SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION (EIN 94-6017638)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-12
IRS object ID
202101329349302990
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-12T13:14:38-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line130 South Wacker Dr Suite 3300AddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP606063392ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN946017638EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1San Jose State UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Research FoundationBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSANJBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4089241400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1210 N 4th Street No 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySan JoseCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95112ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBernadette CorneauPersonNm
Person TitleDir. of Finance & AccountingPersonTitleTxt
Phone4089241400PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRebekuh EleyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01247672PTIN
Phone3126343400PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBernadette CorneauPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1210 N 4th Street No 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySan JoseCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$75,669,156GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww. SJSU.edu/researchfoundationWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1932FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe San Jose State University Research Foundation is an auxiliary organization of San Jose State University and The California State University system. The Foundation's mission is to advance the welfare of the university and assist in fulfilling its objectives, to supplement programs and activities of the university and to promote and assist the education services of the university.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent4VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1355TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers3TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$34,733,398PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$36,175,740CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$21,952,922PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$20,496,900CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$645,961PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$484,291CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$96,000PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$103,504CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$57,428,281PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$57,260,435CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,893,268PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,727,248CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,411,539PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,828,731CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,865,102PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$17,785,038CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$57,169,909PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$57,341,017CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$258,372PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$80,582CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$45,640,181TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$48,690,406TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$28,685,903TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$31,895,603TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,954,278NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,794,803NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionAs an integral member of the San Jose State University community, the San Jose State University Research Foundation provides an entrepreneurial framework through which local, state and federal agencies, businesses and private foundations engage SJSU faculty and students in sponsored research, public service and community projects, consulting and other specialized educational activities in support of the University's mission. Delivering specialized business services to support a diverse range of externally-funded activities, the San Jose State University Research Foundation fosters the University's quest for excellence by: (1) Supporting Faculty Success, (2) Expanding Student Horizons, (3) Delivering Specialized Business Services and (4) Developing Partnerships with the community.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$40,047,786ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,682,961GrantAmt
Revenue$15,730,618RevenueAmt
DescSponsored Programs: Provide grant and contract proposal, development, and support and administration services to San Jose State University faculty, generating 303 proposals and receiving 230 awards worth $56,342,605 during fiscal year ending June 30, 2020. The externally surrounding community beneficiaries of these activities are the students whose enriched experiences have direct consequences for the future of our metropolitan area.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$8,698,312ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,044,287GrantAmt
Revenue$4,766,282RevenueAmt
DescCampus and Community Programs: Include numerous non-credit programs and activities that supplement and support the San Jose State University's educational mission. These activities benefit the students, faculty, and the surrounding San Jose community.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$48,746,098TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document223IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1355EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member4IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Bernadette CorneauBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4089241400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1210 N 4th Street No 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySan JoseCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Charlie Faas
Board Treasurer1.0040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$259,748$104,757
Sean Laraway
Project Director20.0020.00$120,999$141,812$52,289Yes (X)
Michael Kaufman
Board Member1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$204,411$85,405
Walter R Jacobs
Board Member (Until 4/20)1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$190,032$77,135
Marc D'Alarcao
Board Member1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$186,513$80,212
Heather Lattimer
Board Member (As of 4/20)1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$181,964$81,473
Karen Philbrick
MTI Executive Director40.000.00$215,057$0$42,345Yes (X)
Pamela C Stacks
Board Vice President1.0040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$181,924$67,063
Todd Callantine
Senior Research Associate40.000.00$206,556$0$42,255Yes (X)
Essam Marouf
Board Member (Until 4/20)1.0040.00Yes (X)$23,630$150,508$62,734
Rajnesh Prasad
Executive Director (Until 5/20)40.000.00Yes (X)$208,210$0$25,595
Jim Harvey
Board Member1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$159,831$65,757
Mark Yarbrough
Project Manager40.000.00$176,551$0$38,781Yes (X)
Gary Boal
Senior Project Associate40.000.00$173,387$0$32,535Yes (X)
Amy DAndrade
Board Member1.0040.00Yes (X)$5,873$116,410$54,299
Vincent Del Casino
Board Member (As of 9/19)1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$135,049$37,613
Joan Ficke
Former Interim Board President0.000.00$0$116,410$54,299Yes (X)
Mohamad Abousalem
Board President1.0040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$125,380$38,967
Matthew Spangler
Board Member1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$103,506$35,754
Sai Kiran Byri
Board Member (As of 12/19)1.000.00Yes (X)$833$3,196$0
William F Wiles
Community Board Member (Until 11/19)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Boothroyd
Community Board Member (As of 5/20)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cindy Chavez
Community Board Member (As of 1/20)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Holger Schmidt
Community Board Member (As of 5/20)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eugene Kunde
Interim Exec. Dir. (As of 5/10/20)40.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,131,096TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$2,256,694TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,079,268TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K64IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CSU Long Beach Research Foundation
6300 State University Drive SuiteLong BeachCA90815Subcontract$699,580
Applied Decision Science
1776 Mentor Avenue Suite 424CincinnatiOH45212Subcontract$541,738
Calhoun Analytics LLC
4031 Colonel Glenn Hwy Suite 300BeavercreekOH45431Subcontract$369,019
Marine Applied Research Exploration
1230 Brickyard Cove Road No 101RichmondCA95113Subcontract$363,458
CAL Poly Pomona Foundation Inc
3801 West Temple AvenuePomonaCA91768Subcontract$361,619
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K21CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$1,240,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$34,929,715GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$6,025AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$36,175,740TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Indirect Cost Recovery611600$8,408,250$8,408,250
Nongovernmental611600$4,991,318$4,991,318
Local & Other Contracts611600$2,331,050$2,331,050
Other Operating Revenues611600$2,233,238$2,233,238
Student Tuition and Fees611600$2,125,062$2,125,062

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$407,982TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$407,982RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$20,496,900TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$533,490TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$533,490ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,504TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,504ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$163,327RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$67,327RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$96,000RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$96,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$96,000ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$18,292,195SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$18,341,394SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$49,199SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$49,199TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$49,199ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$57,260,435TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$20,496,900RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$587,795ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,221,175TotalAmt
Program Services$1,221,175ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,506,073TotalAmt
Program Services$2,506,073ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$742,865TotalAmt
Program Services$24,150ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$718,715ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,113,425TotalAmt
Program Services$23,905,356ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,208,069ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,049,306TotalAmt
Program Services$902,678ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$146,628ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,966,675TotalAmt
Program Services$4,119,521ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$847,154ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,956,460TotalAmt
Program Services$1,667,557ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$288,903ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,585TotalAmt
Program Services$9,377ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,208ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$224,362TotalAmt
Program Services$46,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$178,162ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,891TotalAmt
Management And General$40,891ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,156TotalAmt
Management And General$63,156ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,463,686TotalAmt
Program Services$3,133,378ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$330,308ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,133TotalAmt
Program Services$26,133ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,631,295TotalAmt
Program Services$2,437,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$194,095ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$725,058TotalAmt
Program Services$194,224ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$530,834ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,411,025TotalAmt
Program Services$661,778ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$749,247ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,409,823TotalAmt
Program Services$1,358,263ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,560ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$946,953TotalAmt
Program Services$925,026ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,927ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$387TotalAmt
Program Services$369ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,325,175TotalAmt
Program Services$155,396ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,169,779ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,585TotalAmt
Program Services$88,838ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,747ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Subcontracts$4,379,163$4,379,163
OPEB Expenses$983,895$983,895

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,866TotalAmt
Program Services$348ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,518ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,341,017TotalAmt
Program Services$48,746,098ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,594,919ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$985,823BOYAmt
EOY$1,475,934EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,681,241BOYAmt
EOY$4,488,823EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,739,250BOYAmt
EOY$7,320,820EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$158,175BOYAmt
EOY$261,136EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$19,631,104LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$8,329,351LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,439,181BOYAmt
EOY$11,301,753EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,567,811BOYAmt
EOY$18,666,632EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$868,775BOYAmt
EOY$982,816EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$199,925BOYAmt
EOY$4,192,492EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,640,181BOYAmt
EOY$48,690,406EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,791,525BOYAmt
EOY$5,917,367EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,106,880BOYAmt
EOY$3,241,468EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,787,498BOYAmt
EOY$22,736,768EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,685,903BOYAmt
EOY$31,895,603EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,497,586BOYAmt
EOY$5,470,062EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,456,692BOYAmt
EOY$11,324,741EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,954,278BOYAmt
EOY$16,794,803EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,640,181BOYAmt
EOY$48,690,406EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$80,582ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$78,893NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$34,049,257CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$31,410,034CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,481,342CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$34,733,398CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$36,175,740CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$167,849,771TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$34,049,257CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$31,410,034CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,481,342CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$34,733,398CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$36,175,740CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$167,849,771TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$167,849,771PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$597,273CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$692,181CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$644,608CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$685,728CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$636,994CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,256,784TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$171,106,555TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$110,976,018GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.98100PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.98050PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$40,891DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$40,891TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDuring fiscal year 2020, San Jose State University Research Foundation utilized CJ Lake, LLC to provide Washington, D.C representation services before congress and the administration. CJ Lake, LLC contacted federal legislators for the purpose of informing them of San Jose State University Research Foundation's institutional priorities and projects.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,176,528OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,176,528BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,788,905OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,246,463DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,542,442BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$812,626OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$729,608DepreciationAmt
Book Value$83,018BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,722,846OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,353,280DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,369,566BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$130,199OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$130,199BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,301,753TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Property Base Reconciliation$63,570
Deferred Outflows of Resources$4,128,922
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$4,192,492TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Post-Employment Benefits Obligation$22,275,875
Due to External Agencies$260,279
Deferred Rent$168,535
Other Liabilities$32,079
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$22,736,768TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$56,997,409TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$78,893NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$664,457DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$214,567OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$800,131RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$56,197,278RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$63,157InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,000,000OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,063,157RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$57,260,435TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,156,884TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$664,457DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$664,457ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$56,492,427ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$63,157InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$785,433OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$848,590ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$57,341,017TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Interest Expense -387. Fixed-Price Contract Closing Internal Transfer 214,954.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Revenues Netted Against Expenses 1,000,000.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Interest Expense 387. Fixed-Price Contract Closing Internal Transfer -214,954. Expenses Netted Against Revenues 1,000,000.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
San Jose State University
1 Washington SquareSan JoseCA95112770414438$1,000,000Contribute to new science building construction
Associated Students San Jose State University
1 Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192941156305$221,175General Operating Support
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeStudent financial aid and participant supportGrantTypeTxt
Recipient286RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$2,506,073CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOur organization have a team of staff who review grant expenses and disbursements of project persons incurred for projects to ensure compliance with grant terms and OMB regulations. Staff also ensure that project persons file various reports to the grantors, reports such as progress reports, technical reports and financial reports. Accounting staff also review and ensure expenditures are in compliance with OMB and GAAP.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Charlie Faas
Board Treasurer$0$258,290$0$0$0$1,458$0$78,564$0$26,193$0$364,505$0$0
Sean Laraway
Project Director$120,999$141,812$0$0$0$0$0$42,539$0$9,750$120,999$194,101$0$0
Michael Kaufman
Board Member$0$202,877$0$0$0$1,534$0$61,006$0$24,399$0$289,816$0$0
Walter R Jacobs
Board Member (Until 4/20)$0$189,894$0$0$0$138$0$57,439$0$19,696$0$267,167$0$0
Marc D'Alarcao
Board Member$0$184,917$0$0$0$1,596$0$55,779$0$24,433$0$266,725$0$0
Heather Lattimer
Board Member (As of 4/20)$0$180,674$0$0$0$1,290$0$55,281$0$26,192$0$263,437$0$0
Karen Philbrick
MTI Executive Director$214,768$0$0$0$289$0$15,135$0$27,210$0$257,402$0$0$0
Pamela C Stacks
Board Vice President$0$179,962$0$0$0$1,962$0$55,051$0$12,012$0$248,987$0$0
Todd Callantine
Senior Research Associate$206,032$0$0$0$524$0$14,545$0$27,710$0$248,811$0$0$0
Essam Marouf
Board Member (Until 4/20)$23,630$149,308$0$0$0$1,200$0$44,787$0$17,947$23,630$213,242$0$0
Rajnesh Prasad
Executive Director (Until 5/20)$208,027$0$0$0$183$0$14,471$0$11,124$0$233,805$0$0$0
Jim Harvey
Board Member$0$159,069$0$0$0$762$0$47,718$0$18,039$0$225,588$0$0
Mark Yarbrough
Project Manager$175,499$0$0$0$1,052$0$12,761$0$26,020$0$215,332$0$0$0
Gary Boal
Senior Project Associate$172,413$0$0$0$974$0$12,128$0$20,407$0$205,922$0$0$0
Amy DAndrade
Board Member$5,873$115,741$0$0$0$669$0$29,959$0$24,340$5,873$170,709$0$0
Vincent Del Casino
Board Member (As of 9/19)$0$124,571$0$10,000$0$478$0$37,485$0$128$0$172,662$0$0
Joan Ficke
Former Interim Board President$0$115,741$0$0$0$669$0$29,959$0$24,340$0$170,709$0$0
Mohamad Abousalem
Board President$0$124,740$0$0$0$640$0$38,373$0$594$0$164,347$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Executive Director's compensation is determined by San Jose State University in accordance with the California State University Management Personnel Program (MPP). Our organization's President, VP and Treasurer are ex-officio SJSU employees as stated in our By Laws, and they are members of our Executive Committee which oversees compensation of our Executive Director.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4The Foundation amended its By Laws to change its ex-Officio Board President from SJSU Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs to SJSU Vice President of Research and Innovation. This change was to enhance SJSU and the Foundation's focus on promoting Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activities (RSCA). The Provost remains as a Foundation Board member.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aDirectors are nominated by the University Vice President for Research and Innovation and designated by the University President of San Jose State University.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bRSM US LLP works together with the Organization's finance staff in gathering the required tax information necessary to complete the tax return. The initial draft return is reviewed by RSM US LLP and the Organization's finance staff. Items are discussed and reviewed and recommended changes are reflected on the return. The San Jose State University Research Foundation's Form 990 is distributed to the full board before submission to the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAnnual Conflict of Interest affidavits are completed by all board members and senior management. Any perceived or actual conflicts are reviewed by the Executive Directors or others as appropriate. Any person with a conflict would not be allowed to participate in the deliberations or decisions of those transactions.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15bThe Executive Director's compensation is determined by San Jose State University in accordance with the California State University Management Personnel Program (MPP). The Research Foundation's human resources department process for determining compensation for central office employees, including officers and key employees other than the Executive Director, consists of a total rewards analysis which includes, but is not limited to job matching organizational leveling. Internal and external competitive salary, total compensation assessments, as well as reward and recognition programs. Total position and compensation analyses for central office employees are generally conducted on an annual basis. The SJSU Research Foundation human resources department obtains its position and salary benchmark data from the AON/Radford US Benchmark Salary Survey, the California State Chancellor's office, and the California Auxiliary Organization Association (AOA).
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation makes it governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available upon request by either directing them to the website that has them published or making copies for the requestor. The Foundation's financial statements are also available on the website.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A:Certain board members receive compensation from the Foundation, which relates to their work on projects funded by external organizations through a competitive proposal process. None of the compensation relates to their board member responsibilities at the Foundation. Certain board members receive compensation from San Jose State University, which relates to their job position at and services rendered to the University. None of the compensation relates to their board member responsibilities at the Foundation.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
San Jose State University
One Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192770414038Education InstituteCAN/A0
Spartan Shops Inc
SJSU One Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192941392424Aux. ServicesCAYes (1)501(c)(3)Line 12a, ISan Jose State University
Associated Students of San Jose State University
One Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192941156305Aux. ServicesCAYes (1)501(c)(3)Line 5San Jose State University
The Tower Foundation of San Jose State University
One Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192830403915Financial AssistanceCAYes (1)501(c)(3)Line 7San Jose State University
Student Union of San Jose State University
One Washington SquareSan JoseCA95192942830732Aux. ServicesCAYes (1)501(c)(3)Line 12c, III-FISan Jose State University
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Associated Students of San Jose State University
B$221,175Cash
The Tower Foundation of San Jose State University
C$165,000Cash
Spartan Shops Inc
P$247,123Cost

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.