SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE (EIN 48-0543715)
Tax period
2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
Filed
2025-05-15
IRS object ID
202501359349314570
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-05-15T17:10:56-04:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN262726811PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTON & SIMS CPAS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11004 MAINAddressLine1Txt
CityWINFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67156ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480543715EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6202296368PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 COLLEGE STAddressLine1Txt
CityWINFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67156ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMOREA M SIMMONSPersonNm
Person TitleVP OF FINANCE/CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6202296368PhoneNum
Signature2025-05-15SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMICHAEL NORTONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01399599PTIN
Phone6202211932PhoneNum
Preparation2025-05-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerELIZABETH FROMBGENPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 COLLEGE STAddressLine1Txt
CityWINFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67156ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$33,111,495GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SCKANS.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1885FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE IS A PRIVATE, NOT-FOR-PROFIT COLLEGE SERVING TRADITIONAL AGE-STUDENTS AND ADULT LEARNERS WITH UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body30VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee640TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,747TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$747NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,485,887PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,468,035CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,110,101PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$27,885,793CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,617,672PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$757,667CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$34,213,660PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$33,111,495CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$13,563,402PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,982,700CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,432,037PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,173,608CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$358,340CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,933,645PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,780,518CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$35,929,084PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$32,936,826CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,715,424PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$174,669CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$39,693,513TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$42,458,293TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$18,986,830TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$21,157,555TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$20,706,683NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$21,300,738NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE IS A PRIVATE, NOT-FOR-PROFIT COLLEGE SERVING TRADITIONAL AGE-STUDENTS AND ADULT LEARNERS WITH UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$26,651,758ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,982,700GrantAmt
Revenue$27,885,793RevenueAmt
DescPOST SECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION SERVING APPROXIMATELY 883 FULL TIME EQUIVALENT UNDERGRADUATE AND 76 FULL TIME EQUIVALENT GRADUATE STUDENTS ON CAMPUSES IN SOUTH CENTRAL KANSAS AND PARTICIPATING IN ONLINE DEGREE PROGRAMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,532,182ExpenseAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$1,532,182TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$28,183,940TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (true)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document64IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee640EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members30GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonADMINISTRATIVE OFFICESPersonNm
Phone6202296368PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 COLLEGE STAddressLine1Txt
CityWINFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67156ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
ELIZABETH FROMBGEN
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$309,050$0$8,765
BOB SCHMOLL
VP FOR FINAN40.00Yes (X)$156,231$0$32
MATT O'BRIEN
ATHLETIC DIR40.00$138,013$0$10,280Yes (X)
KAYDEE D RIGGS-JOHNSON
VP FOR MARKE40.00$130,350$0$14,014Yes (X)
LOCK SCHNELLE
ASSOC. ATHLE40.00$106,700$0$13,111Yes (X)
DAWN PLEAS
VP FOR RENTE40.00$107,451$0$5,309Yes (X)
JK CAMPBELL
VP OF ACADMI40.00$110,350$0$1,288Yes (X)
MOREA M SIMMONS
VP OF FINANC40.00Yes (X)$20,000$0$1,310
SUSAN ANDREWS
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN BAKER
BOARD OF TRU0.60Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
LAURA L BRADBURY
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR STEVEN CAUBLE
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
KALABA CHALI
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
GREGORY COLE
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
KATHRYNE DELCARPIO
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR BRYAN DENNETT
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR PHILLIP DUDLEY
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
SANDRA GASCA-GONZALEZ
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHERYL GLEASON
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
SCOTT HECHT
BOARD CHAIR/0.60Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
CORY HELMER
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
GREGG HOWELL
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
TED HRESKO
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROBERT JEWELL
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
REBECCA KILL
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
ERIC J KURTZ
SECRETARY/TR0.60Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
C MICHAEL LENNEN
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL D LEWIS
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
FLORENCE METCALF
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR K DANIEL MILLER
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR MICHAEL KIM MOORE
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR BRADLEY J NEWELL
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
F DAVID PECK
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
REV GAYLA RAPP
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
RON RICHARDSON
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR DAVID SMITH
VICE CHAIR/T0.60Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
RODNEY N STROHL
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
BISHIP DAVID M WILSON
BOARD OF TRU0.60$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,078,145TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$54,109TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Government Grants$986,881GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,481,154AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,468,035TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
NET TUITION AND FEES611600$22,188,629$22,188,629
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611710$4,929,968$4,929,968
OTHER INCOME611710$765,449$765,449
SPIRIT MERCHANDISE SALES-5%452000$1,747$1,747
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$27,885,793TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$698,742TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$698,742ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$58,925SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$58,925SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,925TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$58,925RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,111,495TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$27,942,971RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,747UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$698,742ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,158,786TotalAmt
Program Services$13,158,786ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$823,914TotalAmt
Program Services$823,914ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$485,281TotalAmt
Management And General$485,281ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,774,897TotalAmt
Program Services$6,138,821ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,461,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$174,378FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,229,182TotalAmt
Program Services$912,763ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$290,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,949FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$684,248TotalAmt
Program Services$508,107ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$161,696ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,445FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$286,318TotalAmt
Program Services$215,752ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,610TotalAmt
Management And General$56,610ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,129TotalAmt
Management And General$90,129ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,724TotalAmt
Management And General$43,724ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$230,013TotalAmt
Management And General$230,013ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$899,694TotalAmt
Program Services$761,843ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$107,664ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30,187FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$494,072TotalAmt
Program Services$417,429ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$76,643ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$750,787TotalAmt
Program Services$717,947ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,452ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$388FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$226,211TotalAmt
Program Services$205,998ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,267ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,946FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,176TotalAmt
Program Services$15,777ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,399ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$517,866TotalAmt
Management And General$517,866ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,579,128TotalAmt
Program Services$1,316,430ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$262,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$400,744TotalAmt
Program Services$400,744ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
ALL OTHER EXPENSES$2,717,715$2,579,221$90,713$47,781
BAD DEBT$259,758$259,758
PUBLICATIONS & SUBSCRIPT$145,996$10,408$72,322$63,266
STUDENT ORIENTATION$58,574$58,574

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3TotalAmt
Management And General$3ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,936,826TotalAmt
Program Services$28,183,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,394,546ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$358,340FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,944BOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,304,042BOYAmt
EOY$2,897,175EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$168,045BOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,556,203BOYAmt
EOY$1,628,497EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$235,956BOYAmt
EOY$365,792EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$75,666,056LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$45,337,119LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,960,620BOYAmt
EOY$30,328,937EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,858,633BOYAmt
EOY$6,508,458EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$221,795BOYAmt
EOY$202,439EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$327,275BOYAmt
EOY$526,995EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,693,513BOYAmt
EOY$42,458,293EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,035,985BOYAmt
EOY$1,365,512EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,365,586BOYAmt
EOY$18,131,709EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,585,259BOYAmt
EOY$1,660,334EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,986,830BOYAmt
EOY$21,157,555EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$9,344,763BOYAmt
EOY-$9,886,858EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,051,446BOYAmt
EOY$31,187,596EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,706,683BOYAmt
EOY$21,300,738EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,693,513BOYAmt
EOY$42,458,293EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$174,669ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$419,386NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,143,574BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$346,610ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$893,882InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$790,149GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,258,981BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$366,613ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,014,785InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,782,152GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$441,990OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$12,416,237EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,198,785BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,021,381ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$67,549InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,730,998GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$162,638OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$13,258,981EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,073,245BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,367,873ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,496,308InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,738,641GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$14,198,785EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,403,801BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,216,974ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,646,922InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,769,416GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,131,192OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$12,073,245EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,767,458OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$7,767,458BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$67,898,598OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$45,337,119DepreciationAmt
Book Value$22,561,479BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$30,328,937TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
REFUNDABLE GOVT LOAN PROGRAM$757,238
ANNUITIES PAYABLE$673,906
FINANCE LEASE LIABILITIES$229,190
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,660,334TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$21,136,946TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$419,386NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$419,386RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$20,717,560RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$12,393,935OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$12,393,935RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$33,111,495TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$20,542,891TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$20,542,891ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$12,393,935OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,393,935ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$32,936,826TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BTOTAL INSTITUTIONAL AID COLLEGE GAVE AWAY 13,982,700 FINANCIAL AID - REPORTED ON AUDIT -1,588,765
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DBOOK DEPRECIATION -1,579,128 BOOK / TAX DEPRECIATION DIFFERENCE 1,579,128
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BTOTAL INSTITUTIONAL AID COLLEGE GAVE AWAY 13,982,700 FINANCIAL AID - REPORTED ON AUDIT -1,588,765

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3POLICY IS INCLUDED IN ALL PRESS RELEASES, ADMISSIONS APPLICATIONS, CATELOGS, ETC.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6THE COLLEGE IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH ALL FEDERAL FINANCIAL AWARDS PROGRAMS.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (13 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
SCHOLARSHIP-MERITEUROPE9$153,000TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-MERITNORTH AMERICA4$66,625TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-EXCHANGE PROGEUROPE2$18,000TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-EXCHANGE PROGSOUTH AMERICA1$9,000TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-EXCHANGE PROGNORTH AMERICA1$9,000TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARHSIP-EXCHANGE PROGSUB-SAHARAN AFRICA1$9,000TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-MERITSOUTH AMERICA3$40,500TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-MERITSUB-SAHARAN AFRICA7$131,000TO STUDENT ACCT
STUDENT-NEEDSOUTH AMERICA3$18,013TO STUDENT ACCT
STUDENT-NEEDSUB-SAHARAN AFRICA7$173,675TO STUDENT ACCT
STUDENT-NEEDEURPOPE9$110,682TO STUDENT ACCT
STUDENT-NEEDNORTH AMERICA4$65,419TO STUDENT ACCT
SCHOLARSHIP-MERITSOUTH ASIA1$20,000TO STUDENT ACCT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE F, PAGE 5, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFINANCIAL STATEMENTS ON ACCRUAL BASIS, IN ADDITION NO GRANTS AWARDED FOR FUTURE PERIODS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
INSTITUTION SCHOLAR-MERIT583$10,173,626
INSTITUTION SCHOLAR-NEED372$2,722,230
TUITION REM/EXHANGE PROG33$262,930

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
ELIZABETH FROMBGEN
PRESIDENT$279,050$30,000$8,765$317,815
BOB SCHMOLL
VP FOR FINANCE/CFO$156,231$32$156,263

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 6TOTAL VOLUNTEERS IS NOT TRACKED BY THE COLLEGE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BREVIEW OF THE FORM 990 IS PERFORMED WITH THE CFO FOR FINANCE - SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE AND THE TAX PREPARER NORTON & SIMS CPAS, LLC. BOARD OF TRUSTEE MEMBERS RECEIVE AN ELECTRONIC COPY OF THE FORM 990 TAX RETURN PRIOR TO SUBMISSION FOR REVIEW. COMMENTS OR QUESTIONS BY THE TRUSTEES ARE REQUESTED BACK FROM THE TRUSTEE'S BY A SPECIFIC DATE FOR ANALYSIS PRIOR TO FINAL SUBMISSION OF THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CANNUALLY EVERY TRUSTEE AND EMPLOYEE (DIRECTOR AND ABOVE) ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE. THE GATHERED DISCLOSURES ARE REVIEWED BY THE BUSINESS OFFICE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15AA MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ANNUALLY UNDERTAKES A COMPARATIVE STUDY OF COMPENSATION OF CEOS AT PRIVATE COLLEGES WITH SIMILAR MISSIONS, ENROLLMENTS, AND OPERATING BUDGETS. FINDINGS ARE REPORTED TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES IN EXECUTIVE SEESSION AT THE BOARD'S ANNUAL MEETING IN APRIL. THE BOARD THEN DECIDES ON THE COMPENSATION TO BE OFFERRED TO THE CEO IN THE SUBSEQUENT FISCAL YEAR, WHICH BEGINS ON JULY 1ST.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BADMINISTRATION REVIEWS PAYROLL STUDIES AND PAYROLL SURVEYS, AND RECCOMENDS PAY RAISES TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ANNUALLY. EVERY EMPLOYEE HAS A ONE YEAR OR LESS EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19FORM 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. REQUESTS MAY BE SENT TO: SOUTHWESTERN COLLEGE, ADMINISTRATION OFFICE, 100 COLLEGE ST., WINFIELD, KANSAS 67156. THROUGH THE INTERNET AT SCKANS.EDU VIA LINKS A PERSON MAY VIEW THE CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY STATEMENT AND THE WHISTLEBLOWER POLICY.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9TOTAL INSTITUTIONAL AID COLLEGE GAVE AWAY -13,982,700 FINANCIAL AID - REPORTED ON AUDIT 1,588,765 BOOK DEPRECIATION 1,579,128 TOTAL INSTITUTIONAL AID COLLEGE GAVE AWAY 13,982,700 FINANCIAL AID - REPORTED ON AUDIT -1,588,765 BOOK / TAX DEPRECIATION DIFFERENCE -1,579,128

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.