219,884 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,927,993 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $291,891 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,413,650 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,239,618 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $174,032 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $500,808 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $500,808 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $29,450 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $29,450 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $83,848 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $83,848 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fees For Services Prof Fundraising | FeesForServicesProfFundraising |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,302,072 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,376,476 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $925,596 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $107,978 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,479 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $106,499 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $41,153,547 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $41,002,345 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $151,202 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,803 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $32,834 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,969 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,900,476 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,530,511 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $369,965 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $689,321 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $616,732 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $72,589 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,591 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $2,591 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $932,575 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $932,575 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $86,351 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $67,173 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $19,178 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taxes, License Fees | $2,560,609 | $2,558,568 | $2,041 |
| Dues | $191,239 | $72,899 | $118,340 |
| Education and Training | $28,032 | $27,067 | $965 |
| Recruiting Expense | $49,739 | $47,171 | $2,568 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $50,127 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $32,430 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $17,697 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $103,225,832 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $98,374,596 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,851,236 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,068,921 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,922,531 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,242,068 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,419,963 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $446,690 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $30,388,608 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,506,094 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,137,307 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,882,514 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,162,334 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,575,951 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,610,630 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $63,247,649 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,637,732 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $27,789,200 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $895,220 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,308,837 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,532,952 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,098,037 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,077,678 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,149,612 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,077,678 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,149,612 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,610,630 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $63,247,649 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$822,915 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $74,870 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $19,819,979 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supporting Organization509a3 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrganization509a3Ind |
| Supporting Org Type1 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrgType1Ind |
| Supported Organizations | 3 | SupportedOrganizationsCnt |
Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (3 entries)
| EINEIN | Organization TypeOrganizationTypeCd | Governing Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedInd | SupportSupportAmt | Other SupportOtherSupportAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Virginia University Hospitals Inc | ||||
| 550643304 | 3 | Yes (true) | $0 | $6,553,128 |
| United Hospital Center | ||||
| 550525724 | 3 | Yes (true) | $0 | $1,142,124 |
| Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital | ||||
| 311524546 | 3 | Yes (true) | $0 | $1,960,559 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supported Organizations Total | 3 | SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt |
| Other Support Sum | $9,655,811 | OtherSupportSumAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.00000 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support CY509 | 0.00000 | PublicSupportCY509Pct |
| Investment Income CY | 0.00000 | InvestmentIncomeCYPct |
Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed By Name Governing Doc | Yes (true) | ListedByNameGoverningDocInd |
| Suprt Org No IRS Determination | false | SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd |
| Supported Org Section C456 | false | SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind |
| Supported Org Not Organized US | false | SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd |
| Organization Change Suprt Org | false | OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd |
| Support Non Supported Org | Yes (true) | SupportNonSupportedOrgInd |
| Payment Substantial Contribtr | false | PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd |
| Loan Disqualified Person | false | LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd |
| Controlled Disqualified Prsn | false | ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Controll Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd |
| Excess Business Holdings Rules | false | ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd |
| Contribution Controller | false | ContributionControllerInd |
| Contribution Family | false | ContributionFamilyInd |
| Contribution35 Controlled | false | Contribution35ControlledInd |
Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Power Appoint Majority Dir Trst | Yes (true) | PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd |
| Operate Benefit Non Suprt Org | false | OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Facts And Circumstances Test | Part I Section A Line g The amounts of support being reported for West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc., United Hospital Center, and Camden Clark Memorial Hospital are the annual amount of savings realized by each company through the use of the Systems purchasing discounts and through the combining of other necessary expenses such as the annual audit, legal fees, benchmarking, hospital reviews, and a wide range of other expenses. | FactsAndCircumstancesTestTxt |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part IV Section A Line 6 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | In 2013 WVUHS agreed to provide support of Clinicial Translational Research and the specifics aims of the Clinical Translational Research Grant Award from the National Institutes of Health-entitled West Virginia IDEA-CTR through the West Virginia University Foundation. This agreement is for 5 years. This contribution is reflected in Part IX line 1 of the Core 990 and on Schedule I. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Volunteers | false | VolunteersInd |
| Paid Staff Or Management | Yes (true) | PaidStaffOrManagementInd |
| Media Advertisements | false | MediaAdvertisementsInd |
| Mailings Members | false | MailingsMembersInd |
| Publications Or Broadcast | false | PublicationsOrBroadcastInd |
| Grants Other Organizations | false | GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Direct Contact Legislators | Yes (true) | DirectContactLegislatorsInd |
| Direct Contact Legislators | $1,828 | DirectContactLegislatorsAmt |
| Rallies Demonstrations | false | RalliesDemonstrationsInd |
| Other Activities | Yes (true) | OtherActivitiesInd |
| Other Activities | $82,020 | OtherActivitiesAmt |
| Total Lobbying Expenditures | $83,848 | TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt |
| Not Described Section501c3 | false | NotDescribedSection501c3Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| II-B 1g | The amount shown here is based on a calculation of the hours the System CEO participated in lobbying related activities in 2016 amount equals hours multiplied by hourly pay rate. |
| II-B 1i | Fees paid to public relation companies during 2016 that should be allocated to lobbying totaled 82,020. |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | false | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $92,968 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $92,968 | DepreciationAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $4,149,014 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $525,553 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $3,623,461 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $26,146,626 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $887,573 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $25,259,053 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $28,882,514 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc |
|---|
| Financial derivatives and other financial products |
| Closely-held equity interests |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Investment in West Virginia United Health Insurance Services, Inc. | $200,000 | F |
| Investment in United Physicians Care | $478,368 | F |
| Investment -Option Plan | $1,308,837 | F |
| Investment - Insurance Annuity | $79,096 | F |
| Land Purchased for investment | $5,509,650 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $7,575,951 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Federal income taxes | |
| Deferred Compensation | $1,308,837 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,308,837 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,917,007,000 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $74,870 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $1,814,529,213 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $1,814,604,083 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $102,402,917 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $102,402,917 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,805,565,000 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $1,702,339,168 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $1,702,339,168 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $103,225,832 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $103,225,832 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| X 2 | The System accounts for uncertainty in income taxes using a recognition threshold of more likely than not to be sustained upon examination by the appropriate taxing authority. Measurement of the tax uncertainty occurs if the recognition threshold is met. Management determined there were no tax uncertainties that met the recognition threshold in 2016 and 2015. The Systems policy is to recognize interest related to unrecognized tax benefit in interest expense and penalties in operating expense. |
| XI 2d | The financial statements for WVUHS are prepared on a consolidated basis, 1,814,529,213 is the total consolidated adjustment to reconcile revenue shown on the audited financial statements, which includes all related entities, to the income reported on this return, which is only revenue generated by WVUHS. See Schedule O Part IV line 12A for further explanation. |
| XII 2d | The financial statements for WVUHS are prepared on a consolidated basis, 1,702,339,168 is the total consolidated adjustment to reconcile expenses shown on the audited financial statements, which includes all related entities, to the total expenses reported on this return, which are only expenses generated by WVUHS. See Schedule O Part IV line 12A for further explanation. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (7 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Valuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WVU Foundation | |||||||||
| 1 Waterfront Place | Morgantown | WV | 26501 | 556017181 | 501c3 | $1,005,000 | FMV | Research Support | Research Support |
| WV Chamber of Commerce | |||||||||
| 1624 Kanawha Blvd E | Charleston | WV | 25311 | 550306990 | 501c6 | $60,000 | FMV | General Support | |
| Remember the Miners | |||||||||
| PO Box 330 | Morgantown | WV | 26505 | $10,000 | FMV | General Support | |||
| DRWV Foundation | |||||||||
| 405 Capitol Street Suite 512 | Charleston | WV | 25301 | 550725474 | 501c3 | $10,000 | FMV | General Support | |
| The American Ireland | |||||||||
| 10 Post Office Square Suite 1205 | Boston | MA | 02109 | 251306992 | 501c3 | $7,500 | FMV | Gala Sponsorship | |
| WV Symphony Orchestra | |||||||||
| PO Box 2292 | Charleston | WV | 25328 | 550339426 | 501c3 | $5,000 | FMV | Event Sponsorship | |
| Jim Justice Inaugural Committee | |||||||||
| PO Box 40027 | Charleston | WV | 25364 | $5,000 | FMV | Inauguration Event | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 4 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 3 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I Line 2 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | WVUHS contributes money to local charitable organizations to help further the mission of the system throughout the community. WVUHS does not monitor the use of the donated funds. In 2013 WVUHS agreed to provide support of Clinicial Translational Research and the specifics aims of the Clinical Translational Research Grant Award from the National Institutes of Health-entitled West Virginia IDEA-CTR through the West Virginia University Foundation. This agreement is for 5 years. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (true) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (18 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert O'Neil | ||||||||||||||
| VP Legal Services | $458,238 | $98,478 | $1,980 | $60,750 | $26,298 | $645,744 | ||||||||
| Steve Bowman | ||||||||||||||
| Director Procurement | $207,457 | $48,459 | $1,970 | $1,771 | $259,657 | |||||||||
| Christopher Colenda MD | ||||||||||||||
| President/CEO, Jan-Aug | $699,577 | $402,500 | $414,098 | $2,212 | $1,518,387 | |||||||||
| Christine Vaglienti | ||||||||||||||
| Associate Litigation Counsel | $224,806 | $33,056 | $81 | $25,996 | $283,939 | |||||||||
| Paul E Parker III | ||||||||||||||
| Associate General Counsel | $226,161 | $32,546 | $931 | $20,687 | $280,325 | |||||||||
| Gary Murdock | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Planning and External Affairs | $261,284 | $50,007 | $48,108 | $20,768 | $380,167 | $65,321 | $12,502 | $12,027 | $5,192 | $95,042 | $12,576 | $3,144 | ||
| Douglas Coffman | ||||||||||||||
| CFO/VP Finance | $500,851 | $35,460 | $98,014 | $4,865 | $639,190 | $26,074 | ||||||||
| James Venturella | ||||||||||||||
| VP/CIO | $377,752 | $81,427 | $12,650 | $56,250 | $22,435 | $550,514 | ||||||||
| G Daniel Martich | ||||||||||||||
| CMO | $607,477 | $169,144 | $16,089 | $90,000 | $7,724 | $890,434 | ||||||||
| Leslie Gambita Miele | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Stratgic Plan Implementation Integration | $301,059 | $52,077 | $450 | $43,725 | $9,355 | $406,666 | ||||||||
| Brian Cotrill | ||||||||||||||
| AVP/Information Technology | $221,104 | $46,833 | $15,302 | $26,262 | $309,501 | |||||||||
| Kimberly Clarke | ||||||||||||||
| AVP/Chief Applications Officer | $182,565 | $99,835 | $1,192 | $27,298 | $310,890 | |||||||||
| Sunita Kellermeyer | ||||||||||||||
| Associate Healthcare Counsel | $206,629 | $27,202 | $300 | $36 | $234,167 | |||||||||
| Eric Radcliffe MD | ||||||||||||||
| Director | $342,546 | $500 | $138 | $22,507 | $377,616 | $11,925 | ||||||||
| Melanie Davies | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Compliance Officer | $249,903 | $39,549 | $42,951 | $10,303 | $342,706 | $9,201 | ||||||||
| Frank Briggs | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Quality Officer | $261,286 | $38,941 | $12,812 | $37,805 | $25,996 | $376,840 | ||||||||
| Brandon Koehler | ||||||||||||||
| CFO, Physician Services | $165,544 | $20,000 | $214 | $8,887 | $194,645 | |||||||||
| Albert Wright | ||||||||||||||
| President/CEO Aug - Current | $267,360 | $65,716 | $16,036 | $48,292 | $8,766 | $406,170 | $534,719 | $131,432 | $32,071 | $17,532 | $812,338 | $14,390 | $28,781 | $96,584 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I Line 4b | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | During 2016, Christopher Colenda received distributions of 135,406 from a supplemental nonqualified retirement plan which were reported in W-2 box 5 for 2016. Gary Murdock received CAA 457F vesting distributions of 59,445 which was reported in W-2 box 5 for 2016. Robert ONeil deferred 60,750 through the CAA 457F plan for 2016. Doug Coffman received distributions of 97,323 from a supplemental nonqualified retirement plan which were reported in W-2 Box 5 for 2016. George Daniel Martich deferred 90,000 of compensation in the CAA Plan during 2016. James Venturella deferred 56,250 of compensation through the CAA Plan during 2016. Leslie Gumbita deferred 43,725 of compensation in her CAA Plan during 2016. Albert Wright deferred 144,876 through the CAA plan and received vested distributions of 43,171 that were reported in W-2 Box 5 for 2016.Frank Briggs received CAA 457F vesting distributions of 12,511 which was reported in W-2 box 5 for 2016. Frank Briggs also deferred 37,805 of compensation in the CAA plan during 2016. Brian Cottrill received vested distributions of 14,488 that were reported in W-2 box 5 for 2016. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 | The 19,819,979 change in net assets is related to transfers to affiliates in 2016. |
| Form 990, Part IV, Line 12b | WVUHS chose to prepare Schedule D Parts XI-XII to reconcile the revenue and expenses shown on the consolidated audited financial statements to revenue and expenses for WVUHS shown on the Form 990. This is consistant with the prior year reporting. By reconciling to the audited consolidated statements we allow for greater transparency in reporting. |
| Form 990, Part V, Line 2a 2b | The employees of the WVUHS are leased from a related entity, WVU Hospitals, Inc. EIN 55-0643304. Under these terms, WVU Hospitals, Inc. files all payroll tax filings. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 1a 1b | Board members considered not independent are considered so because of compensation received from the organization. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11b | The Form 990 is prepared by the WVU Hospitals accounting department and is then submitted to be reviewed by the external independent audit firm of the System. After the external review is completed the Form 990 is presented to the WVUHS CFO, upon approval from the CFO, it is then presented to the audit committee and Board of Directors. Once approved, the Form 990 is submitted to the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12c | All Officers, Directors and Board Members are required to annually disclose any relationships which may give rise to a potential conflict of interest. These responses are then tracked by the audit committee. When a conflict arises disclosure of the financial interest and all material facts is provided to the board, and after any discussion with the interested person, he/she shall leave the board or committee meeting while the determination of a conflict of interest is discussed and voted upon. The remaining board or committee members shall decide if a conflict of interest exists. If the remaining board or committee members decide a conflict exists, procedures outlined in the WVUHS Conflict of Interest Policy may be utilized. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15a 15b | The System engages an independent group to perform an executive compensation review and compensation survey every two years. This information is provided to the compensation committee which is made up of independent board members who are then responsible for setting the compensation packages offered to each executive, ensuring that the compensation package does not exceed fair market value based on the data from the consultant group. The minutes of the compensation committee are contemporaneously documented and retained. A full compensation survey was completed in 2015 for 2016 compensation amounts, with data provided by the independent consultant to the compensation committee in 2015. Interim data is provided to the committee on a case by case basis. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19 | All financial and governing documents along with Board of Director Conflict of Interest statements are made available during regular business hours at the business office. In accordance with West Virginia Legislative code every member of the board shall file a written statement, which shall be fully available for public disclosure, with the appropriate chairman of the board. |
| Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Line 1-29 | The employees of WVUHS are leased from a related entity, WVU Hospitals, Inc. EIN 55-0643304. WVUHS reimburses WVUH for salary, benefits, and applicable taxes for WVUHS employees and for a portion of compensation paid to Gary Murdock and Albert Wright as their time is split between WVUHS and WVUH. The appropriate salary expenses are reflected in Part IX Line 5 of this return. |
| Form 990, Part VII, Section B, Line 1 | WVUHS receives and pays invoices for Legal and Accounting Services that have been provided to all system entities. Based on an allocation agreed upon by all entities, the System then bills each entity for their respective portion of that service and the expense is offset by the reimbursements. The amounts reported in Part IX - Statement of Functional Expenses Line 11b and 11c reflect the portion of legal and accounting expense attributable to WVUHS. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (19 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd | Direct Controlling NADirectControllingNACd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Virginia University Hospitals Inc | |||||||||||
| PO Box 8034 | Morgantown | WV | 26506 | 550643304 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | WV United Health System | Yes (true) | |
| United Hospital Center | |||||||||||
| 327 Medical Park Drive | Bridgeport | WV | 26330 | 550525724 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | WV United Health System | Yes (true) | |
| United Physicians Care Inc | |||||||||||
| 686 South Pike Street | Shinnston | WV | 26431 | 550638563 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | false | N/A | |
| WVUH East Inc | |||||||||||
| 2000 Foundation Way | Martinsburg | WV | 25401 | 202337985 | Healthcare Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | West Virginia University Hosptials Inc | false | |
| City Hospital Inc | |||||||||||
| 2000 Foundation Way | Martinsburg | WV | 25401 | 550383321 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | West Virginia University Hosptials - East Inc | false | |
| Jefferson Memorial Hospital Inc | |||||||||||
| 2000 Foundation Way | Martinsburg | WV | 25401 | 550359755 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | West Virginia University Hosptials - East Inc | false | |
| University Healthcare Foundation | |||||||||||
| 2000 Foundation Way | Martinsburg | WV | 25401 | 311118075 | Healthcare Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | false | N/A | |
| United Hospital Foundation | |||||||||||
| 327 Medical Park Drive | Bridgeport | WV | 26330 | 550621706 | Hospital Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | false | N/A | |
| WV Health Care Co-Op | |||||||||||
| PO Box 8059 | Morgantown | WV | 26506 | 550650441 | Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | WV United Health System | Yes (true) | |
| United Summit Center | |||||||||||
| 6 Hospital Plaza | Clarksburg | WV | 26301 | 550752788 | Behavioral Health | WV | 501C3 | 3 | false | N/A | |
| Camden-Clark Health Services | |||||||||||
| 800 Garfield Ave | Parkersburg | WV | 26102 | 550769602 | Healthcare Access | WV | 501C3 | 12aI | WV United Health System | Yes (true) | |
| Camden-Clark Foundation | |||||||||||
| 800 Garfield Ave | Parkersburg | WV | 26102 | 550667789 | Hospital Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | Camden-Clark Health Services | false | |
| Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital Corporation | |||||||||||
| 800 Garfield Ave | Parkersburg | WV | 26102 | 311524546 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | Camden-Clark Health Services | false | |
| Camden-Clark Physician Corp | |||||||||||
| 604 Ann Street | Parkersburg | WV | 26101 | 264058719 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 12aI | Camden-Clark Health Services | false | |
| Potomac Valley Hospitals of WVa Inc | |||||||||||
| 100 Pin Oak lane | Keyser | WV | 26726 | 550420956 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | West Virginia University Hosptials Inc | false | |
| St Josephs Hospital of Buckhannon | |||||||||||
| 1 Amalia Drive | Buckhannon | WV | 26201 | 550356996 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | WV United Health System | Yes (true) | |
| Reynolds Memorial Hospital Inc | |||||||||||
| 800 Wheeling Ave | Glen Dale | WV | 26038 | 550357045 | Patient Care Services | WV | 501C3 | 3 | West Virginia University Hosptials Inc | false | |
| Reynolds Memorial Foundation | |||||||||||
| 800 Wheeling Ave | Glen Dale | WV | 26038 | 550710402 | Hospital Support | WV | 501C3 | 12a | false | N/A | |
| St Josephs Foundation of Buckhannon | |||||||||||
| 1 Amalia Drive | Buckhannon | WV | 26201 | 550727650 | Hospital Support | WV | 501c3 | 12b II | false | N/A | |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Entity TypeEntityTypeTxt | OwnershipOwnershipPct | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Virginia United Insurance Services | ||||||||||
| 3040 University Avenue Suite 3200 | Morgantown | WV | 26505 | 550756055 | Healthcare Contracting | WV | WV United Health System | C Corp | 1.00000 | false |
| Allied Health Services Inc | ||||||||||
| PO Box 782 | Morgantown | WV | 26507 | 550652017 | Outpatient Lab | WV | WV United Health System | C Corp | 1.00000 | false |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | false | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | false | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (true) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | Yes (true) | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (true) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (true) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | false | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| West Virginia University Hospitals Inc | ||
| q | $45,939,104 | Cost |
| United Hospital Center Inc | ||
| q | $15,076,017 | Cost |
| Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital Corporation | ||
| q | $17,869,837 | Cost |
| West Virginia University Hospitals Inc | ||
| o | $3,505,051 | Cost |
Comments