THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION
Cite this
Plain text THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/the-zellerbach-family-foundation-946069482. Retrieved 2026-11-02.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved November 2, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/the-zellerbach-family-foundation-946069482
MLA “THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/the-zellerbach-family-foundation-946069482. Accessed 2 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-02; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $9.2M · expenses $8.8M · assets $163.6M
- EIN
- 94-6069482
- Address
- 455 MARKET ST STE 2200, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94105-2446
- Website
- ZFF.ORG
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
- Ruling date
- April 1958 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Private non-operating foundation
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
11 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Latest year pay | Total pay from here | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allison Magee | PRESIDENT & EXEC DIRECTOR | 2020-2024 | $405,612 | $1,850,920 | 1 |
| Amy Price | PROGRAM EXEC | 2020-2024 | $257,358 | $1,165,195 | 1 |
| Navin Moul | PROGRAM EXEC | 2020-2024 | $207,173 | $935,233 | 1 |
| Margot Melcon | PROGRAM EXEC | 2020-2024 | $203,670 | $893,846 | 1 |
| Susan Au | CFO | 2022-2024 | $278,363 | $796,479 | 1 |
| Aki Amai | GRANTS MANAGER | 2023-2024 | $135,916 | $195,835 | 1 |
| Patrick Taylor (former) | GRANTS MANAGER | 2020-2022 | $149,474 | $433,047 | 1 |
| Michael Smith (former) | IT DIRECTOR (THRU 3/ | 2022-2023 | $92,690 | $211,105 | 1 |
| Heather Honegger (former) | FINANCE DIRECTOR | 2020 | $186,731 | $186,731 | 1 |
| Heather Honegger Until 93021 (former) | FINANCE DIRECTOR | 2021 | $153,650 | $153,650 | 1 |
| Susan Au Started 82421 (former) | CFO | 2021 | $76,460 | $76,460 | 1 |
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
16 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexandra Aquino-Fike | DIRECTOR (FROM JUNE 2024) | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Emily Boschwitz | DIRECTOR | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| James W Head | DIRECTOR | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ravi Karra | DIRECTOR | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Karin Kissane | TREASURER | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Hilary Reek | VICE CHAIR & SECRETARY | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Stephen Shapiro | DIRECTOR | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Thomas H Zellerbach | CHAIRMAN | 2020-2024 | 8 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Jeanette M Dunckel (former) | DIRECTOR (THRU 12 2023) | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Suchi Somasekar (former) | DIRECTOR (THRU 12 2023) | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Nancy Zellerbach Boschwitz Thru Jul (former) | VP & SECRETARY | 2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Emily Boschwitz From Dec 2022 (former) | DIRECTOR | 2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Lisa Steindler Thru Dec 2022 (former) | DIRECTOR | 2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Nancy Zellerbach Boschwitz (former) | VP & SECRETARY | 2020-2021 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Lisa Steindler (former) | DIRECTOR | 2020-2021 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Mary Ann Milias (former) | TREASURER | 2020 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 14 people listed · 6 paid, $1.5M
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLISON MAGEE | PRESIDENT & EXEC DIRECTOR | 40 | $349,313 | - | $56,299 | $405,612 | 1 |
| SUSAN AU | CFO | 40 | $228,516 | - | $49,847 | $278,363 | 1 |
| AMY PRICE | PROGRAM EXEC | 40 | $180,680 | - | $76,678 | $257,358 | 1 |
| NAVIN MOUL | PROGRAM EXEC | 40 | $165,122 | - | $42,051 | $207,173 | 1 |
| MARGOT MELCON | PROGRAM EXEC | 40 | $162,093 | - | $41,577 | $203,670 | 1 |
| AKI AMAI | GRANTS MANAGER | 40 | $112,475 | - | $23,441 | $135,916 | 1 |
| ALEXANDRA AQUINO-FIKE | DIRECTOR (FROM JUNE 2024) | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| EMILY BOSCHWITZ | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JAMES W HEAD | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAVI KARRA | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KARIN KISSANE | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HILARY REEK | VICE CHAIR & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| STEPHEN SHAPIRO | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS H ZELLERBACH | CHAIRMAN | 8 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 16 people listed · 7 paid, $1.4M
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLISON MAGEE | PRESIDENT & EXEC DIRECTOR | 40 | $335,812 | - | $54,016 | $389,828 | 1 |
| SUSAN AU | CFO | 40 | $218,583 | - | $46,791 | $265,374 | 1 |
| AMY PRICE | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $171,542 | - | $71,182 | $242,724 | 1 |
| NAVIN MOUL | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $158,843 | - | $39,736 | $198,579 | 1 |
| MARGOT MELCON | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $155,549 | - | $39,241 | $194,790 | 1 |
| MICHAEL SMITH | IT DIRECTOR (THRU 3/ | 20 | $78,996 | - | $13,694 | $92,690 | 1 |
| AKI AMAI | GRANTS MANAGER (FROM | 40 | $53,817 | - | $6,102 | $59,919 | 1 |
| EMILY BOSCHWITZ | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JEANETTE M DUNCKEL | DIRECTOR (THRU 12 2023) | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JAMES W HEAD | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAVI KARRA | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KARIN KISSANE | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HILARY REEK | VICE CHAIR & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SUCHI SOMASEKAR | DIRECTOR (THRU 12 2023) | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| STEPHEN SHAPIRO | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS H ZELLERBACH | CHAIRMAN | 8 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 18 people listed · 7 paid, $1.5M
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLISON MAGEE | PRESIDENT & EXEC DIRECTOR | 40 | $318,750 | - | $49,288 | $368,038 | 1 |
| SUSAN AU | CFO | 40 | $208,750 | - | $43,992 | $252,742 | 1 |
| AMY PRICE | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $162,917 | - | $66,912 | $229,829 | 1 |
| NAVIN MOUL | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $149,836 | - | $37,384 | $187,220 | 1 |
| MARGOT MELCON | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $144,825 | - | $36,627 | $181,452 | 1 |
| PATRICK TAYLOR | GRANTS MANAGER | 40 | $109,290 | - | $40,184 | $149,474 | 1 |
| MICHAEL SMITH | IT DIRECTOR | 20 | $74,208 | - | $44,207 | $118,415 | 1 |
| NANCY ZELLERBACH BOSCHWITZ THRU JUL | VP & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| EMILY BOSCHWITZ FROM DEC 2022 | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JEANETTE M DUNCKEL | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JAMES W HEAD | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAVI KARRA | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KARIN KISSANE | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HILARY REEK | VICE CHAIR & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SUCHI SOMASEKAR | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LISA STEINDLER THRU DEC 2022 | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| STEPHEN SHAPIRO | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS H ZELLERBACH | CHAIRMAN | 8 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 16 people listed · 7 paid, $1.3M
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLISON MAGEE | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 40 | $303,354 | - | $51,382 | $354,736 | 1 |
| AMY PRICE | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $156,796 | - | $66,573 | $223,369 | 1 |
| NAVIN MOUL | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $139,777 | - | $36,643 | $176,420 | 1 |
| MARGOT MELCON | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 36 | $125,494 | - | $34,460 | $159,954 | 1 |
| HEATHER HONEGGER UNTIL 93021 | FINANCE DIRECTOR | 28 | $109,878 | - | $43,772 | $153,650 | 1 |
| PATRICK TAYLOR | GRANTS MANAGER | 40 | $104,947 | - | $40,844 | $145,791 | 1 |
| SUSAN AU STARTED 82421 | CFO | 40 | $73,064 | - | $3,396 | $76,460 | 1 |
| NANCY ZELLERBACH BOSCHWITZ | VP & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JEANETTE M DUNCKEL | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SUCHI SOMASEKAR | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| STEPHEN SHAPIRO | VICE PRESIDENT | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LISA STEINDLER | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JAMES W HEAD | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS H ZELLERBACH | CHAIRMAN | 8 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAVI KARRA | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KARIN KISSANE | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 16 people listed · 6 paid, $1.2M
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLISON MAGEE | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 40 | $284,332 | - | $48,374 | $332,706 | 1 |
| AMY PRICE | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $151,882 | - | $60,033 | $211,915 | 1 |
| HEATHER HONEGGER | FINANCE DIRECTOR | 28 | $127,980 | - | $58,751 | $186,731 | 1 |
| NAVIN MOUL | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 40 | $134,168 | - | $31,673 | $165,841 | 1 |
| MARGOT MELCON | PROGRAM EXECUTIVE | 36 | $121,788 | - | $32,192 | $153,980 | 1 |
| PATRICK TAYLOR | GRANTS MANAGER | 40 | $100,809 | - | $36,973 | $137,782 | 1 |
| NANCY ZELLERBACH BOSCHWITZ | VP & SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JEANETTE M DUNCKEL | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SUCHI SOMASEKAR | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MARY ANN MILIAS | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| STEPHEN SHAPIRO | VICE PRESIDENT | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LISA STEINDLER | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JAMES W HEAD | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS H ZELLERBACH | CHAIRMAN | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAVI KARRA | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KARIN KISSANE | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
2024 · 5 contractors · $579K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $241,883 |
| IMPACT JUSTICE | OAKLAND, CA | CONSULTANT | $115,000 |
| SILCHESTER INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS | NEW YORK, NY | INVESTMENT MANAGER | $78,887 |
| BPM LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | TAX AND ACCOUNTING | $75,927 |
| CHANGE CONSULTING LLC | OAKLAND, CA | COMMUNICATIONS | $67,500 |
2023 · 5 contractors · $512K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $233,656 |
| SILCHESTER INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS | NEW YORK, NY | INVESTMENT MANAGER | $87,612 |
| BPM LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | TAX AND ACCOUNTING | $65,431 |
| CHANGE CONSULTING LLC | OAKLAND, CA | COMMUNICATIONS | $64,849 |
| ANH THANG DAO-SHAH | EL CERRITO, CA | CONSULTANT | $60,000 |
2022 · 5 contractors · $523K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $256,374 |
| SILCHESTER INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS | NEW YORK, NY | INVESTMENT MANAGER | $94,337 |
| BPM LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | TAX AND ACCOUNTING | $59,974 |
| SNYDER SMALL CAP VALUE FUND | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | INVESTMENT MANAGER | $56,440 |
| CHANGE CONSULTING LLC | OAKLAND, CA | COMMUNICATIONS | $55,889 |
2021 · 5 contractors · $522K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $247,649 |
| SILCHESTER ITERNATIONAL INVESTORS | NEW YORK, NY | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $104,751 |
| WICOFF CONSULTING LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | STRATEGIC PLANNING | $57,300 |
| BPM LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | TAX AND ACCOUNTING | $56,292 |
| CHANGE CONSULTING LLC | OAKLAND, CA | COMMUNICATIONS | $55,775 |
2020 · 5 contractors · $513K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $200,566 |
| SILCHESTER INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS | NEW YORK, NY | INVESTMENT ADVISOR | $100,710 |
| WICOFF CONSULTING LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | STRATEGIC PLANNING | $87,050 |
| ENGAGE RD | PASADENA, CA | STRATEGIC ANALYSIS | $67,211 |
| BPM LLP | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | TAX AND ACCOUNTING | $57,837 |
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2024 · 224 grants to organizations · $6.0M
Listed grants add up to $5,995,000; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $5,924,505. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
2023 · 239 grants to organizations · $6.1M
Listed grants add up to $6,092,500; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $6,969,559. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
2022 · 214 grants to organizations · $5.8M
Listed grants add up to $5,774,300; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $5,705,300. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
2021 · 224 grants to organizations · $5.6M
2020 · 231 grants to organizations · $5.3M
Listed grants add up to $5,313,775; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $5,050,775. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.
2024 · 4 contributors · $330K
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | THE WILLIAM AND FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Fuzzy 0.80 | Organization or other | MENLO PARK, CA | $180,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing |
| 1 | SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $50,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing |
| 2 | EAST BAY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $50,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing |
| 3 | AKONADI FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | OAKLAND, CA | $50,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing |
2023 · 3 contributors · $385K
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | THE WILLIAM AND FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Fuzzy 0.80 | Organization or other | MENLO PARK, CA | $180,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing |
| 2 | SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $155,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing |
| 1 | DEAN & MARGARET LESHER FOUNDATION Fuzzy 0.89 | Organization or other | WALNUT CREEK, CA | $50,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing |
2022 · 2 contributors · $250K
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | THE WILLIAM AND FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Fuzzy 0.80 | Organization or other | MENLO PARK, CA | $150,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing |
| 2 | SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $100,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing |
2021 · 2 contributors · $231K
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | THE WILLIAM AND FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Fuzzy 0.80 | Organization or other | MENLO PARK, CA | $150,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing |
| 2 | SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $81,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing |
2020 · 2 contributors · $55K
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION Fuzzy 1.00 | Organization or other | SAN FRANCISCO, CA | $30,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing |
| 2 | SIMPSON PSB FUND | Organization or other | ORINDA, CA | $25,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing |
Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $9,202,747 | $8,781,654 | $163,560,678 | $160,104,640 | $330,000 | - | $577,828 | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $9,285,205 | $9,877,662 | $160,251,196 | $156,597,570 | $385,000 | - | $554,395 | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $3,510,468 | $8,029,068 | $155,442,664 | $153,644,525 | $250,000 | - | $527,500 | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $3,311,415 | $8,552,780 | $186,795,211 | $184,271,976 | $231,000 | - | $376,418 | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $862,596 | $7,888,690 | $159,306,311 | $156,788,068 | $55,000 | - | $284,332 | - | - |
Funders of this organization
4 grantors reported grants to this organization, $2,580,000 in all, tax years 2010 to 2024. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Type | Match | Years given | Grants | Total | Latest year | Latest year's amount | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WILLIAM & FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “The Zellerbach Family Foundation”, “THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION” | 2010-2019, 2021-2022, 2024 | 14 | $2,060,000 | 2024 | $180,000 | show |
| SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | Exact | 2018-2022, 2024 | 6 | $445,000 | 2024 | $50,000 | show |
| EAST BAY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | Exact | 2024 | 1 | $50,000 | 2024 | $50,000 | show |
| SIMPSON FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “THE ZELLERBACH FAMILY FOUNDATION” | 2020 | 1 | $25,000 | 2020 | $25,000 | show |
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE SABAN FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $8,453,495 | $5,175,222 | DIRECTOR, NORTH AMER | $286,607 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| THOMAS FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T22 | $7,779,975 | $1,411,376 | PRESIDENT & CHAIRMAN OF THE BO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| THE RAUCH FAMILY FOUNDATION | NC | Not reported | $9,719,131 | $15,391,128 | PRESIDENT | $150,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| YUNG FAMILY FOUNDATION THE | KY | T90 | $7,378,035 | $6,231,039 | PRESIDENT, DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE@DURST FAMILY FOUNDATION | NY | T20 | $7,636,978 | $565,797 | PRESIDENT & DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE WILKE FAMILY FOUNDATION | DE | T20 | $11,960,977 | $2,395,956 | VP, Dir | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE SEXTON FAMILY FOUNDATION | FL | T00 | $6,904,400 | $1,290,700 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE GIORGI FAMILY FOUNDATION | PA | T22 | $9,201,467 | $4,609,210 | PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE GAUDIO FAMILY FOUNDATION | NY | T22 | $7,048,024 | $11,725,509 | PRESIDENT, TREASURER, DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE HICKEY FAMILY FOUNDATION | AZ | T20 | $5,557,668 | $7,618,684 | CO-TTEE/ED | $306,415 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE RAUNER FAMILY FOUNDATION | NY | X99 | $5,405,808 | $4,515,031 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FAMILY REACH FOUNDATION | MA | G98 | $9,091,672 | $9,028,949 | CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | $309,432 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| HELLE FAMILY FOUNDATION | CO | T22 | $5,954,273 | $953,916 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE LUMPKIN FAMILY FOUNDATION | IL | Not reported | $7,876,253 | $5,146,241 | ASSISTANT SECRETARY | $250,798 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE RAPHAEL FAMILY FOUNDATION | FL | T22 | $12,616,792 | $994,281 | Dir | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE GROSSMAN FAMILY FOUNDATION | CT | T22 | $8,211,818 | $8,276,209 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $228,300 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| STOLLER FAMILY FOUNDATION | OR | T20 | $8,655,332 | $2,049,556 | PRESIDENT/DI | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| J & J FAMILY FOUNDATION TR | FL | T22 | $13,646,184 | $3,830,685 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| THE MILKEN FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $4,491,625 | $11,474,014 | SR. VP, MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARDS | $396,934 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| THE HOFMANN FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $2,094,972 | $9,114,054 | TREASURER/CFO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| THE TESHINSKY FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T22 | $34,653,763 | $4,389,576 | EMPLOYEE | $181,967 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| TSAO FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T22 | $41,341,465 | $7,179,533 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| ZELL FAMILY FOUNDATION | IL | Not reported | $44,105,930 | $69,305,511 | PRESIDENT & DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| THE AE FAMILY FOUNDATION | CT | Not reported | $2,742,712 | $1,995,972 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| THE RUSSELL FAMILY FOUNDATION | WA | T22 | $3,558,803 | $4,303,630 | CEO | $440,753 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990PF · $8,781,654 spent · pay $1,514,819 · grants $5,924,505 · events $46,750
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $5,924,505 | 67.5% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $620,370 | 7.1% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $577,828 | 6.6% | |
| Fees: other professional | $501,457 | 5.7% | |
| Pension plans and employee benefits | $316,621 | 3.6% | |
| Occupancy | $297,442 | 3.4% | |
| Taxes | $237,699 | 2.7% | |
| Other expenses | $143,050 | 1.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $75,553 | 0.9% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $46,750 | 0.5% | |
| Fees: legal | $20,785 | 0.2% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $19,594 | 0.2% | |
| Total | $8,781,654 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990PF · $9,877,662 spent · pay $1,519,589 · grants $6,969,559 · events $25,435
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $6,969,559 | 70.6% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $659,834 | 6.7% | |
| Fees: other professional | $586,764 | 5.9% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $554,395 | 5.6% | |
| Pension plans and employee benefits | $305,360 | 3.1% | |
| Occupancy | $246,067 | 2.5% | |
| Taxes | $245,860 | 2.5% | |
| Other expenses | $128,787 | 1.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $70,881 | 0.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $65,805 | 0.7% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $25,435 | 0.3% | |
| Fees: legal | $18,915 | 0.2% | |
| Total | $9,877,662 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990PF · $8,029,068 spent · pay $1,507,284 · grants $5,705,300 · events $16,694
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $5,705,300 | 71.1% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $648,426 | 8.1% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $527,500 | 6.6% | |
| Fees: other professional | $436,947 | 5.4% | |
| Pension plans and employee benefits | $331,358 | 4.1% | |
| Occupancy | $320,646 | 4.0% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $75,454 | 0.9% | |
| Taxes | $74,154 | 0.9% | |
| Fees: accounting | $59,974 | 0.7% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $16,694 | 0.2% | |
| Fees: legal | $13,923 | 0.2% | |
| Other expenses | -$181,308 | -2.3% | |
| Total | $8,029,068 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990PF · $8,552,780 spent · pay $1,413,829 · grants $5,545,900 · events $3,133
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $5,545,900 | 64.8% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $708,647 | 8.3% | |
| Taxes | $567,051 | 6.6% | |
| Fees: other professional | $461,330 | 5.4% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $376,418 | 4.4% | |
| Pension plans and employee benefits | $328,764 | 3.8% | |
| Occupancy | $312,924 | 3.7% | |
| Other expenses | $114,476 | 1.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $72,175 | 0.8% | |
| Fees: accounting | $56,292 | 0.7% | |
| Fees: legal | $5,670 | 0.1% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $3,133 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $8,552,780 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990PF · $7,888,690 spent · pay $1,358,327 · grants $5,050,775 · events $5,831
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $5,050,775 | 64.0% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $756,292 | 9.6% | |
| Fees: other professional | $525,144 | 6.7% | |
| Taxes | $388,991 | 4.9% | |
| Pension plans and employee benefits | $317,703 | 4.0% | |
| Occupancy | $308,367 | 3.9% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees | $284,332 | 3.6% | |
| Other expenses | $109,738 | 1.4% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $75,318 | 1.0% | |
| Fees: accounting | $57,837 | 0.7% | |
| Fees: legal | $8,362 | 0.1% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $5,831 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $7,888,690 | 100% |
Comments