BROTMAN FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA
Cite this
Plain text BROTMAN FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2015–2024. https://furp.org/org/brotman-foundation-of-california-956094639. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). BROTMAN FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2015–2024]. Retrieved October 26, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/brotman-foundation-of-california-956094639
MLA “BROTMAN FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA.” furp.org, tax years 2015–2024, https://furp.org/org/brotman-foundation-of-california-956094639. Accessed 26 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-26; covers tax years 2015–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $151K · expenses $383K · assets $4.0M
- Also known as
- C/O CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP
- EIN
- 95-6094639
- Address
- 1925 CENTURY PARK EAST 16TH FL, LOS ANGELES, CA 90067-2701
- Website
- THEBROTMANFOUNDATION.COM
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
- Ruling date
- February 1964 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Private non-operating foundation
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
5 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Latest year pay | Total pay from here | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toni Brotman Wald | PRESIDENT | 2015-2024 | $36,000 | $217,250 | 2 |
| Alexis Wald | SECRETARY | 2015-2024 | $36,000 | $215,400 | 2 |
| Lena Wald | TREASURER | 2016-2024 | $36,000 | $195,050 | 2 |
| Alison Roven (former) | DIRECTOR | 2015-2023 | $18,800 | $166,300 | 2 |
| Michael B Sherman (former) | PRESIDENT & TREASURER | 2015-2019 | $22,200 | $66,600 | 2 |
People by year
2024 · 3 people listed · 3 paid, $108K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | PRESIDENT | 5 | $36,000 | - | $0 | $36,000 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $36,000 | - | $0 | $36,000 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | TREASURER | 5 | $36,000 | - | $0 | $36,000 | 2 |
2023 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $103K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | PRESIDENT | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | TREASURER | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | DIRECTOR | 5 | $18,800 | - | $0 | $18,800 | 2 |
2022 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $113K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | PRESIDENT | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | TREASURER | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | DIRECTOR | 5 | $28,200 | - | $0 | $28,200 | 2 |
2021 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $122K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | PRESIDENT | 5 | $30,550 | - | $0 | $30,550 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $30,550 | - | $0 | $30,550 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | TREASURER | 5 | $30,550 | - | $0 | $30,550 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | DIRECTOR | 5 | $30,550 | - | $0 | $30,550 | 2 |
2020 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $103K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | PRESIDENT | 5 | $25,850 | - | $0 | $25,850 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $25,850 | - | $0 | $25,850 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | TREASURER | 5 | $25,850 | - | $0 | $25,850 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | DIRECTOR | 5 | $25,850 | - | $0 | $25,850 | 2 |
2019 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $118K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $24,050 | - | $0 | $24,050 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $24,050 | - | $0 | $24,050 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | DIRECTOR | 5 | $24,050 | - | $0 | $24,050 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $24,050 | - | $0 | $24,050 | 2 |
| MICHAEL B SHERMAN | PRESIDENT & TREASURER | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
2018 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $111K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL B SHERMAN | PRESIDENT & TREASURER | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | VICE PRESIDENT | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
2016 · 5 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL B SHERMAN | PRESIDENT | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | VICE PRESIDENT | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| LENA WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2015 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $81K
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL B SHERMAN | PRESIDENT | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| TONI BROTMAN WALD | DIRECTOR | 5 | $22,200 | - | $0 | $22,200 | 2 |
| ALEXIS WALD | SECRETARY | 5 | $20,350 | - | $0 | $20,350 | 2 |
| ALISON ROVEN | VICE PRESIDENT | 5 | $16,650 | - | $0 | $16,650 | 2 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2024 · 46 grants to organizations · $182K
2023 · 45 grants to organizations · $203K
2022 · 42 grants to organizations · $240K
2021 · 38 grants to organizations · $264K
2020 · 27 grants to organizations · $281K
2019 · 40 grants to organizations · $255K
2018 · 43 grants to organizations · $281K
2016 · 55 grants to organizations · $487K
2015 · 60 grants to organizations · $358K
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $151,018 | $382,744 | $3,959,082 | $3,959,082 | - | - | $108,000 | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $405,535 | $374,679 | $4,190,808 | $4,190,808 | - | - | $103,400 | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $165,046 | $420,064 | $3,936,808 | $3,936,808 | - | - | $112,800 | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $584,237 | $433,697 | $4,191,826 | $4,191,826 | - | - | $122,200 | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $144,418 | $449,824 | $4,041,286 | $4,041,286 | - | - | $103,400 | - | - |
| 2019 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $706,585 | $479,768 | $4,346,692 | $4,346,692 | - | - | $118,400 | - | - |
| 2018 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $643,362 | $435,119 | $4,119,875 | $4,119,875 | - | - | $111,000 | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $173,371 | $636,434 | $4,243,676 | $4,243,676 | - | - | $101,750 | - | - |
| 2015 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $276,766 | $496,353 | $4,706,739 | $4,706,739 | - | - | $81,400 | - | - |
Connected to
Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.
- ALIX BROTMAN FOUNDATION Los Angeles, CA · 3 people in common (Alexis Wald, Lena Wald, Toni Brotman Wald)
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FOUNDATION FOR CALIFORNIA | CA | Not reported | $97,340 | $97,350 | Chairman | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA CAW FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $81,303 | $75,516 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| FISHERY FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA | CA | D33 | $221,536 | $202,493 | PRESIDENT | $62,740 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| URASENKE FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA | CA | A20 | $223,585 | $212,246 | CEO / DIR | $75,214 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| BAKER FAMILY FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA | CA | T22 | $145,057 | $130,049 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $75,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SHOW CALIFORNIA FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $159,397 | $194,907 | Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA JAZZ FOUNDATION | CA | P60 | $100,754 | $129,639 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA LIONS FOUNDATION | CA | T12 | $97,543 | $69,298 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA FOUNDATION ON AGING | CA | Not reported | $198,424 | $176,331 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| BRISTOL HOSPICE FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA | CA | Not reported | $188,314 | $266,346 | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA VOTER FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $136,380 | $159,720 | President | $110,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA GAMMA FOUNDATION | CA | B12 | $114,407 | $12,584 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA GIANT FOUNDATION | CA | T50 | $105,478 | $128,852 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| FOUNDATION OF THE ROTARY CLUB OF CALIFORNIA | CA | B82 | $109,209 | $91,988 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA NOTLEY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $143,412 | $67,937 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA TRAVEL FOUNDATION | CA | T50 | $134,379 | $670 | Chair | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA JUDGES FOUNDATION | CA | I50 | $180,633 | $62,868 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA CRICKET FOUNDATION | CA | N11 | $184,723 | $181,755 | OFFICER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA NURSES FOUNDATION | CA | E90 | $250,443 | $163,543 | Council of President | $129,150 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA MENTOR FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $274,978 | $385,297 | PRESIDENT | $149,694 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA TRAILS FOUNDATION | CA | C12 | $80,402 | $82,451 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| INSIDE CIRCLE FOUNDATION OF CALIFORNIA | CA | Not reported | $239,563 | $240,468 | Executive Dir. | $62,400 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CALIFORNIA LIONS CAMP FOUNDATION | CA | O11 | $112,140 | $112,945 | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $2,506 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| THE CALIFORNIA FOREST FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $110,867 | $205,137 | Vice Chair | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| INFORMED CALIFORNIA FOUNDATION | CA | B99 | $252,646 | $285,645 | President & CEO | $12,019 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990PF · $382,744 spent · pay $108,000 · grants $182,500 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $182,500 | 47.7% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $108,000 | 28.2% | |
| Fees: other professional | $45,600 | 11.9% | |
| Fees: accounting | $16,578 | 4.3% | |
| Other expenses | $16,200 | 4.2% | |
| Taxes | $8,823 | 2.3% | |
| Fees: legal | $5,043 | 1.3% | |
| Total | $382,744 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990PF · $374,679 spent · pay $103,400 · grants $202,820 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $202,820 | 54.1% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $103,400 | 27.6% | |
| Fees: other professional | $36,581 | 9.8% | |
| Fees: accounting | $15,477 | 4.1% | |
| Other expenses | $13,727 | 3.7% | |
| Fees: legal | $2,050 | 0.5% | |
| Taxes | $624 | 0.2% | |
| Total | $374,679 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990PF · $420,064 spent · pay $112,800 · grants $239,670 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $239,670 | 57.1% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $112,800 | 26.9% | |
| Other expenses | $43,659 | 10.4% | |
| Fees: accounting | $15,335 | 3.7% | |
| Taxes | $8,600 | 2.0% | |
| Total | $420,064 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990PF · $433,697 spent · pay $122,200 · grants $263,750 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $263,750 | 60.8% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $122,200 | 28.2% | |
| Other expenses | $40,339 | 9.3% | |
| Fees: accounting | $7,142 | 1.6% | |
| Taxes | $266 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $433,697 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990PF · $449,824 spent · pay $103,400 · grants $281,250 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $281,250 | 62.5% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $103,400 | 23.0% | |
| Other expenses | $37,756 | 8.4% | |
| Taxes | $18,324 | 4.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $9,094 | 2.0% | |
| Total | $449,824 | 100% |
2019 · Form 990PF · $479,768 spent · pay $118,400 · grants $255,150 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $255,150 | 53.2% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $118,400 | 24.7% | |
| Other expenses | $53,453 | 11.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $28,671 | 6.0% | |
| Taxes | $24,094 | 5.0% | |
| Total | $479,768 | 100% |
2018 · Form 990PF · $435,119 spent · pay $111,000 · grants $280,515 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $280,515 | 64.5% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $111,000 | 25.5% | |
| Other expenses | $36,972 | 8.5% | |
| Fees: accounting | $5,550 | 1.3% | |
| Taxes | $1,082 | 0.2% | |
| Total | $435,119 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990PF · $636,434 spent · pay $101,750 · grants $487,250 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $487,250 | 76.6% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $101,750 | 16.0% | |
| Other expenses | $40,870 | 6.4% | |
| Fees: accounting | $6,479 | 1.0% | |
| Taxes | $85 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $636,434 | 100% |
2015 · Form 990PF · $496,353 spent · pay $81,400 · grants $358,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $358,000 | 72.1% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $81,400 | 16.4% | |
| Other expenses | $37,750 | 7.6% | |
| Taxes | $10,060 | 2.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $9,143 | 1.8% | |
| Total | $496,353 | 100% |
Comments