INTERNATIONAL FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- INTERNATIONAL FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 36-6108621)
- Tax period
- 2020-11-01 to 2021-10-31
- Filed
- 2022-09-01
- IRS object ID
- 202222449349301522
- Schema version
- 2020v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-09-01T15:45:58-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-10-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 420714325 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RSM US LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1861 INTERNATIONAL DRIVE SUITE 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCLEAN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 22102 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-11-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 366108621 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | INTERNATIONAL FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | INTE | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2026620778 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1900 K STREET NW NO STE700 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MICHAEL WILLIAMS | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2026620778 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2022-09-01 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | MICHAEL | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | WILLIAMS | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | FREDERICK LONGWOOD | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00439715 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7033366400 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2022-09-01 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | MICHAEL WILLIAMS | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1900 K STREET NW NO STE700 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $11,723,312 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.FRANCHISE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1960 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | PROTECTS, ENHANCES AND PROMOTES FRANCHISING. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 69 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 69 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 49 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 49 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $1,623,722 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $15,330,580 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $11,384,315 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $344,738 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $274,797 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $141,700 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $64,200 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $15,817,018 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $11,723,312 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $45,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $55,000 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,690,283 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,037,697 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $7,567,197 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $5,929,534 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $13,302,480 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $11,022,231 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,514,538 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $701,081 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $16,990,878 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $21,218,208 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $5,605,256 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $7,183,771 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $11,385,622 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $14,034,437 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | IFA MISSION: TO PROTECT, ENHANCE AND PROMOTE FRANCHISING.IFA VISION: BE THE PREEMINENT VOICE AND ACKNOWLEDGED LEADER FOR FRANCHISING WORLDWIDE.IFA VALUES: INTEGRITY, RESPECT, TRUST, EXCELLENCE, DIVERSITY.IFA STRATEGIC PRIORITIES: GOVERNMENT RELATIONS, PUBLIC RELATIONS, EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | THE PROGRAM AND CONFERENCE DEPARTMENT IS REPONSIBLE FOR PLANNING AND ORGANIZING TRAINING PROGRAMS AND THE ANNUAL CONVENTION. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | THE PUBLICATION DEPARTMENT PROVIDES PUBLICATIONS PROMOTING FRANCHISING TO SERVICE MEMBERS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | THE GOVERNMENT RELATIONS DEPARTMENT FUNCTIONS TO INFORM MEMBERS ON LEGAL AND LEGISLATIVE MATTERS WHICH WOULD IMPACT FRANCHISING AND CONDUCTS RESEARCH FOR MEMBERS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | Yes (1) | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (1) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (1) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 55 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 49 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Nondeductible Contri Discl | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContriDisclInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 69 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 69 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | Yes (1) | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | 0 | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | 0 | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | 0 | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MIKE WILLIAMS CFO | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2026620778 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1900 K STREET NW NO STE700 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (85 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CATHERINE MONSON CFE | ||||||||
| IFA CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID BARR | ||||||||
| IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CHARLIE CHASE | ||||||||
| FIRST VICE CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JERRY CRAWFORD CFE | ||||||||
| SECOND VICE CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BILL HALL CFE | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TAMRA KENNEDY | ||||||||
| FRANCHISEE FORUM CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AZIM SAJU | ||||||||
| FRANCHISEE FORUM VICE CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AARON CHAITOVSKY CFE | ||||||||
| SUPPLIER FORUM CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AMY CHENG | ||||||||
| SUPPLIER FORUM VICE CHAIR | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ADAM CONTOS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AL RODRIGUEZ | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AMA ROMAINE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 1/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ASLAM KHAN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BARBARA MORAN-GOODRICH CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CAROLINE OYLER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 6/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CAROLYN THURSTON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 1/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CHARLES WATSON CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CHERYL STANTON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 8/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CHRIS RONDEAU | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CLAUDIA SAN PEDRO | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAMON DUNN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (THRU 7/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAN MONAGHAN CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DANIEL HALPERN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 1/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVE MORTENSEN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVID HUMPHREY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVID PEPPER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DENNIS MAPLE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 1/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GENNA GENT | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GRAHAM WEIHMILLER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GREG FLYNN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 4/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAY DUKE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 4/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAY JOHNS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JEFF SOPP | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 1/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JEFFREY TEWS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JIM HOLTHOUSER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 4/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOE LINDENMAYER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN DRAPER CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN ROTCHE CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KAREN SATTERLEE CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KENNY THOMPSON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 4/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KIMBERLY CROWELL | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KRISTIN BITTER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (THRU 11/20) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LANE FISHER CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LUIS SAN MIGUEL | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 6/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MARCUS BANKS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 4/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MARY KENNEDY THOMPSON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MATTHEW PATINKIN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MEG ROBERTS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MITCH COHEN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| NED LYERLY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RANDY CROSS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RONALD FELDMAN CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SAM BALLAS CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SEAN FALK CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SHERRI FISHMAN CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEPHEN SHIELDS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEVE HOCKETT | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEVE WHITE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STUART HERSHMAN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TARIQ FARID CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TIM DAVIS CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (THRU 2/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TIM WILLIAMS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TODD LEFF | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TODD RECKNAGEL CFE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TOM BABER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TROY DAHL | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| WANDA WILLIAMS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER (AS OF 3/21) | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DUSTIN HANSEN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JERRY AKERS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JEFFREY TEWS | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 0.30 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROBERT CRESANTI | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO (THRU 4/21) | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $733,354 | $0 | $32,022 | |||
| MATTHEW HALLER | ||||||||
| SVP PUBLIC AFFAIRS | 40.00 | $380,205 | $0 | $59,559 | Yes (X) | |||
| JENNIFER BRANDEEN | ||||||||
| CHIEF REVENUE OFFICER | 40.00 | $294,599 | $0 | $45,251 | Yes (X) | |||
| MICHAEL LAYMAN | ||||||||
| VP REGULATORY AFFAIRS | 40.00 | $237,375 | $0 | $24,283 | Yes (X) | |||
| SUZANNE S BEALL | ||||||||
| VP PUBLIC POLICY (THRU 10/21) | 40.00 | $225,162 | $0 | $7,260 | Yes (X) | |||
| MICHAEL J HANSCOM | ||||||||
| VP STATE GOV RELATIONS | 40.00 | $225,541 | $0 | $14,227 | Yes (X) | |||
| ANNE POODIACK | ||||||||
| VP CNFRNCES & MEETINGS (THRU 4/21) | 40.00 | $221,619 | $0 | $5,098 | Yes (X) | |||
| RIKKI AMOS | ||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR IFA FOUNDATION | 40.00 | $207,234 | $0 | $16,478 | Yes (X) | |||
| ERICA FITZSIMMONS | ||||||||
| VP POLITICAL AFFAIRS | 40.00 | $196,114 | $0 | $7,260 | Yes (X) | |||
| PAUL ROCCHIO | ||||||||
| VP MEMB | 40.00 | $165,419 | $0 | $36,432 | Yes (X) | |||
| LYNETTE JAMES | ||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR CONFERENCES & MEETINGS | 40.00 | $148,144 | $0 | $21,859 | Yes (X) | |||
| JOHN STEPHENS WORLEY III | ||||||||
| SENIOR DIRECTOR COMM (THRU 3/21) | 40.00 | $153,341 | $0 | $3,119 | Yes (X) | |||
| VIRGIE YOUSSEF | ||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR FINANCE (THRU 6/21) | 40.00 | $162,419 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JEANINE LITTREL | ||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR CONFERENCES & MEETINGS | 40.00 | $130,313 | $0 | $17,533 | Yes (X) | |||
| COURTNEY MOORE | ||||||||
| DRCTR MRKTNG & CONTENT (THRU 12/20) | 40.00 | $113,641 | $0 | $851 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $3,594,480 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $291,232 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 14 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL WILLIAMS | |||||
| 5307 WAPAKONETA RD | BETHESDA | MD | 20816 | CONSULTING, MANAGEMENT | $318,667 |
| CARLEY WOOLEY | |||||
| 428 LEE RD APT 2128 | VALLEY | AL | 36854 | TELEMARKETING | $227,740 |
| LITTLER MENDELSON PC | |||||
| PO BOX 45547 | CHICAGO | IL | 60601 | CONSULTING | $170,000 |
| BEADG LLC | |||||
| 652 HORWARDS LOOP | ANNAPOLIS | MD | 21401 | IT OUTSOURCING AND SUPPORTING | $160,866 |
| HARBINGER STRATEGIES LLC | |||||
| 1701 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE NW | WASHINGTON | DC | 20006 | CONSULTING | $142,500 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 11 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP DUES | 900099 | $7,206,659 | $7,206,659 | ||
| PROGRAMS AND CONFERENCES | 900099 | $1,291,137 | $1,291,137 | ||
| MARKETING AND PUBLIC | 541800 | $919,482 | $7,582 | $911,900 | |
| SPONSORSHIPS | 900099 | $750,265 | $750,265 | ||
| WEB SITE | 541800 | $652,642 | $652,642 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $564,130 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $564,130 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $11,384,315 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $274,797 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $274,797 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AD BARTER REVENUE | 900099 | $59,180 | $59,180 | |
| MISCELLANEOUS | 900099 | $5,020 | $5,020 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $64,200 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $11,723,312 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $9,074,528 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $1,623,722 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,025,062 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $55,000 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,203,418 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,514,867 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $68,163 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $251,249 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,273,056 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,712 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $417,642 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,181,697 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $193,232 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,291 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $883,635 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $79,327 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $805,419 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $313,942 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| UBIT | $1,000 |
| PUBLICATIONS | $274,660 |
| DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS | $234,108 |
| PUBLICATIONS COMMISSION | $176,376 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,437 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,022,231 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $490 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $490 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $825,609 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,469,196 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $50,066 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $320,548 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $429,279 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $643,046 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $2,723,861 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,667,132 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,259,182 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,056,729 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $13,900,742 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,182,453 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $525,510 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $545,746 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $16,990,878 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,218,208 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,633,691 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,035,649 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,604,052 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,976,360 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $367,513 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $171,762 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,605,256 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,183,771 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,385,622 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,034,437 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,385,622 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,034,437 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $16,990,878 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,218,208 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $701,081 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $2,006,914 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$59,180 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Political Expenditures | $55,000 | PoliticalExpendituresAmt |
| Internal Funds Contributed | $55,000 | InternalFundsContributedAmt |
| Total Exempt Function Expend | $55,000 | TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt |
| Form1120 POL Filed | Yes (1) | Form1120POLFiledInd |
Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FRANPAC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1900 K STREET NW 700 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 542060982 | EIN |
| Paid Internal Funds | $0 | PaidInternalFundsAmt |
| Contributions Rcvd Dlvr | $307,620 | ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | 0 | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | 0 | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | Yes (1) | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
| Dues Assessments | $7,206,659 | DuesAssessmentsAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY | $823,000 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt |
| Non Ded Lbbyng Pltcl Cyov | $6,007,268 | NonDedLbbyngPltclCyovAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot | $6,830,268 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt |
| Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc | $1,801,665 | AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt |
| Carried Over | $5,028,603 | CarriedOverAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I-A, LINE 1: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | EXCEPT FOR A DONATION TO GOPAC, REPORTED ON FORM 1120-POL THE INTERNATIONAL FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION CONDUCTED ALL OF ITS POLITICAL ACTIVITY THROUGH FRANPAC, A SECTION 527 POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,182,553 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $770,060 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $412,493 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,541,308 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $897,072 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $644,236 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $1,056,729 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DEFERRED COMPENSATION LIABILITY | Desc |
| Amt | $171,762 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $171,762 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $13,671,046 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $2,006,914 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $2,006,914 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $11,664,132 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $59,180 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $59,180 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $11,723,312 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $11,234,729 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $212,498 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $212,498 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $11,022,231 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $11,022,231 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | IFA IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES ON ITS EXEMPT ACTIVITIES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 501(C)(6) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. ADVERTISING REVENUE EARNED FROM THE ASSOCIATION'S PUBLICATIONS AND WEBSITE IS SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAXES. ESTIMATED FEDERAL AND DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA INCOME TAX WAS APPROXIMATELY $1,000 FOR THE YEARS ENDED OCTOBER 31, 2021 AND 2020. IN ADDITION, MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT A FULL ALLOWANCE SHOULD BE RECORDED AGAINST ITS EXISTING NET OPERATING LOSS AS OF OCTOBER 31, 2021 AND 2020, AS MANAGEMENT DOES NOT BELIEVE THERE WILL BE A FUTURE BEENFIT TO IFA. IFA IS ALSO SUBJECT TO TAXATION ON ITS POLITICAL EXPENDITURES. ESTIMATED FEDERAL TAX ON POLITICAL EXPENDITURES TOTALED APPROXIMATELY $11,500 AND $3,000 FOR THE YEARS ENDED OCTOBER 31, 2021 AND 2020, RESPECTIVELY. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | AD BARTER REVENUE 59,180. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | PAC EXPENSES 212,498. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | 0 | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STATE GOVERNMENT LEADERSHIP FOUNDATION | |||||||
| 1201 F STREET NW 675 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20004 | 200505849 | 501(C)(4) | $40,000 | CONTRIBUTION |
| GOPAC | |||||||
| 1201 WILSON BOULEVARD SUITE 2110 | ARLINGTON | VA | 22209 | 521237780 | 527 | $15,000 | CONTRIBUTION |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 0 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 2 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROBERT CRESANTI | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO (THRU 4/21) | $700,000 | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | $3,354 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $39,405 | $0 | $772,759 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MATTHEW HALLER | ||||||||||||||
| SVP PUBLIC AFFAIRS | $330,833 | $0 | $49,000 | $0 | $372 | $0 | $50,000 | $0 | $18,697 | $0 | $448,902 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JENNIFER BRANDEEN | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF REVENUE OFFICER | $256,667 | $0 | $37,500 | $0 | $432 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $27,953 | $0 | $347,552 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL LAYMAN | ||||||||||||||
| VP REGULATORY AFFAIRS | $212,180 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $195 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $31,931 | $0 | $269,306 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL J HANSCOM | ||||||||||||||
| VP STATE GOV RELATIONS | $200,361 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $180 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $21,236 | $0 | $246,777 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SUZANNE S BEALL | ||||||||||||||
| VP PUBLIC POLICY (THRU 10/21) | $200,000 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $162 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $14,423 | $0 | $239,585 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ANNE POODIACK | ||||||||||||||
| VP CNFRNCES & MEETINGS (THRU 4/21) | $216,320 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $299 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,835 | $0 | $232,454 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RIKKI AMOS | ||||||||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR IFA FOUNDATION | $180,000 | $0 | $27,000 | $0 | $234 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $22,152 | $0 | $229,386 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ERICA FITZSIMMONS | ||||||||||||||
| VP POLITICAL AFFAIRS | $190,962 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $152 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,105 | $0 | $209,219 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| PAUL ROCCHIO | ||||||||||||||
| VP MEMB | $140,170 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $249 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $42,059 | $0 | $207,478 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LYNETTE JAMES | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR CONFERENCES & MEETINGS | $146,527 | $0 | $1,522 | $0 | $95 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $24,559 | $0 | $172,703 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| VIRGIE YOUSSEF | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR FINANCE (THRU 6/21) | $145,000 | $0 | $16,667 | $0 | $752 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,521 | $0 | $166,940 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOHN STEPHENS WORLEY III | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR DIRECTOR COMM (THRU 3/21) | $145,749 | $0 | $7,500 | $0 | $92 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,905 | $0 | $160,246 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JEANINE LITTREL | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR DRCTR CONFERENCES & MEETINGS | $130,217 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $96 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,946 | $0 | $150,259 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1 | IFA HAS AN EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE THAT MEETS THREE TIMES A YEAR: FEBRUARY, JUNE, AND SEPTEMBER. THE COMMITTEE CONSISTS OF THE BOARD CHAIR (WHO ALSO CHAIRS THE COMMITTEE), THE TWO MOST RECENT PAST CHAIRS ELIGIBLE TO SERVE, THE VICE CHAIR, THE TREASURER, THE SECRETARY, THE CHAIR OF THE FRANCHISOR FORUM, THE CHAIR OF THE FRANCHISEE FORUM, AND THE CHAIR OF THE SUPPLIER FORUM. THE COMMITTEE HAS THE AUTHORITY OF THE FULL BOARD IN THE MANAGEMENT OF THE ASSOCIATION DURING THE PERIODS BETWEEN FULL BOARD MEETINGS; EXCEPT THAT THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE HAS NO AUTHORITY REGARDING ACTS OR POWERS SPECIFICALLY RESERVED FOR THE BOARD BY OPERATION OF THE ILLINOIS NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION ACT, NOR BY BOARD RESOLUTION. ADDITIONALLY, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MAY NOT CONTRAVENE A SPECIFIC POLICY OR RESOLUTION PREVIOUSLY ADOPTED BY THE FULL BOARD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 3 | THE ORGANIZATION UTILIZED MIKE WILLIAMS AND ASSOCIATES, A THIRD PARTY, TO PERFORM THE DUTIES OF THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER FOR THE TAX YEAR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | THERE ARE 4 CATEGORIES OF MEMBERSHIP: FRANCHISOR MEMBER: ANY COMPANY ENGAGED IN FRANCHISING AS A FRANCHISOR OR SUB-FRANCHISOR IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA OR ONE OR MORE OTHER COUNTRIES, OR THAT SATISFACTORILY DEMONSTRATES AN INTENTION TO ENGAGE IN FRANCHISING AS A FRANCHISOR, SUBJECT TO THE CONTINUING SATISFACTION OF THIS CATEGORY'S REQUIREMENTS. FRANCHISEE MEMBER: THERE ARE 2 TYPES OF FRANCHISEE MEMBERS. (1) A FRANCHISEE ORGANIZATION MEMBER IS ANY BONA FIDE ASSOCIATION OR ADVISORY COUNCIL COMPOSED PRIMARILY OF FRANCHISEES AND RECOGNIZED OR DESIGNATED BY A FRANCHISOR IS ELIGIBLE TO BE A FRANCHISEE ORGANIZATION MEMBER. A FRANCHISEE ORGANIZATION MEMBER MAY BE A NATIONAL OR REGIONAL ASSOCIATION OR ADVISORY COUNCIL OF FRANCHISEES. (2) A FRANCHISEE MEMBER IS ANY SINGLE OR MULTIUNIT FRANCHISEE OPERATING HIS OR HER BUSINESS PURSUANT TO A FRANCHISE OR SIMILAR AGREEMENT IN EFFECT WITH A FRANCHISOR (INCLUDING AREA DEVELOPERS, DEVELOPMENT AGENTS AND AREA REPRESENTATIVES). SUPPLIER MEMBER: ANY FIRM, PARTNERSHIP OR COMPANY THAT SUPPLIES GOODS OR SERVICES TO MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION IS ELIGIBLE TO BE A SUPPLIER MEMBER, SUBJECT TO THE CONTINUING SATISFACTION OF THE REQUIREMENTS SET FORTH IN THE BYLAWS. EMPLOYEE AFFINITY MEMBER: ANY EMPLOYEE OF A FRANCHISOR MEMBER, FRANCHISEE MEMBER, OR SUPPLIER MEMBER IS ELIGIBLE TO BE AN EMPLOYEE AFFINITY MEMBER. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE ASSOCIATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS SELECTED WITH THE ASSISTANCE OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE, WHICH CONSISTS OF THE TWO MOST RECENT PAST CHAIRS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELIGIBLE AND WILLING TO SERVE AS A MEMBER OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE, THE CURRENT CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, THE CURRENT CHAIR OF THE DIVERSITY INSTITUTE, THE CURRENT CHAIR OF THE WOMEN'S FRANCHISE COMMITTEE, AND THE MOST RECENT PAST CHAIRS OF THE FRANCHISOR FORUM AND THE FRANCHISEE FORUM ELIGIBLE AND WILLING TO SERVE AS A MEMBER OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE. THE MOST RECENT PAST CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL SERVE AS CHAIR, AND THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL SERVE AS VICE CHAIR, OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE. IT IS THE DUTY OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO PROPOSE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS: (I) CANDIDATES FOR THE OFFICE OF DIRECTOR TO BE ELECTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT ITS REGULAR FALL MEETING AND (II) CANDIDATES FOR THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS OF THE ASSOCIATION TO BE ELECTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT ITS REGULAR FALL MEETING: CHAIR, FIRST VICE CHAIR, SECOND VICE CHAIR, SECRETARY, TREASURER AND ASSISTANT TREASURER, IF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS NOTIFIED THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SLATE A CANDIDATE FOR THE OFFICE OF ASSISTANT TREASURER. THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE SHALL NOMINATE A NUMBER OF CANDIDATES FOR THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SUFFICIENT TO FILL ALL THEN AND EXISTING VACANCIES ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND ALL VACANCIES THAT ARE PROJECTED TO OCCUR BY THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ASSOCIATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER REVIEWED THE FORM 990 BEFORE IT WAS FILED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT/CEO IS REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THE COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS REVIEWED BY THE PRESIDENT/CEO. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | COPIES OF ALL GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PROVIDED UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | OTHER IFA OUTSIDE SERVICES 1,181,697. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | AD BARTER REVENUE -59,180. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE AUDIT OVERSIGHT PROCESS HAS REMAINED UNCHANGED FROM THE PREVIOUS YEAR. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IFA FOUNDATION | |||||||||
| 1900 K STREET NW 700 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20006 | 521358631 | EDUCATION IN THE FRANCHISE INDUSTRY | IL | 501(C)(3) | LINE 7 | Yes (1) |
| INTERNATIONAL FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION FRANCHISING PAC INC | |||||||||
| 1900 K STREET NW 700 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20006 | 542060982 | POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE | DC | 527 | Yes (1) | |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp
Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | INSTITUTE OF CERTIFIED EXECUTIVES INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1900 K STREET NW 700 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 030407010 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | CERTIFICATION PROGRAM | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | DC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Direct Controlling NA | N/A | DirectControllingNACd |
| Entity Type | C | EntityTypeTxt |
| Controlled Organization | 0 | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | Yes (1) | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | Yes (1) | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | 0 | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| IFA FOUNDATION | ||
| D | $396,203 | BASED ON AMOUNTS INCURRED |
| FRANPAC | ||
| L | $307,620 | FUNDS TRANSFERRED UNDER FEC RULES |
| IFA FOUNDATION | ||
| N | $124,498 | BASED ON USAGE |
| IFA FOUNDATION | ||
| O | $534,408 | SERVICES PERFORMED |