UNITED STATES MARINE SAFETY INSTITUTE

Cite this

Plain text UNITED STATES MARINE SAFETY INSTITUTE. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2018–2019. https://furp.org/org/united-states-marine-safety-institute-810552307. Retrieved 2026-10-27.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). UNITED STATES MARINE SAFETY INSTITUTE [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2018–2019]. Retrieved October 27, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/united-states-marine-safety-institute-810552307

MLA “UNITED STATES MARINE SAFETY INSTITUTE.” furp.org, tax years 2018–2019, https://furp.org/org/united-states-marine-safety-institute-810552307. Accessed 27 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-27; covers tax years 2018–2019. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2019 · Form 990 · revenue $64K · expenses $142K · assets $960K

Also known as
INSTITUTE INC
EIN
81-0552307
Address
2507 RIVERVIEW BLVD, BRADENTON, FL 34205-4333
Website
USMSI.ORG
NTEE code
U21
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
September 2015 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt: reinstated May 15, 2015 after an automatic revocation on May 15, 2015 IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity, 509(a)(2)
Principal officer
Scott Steele (its 2025 Form 990-N)
Form 990-N e-postcards
1 filed, 2025 (organizations with gross receipts normally $50,000 or less file this instead of a full Form 990) IRS data ↗
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

SEARCH & RESCUE, WATER SAFETY AND DIVER EDUCATION, INSTRUCTION AND TRAINING, DISASTER RESPONSE, ARTIFICIAL REEF DEPLOYMENT, OCEAN CLEAN UP.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

1 person paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsLatest year payTotal pay from hereOrganizations
Scott Steele CEO2018-2019 $0$2 1

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

10 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
James Farguharson BOARD MEMEBE2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Yumiko Kadota ACCOUNTANT2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Barry Lamb ADVISOR2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Susanne Mathaey-Ruffini ADVISOR2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
William Poulis LEGAL COUNSE2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Philip Schwartz BOARD MEMBER2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Linnea Steele ADVISOR2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Schyler Steele ADVISOR2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
William Jennings VICE CHAIRMA2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1
Karen Netzel SECRETARY2018-2019 Not reported $0 reported 1

People by year

2019 · 11 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES FARGUHARSON BOARD MEMEBE- $0$0$0 $01
YUMIKO KADOTA ACCOUNTANT- $0$0$0 $01
BARRY LAMB ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
SUSANNE MATHAEY-RUFFINI ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
WILLIAM POULIS LEGAL COUNSE- $0$0$0 $01
PHILIP SCHWARTZ BOARD MEMBER- $0$0$0 $01
LINNEA STEELE ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
SCHYLER STEELE ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
WILLIAM JENNINGS VICE CHAIRMA- $0$0$0 $01
KAREN NETZEL SECRETARY- $0$0$0 $01
SCOTT STEELE CEO- $0$0$0 $01
2018 · 11 people listed · 1 paid, $2 · 0 employees · 9 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
SCOTT STEELE CEO40 $2$0$0 $21
BARRY LAMB ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
LINNEA STEELE ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
SCHYLER STEELE ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
SUSANNE MATHAEY-RUFFINI ADVISOR- $0$0$0 $01
PHILIP SCHWARTZ BOARD MEMBER- $0$0$0 $01
WILLIAM POULIS LEGAL COUNSE- $0$0$0 $01
YUMIKO KADOTA ACCOUNTANT- $0$0$0 $01
JAMES FARGUHARSON BOARD MEMEBE- $0$0$0 $01
WILLIAM JENNINGS VICE CHAIRMA- $0$0$0 $01
KAREN NETZEL SECRETARY- $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Federal grants and contracts

Awards from USAspending.gov to a recipient with this organization's name and zip code. Obligations by federal fiscal year (October to September); each award links to its page on usaspending.gov.

Fiscal yearGrants and other assistanceContractsAwards
2021$0$01
Largest awards · 0 shown
YearAgencyKindProgramDescriptionObligated

State business registration

The same business name in the same state, from the state’s official registry data.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · amended · view filing · original 990 ↗
$63,545$142,099 $960,186$792,726 $63,545$0 -0-
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · amended · superseded · view filing · original 990 ↗
$63,545$142,099 $960,186$792,726 $63,545$0 -0-
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2018-12-31 · amended · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,266,520$511,465 $1,174,053$990,363 $20,360$42,157 $209
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2018-12-31 · superseded · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,266,520$1,012,400 $254,120$254,120 $20,360$42,157 $209

Funders of this organization

1 grantor reported grants to this organization, $26 in all, tax years 2020 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “UNITED STATES MARINE SAFETY INSTITUTE” 2020-2023 4$26 2023$11
show

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
EXPLORING OUR DEEP WORLD INCFLU21 $119,882$184,510 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x, same state
FLORIDA MARINE SCIENCE EDUCATORS ASSOCIATION INCFLU21 $34,601$29,504 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x, same state
AMERICAN ELASMOBRANCH SOCIETYFLU21 $81,490$33,391 TREASURER$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x, same state
GLOBAL INVERTEBRATE GENOMICS ALLIANCE INCFLU21 $66,310$13,750 Treasurer$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x, same state
FLORIDA MANTA PROJECT INCFLU21 $78,586$83,152 TREASURER$36,000 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x, same state
CORDELL MARINE SANCTUARY FOUNDATIONCAU21 $56,501$22,601 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
ASSOCIATION FOR MARINE EXPLORATIONHIU21 $103,286$31,800 CEO$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
ACADEMY OF UNDERWATER ARTS AND SCIENCESCAU21 $57,850$50,357 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
BOSTON REEFERS SOCIETY INCMAU21 $32,068$34,582 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
MARINE STUDIES CONSORTIUMMAU21 $67,003$47,941 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
FRIENDS OF WISCONSIN SHIPWRECK COAST NATIONAL MARINE SANCTUARYWIU21 $69,947$65,090 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
NELSON R BEIDEMAN CENTER FOR RESILIENT FISHERIES INCNJU21 $86,260$61,200 Officer, Trustee$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
ASSOCIATED SCIENTISTS AT WOODS HOLE INCMAU21 $54,172$61,248 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
MAP THE GAPSWAU21 $50,585$63,027 Executive Director$21,180 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
CRUSTACEAN SOCIETYVAU21 $113,483$92,915 Past President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
EASTERN PACIFIC OCEAN CONFERENCEWAU21 $85,350$78,215 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
GOOD NAUTICAL INCNVU21 $32,875$3,170 President$50 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
OCEAN GENOME ATLAS PROJECTCAU21 $55,827$167,637 Chairman$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
GREENWATER FOUNDATIONVAU21 $35,747$153,238 Executive Dir.$6,250 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
BAHAMAS SPORTFISHING & CONSERVATION CORPORATIONTXU21 $78,493$79,461 President$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
ZEPHYR EDUCATION FOUNDATIONMAU21 $49,293$50,057 TREASURER$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
MEET THE OCEANORU21 $34,138$41,085 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$18,000 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
HANS M SCHAEDLA FOUNDATIONU21 $69,538$58,063 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
ENDICOTT-REARDON FAMILY MUSEUM A NJ NONPROFIT CORPORATIONNJU21 $117,538$115,019 President$57,600 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 2x
PACIFICO PLATFORM INCFLU21 $280,440$78,515 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code U21, revenue within 5x, same state

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$278,219,123109 262014–2024 SCHMIDT OCEAN INSTITUTE; PROJECT CETI INC; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES; MARINE APPLIED RESEARCH AND EXPLORATION and 22 more
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$21,822,579140 342016–2024 PROJECT CETI INC; GLOUCESTER MARINE GENOMICS INSTITUTE INCORPORATED; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES; LOGGERHEAD MARINELIFE CENTER INC and 30 more
HAROLD ALFOND FOUNDATION Private foundation$11,714,2536 12014–2024 BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$9,882,17635 132018–2024 PROJECT CETI INC; OCEAN DISCOVERY LEAGUE INC; OCEAN VISIONS INC; BLACK IN MARINE SCIENCE and 9 more
SHELBY CULLOM DAVIS CHARITABLE FUND INC Private foundation$8,402,6425 12020–2022 BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES
MAINE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$5,833,33529 22010–2024 MAINE CENTER FOR COASTAL FISHERIES; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES
WILLIAM PENN FOUNDATION Private foundation$5,141,39634 12020–2024 STROUD WATER RESEARCH CENTER INC
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$4,653,84215 72014–2024 PROJECT CETI INC; OCEAN VISIONS INC; CALIFORNIA OCEAN ALLIANCE; BAHAMAS SPORTFISHING & CONSERVATION CORPORATION and 3 more
COMBINED JEWISH PHILANTHROPIES OF GREATER BOSTON INC DAF sponsor$4,653,00013 32012–2024 GLOUCESTER MARINE GENOMICS INSTITUTE INCORPORATED; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES; MARINE STUDIES CONSORTIUM
AMERICAN ENDOWMENT FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$3,021,0006 42019–2024 PROJECT CETI INC; FRIENDS OF TURNEFFE ATOLL INC; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES; TEXAS MARINE MAMMAL STRANDING NETWORK
CORNELIA T BAILEY CHARITABLE TRUST Private foundation$2,600,0009 12019–2022 LOGGERHEAD MARINELIFE CENTER INC
THE SCHMIDT FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$2,168,58516 62020–2024 OCEAN VISIONS INC; MARINE APPLIED RESEARCH AND EXPLORATION; OCEAN DISCOVERY LEAGUE INC; SCHMIDT OCEAN INSTITUTE and 2 more
GORDON E AND BETTY I MOORE FOUNDATION Private foundation$2,027,03523 32011–2023 BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES; SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON OCEANIC RESEARCH; RECLAM THE BAY INC
VANGUARD CHARITABLE ENDOWMENT PROGRAM DAF sponsor$1,839,90024 112020–2024 OCEAN VISIONS INC; LOGGERHEAD MARINELIFE CENTER INC; FLORIDA OCEANOGRAPHIC SOCIETY INC; BIGELOW LABORATORY FOR OCEAN SCIENCES and 7 more
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$1,365,05450 162019–2025 LOGGERHEAD MARINELIFE CENTER INC; MARINE LIFE STUDIES; CLEAN OCEANS PROJECT; CLIMATE FOUNDATION and 12 more

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2019 · Form 990 · $142,099 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Depreciation and depletion $83,187$83,187-- 58.5%
All other expenses $28,300$6,092$22,208- 19.9%
Other (as described)SUBSTATION REPAIRS $9,346-$9,346- 6.6%
Other (as described)REAL ESTATE TAXES $8,480-$8,480- 6.0%
Other (as described)LIABILITY INSURANCE $7,307-$7,307- 5.1%
Other (as described)SUPPLIES $5,479-$5,479- 3.9%
Total$142,099100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990 · $511,465 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: legal $301,021$301,021-- 58.9%
Depreciation and depletion $63,820$63,820-- 12.5%
Interest $40,383$40,383-- 7.9%
Office expenses $25,508$25,508-- 5.0%
All other expenses $20,190$4,726$15,464- 3.9%
Other (as described)SUPPLIES $19,772-$19,772- 3.9%
Other (as described)REAL ESTATE TAXES $15,206-$15,206- 3.0%
Other (as described)AUTO FUEL EXPENSE $8,825-$8,825- 1.7%
Payments to affiliates $7,520-$7,520- 1.5%
Other (as described)PROFESSIONAL SERVICES $3,708-$3,708- 0.7%
Travel $3,229-$3,229- 0.6%
Insurance $2,281-$2,281- 0.4%
Benefits paid to members $2$2-- 0.0%
Total$511,465100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.