GARAGE ART CENTER INC

Cite this

Plain text GARAGE ART CENTER INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2019–2025. https://furp.org/org/garage-art-center-inc-842919260. Retrieved 2026-11-03.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). GARAGE ART CENTER INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2019–2025]. Retrieved November 3, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/garage-art-center-inc-842919260

MLA “GARAGE ART CENTER INC.” furp.org, tax years 2019–2025, https://furp.org/org/garage-art-center-inc-842919260. Accessed 3 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-03; covers tax years 2019–2025. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990 · revenue $17K · expenses $18K · assets $10K

EIN
84-2919260
Address
2601 CORPORAL KENNEDY ST, BAYSIDE, NY 11360-2452
Website
WWW.GARAGEARTCENTER.ORG
NTEE code
A20
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
September 2019 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity supported by the public (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

TO PRESENT QUALITY ARTS THAT ENGAGE, EDUCATE AND FOSTER THE DIVERSE COMMUNITIES OF QUEENS, NEW YORK.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 1 person listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

1 person listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Stephanie S Lee DIRECTOR2019-2025 Not reported $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2024 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
2019 · 1 person listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHANIE S LEE DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990 period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$16,911$17,936 $9,547-$9,469 $15,367$1,544 -0-
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$17,110$17,110 $16,750-$8,595 $17,110$0 -0-
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$17,814$24,656 $14,983-$8,245 $17,814$0 -0-
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$11,467$14,263 $13,768-$1,117 $11,467$0 -0-
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$17,311$25,573 $18,415$1,887 $17,311$0 -0-
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$3,926$10,867 $24,296$10,259 $3,926$0 -0-
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$18,424$1,224 $17,200$17,200 $18,424$0 -0-

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
GALA ART CENTER INCNYA20 $19,283$36,590 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
FOUNTAIN ARTS CENTER INCNYA20 $19,476$19,277 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
CLARK CENTER NYC INCNYA20 $15,542$20,651 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
PHOENICIA ART CENTER LTDNYA20 $19,657$13,524 DIRECTOR, ME$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
LIVING ARTIST SOCIETY INCNYA20 $20,441$17,461 Board Chair$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
PLG ARTS INCNYA20 $11,546$11,544 Co-President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
HUMAN CONNECTION ARTS INCNYA20 $19,972$20,959 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$3,000 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
RALLY CAT INCNYA20 $10,271$3,407 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
NORTH AMERICA CANTONESE ARTS FOUNDATION INCNYA20 $25,400$37,125 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
EAST-WEST PERFORMANCE ARTS CENTER INCNYA20 $26,527$26,450 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
ARTS INN COLLECTIVENYA20 $25,810$26,471 President$600 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
NEW RUSSIA CULTURAL CENTER INCNYA20 $23,549$33,747 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
ITALIAN LANGUAGE INTERCULTURAL ALLIANCE INCNYA20 $17,149$36,851 Chairman$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
SLOVAK-AMERICAN CULTURAL CENTERNYA20 $20,815$9,480 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
LADY TRUMPET INCNYA20 $26,500$26,985 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
BROOKLYN EXPERIMENTAL ART FOUNDATION INCNYA20 $17,500$30,879 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
TIVOLI ARTISTS GALLERY LTDNYA20 $27,156$28,949 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
SKANEATELES AREA ARTS COUNCIL INCNYA20 $17,096$12,375 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
ECO ART PROJECT INCNYA20 $15,965$65,571 Executive Director$5,000 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
JAZZ AT PRIDE INCNYA20 $18,100$18,000 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
KENAN ARTS COUNCIL INCNYA20 $19,201$32,244 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
CINEMINGA INTERNATIONAL INCNYA20 $8,774$11,697 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
QUILT GUILD OF WEBSTER INCNYA20 $8,747$1,070 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
LONG ISLAND AUTHORS GROUP INCNYA20 $15,782$19,827 President$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state
CREATIVE PLACE INTERNATIONALNYA20 $26,672$26,770 CHAIRMAN$0 Same NTEE code A20, revenue within 2x, same state

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
AGNUS NOSTER FOUNDATION Private foundation$871,2339 12016–2024 ITALIAN LANGUAGE INTERCULTURAL ALLIANCE INC
JEROME AND MARLENE BRODY FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$215,0002 12024–2025 SOON IS NOW INC
COMMON COUNSEL FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$180,0003 12022–2023 BLACK DOCUMENTARY COLLECTIVE INC
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$151,1756 32017–2021 ART LOISAIDA FOUNDATION; RAICES CULTURAL ARTS ASSOCIATION LTD; ARTSPACE INC
YALE UNIVERSITY DAF sponsor$120,4007 12014–2021 ARTSPACE INC
ROCKEFELLER BROTHERS FUND INC Private foundation$100,0001 12020–2020 ECO ART PROJECT INC
HALFF WINDHAM FOUNDATION Private foundation$98,5002 12025–2025 JAZZ AT PRIDE INC
FORGOOD INC DAF sponsor$83,5949 42019–2023 TURKISH CULTURAL CENTER ALBANY; ART LOISAIDA FOUNDATION; BLACK DOCUMENTARY COLLECTIVE INC; RAICES CULTURAL ARTS ASSOCIATION LTD
FOOKSMAN FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$75,0001 12022–2022 NEW WAVE ARTS INC
DAVID SCHWARTZ FOUNDATION Private foundation$60,0001 12021–2021 ECO ART PROJECT INC
THE ANNENBERG FOUNDATION Private foundation$50,0001 12009–2009 WOMENS INTERCULTURAL CENTER INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION FOR GREATER BUFFALO INC DAF sponsor$40,0003 12022–2024 FOUNTAIN ARTS CENTER INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION FOR GREATER NEW HAVEN DAF sponsor$37,5002 12023–2023 ARTSPACE INC
HOLLYWOOD FOREIGN PRESS ASSOCIATION CHARITABLE TRUST Private foundation$20,0002 12022–2023 BLACK TV & FILM COLLECTIVE INC
PASTERNAK FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$15,0003 12022–2024 ARTS INN COLLECTIVE

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990 · $17,936 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $4,918
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Office expenses $5,647$3,871$1,776- 31.5%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $4,918$4,918-- 27.4%
Fees: other services $3,685$1,438$2,247- 20.5%
Depreciation and depletion $1,415$451$964- 7.9%
Insurance $1,271-$1,271- 7.1%
Fees: accounting $1,000-$1,000- 5.6%
Total$17,936100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990 · $17,110 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $5,676
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Office expenses $6,644$6,644-- 38.8%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $5,676$5,676-- 33.2%
Fees: other services $3,045$150$2,895- 17.8%
Depreciation and depletion $1,745$750$995- 10.2%
Total$17,110100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $24,656 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $7,160
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Office expenses $9,222$9,222-- 37.4%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $7,160$7,160-- 29.0%
Fees: other services $5,264$314$4,950- 21.3%
Depreciation and depletion $1,839$814$1,025- 7.5%
Insurance $609$609-- 2.5%
Fees: accounting $500-$500- 2.0%
Other (as described)PENALTY $39$39-- 0.2%
Advertising and promotion $23$23-- 0.1%
Total$24,656100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $14,263 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $1,202
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Office expenses $10,149$10,149-- 71.2%
Depreciation and depletion $1,916$891$1,025- 13.4%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $1,202$1,202-- 8.4%
Fees: accounting $700-$700- 4.9%
Fees: other services $296-$296- 2.1%
Total$14,263100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $25,573 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $18,034
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Conferences, conventions and meetings $18,034$18,034-- 70.5%
Office expenses $3,312$3,312-- 13.0%
Depreciation and depletion $2,015$990$1,025- 7.9%
Fees: other services $1,135-$1,135- 4.4%
Insurance $577$577-- 2.3%
Fees: accounting $500-$500- 2.0%
Total$25,573100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $10,867 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: other services $4,550-$4,550- 41.9%
Depreciation and depletion $1,825$800$1,025- 16.8%
Other (as described)SUPPLIES $1,678-$1,678- 15.4%
Office expenses $1,307$1,307-- 12.0%
Insurance $627-$627- 5.8%
Fees: accounting $600-$600- 5.5%
Other (as described)AUTO EXPENSES $254-$254- 2.3%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGE $26-$26- 0.2%
Total$10,867100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990 · $1,224 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Depreciation and depletion $508-$508- 41.5%
Advertising and promotion $466-$466- 38.1%
Office expenses $250-$250- 20.4%
Total$1,224100%

View the filing

Federal grants and contracts

Awards from USAspending.gov to a recipient with this organization's name and zip code. Obligations by federal fiscal year (October to September); each award links to its page on usaspending.gov.

Fiscal yearGrants and other assistanceContractsAwards
2020$1,000$02
Largest awards · 1 shown
YearAgencyKindProgramDescriptionObligated
2020Small Business AdministrationGrant or other assistanceECONOMIC INJURY DISASTER LOAN EMERGENCY ADVANCE 59.072ECONOMIC INJURY DISASTER GRANT$1,000

State business registration

The same business name in the same state, from the state’s official registry data.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.