KIVA MICROFUNDS: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KIVA MICROFUNDS (EIN 71-0992446)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-05-17
IRS object ID
202131379349305303
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-17T13:08:56-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN770051130PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ABBOTT STRINGHAM & LYNCHBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11530 MERIDIAN AVE 2ND FLRAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN JOSECityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710992446EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KIVA MICROFUNDSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKIVABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4153587500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 MISSION STREET STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94103ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHAD STERBENZPersonNm
Person TitleCIO/ACTING CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4153587500PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstCHADPersonFirstNm
Person LastSTERBENZPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSHEBA B DALANEYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00351252PTIN
Phone4083778700PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-13PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHAD STERBENZPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 MISSION STREET STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$38,608,922GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KIVA.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2005FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionKIVA IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION WITH A MISSION TO EXPAND FINANCIAL ACCESS TO HELP UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES THRIVE BY PROVIDING AN ONLINE PLATFORM THAT FACILITATES MICROLOANS GLOBALLY; BEING A DEVELOPER OF BLOCKCHAIN BASED DIGITAL ID PLATFORM TO PROMOTE FINANCIAL INCLUSION; BEING A MANAGER OF IMPACT INVESTMENT FUNDS (AS AN EXEMPT REPORTING ADVISER).ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body6VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent4VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee145TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers450TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$19,712,505PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$38,319,210CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$205,657PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$252,411CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$27,150PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$31,407CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$19,945,312PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$38,603,028CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,492,427PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,722,197CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,787,556CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$13,441,800PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,180,584CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$26,934,227PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$30,902,781CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$6,988,915PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$7,700,247CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$29,265,474TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$38,469,820TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,217,848TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$5,722,778TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$25,047,626NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$32,747,042NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionKIVA IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION WITH A MISSION TO EXPAND FINANCIAL ACCESS TO HELP UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES THRIVE BY PROVIDING AN ONLINE PLATFORM THAT FACILITATES MICROLOANS GLOBALLY; BEING A DEVELOPER OF BLOCKCHAIN BASED DIGITAL ID PLATFORM TO PROMOTE FINANCIAL INCLUSION; BEING A MANAGER OF IMPACT INVESTMENT FUNDS (AS AN EXEMPT REPORTING ADVISER).MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$23,140,825ExpenseAmt
Revenue$31,407RevenueAmt
DescKIVA PARTNERS WITH OVER 312 GLOBAL MICROFINANCE INSTITUTIONS ("MFIS")AND OTHER SOCIALLY MINDED ORGANIZATIONS AND ENTERPRISES IN NINETYFOUR (94) COUNTRIES ACROSS THE GLOBE. THIS NETWORK OFPARTNERSHIPS ENABLES KIVA TO CONNECT WITH BORROWERS SEEKINGMICRO-LOANS. KIVA'S PARTNER ORGANIZATIONS ARE RESPONSIBLE FORSELECTING AND VETTING THE BORROWERS AND ADMINISTRATING THE LOANS.KIVA'S ONLINE PLATFORM CONNECTS THESE BORROWERS WITH OVER 1.8MILLION INDIVIDUALS TO DATE WHO WANT TO CONTRIBUTE LOAN FUNDS VIATHE INTERNET.IN 2012, KIVA INITIATED MORE CONCERTED WORK ON A PILOT PROGRAM(FORMERLY "KIVA ZIP" NOW RENAMED "KIVA US"), DESIGNED TO TEST THEFEASIBILITY OF FACILITATING MICROFINANCE LOANS FROM KIVA USERS MOREDIRECTLY TO KIVA BORROWERS VIA A SEPARATE WEBSITE URL (ZIP.KIVA.ORG),IN 2016, THE KIVA US WEBSITE WAS INTEGRATED INTO THE MAIN KIVA.ORGWEBSITE.KIVA CREATED KIVA- DAF, LLC ("KDAF") IN 2013 TO HOLD DONOR ADVISED FUNDACCOUNTS, KIVA IMPACT FUNDS LLC ("KIF") IN 2016 TO FACILITATEMICROLOANS MADE WITH CAPITAL FROM OPIC, KIVA PROTOCOL LLC IN 2018TO DEVELOP A DIGITAL ID PLATFORM VIA BLOCKCHAIN TECHNOLOGY TOPROMOTE FINANCIAL INCLUSION, KIVA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT IN 2019 TO BEA MANAGER OF IMPACT INVESTMENT FUNDS (AS AN EXEMPT REPORTINGADVISOR), SUCH AS KIVA REFUGEE INVESTMENT FUND LLC IN 2019.CALIFORNIA REBUILDING FUND LLC (CASE B-SPV LLC, CASE G-SPV) ANDSMALL BUSINESS RESILIENCE FUND LLC WERE INITIATED IN 2020 TO PROVIDESUPPORT TO SMALL BUSINESSES IMPACTED BY COVID-19 IN CALIFORNIAAND INTERNATIONAL LOCATIONS.JURNUS LLC WAS CREATED IN LATE 2020 TO HOUSE OUR BLOCKCHAIN-RELATED WORK WITH DIEM IN SUPPORT OF GLOBAL FINANCIAL INCLUSIONDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$23,140,825TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundYes (1)DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (1)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document70IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee145EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (1)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryKEForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Distribution To DonorYes (1)DistributionToDonorInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members6GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member4IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldALStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNMStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldRIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWVStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHAD STERBENZBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4153587500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 MISSION STREET STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94103ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
NEVILLE CRAWLEY
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$797,388$0$21,464
JULIE HANNA FARRIS
DIRECTOR10.00Yes (X)$0$180,000$0
REID HOFFMAN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN MULLER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MAYA CHORENGEL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDRE HADDAD
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH LEUNG
EXECUTIVE VP, ENGINEERING40.00Yes (X)$446,754$0$26,729
AUSTIN CHOI
GENERAL COUNSEL40.00Yes (X)$305,332$0$26,776
AARON GOLDSMID
CHIEF PRODUCT OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$269,072$0$607
MATTHEW DAVIE
CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$378,298$0$26,781
CHAD STERBENZ
CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$279,968$0$23,644
SARAH MARCHAL MURRAY
CHIEF OFFICER, STRATEGIC P40.00Yes (X)$277,252$0$26,683
JESSICA SEILHAN
VP, FINANCE40.00Yes (X)$224,022$0$7,442
HENRIQUE SABOIA
VICE PRESIDENT, GROWTH40.00Yes (X)$192,640$0$23,120
AMBER GIBSON-MORA
VP, PEOPLE & PLACES40.00Yes (X)$213,962$0$4,413
PREMAL SHAH
SENIOR CONSULTANT40.00$309,041$0$9,155Yes (X)
WILLIAM JACOBSEN
SENIOR DIRECTOR, STRATEGIC40.00$183,037$0$23,570Yes (X)
CHELSA BOCCI
VP, EMPLOYEE ENGAGEMENT40.00$181,220$0$16,862Yes (X)
ARTHUR WS DUFF
VICE PRESIDENT, STRATEGY40.00$227,410$0$27,926Yes (X)
PREDEEP RAGOTHAMAN
DIRECTOR OF DATA SCIENCE40.00$191,513$0$12,352Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,476,909TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$180,000TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$277,524TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K15IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CARLOS TAYLOR
1007 CROSBY LANE APT 2LOS ANGELESCA90026FINANCE AND ACCOUNTING SUPPORT$182,877
SALTON ARTHUR MASSALLY
69 GRAY STARLINGTONMA02476KIVA PROTOCOL IMPLEMENTATION - SIERRE LE$136,001
SIN-MEI TSAI
227 HAZELWOOD DRSOUTH SAN FRANCISCOCA94080ENGINEERING AND MANAGEMENT CONSULTANT SU$123,166
EVERYDAY GENIUS INSTITUTE
18 BARTOL ST 1056SAN FRANCISCOCA94133HR AND OFFICE OVERSIGHT, CHIEF OF STAFF$111,370
SHUJAA CONSULTING LLC
8344 12TH AVE NWSEATTLEWA98117SALESFORCE CONSULTANT$104,988
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$38,319,210AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$186,430NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$38,319,210TotalContributionsAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$251,904TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$251,904ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,401SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,894SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$507SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$507TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$507ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER MISC INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$31,407TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,407RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$31,407OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,603,028TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,407RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$252,411ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,797,648TotalAmt
Program Services$2,808,324ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$506,793ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$482,531FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,932,879TotalAmt
Program Services$7,345,267ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,325,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,262,078FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$271,718TotalAmt
Program Services$214,924ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,111ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,683FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,543,607TotalAmt
Program Services$1,232,019ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,510ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$163,078FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,176,345TotalAmt
Program Services$927,605ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$127,159ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$121,581FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$511,048TotalAmt
Program Services$405,334ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$105,714ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$307,922TotalAmt
Program Services$16,765ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$291,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$635,305TotalAmt
Program Services$306,871ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$327,249ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,185FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,002,222TotalAmt
Program Services$1,000,422ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$141,664TotalAmt
Program Services$72,149ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$65,619ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,896FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,170,316TotalAmt
Program Services$2,427,268ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$481,887ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$261,161FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,307,448TotalAmt
Program Services$936,175ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$240,942ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$130,331FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$235,884TotalAmt
Program Services$182,891ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,702ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,291FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,110,381TotalAmt
Program Services$1,663,009ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$229,262ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$218,110FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$307,143TotalAmt
Program Services$234,808ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,356ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29,979FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
CONTRACTORS$3,512,693$2,705,874$724,559$82,260
BAD DEBT$236,128$236,128
PORTFOLIO TEAM TRAINING$208,937$207,415$1,495$27
STAFF DEVELOPMENT$193,770$9,978$183,319$473

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$299,723TotalAmt
Program Services$207,599ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,232ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,892FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,902,781TotalAmt
Program Services$23,140,825ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,974,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,787,556FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,844,264BOYAmt
EOY$3,909,240EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6BOYAmt
EOY$13,277,746EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,301,230BOYAmt
EOY$2,620,770EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$208,763BOYAmt
EOY$251,855EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,974,747BOYAmt
EOY$7,978,578EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$648,126BOYAmt
EOY$904,999EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$24,773,131LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,764,635LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,993,290BOYAmt
EOY$4,008,496EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$164,978EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$5,107,351EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,000BOYAmt
EOY$25,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$270,048BOYAmt
EOY$220,807EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,265,474BOYAmt
EOY$38,469,820EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,134,916BOYAmt
EOY$2,556,372EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,074,072BOYAmt
EOY$832,915EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$2,306,995EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,860BOYAmt
EOY$26,496EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,217,848BOYAmt
EOY$5,722,778EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,520,183BOYAmt
EOY$15,198,641EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,527,443BOYAmt
EOY$17,548,401EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,047,626BOYAmt
EOY$32,747,042EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,265,474BOYAmt
EOY$38,469,820EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$7,700,247ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$463NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$368OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$17,070,812CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,394,640CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,064,341CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,712,505CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$38,319,210CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$115,561,508TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$17,070,812CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,394,640CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,064,341CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,712,505CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$38,319,210CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$115,561,508TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$115,561,508PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$126,632CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$288,499CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$84,317CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$196,160CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$251,904CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$947,512TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,436CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,272CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$47,950CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$27,150CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,407CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$157,215TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$116,666,235TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.99050PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.99090PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Donor Advised Funds Held55DonorAdvisedFundsHeldCnt
Donor Advised Funds Contri$2,644,876DonorAdvisedFundsContriAmt
Donor Advised Funds Grants$1,433,694DonorAdvisedFundsGrantsAmt
Donor Advised Funds Vl EOY$7,471,490DonorAdvisedFundsVlEOYAmt
Disclosed Org Leg CtrlYes (1)DisclosedOrgLegCtrlInd
Disclosed For Charitable PrpsYes (1)DisclosedForCharitablePrpsInd
Agent Trustee EtcYes (1)AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Beginning Balance$151,503,303BeginningBalanceAmt
Additions During Year$41,275,984AdditionsDuringYearAmt
Distributions During Year$39,998,767DistributionsDuringYearAmt
Ending Balance$152,780,520EndingBalanceAmt
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab0InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,357,394OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,192,871DepreciationAmt
Book Value$164,523BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$23,415,737OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,571,764DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,843,973BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$4,008,496TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINVESTMENT IN CRF LLCDesc
Book Value$5,107,351BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$5,107,351TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDEFERRED RENT OBLIGATIONDesc
Amt$26,496Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$26,496TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$43,308,572TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$463NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$4,792,555DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue-$367OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$4,791,725RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,516,847RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$86,181OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$86,181RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$38,603,028TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,609,156TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$4,792,555DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$1OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$4,792,556ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$30,816,600ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$86,181OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$86,181ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$30,902,781TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 1B:THE FUNDS OF KIVA'S USERS ARE HELD IN FBO ACCOUNTS SEPARATE FROM KIVA'S OPERATIONAL FUNDS. KIVA IS ENTITLED TO THE INTEREST EARNED ON THE FUNDS HELD IN THE FBO ACCOUNTS, PURSUANT TO THE BINDING TERMS OF USE WITH INDIVIDUAL USERS AT THE TIME A USER ACCOUNT IS ESTABLISHED. KIVA IS ALSO ENTITLED TO THE AUTO-CONVERTED DONATIONS FROM KIVA CARDS HELD IN THESE ACCOUNTS, AND ONLINE DONATIONS INTENDED FOR KIVA THAT ARE PROCESSED THROUGH THESE ACCOUNTS.
PART X, LINE 2:KIVA HAS ADOPTED THE ACCOUNTING STANDARD RELATED TO UNCERTAINTIES IN INCOME TAXES. MANAGEMENT HAS CONSIDERED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND BELIEVES THAT ALL OF THE POSITIONS TAKEN BY KIVA IN ITS FEDERAL AND STATE EXEMPT ORGANIZATION TAX RETURNS ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION; THEREFORE, NO LIABILITY FOR UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS HAS BEEN RECORDED AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2020 AND 2019. KIVA, KUF, KDAF, KIF, KCM, AND KP ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY A MAJOR TAX JURISDICTION BACK TO 2016.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON CURRENCY EXCHANGE -372. ROUNDING 5.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECLASSIFICATION OF LOAN LOSSES 86,181.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING 1.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECLASSIFICATION OF LOAN LOSSES 86,181.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (26 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
SUB SAHARAN AFRICA15MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$8,954
SUB SAHARAN AFRICA15PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$603,441
SUB SAHARAN AFRICA15FUNDRAISINGPARTNER MONITORING$111
EUROPE00MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$93
EUROPE00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$34,027
RUSSIA00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$4,500
MIDDLE EAST00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$480
EAST ASIA03MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$71
EAST ASIA03PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$304,714
SOUTH ASIA00MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$104
SOUTH ASIA00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$9,396
CENTRAL AMERICA00MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$874
CENTRAL AMERICA00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$4,307
SOUTH AMERICA03PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$148,522
NORTH AMERICA00FUNDRAISINGPARTNER MONITORING$1
NORTH AMERICA00MANAGEMENTPARTNER MONITORING$4,344
NORTH AMERICA00PROGRAMPARTNER MONITORING$17,883
CENTRAL AMERICA00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$1,149,525
EAST ASIA13PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$1,106,000
EUROPE00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$46,300
MIDDLE EAST00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$179,575
RUSSIA00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$449,350
SOUTH AMERICA03PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$853,425
SOUTH ASIA00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$88,100
SOUTH PACIFIC00PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$45,075
SUB SAHARAN AFRICA15PROGRAMMICROFIANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$1,008,900
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices3SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees18SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office2ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee17ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office5TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee35TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$651,677SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$5,416,395ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$6,068,072TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp (58 entries)

RegionRegionTxtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
EUROPEMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$46,300WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$57,575WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$34,450WIRE TRANSFERFMV
RUSSIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$245,300WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$25,350WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$17,775WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$9,675WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$4,225WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$5,700WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$185,825WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$109,925WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$54,100WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$39,675WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$546,050WIRE TRANSFERFMV
RUSSIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$21,450WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$34,025WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$7,975WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$29,675WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$104,200WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$22,475WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$121,725WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$160,700WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$166,525WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$35,050WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$46,075WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$92,425WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$57,100WIRE TRANSFERFMV
RUSSIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$135,225WIRE TRANSFERFMV
RUSSIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$46,925WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$8,150WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$97,975WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$193,450WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$56,250WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$13,850WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$44,350WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$28,325WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$74,925WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$9,975WIRE TRANSFERFMV
MIDDLE EASTMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$1,300WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$74,250WIRE TRANSFERFMV
MIDDLE EASTMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$67,500WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$533,400WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$69,900WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$100,025WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$234,025WIRE TRANSFERFMV
MIDDLE EASTMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$110,775WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$42,100WIRE TRANSFERFMV
CENTRAL AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$25,825WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$57,775WIRE TRANSFERFMV
RUSSIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$450WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH PACIFICMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$18,850WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$100,950WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH PACIFICMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$26,225WIRE TRANSFERFMV
EAST ASIAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$77,300WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$77,275WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$119,425WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SOUTH AMERICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$159,500WIRE TRANSFERFMV
SUB SAHARAN AFRICAMICROFINANCE LOANS DISBURSED TO PARTNERS$38,675WIRE TRANSFERFMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org66TotalOtherOrgCnt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:
SCHEDULE F, PART I, LINE 2SEE SCHEDULE O FOR EXPLAINATION.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
NEVILLE CRAWLEY
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$447,388$0$350,000$0$0$0$2,500$0$18,964$0$818,852$0$0$0
KENNETH LEUNG
EXECUTIVE VP, ENGINEERING$296,654$0$150,100$0$0$0$2,500$0$24,229$0$473,483$0$0$0
MATTHEW DAVIE
CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER$281,598$0$96,700$0$0$0$2,500$0$24,281$0$405,079$0$0$0
AUSTIN CHOI
GENERAL COUNSEL$255,199$0$50,133$0$0$0$2,500$0$24,276$0$332,108$0$0$0
PREMAL SHAH
SENIOR CONSULTANT$309,041$0$0$0$0$0$2,632$0$6,523$0$318,196$0$0$0
SARAH MARCHAL MURRAY
CHIEF OFFICER, STRATEGIC P$247,252$0$30,000$0$0$0$2,500$0$24,183$0$303,935$0$0$0
CHAD STERBENZ
CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER$187,468$0$92,500$0$0$0$2,500$0$21,144$0$303,612$0$0$0
AARON GOLDSMID
CHIEF PRODUCT OFFICER$168,939$0$100,133$0$0$0$0$0$607$0$269,679$0$0$0
ARTHUR WS DUFF
VICE PRESIDENT, STRATEGY$217,410$0$10,000$0$0$0$2,500$0$25,426$0$255,336$0$0$0
JESSICA SEILHAN
VP, FINANCE$203,909$0$20,113$0$0$0$0$0$7,442$0$231,464$0$0$0
AMBER GIBSON-MORA
VP, PEOPLE & PLACES$193,962$0$20,000$0$0$0$0$0$4,413$0$218,375$0$0$0
HENRIQUE SABOIA
VICE PRESIDENT, GROWTH$168,265$0$24,375$0$0$0$2,500$0$20,620$0$215,760$0$0$0
WILLIAM JACOBSEN
SENIOR DIRECTOR, STRATEGIC$151,434$0$31,603$0$0$0$2,500$0$21,070$0$206,607$0$0$0
PREDEEP RAGOTHAMAN
DIRECTOR OF DATA SCIENCE$191,513$0$0$0$0$0$2,500$0$9,852$0$203,865$0$0$0
CHELSA BOCCI
VP, EMPLOYEE ENGAGEMENT$174,220$0$7,000$0$0$0$2,500$0$14,362$0$198,082$0$0$0
JULIE HANNA FARRIS
DIRECTOR$0$0$0$0$0$180,000$0$0$0$0$0$180,000$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAMBER GIBSON-MORA - $99,125ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (5 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
MATTHEW DAVIE (DAVIE PARTNERS)
CURRENT CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER$4,063PROTOCOL CONSULTING AND RECRUITING SERVICES0
JULIE HANNA FARRIS
DIRECTOR$180,000CONSULTING SERVICES0
PAMELA YANCHIK CONNEALY (MISSION HILLS CONSULTING DBA PAM YANCHIK)
FORMER CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$15,000CONSULTING SERVICES0
KEVIN O'BRIEN
FORMER CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFICER$21,675ENGINEERING SERVICES0
ANDRE HADDAD
DIRECTOR$55,000MANAGED LENDING AGREEMENT WITH TURO0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution11ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$183,430NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2CALIFORNIA REBUILDING FUND AND SMALL BUSINESS RESILIENCE FUND WERE INITIATIED TO PROVIDE SUPPORT TO SMALL BUSINESSES IMPACTED BY COVID-19 IN CALIFORNIA AND INTERNATIONAL LOCATIONS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 WILL BE REVIEWED BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE AND BOARD BEFORE IT IS FILED. ANY CONCERNS OR QUESTIONS WILL BE ADDRESSED AT THAT TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12COFFICERS, DIRECTORS, TRUSTEES, AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A STATEMENT AND THERE IS A FORMAL REQUEST TO DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REVIEWS COMPENSATION ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19ALL DOCUMENTS AND POLICIES ARE MADE AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATION'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:LOSS ON CURRENCY EXCHANGE -372. ROUNDING 4.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PRIOR YEAR.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE F, PARTS I AND IIPLEASE NOTE: KIVA DOES NOT MAKE GRANTS TO ORGANIZATIONS. RATHER, THE INFORMATION PROVIDED ON SCHEDULE F PARTS I AND II REFLECT THE VALUE OF MICROLOANS EXTENDED VIA KIVA'S DAF, KIVA'S MICROFINANCE PARTNER ORGANIZATIONS, AND DIRECT LOANS TO BORROWERS, TO SUPPORT THEIR MICROLOAN CLIENTS. IN ORDER TO ELECTRONICALLY FILE THE FORM 990, PART IV LINE 15 WAS REQUIRED TO BE CHECKED "YES".
FORM 990, SCHEDULE R, PART I (B)FINANCIAL INCLUSION VIA DIGITAL IDENTITY CREATION AND RELATED CREDIT HISTORY BUILDING IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (11 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmt
KIVA USER FUNDS LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103261778383FBO ACCOUNT HOLDERCAKIVA MICROFUNDS
KIVA-DAF LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103463976029DONOR ADVISED FUND ACCOUNTDEKIVA MICROFUNDS$2,543,175$7,464,207
KIVA IMPACT FUNDS LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103813992333INSTITUTIONAL INVESTMENT FUNDDEKIVA MICROFUNDS
KIVA PROTOCOL LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103832560412BLOCKCHAIN-BASED DIGITAL ID TECHNOLOGYDEKIVA MICROFUNDS
KIVA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103842909332IMPACT INVESTMENT FUND MANAGERDEKIVA MICROFUNDS$140,218
KIVA REFUGEE INVESTMENT FUND LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103842915844PROPOSED INVESTMENT FUND FOR KIVA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, LLCDEKIVA MICROFUNDS
CALIFORNIA REBUILDING FUND LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103852987081CALIFORNIA FUND FOR SMALL BUSINESSES (COVID-19 RESPONSE)DEKIVA MICROFUNDS
CASE B-SPV LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103853053551CALIFORNIA FUND FOR SMALL BUSINESSES (COVID-19 RESPONSE)DEKIVA MICROFUNDS
CASE G-SPV LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103853073827CALIFORNIA FUND FOR SMALL BUSINESSES (COVID-19 RESPONSE)DEKIVA MICROFUNDS
SMALL BUSINESS RESILIENCE FUND LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103853396223INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR SMALL BUSINESSES (COVID-19 RESPONSE)DEKIVA MICROFUNDS
JURNUS LLC
986 MISSION ST STE 400SAN FRANCISCOCA94103854390192BLOCKCHAIN-RELATED WORK WITH DEIMDEKIVA MICROFUNDS

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.