ONE MILLION WELLS

Cite this

Plain text ONE MILLION WELLS. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/one-million-wells-821963744. Retrieved 2026-10-31.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). ONE MILLION WELLS [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved October 31, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/one-million-wells-821963744

MLA “ONE MILLION WELLS.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/one-million-wells-821963744. Accessed 31 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-31; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990 · revenue $477K · expenses $359K · assets $272K

EIN
82-1963744
Address
PO BOX 771204, MEMPHIS, TN 38177-1204
Website
WWW.ONEMILLIONWELLS.ORG
NTEE code
C32
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
December 2017 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity supported by the public (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))
Principal officer
Jim Forbis (its 2020 Form 990-N)
Form 990-N e-postcards
1 filed, 2020 (organizations with gross receipts normally $50,000 or less file this instead of a full Form 990) IRS data ↗
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

TO PROVIDE SUPPLIES & TRAINING TO INDIVIDUALS IN IMPOVERISHED, WATER DEFICIENT AREAS IN THE USE OF THE CRAWFORD BAR METHOD FOR SINKING AND MAINTAINING WATER WELLS.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 13 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

13 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Jeremy Forbis DIRECTOR2021-2024 Not reported $0 reported 1
Kelly Snodgras DIRECTOR2023-2024 Not reported $0 reported 1
R C Crawford PRESIDENT2022-2024 Not reported $0 reported 1
Jim Forbis VICE PRESIDE2020-2024 Not reported $0 reported 1
M A Owens SEC/TREASURE2022-2024 Not reported $0 reported 1
Paul Brown (former) DIRECTOR AT2022 2 $0 reported 1
Sam Crawford (former) CO-FOUNDER/B2020-2021 0 $0 reported 1
Ken Patterson (former) DIR OF OPERA2021 2 $0 reported 1
Wc Crawford (former) PRESIDENT/CO2021 5 $0 reported 1
Danielle Patterson (former) DIR OF INTL2021 2 $0 reported 1
Ma Owens (former) SECY/TREASUR2021 2 $0 reported 1
Rc Crawford (former) PRESIDENT2020 10 $0 reported 1
Carol Crawford (former) SECRETARY2020 2 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JEREMY FORBIS DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
KELLY SNODGRAS DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
R C CRAWFORD PRESIDENT- $0$0$0 $01
JIM FORBIS VICE PRESIDE- $0$0$0 $01
M A OWENS SEC/TREASURE- $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JEREMY FORBIS DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
KELLY SNODGRAS DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
R C CRAWFORD PRESIDENT- $0$0$0 $01
JIM FORBIS VICE PRESIDE- $0$0$0 $01
M A OWENS SEC/TREASURE- $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
PAUL BROWN DIRECTOR AT2 $0$0$0 $01
JEREMY FORBIS DIR OF DEVEL2 $0$0$0 $01
R C CRAWFORD PRESIDENT5 $0$0$0 $01
JIM FORBIS VICE PRESIDE5 $0$0$0 $01
M A OWENS SEC/TREASURE2 $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 7 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JIM FORBIS VICE-PRESIDE5 $0-- $01
KEN PATTERSON DIR OF OPERA2 $0-- $01
WC CRAWFORD PRESIDENT/CO5 $0-- $01
DANIELLE PATTERSON DIR OF INTL2 $0-- $01
MA OWENS SECY/TREASUR2 $0-- $01
JEREMY FORBIS DIR OF DEVEL2 $0-- $01
SAM CRAWFORD CO-FOUNDER/B0 $0-- $01
2020 · 4 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JIM FORBIS VICE PRESIDE5 $0-- $01
RC CRAWFORD PRESIDENT10 $0-- $01
CAROL CRAWFORD SECRETARY2 $0-- $01
SAM CRAWFORD CO-FOUNDER/B0 $0-- $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$477,412$359,041 $272,184$272,184 $476,677$0 -0-
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$237,654$284,590 $153,813$153,813 $237,654$0 -0-
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$207,481$186,041 $200,749$200,749 $207,481$0 -0-
2021 · Form 990EZ period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$192,282$103,308 $179,309$179,309 $192,282- ---
2020 · Form 990EZ period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$155,099$65,636 $90,335$90,335 $155,099- ---

Funders of this organization

10 grantors reported grants to this organization, $157,114 in all, tax years 2019 to 2025. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
AMERICAN ENDOWMENT FOUNDATION DAF sponsor Exact 2022-2024 3$56,800 2024$20,400
show
MILLION DOLLAR ROUND TABLE FOUNDATION Public charity Exact 2023 1$25,000 2023$25,000
show
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor Exact 2021, 2024 2$21,000 2024$12,000
show
SHUNPIKE CHARITABLE FOUNDATION Public charity Exact 2021 1$15,000 2021$15,000
show
COMPASSION BEYOND BORDERS INC DAF sponsor Exact 2019 1$15,000 2019$15,000
show
FT CARES FOUNDATION Public charity Exact 2022 1$10,000 2022$10,000
show
FORST FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “ONE MILLION WELLS” 2023-2025 3$5,782 2025$5,000
show
ALBERT JAY MARTIN FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “ONE MILLION WELLS” 2022 1$5,000 2022$5,000
show
NEELAM-POPAT MISTRY MEMORIAL FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “ONE MILLION WELLS” 2021, 2025 2$3,000 2025$1,500
show
LINCOLN FINANCIAL FOUNDATION INC Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “ONE MILLION WELLS” 2025 1$532 2025$532
show

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
ROCK THE OCEAN FOUNDATIONTNC32 $507,888$656,607 VICE PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x, same state
WATERWAYSTNC32 $446,192$451,813 Executive Director$75,055 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x, same state
RUN4WATERTNC32 $313,316$337,272 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x, same state
PLANT A MILLION CORALS FOUNDATION INCFLC32 $406,319$568,688 President & CEO$82,214 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
MILLS RIVER PARTNERSHIP INCNCC32 $406,242$400,650 EXECUTIVE DI$84,253 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
BUTTE-YUBA-SUTTER WATER QUALITY COALITIONCAC32 $854,808$891,822 Trustee$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
PROJECT BIG WOOD A NONPROFIT CORPORATIONIDC32 $884,641$755,307 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
BLAIR WATER SUPPLY CORPORATIONTXC32 $325,836$264,636 Secretary$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
WESTERN WATER CONSERVATION A CALIFORNIA MUTUAL BENEFIT CORPORATCAC32 $244,523$245,704 DIRECTOR$9,275 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
NORTH CAROLINA WATERWORKS OPERATORS ASSOCIATIONNCC32 $442,096$400,401 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
MAINE RIVERSMEC32 $853,379$746,803 Executive Director$95,250 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
SEA MEADOW MARINE FOUNDATIONMEC32 $283,087$229,809 President$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
YELLOW DOG WATERSHED PRESERVE INCMIC32 $374,101$150,726 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
ILLINOIS VALLEY WATERSHED COUNCILORC32 $534,813$472,109 Executive Director$72,696 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
MISSOURI STREAM TEAM WATERSHED COALITIONMOC32 $265,034$184,065 Executive Director$44,883 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
COTTONWOOD MUTUAL WATER COMPANYUTC32 $855,033$808,938 DIRECTOR$177,997 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
UPPER WHITE RIVER WATERSHED ALLIANCE INCINC32 $812,613$894,843 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
PROJECT WET FOUNDATIONMTC32 $711,201$760,732 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, OPERATIONS$121,424 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
WATER MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION OF OHIOOHC32 $314,046$248,669 DIV DIR - OL$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
PENNSYLVANIA ORGANIZATION FOR WATERSHEDS AND RIVERSPAC32 $452,611$439,021 BOARD CHAIR$175,802 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
AMAZON AID FOUNDATIONVAC32 $474,443$578,539 TRUSTEE$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
MICHIGAN MUNICIPAL WETLAND ALLIANCE INCMIC32 $324,309$351,073 Executive Director$52,008 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
ILLINOIS RIVER WATERSHED PTRARC32 $913,135$2,064,362 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$95,790 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
BIG HOLE WATERSHED COMMITTEEMTC32 $687,647$673,878 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$83,877 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x
GREAT LAKES BAY REGION QUALITY OF LIFE COUNCILMIC32 $301,118$354,916 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code C32, revenue within 2x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
NINA MASON PULLIAM CHARITABLE TR Private foundation$2,427,50010 12020–2024 UPPER WHITE RIVER WATERSHED ALLIANCE INC
MAINE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$2,356,37541 62010–2024 LAKE STEWARDS OF MAINE; MAINE RIVERS; QUAHOG BAY CONSERVATION; SEA MEADOW MARINE FOUNDATION and 2 more
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND funds this one DAF sponsor$1,815,39280 322016–2024 JONES RIVER WATERSHED ASSOCIATION INC; YELLOW DOG WATERSHED PRESERVE INC; LAKE WARAMAUG TASK FORCE INC; OHIO RIVER FOUNDATION and 28 more
NATURE CONSERVANCY DAF sponsor$1,576,95529 82009–2024 SANTA CLARA RIVER CONSERVANCY; MAINE RIVERS; INTERNATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE ALLIANCE; HUDSON RIVER WATERSHED ALLIANCE INC and 4 more
JEWISH COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF SAN DIEGO DAF sponsor$1,361,9744 12021–2024 WALTER MUNK FOUNDATION FOR THE OCEANS
VANGUARD CHARITABLE ENDOWMENT PROGRAM DAF sponsor$1,230,50017 72020–2024 JONES RIVER WATERSHED ASSOCIATION INC; CLEAN LAKES ALLIANCE INC; COBBOSSEECONTEE LAKE ASSOCIATION; FRIENDS OF THE MAD RIVER and 3 more
THE SCHMIDT FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$1,225,0007 22020–2024 PLANT A MILLION CORALS FOUNDATION INC; GREAT BASIN RESOURCE WATCH
FRED & BARBARA ERB FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$1,009,4007 12020–2024 CLINTON RIVER WATERSHED COUNCIL
MORGAN STANLEY GLOBAL IMPACT FUNDING TRUST INC DAF sponsor$842,38414 72013–2024 PROJECT BIG WOOD A NONPROFIT CORPORATION; COBBOSSEECONTEE LAKE ASSOCIATION; TORCH LAKE PROTECTION ALLIANCE; AMAZON AID FOUNDATION and 3 more
THE BLACKBAUD GIVING FUND DAF sponsor$761,95213 42016–2025 PROJECT WET FOUNDATION; CLEAN LAKES ALLIANCE INC; LITTLE RIVER WETLANDS PROJECT INC; OHIO RIVER FOUNDATION
BIOPHILIA FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$750,00010 12016–2025 CHESAPEAKE WILDLIFE HERITAGE INC
DTE ENERGY FOUNDATION Private foundation$672,00014 22013–2020 INTERNATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE ALLIANCE; CLINTON RIVER WATERSHED COUNCIL
FELBURN FOUNDATION Private foundation$581,5009 22013–2024 HOWARD T ODUM FLORIDA SPRINGS INSTITUTE INC; FRIENDS OF DEVILS LAKE STATE PARK
CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$574,07723 22010–2025 POMPERAUG RIVER WATERSHED COALITION INC; LAKE WARAMAUG TASK FORCE INC
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$511,39424 82014–2024 COLORADO FOUNDATION FOR WATER EDUCATION; CLEAN WATER FOR CHILDREN INC; CHESAPEAKE WILDLIFE HERITAGE INC; CLEAN LAKES ALLIANCE INC and 4 more

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990 · $359,041 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)SINKING WELLS $172,194$172,194-- 48.0%
Other (as described)ORPHANAGE SUPPORT $65,800$65,800-- 18.3%
Travel $42,233$42,233-- 11.8%
Other (as described)RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT $28,888$28,888-- 8.0%
Fees: other services $26,348$26,348-- 7.3%
Office expenses $8,485$340$8,145- 2.4%
Other (as described)MORE PRECIOUS THAN PEARLS $5,975$5,975-- 1.7%
Fees: accounting $4,612-$4,612- 1.3%
All other expenses $4,157$200$3,957- 1.2%
Information technology $349-$349- 0.1%
Total$359,041100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $284,590 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)SINKING WELLS $123,540$123,540-- 43.4%
Travel $66,298$66,298-- 23.3%
Other (as described)RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT $42,028$42,028-- 14.8%
Fees: other services $28,500$21,500$7,000- 10.0%
Information technology $11,767$20$11,747- 4.1%
Office expenses $6,460-$6,460- 2.3%
Other (as described)ROYALTIES $4,500$4,500-- 1.6%
Other (as described)DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS $1,420-$1,420- 0.5%
All other expenses $77-$77- 0.0%
Total$284,590100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $186,041 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT $88,027$88,027-- 47.3%
Travel $55,007$55,007-- 29.6%
Fees: other services $19,400-$19,400- 10.4%
Other (as described)SINKING WELLS $13,495$13,495-- 7.3%
Information technology $5,000$5,000-- 2.7%
Other (as described)TRAINING $2,310$2,310-- 1.2%
Other (as described)DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS $1,687-$1,687- 0.9%
Office expenses $1,090-$1,090- 0.6%
All other expenses $25-$25- 0.0%
Total$186,041100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990EZ · $103,308 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) $98,408 95.3%
Fees to independent contractors $4,900 4.7%
Total$103,308100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990EZ · $65,636 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) $65,636 100.0%
Total$65,636100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.