COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC (EIN 59-1940256)
Tax period
2023-10-01 to 2024-09-30
Filed
2025-08-15
IRS object ID
202542279349302419
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-08-15T11:07:13+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Ridgefield CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN591940256EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOMMBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9042685200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14266 Sunbeam RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP32257ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSkip MarshPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9042685200PhoneNum
Signature2025-08-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2025-08-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Susan Ponder-StanselBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14266 Sunbeam RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP32257ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$131,983,407GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.COMMUNITYHOSPICE.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1984FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateFLLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO IMPROVE QUALITY OF LIFE AND BE THE COMPASSIONATE GUIDE FOR PATIENTS WITH ADVANCED ILLNESS, THEIR FAMILIES AND OUR COMMUNITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent20VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1049TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers456TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,339,773PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,478,077CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$117,954,432PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$125,706,752CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,050,936PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,259,869CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$451,517PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$500,300CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$123,796,658PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$131,944,998CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,866PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$70,952,076PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$76,854,050CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$53,288,673PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$50,984,419CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$124,242,615PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$127,838,469CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$445,957PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,106,529CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$104,844,542TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$101,547,025TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$20,238,844TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$22,041,884TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$84,605,698NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$79,505,141NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR PATIENTS AND FAMILIES AND BE THE COMPASSIONATE GUIDE FOR END-OF-LIFE CARE IN OUR COMMUNITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$91,938,894ExpenseAmt
Revenue$104,657,289RevenueAmt
DescHospice Homecare Established in 1979, Community Hospice & Palliative Care is an innovative national leader in palliative and hospice care, providing programs and services to meet the diverse needs of the communities it serves. During its 46-year history, the Jacksonville, Florida-based nonprofit organization has served approximately 220,000 adults and children in 16 counties in Northeast and North Central Florida: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee and Union. During Fiscal Year 2024, the organization helped 8,983 patients and their families live better with advanced illness through hospice care and support programs. Most of this care is provided in the home setting, including private residences, nursing homes and assisted living communities. Community Hospice & Palliative Care ensures patients' comfort by addressing their physical, emotional, and spiritual needs through interdisciplinary clinical care teams, whose members make up more than half of the organization's 896 employees, along with the services of approximately 525 volunteers. The organization also assists family caregivers through education, access to community resources and bereavement support for up to 13 months after a loss. The Community Hospice & Palliative Care mission is to improve the quality of life for patients and their families and to be the compassionate guide for end-of-life care in our community. Our goal is to provide comfort and address symptoms from life-limiting conditions, as well as provide supportive care to family members and other loved ones. The organization focuses on enhancing the quality of life while respecting patients' cultural beliefs and values. No one is ever denied care due to an inability to pay. Community Hospice & Palliative Care support includes in-home nursing; physician services; psychosocial services; spiritual support; certified nursing assistant (CNA); medical equipment (such as wheelchairs, beds and walkers); medical supplies (such as bandages and catheters); drugs for symptom management and/or pain relief; bereavement counseling and support; physical and occupational therapy; speech, music, massage and/or pet therapy; and dietary counseling. The organization also offers inpatient care, short-term respite care, veteran- and caregiver-focused services, and specialized care for those of the Jewish faith, children's programs and advance care planning. A dedicated, interdisciplinary team of professionals works with patients to help manage the pain and symptoms associated with a life-limiting illness, and provides personal, respectful care and assistance. The organization helps educate patients and their caregivers about the illness they have and what to expect as the illness progresses, and about medicines and therapies to help manage patient comfort. On-call services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. In Fiscal Year 2024, our homecare teams provided 411,671 routine days of care.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$19,784,319ExpenseAmt
Revenue$21,307,867RevenueAmt
DescHospice Inpatient Care Inpatient care, if needed, is available in one of our nine inpatient centers, called Centers for Caring. These facilities are available for patients who need pain and symptom management at an acute level unavailable in a homecare setting. The patient stays until his/her condition and symptoms are stabilized, typically three to five days or less. Our facilities offer homelike surroundings with gardens and serene settings. In Fiscal Year 2024, our staff provided 20,318 days of General Inpatient Care (GIP).Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,073,242ExpenseAmt
DescPalliative Care Established in 2010, Community Palliative Consultants provides palliative consultative services through twelve local hospitals or wherever the patient calls home. At the request of the patient's attending physician, specially trained physicians, and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) take the time to understand each individual situation and then recommend options to meet the patient's personal goals of care. Community Palliative Consultants also provides education and training of hospital/facility staff. Palliative care provides an extra layer of support for patients and their families through a multidisciplinary team focused on providing relief from the symptoms, pain, and stress associated with a serious illness or complex chronic condition. In Fiscal Year 2024, our palliative care team saw 9,759 patients.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$116,378,347TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document103IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1049EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member20IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Andrea FritzBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9042685200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14266 SUNBEAM ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP32257ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Christopher Emans
Treasurer2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth McCosh
CFO Alivia Care, Inc.10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$316,175$28,05512.0
Kevin Robbins
Chair2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Phillip Ward
President & CEO Community Hospice of Northeast Florida35.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$506,344$43,3887.0
Susan Ponder-Stansel
President & CEO Alivia Care, Inc.10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$635,655$96,44212.0
Tracy Arthur
Secretary2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carlton DeVooght
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Judy Sayre
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Greg Miller
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jane Boles
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jason W Osborne
Ex-Officio2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John D Logue
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Katherine Batenhorst
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lt Colonel Bill Dudley
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marie Gnage
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael A Mayo
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nancy L Dawson
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard W Rick Hawthorne
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Senator Audrey Gibson
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sue Leger-Krall
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
T Fitch King
Board Member1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary McElroy
Senior Vice President of Hospice Services40.0$293,168$0$47,924Yes (X)
Ana Sanchez
Chief Medical Director40.0$360,699$0$46,658Yes (X)
Jennifer Contin
Director of Medical Operations - Palliative Care40.0$289,258$0$23,237Yes (X)
Maria Tiomico
Associate Medical Director40.0$261,811$0$22,119Yes (X)
Reuben Smith
Director of Medical Operations - Northeast FL40.0$275,383$0$49,782Yes (X)
Ruth Streeter
Medical Director40.0$263,966$0$46,616Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,744,285TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,458,174TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$404,221TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K83IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
LIFE CARE CTR-ORANGE PARK
2145 KINGSLEYORANGE PARKFL32073Nursing Home$888,249
TERRACE OF JACKSONVILLE
10680 OLD ST AUGUSTINE RDJACKSONVILLEFL32257Nursing Home$874,832
TAYLOR CARE CENTER
6535 CHESTER AVEJACKSONVILLEFL33217Nursing Home$844,340
SOVEREIGN HEALTH CARE ST AUGUSTINE
200 MARINER HEALTH WAYST AUGUSTINEFL32086Nursing Home$841,132
LIFE CARE CTR OF AMERICA
3570 KEITH ST NWCLEVELANDTN37312Nursing Home$722,463
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K51CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$1,470,900RelatedOrganizationsAmt
All Other Contributions$7,177AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,478,077TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Service Revenue623000$104,398,885$104,398,885
Nursing Home Support623000$21,307,867$21,307,867

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$125,706,752TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,206,542TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,206,542ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$258,404RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$258,404RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$258,404TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$258,404RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,091,736SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$38,409OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,091,736SecuritiesAmt
Other-$38,409OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,053,327TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,053,327ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Miscellaneous Revenue623000$195,003$195,003
Cafe Revenue722514$46,893$46,893

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$241,896OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$131,944,998TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$125,965,156RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,501,765ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$293,168TotalAmt
Management And General$293,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,429,513TotalAmt
Program Services$56,031,104ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,398,409ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,369,163TotalAmt
Program Services$1,205,668ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$163,495ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,812,474TotalAmt
Program Services$6,959,883ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$852,591ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,949,732TotalAmt
Program Services$3,491,814ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$457,918ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,391TotalAmt
Management And General$168,391ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$75,201TotalAmt
Management And General$75,201ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$186,676TotalAmt
Management And General$186,676ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,400TotalAmt
Management And General$74,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,329,642TotalAmt
Program Services$1,219,370ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,272ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$255,215TotalAmt
Program Services$135,913ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$119,302ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,131,461TotalAmt
Program Services$3,142,435ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$989,026ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,325,670TotalAmt
Program Services$1,325,670ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,825,475TotalAmt
Program Services$3,825,475ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,884,245TotalAmt
Program Services$1,822,878ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,367ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,539TotalAmt
Program Services$87,400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$60,139ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$180TotalAmt
Program Services$180ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,022,820TotalAmt
Program Services$3,022,820ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$449,767TotalAmt
Management And General$449,767ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Bad Debt$1,799,130$1,799,130
Miscellaneous$14,123$14,123
Charity Care$1,032,431$1,032,431
Medical Expense$8,316,641$8,316,641

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,945,412TotalAmt
Program Services$22,945,412ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$127,838,469TotalAmt
Program Services$116,378,347ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,460,122ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,650BOYAmt
EOY$1,650EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,693,307BOYAmt
EOY$14,907,275EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,797,304BOYAmt
EOY$10,332,916EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$411,371BOYAmt
EOY$455,711EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,537,574BOYAmt
EOY$1,507,872EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$72,263,958LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,013,550LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,995,002BOYAmt
EOY$33,250,408EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,793,166BOYAmt
EOY$29,196,209EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$577,374BOYAmt
EOY$577,374EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,037,794BOYAmt
EOY$11,317,610EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,844,542BOYAmt
EOY$101,547,025EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,029,135BOYAmt
EOY$7,766,659EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,610BOYAmt
EOY$29,381EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,172,099BOYAmt
EOY$14,245,844EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,238,844BOYAmt
EOY$22,041,884EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,605,698BOYAmt
EOY$79,505,141EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,605,698BOYAmt
EOY$79,505,141EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,844,542BOYAmt
EOY$101,547,025EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,106,529ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$2,602,674NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$11,809,760OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,456,171CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,938,853CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,186,799CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,339,773CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,478,077CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,399,673TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$117,107,727CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$113,711,376CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$112,110,151CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$118,172,965CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$125,965,156CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$587,067,375TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$118,563,898CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$115,650,229CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$113,296,950CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$120,512,738CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$127,443,233CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$595,467,048TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$595,467,048PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,121,937CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,360,365CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,007,399CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,823,340CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,464,946CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,777,987TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,121,937CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,360,365CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,007,399CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,823,340CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,464,946CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,777,987TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,003,514CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$655,800CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$462,275CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$232,984CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$241,896CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,596,469TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$120,689,349CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$117,666,394CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$114,766,624CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$122,569,062CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$130,150,075CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$605,841,504TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.9829PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.9833PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.01InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.0103InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part III, Line 12 Other IncomeFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDESCRIPTION - MISCELLANEOUS INCOME, COLUMN A - 1003514.0, COLUMN B - 655800.0, COLUMN C - 462275.0, COLUMN D - 232984.0, COLUMN E - 241896.0, COLUMN F - 2596469.0;ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$1,307OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$1,307TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1 DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE LOBBYING ACTIVITYFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization's incurred lobbying expenses are related to that portion of the annual dues paid to the Florida Hospice and Palliative Care Association to support member advocacy efforts.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,967,544OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,967,544BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$38,261,522OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,658,720DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,602,802BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,121,125OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,363,542DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,757,583BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,292,864OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,991,288DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,301,576BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$620,903OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$620,903BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$33,250,408TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
DUE FROM FOUNDATION
ROU operating lease$11,059,023
due from alivia care solutions
DUE FROM SUBSIDY ALIVIA CARE INC
due from subsidy alivia care solutions
Due from parent and affiliates$258,587
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$11,317,610TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED COMPENSATION$3,886,745
Due to affiliates$632,574
operating lease liability$9,726,525
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$14,245,844TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$131,547,720TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$2,602,674NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,602,674RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$128,945,046RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$168,391InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,831,561OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,999,952RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$131,944,998TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$124,838,517TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$124,838,517ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$168,391InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,831,561OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,999,952ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$127,838,469TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteCOMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA AND ITS AFFILIATES ARE NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATIONS AND HAVE BEEN RECOGNIZED AS TAX-EXEMPT PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. THE HOSPICE FOLLOWS THE FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD'S AUTHORITATIVE GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES. THE GUIDANCE CLARIFIES THE ACCOUNTING FOR THE RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF THE BENEFITS OF INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITIONS IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. TAX POSITIONS MUST MEET A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD OF MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT IN ORDER FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE HOSPICE'S CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE HOSPICE HAS DETERMINED THAT IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY MATERIAL UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS OR OBLIGATIONS AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsCharity Care Included in Revenues - 1032431 Bad Debt Expenses - 1799130
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsCharity Care Included in Revenues - 1032431 Bad Debt Expenses - 1799130

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Phillip Ward
President & CEO Community Hospice of Northeast Florida$0$426,420$0$77,602$0$2,322$0$22,500$0$20,888$0$549,732$0$0
Susan Ponder-Stansel
President & CEO Alivia Care, Inc.$0$543,340$0$88,125$0$4,190$0$52,385$0$44,057$0$732,097$0$0
Kenneth McCosh
CFO Alivia Care, Inc.$0$282,220$0$33,047$0$908$0$1,400$0$26,655$0$344,230$0$0
Mary McElroy
Senior Vice President of Hospice Services$247,886$0$45,282$0$0$0$31,455$0$16,469$0$341,092$0$0$0
Ana Sanchez
Chief Medical Director$360,699$0$0$0$0$0$20,700$0$25,958$0$407,357$0$0$0
Reuben Smith
Director of Medical Operations - Northeast FL$275,383$0$0$0$0$0$18,068$0$31,714$0$325,165$0$0$0
Jennifer Contin
Director of Medical Operations - Palliative Care$289,258$0$0$0$0$0$18,608$0$4,629$0$312,495$0$0$0
Maria Tiomico
Associate Medical Director$261,811$0$0$0$0$0$16,438$0$5,681$0$283,930$0$0$0
Ruth Streeter
Medical Director$263,966$0$0$0$0$0$16,438$0$30,178$0$310,582$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3 Arrangement used to establish the top management official's compensationThe process used to establish compensation for the President/CEO was undertaken by a related organization. This process included the use of a compensation committee, an independent compensation consultant, Form 990s of other organizations, compensation studies/survey, and the approval by the board/committee.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planNONQUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION - CERTAIN EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATE IN A 457(F) NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN SPONSORED BY THE ORGANIZATION. THE FOLLOWING AMOUNTS REPRESENT THE INCREASE IN VALUE RECEIVED UNDER THE TERMS OF THE PLAN. ANA SANCHEZ - $10,350 REUBEN SMITH - $9,034 Jennifer Contin - $9,304 Maria Tiomico - $8,219 Ruth Streeter - $8,219 NONQUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION - CERTAIN Officers PARTICIPATE IN A 457(F) NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN SPONSORED BY a related organization. THE FOLLOWING AMOUNTS REPRESENT THE INCREASE IN VALUE RECEIVED UNDER THE TERMS OF THE PLAN. Phillip Ward - $22,500 Susan Ponder-Stansel - $22,500

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4a-4c Description of program services(Expenses $ 581,892 including grants of $) Specialized Care for Children Since 2000, Community Hospice & Palliative Care has provided palliative and hospice care and support for children living with life-limiting and life-threatening conditions through Community PedsCare, an award-winning pediatric care program in collaboration with Wolfson Children's Hospital, Nemours Children's Specialty Care and the University of Florida-Jacksonville. The program, one of only a few community pediatric programs in the United States offering both palliative and hospice care, provides clinical, social service, spiritual, child life, medical and volunteer support to improve quality of life for children from prenatal to age 21. To date, the program has served nearly 2,000 patients with an average daily census in Fiscal Year 2024 of 223 patients. Advance Care Planning Honoring Choices Florida is a community collaborative advance care planning initiative of Community Hospice & Palliative Care. The program launched in 2014 and is based on a model from Respecting Choices, a pioneering ACP program implementing throughout the United States, Canada and many countries in Europe and Asia. Honoring Choices Florida is designed to sustain an integrated, community-wide system to ensure patients' future health care preferences are discussed, documented, and honored. The program engages individuals through health care facilities and community-based venues through a specialized advance care planning document and offers trained facilitators-more than 590-to guide individuals and families through the process of discussing and documenting their health care wishes. In Fiscal Year 2024, facilitators guided over 7074 conversations and helped 6,111 individuals document their wishes. Program staff presented on advance care planning in 135 venues reaching over 2,471 individuals and responded to another 850 individual inquiries through the website and designated phone line. Bereavement Services and Community Grief Support Community Hospice & Palliative Care offers a variety of grief and loss support services for those who have experienced the death of a loved one. These services provide support or guidance for dealing with the loss and sorrow. Services are available not only to survivors of patients in our hospice care program but to anyone in the community who requests them. Services include bereavement support groups held at many locations, Understanding Grief (a program for the newly bereaved), an annual candlelight service of remembrance, grief camp for kids (Camp Healing Powers) and a program to cope with grief during the holiday season (November and December). Hospice patients' family members may also receive individual and family counseling (including children and teens). We send letters to the bereaved during the year after the death, these include helpful hints and invitations to our support activities. In Fiscal Year 2024, 15,082 found hope and healing through Bereavement Services with an additional 2,375 community grief sessions serving area residents. Outreach to Family Caregivers and Military/Veteran Communities The Community Hospice Veterans Partnership (CHVP) raises awareness as well as funds for pins and flags to honor veterans in the care of Community Hospice & Palliative Care, a We Honor Veterans Level III provider. In Fiscal Year 2024, Community Hospice & Palliative Care provided hospice services to 1,476 veterans from all branches of services throughout the organization's 16-county region. Volunteers The nearly 482 Community Hospice & Palliative Care volunteers are vital members of our team. Whether offering companionship and a listening ear to patients and family members, helping with clerical work at one of our office locations, assisting at fundraising events or greeting guests at one of our front desk locations, there's a volunteer opportunity for everyone. Foundation The Foundation of Community Hospice & Palliative Care is dedicated to enabling Community Hospice & Palliative Care to fulfill its mission and vision. Funds raised through the Foundation enhance the quality of life for patients and families and support unfunded and under-funded patient care, outreach programs, and services for those facing advanced illness and grief. Donor support provides community programs and compassionate care to all who need it, regardless of ability to pay.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a Delegate broad authority to a committeeTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL BE COMPOSED OF THE OFFICERS AND THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR, IF HE OR SHE CONTINUES TO SERVE ON THE BOARD, AND THE CHAIRS OF THE STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE, THE COMPLIANCE/QUALITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE AND THE NOMINATING AND BOARD DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE. THE CHAIR OF THE COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA FOUNDATION FOR CARING, INC. SHALL BE AN EX-OFFICIO MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE WITHOUT VOTE. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL MEET AT THE CALL OF THE CHAIR, OR, IN THE ABSENCE OF THE CHAIR, AT THE CALL OF THE FIRST VICE-CHAIR. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL HAVE SUCH POWERS AS MAY BE DELEGATED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FROM TIME TO TIME. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL ACT UPON INTERIM BUSINESS ARISING BETWEEN REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND SHALL REPORT ITS ACTION AT THE NEXT MEETING OF THE BOARD. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL PERIODICALLY REVIEW THE PERFORMANCE OF THE PRESIDENT/CEO, AND SHALL REVIEW, FROM TIME TO TIME, PERSONNEL POLICIES, INCLUDING CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT, AND SHALL MEET PERIODICALLY WITH THE PRESIDENT/CEO TO ASSESS PERSONNEL POLICIES AND WORKING CONDITIONS. THE COMMITTEE WILL REVIEW THE SALARY PLAN AND RECOMMEND CHANGES WHEN INDICATED. THE COMMITTEE SHALL OVERSEE THE ADMINISTRATION OF ANY AFFIRMATIVE ACTION PLAN. ACTIONS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE PURSUANT TO THIS PARAGRAPH SHALL HAVE THE SAME EFFECT AS ACTIONS OF THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersAlivia Care, Inc a Florida Not-For-Profit tax exempt entity as the sole Member.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersThe Organization's bylaws were amended to state that Alicare Care, Inc a Florida Not-For-Profit tax exempt entity as the sole Member. As the Sole Member Alivia Care, Inc has the right to: (a) employ the President of the Corporation (the "Hospice President"); (b) approve the amendment, modification, or restatement of the Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws of the Corporation, in whole or in part; (c) approve the annual capital and operating budget of the Corporation; (d) approve the annual and long-term strategic plans of the Corporation; (e) incur any long-term debt or financing to be used in furtherance of the Corporation's purposes; (f) approve and authorize the expansion of the Corporation into any new service lines which are not set forth in Article I of these Bylaws; (g) approve and authorize the geographic expansion of the Corporation into any service area beyond the Corporation's licensed hospice service area; (h) approve and authorize the establishment or dissolution of organizational relationships by the Corporation including subsidiaries, consolidation, partnerships, joint ventures, mergers, or any other fundamental reorganization of the Corporation;
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyTHE RETURN WAS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT WITH ASSISTANCE AND OVERSIGHT BY MANAGEMENT. UPON COMPLETION, THE RETURN WAS REVIEWED IN ITS ENTIRETY BY THE BUDGET FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD, FOLLOWED BY A PRESENTATION TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. FOLLOWING APPROVAL, THE RETURN WAS FILED WITH THE IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyMEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY TO COMPLETE AND SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IDENTIFYING RELATIONSHIPS THAT MAY GIVE RISE TO CONFLICT. OFFICERS AND KEY MANAGEMENT PERSONNEL ALSO COMPLETE A SURVEY REGARDING POTENTIAL BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS WITH OTHER OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, AND KEY PERSONNEL.ANY PERSON DETERMINED TO HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS REQUIRED TO RECUSE THEMSELVES FROM ANY VOTE RELATED TO THE CONFLICT.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialExecutive committee of the Board reviews and makes decisions annually regarding compensation for executive staff. The executive committee retained an independent consultant to conduct a comprehensive review of the competitiveness and reasonableness of the compensation and benefits provided to the following positions: CEO, COO, CFO, SVP of Palliative Care, SVP Hospice Services, VP Deputy Chief Financial Officer, VP Compliance and Quality, and Vice President Education & Community Engagement. A review of competitiveness and reasonableness for like organizations to include not-for-profit post acute care providers and hospitals of comparable size, regardless of geography was conducted. Target market at median.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employeesExecutive committee of the Board reviews and makes decisions annually regarding compensation for executive staff. The executive committee retained an independent consultant to conduct a comprehensive review of the competitiveness and reasonableness of the compensation and benefits provided to the following positions: CEO, COO, CFO, SVP of Palliative Care, SVP Hospice Services, VP Deputy Chief Financial Officer, VP Compliance and Quality, and Vice President Education & Community Engagement. A review of competitiveness and reasonableness for like organizations to include not-for-profit post acute care providers and hospitals of comparable size, regardless of geography was conducted. Target market at median.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicTHE ORGANIZATION WILL PROVIDE ANY GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS UPON REQUEST. THIS CAN BE DONE IN PERSON, BY PHONE, VIA OUR WEBSITE OR ON WWW.GUIDESTAR.COM.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 11g Other ExpensesDietary - Total Expense: 265203, Program Service Expense: 265203, Management and General Expenses: , Fundraising Expenses: ; Room & board - Total Expense: 22255021, Program Service Expense: 22255021, Management and General Expenses: , Fundraising Expenses: ; Equipment - Total Expense: 425188, Program Service Expense: 425188, Management and General Expenses: , Fundraising Expenses: ;
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 Other changes in net assets or fund balancesNet Asset Transfer - -11809760;
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c Change of oversight process or selection processTHE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED SINCE THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (7 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA FOUNDATION FOR CARING
4266 SUNBEAM RDjACKSONVILLEFL32257593583920FUNDRAISING FOR COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDAFL501(c)(3)Type ICOMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDAYes (true)
Hospice of Golden Isles Inc
1692 Glynco PkwyBrunswickGA31525581428562HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CAREFL501(c)(3)7Alivia Care of Georgia Incfalse
Hospice Satilla
808 Evergreen WayWaycrossGA31501581741612HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CAREFL501(c)(3)3Alivia Care of Georgia Incfalse
Alivia Care Inc
4266 SUNBEAM RDJACKSONVILLEFL32257844695341Leadership Support for HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CAREFL501(c)(3)10NAfalse
Alivia Care of Georgia Inc
4266 SUNBEAM RDJACKSONVILLEFL32257850842222Leadership Support for HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CAREFL501(c)(3)10ALivia Care Incfalse
Alivia Care Solutions Inc
4266 SUNBEAM RDJacksonvilleFL32257852777461HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CAREFL501(c)(3)10ALivia Care Incfalse
PACE Partners for Northeast Florida Inc
4266 SUNBEAM RDJacksonvilleFL32257364861283Program for Nursing home patientsFL501(c)(3)Type ICOMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDAYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangeYes (true)AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.