TOM J & EDNA MAE CARSON FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text TOM J & EDNA MAE CARSON FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2012–2024. https://furp.org/org/tom-j-and-edna-mae-carson-foundation-581880469. Retrieved 2026-11-02.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). TOM J & EDNA MAE CARSON FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2012–2024]. Retrieved November 2, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/tom-j-and-edna-mae-carson-foundation-581880469

MLA “TOM J & EDNA MAE CARSON FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2012–2024, https://furp.org/org/tom-j-and-edna-mae-carson-foundation-581880469. Accessed 2 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-02; covers tax years 2012–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $837K · expenses $684K · assets $9.6M

EIN
58-1880469
Address
5000 ROGERS AVE STE 700, FORT SMITH, AR 72903-2079
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (trust)
Ruling date
August 1990 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Private non-operating foundation
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 4 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

4 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
James F Carson TRUSTEE2012-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Drew T Carson TRUSTEE2012-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Tom J Carson (former) TRUSTEE A2012-2016 0 $0 reported 1
Rita Kay Fowlkes (former) TRUSTEE2012-2013 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2023 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2022 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2021 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2020 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2016 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
TOM J CARSON TRUSTEE A0 $0-$0 $01
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2015 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
TOM J CARSON TRUSTEE A0 $0-$0 $01
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2014 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
TOM J CARSON TRUSTEE A0 $0-- $01
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-- $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-- $01
2013 · 4 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
TOM J CARSON TRUSTEE A0 $0-$0 $01
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
RITA KAY FOWLKES TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2012 · 4 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
TOM J CARSON TRUSTEE A0 $0-- $01
JAMES F CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-- $01
DREW T CARSON TRUSTEE0 $0-- $01
RITA KAY FOWLKES TRUSTEE0 $0-- $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2024 · 17 grants to organizations · $595K
2023 · 22 grants to organizations · $947K
2022 · 18 grants to organizations · $1.4M
2021 · 16 grants to organizations · $738K
2020 · 22 grants to organizations · $788K
2016 · 32 grants to organizations · $649K
2015 · 30 grants to organizations · $811K
2014 · 34 grants to organizations · $718K
2013 · 35 grants to organizations · $622K
2012 · 34 grants to organizations · $545K

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990PF period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$836,925$684,098 $9,553,034$9,553,034 $0- ---
2023 · Form 990PF period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,464,567$1,098,897 $8,961,879$8,961,879 $0- $0--
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,675,034$1,585,145 $9,453,785$9,453,785 $0- $0--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,812,005$918,171 $9,565,929$9,565,929 $0- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$935,954$968,978 $9,259,495$9,259,495 $0- $0--
2016 · Form 990PF period ending 2016-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$516,305$1,108,483 $9,373,833$9,373,833 $0- $0--
2015 · Form 990PF period ending 2015-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,057,406$881,541 $9,966,011$9,966,011 $0- $0--
2014 · Form 990PF period ending 2014-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$386,026$802,641 $2,900,146$2,811,470 $0- ---
2013 · Form 990PF period ending 2013-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,134,263$690,438 $3,223,441$3,228,085 $0- $0--
2012 · Form 990PF period ending 2012-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$328,257$608,844 $2,783,955$2,794,500 -- ---

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
CARSON FOUNDATIONNCZ99 $454,425$351,700 PRESIDENT$10,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
EDNA FOUNDATIONILT20 $1,565,750$413,032 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
CARSON FOUNDATIONCOT20 $2,129,529$1,387,355 Trustee VP$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
M J & A W CARSON FOUNDATIONTXT22 $150,274$158,851 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x
CARSON FOUNDATIONOKT20 $72,659$106,836 CHAIRMAN$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CARSON FOUNDATIONVAB82 $35,543$125,424 VICE PRESIDENT$6,000 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CARSON FOUNDATIONOKT90 $19,250$40,441 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CARSON FOUNDATIONSCNot reported $429$38 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MAE AVA CARSE FOUNDATIONMIP20 $16,672$15,136 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
TOM BEARSON FOUNDATIONMNNot reported $380$17,771 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 10 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
COMMUNITYGIVING DAF sponsor$35,2501 12021–2021 TOM BEARSON FOUNDATION
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$5,1501 12021–2021 TOM BEARSON FOUNDATION
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation$1156 22020–2023 TOM BEARSON FOUNDATION; MAE AVA CARSE FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990PF · $684,098 spent · pay $0 · grants $594,525 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $594,525 86.9%
Other expenses $37,910 5.5%
Taxes $32,108 4.7%
Interest $14,475 2.1%
Fees: accounting $5,080 0.7%
Total$684,098100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990PF · $1,098,897 spent · pay $0 · grants $946,900 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $946,900 86.2%
Fees: other professional $75,547 6.9%
Taxes $43,586 4.0%
Interest $13,954 1.3%
Other expenses $10,105 0.9%
Fees: accounting $8,805 0.8%
Total$1,098,897100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990PF · $1,585,145 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,368,187 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,368,187 86.3%
Fees: other professional $153,755 9.7%
Taxes $44,105 2.8%
Interest $8,640 0.5%
Other expenses $8,198 0.5%
Fees: accounting $1,175 0.1%
Fees: legal $1,085 0.1%
Total$1,585,145100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $918,171 spent · pay $0 · grants $737,534 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $737,534 80.3%
Other expenses $93,583 10.2%
Fees: other professional $74,944 8.2%
Taxes $6,750 0.7%
Fees: accounting $3,600 0.4%
Interest $1,760 0.2%
Total$918,171100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $968,978 spent · pay $0 · grants $787,816 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $787,816 81.3%
Other expenses $85,681 8.8%
Fees: other professional $72,150 7.4%
Taxes $15,662 1.6%
Fees: accounting $6,394 0.7%
Interest $1,275 0.1%
Total$968,978100%

View the filing

2016 · Form 990PF · $1,108,483 spent · pay $0 · grants $648,747 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $648,747 58.5%
Taxes $319,793 28.8%
Fees: other professional $133,000 12.0%
Fees: accounting $4,000 0.4%
Interest $2,943 0.3%
Total$1,108,483100%

View the filing

2015 · Form 990PF · $881,541 spent · pay $0 · grants $811,250 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $811,250 92.0%
Fees: other professional $62,689 7.1%
Interest $3,581 0.4%
Fees: accounting $2,030 0.2%
Taxes $1,991 0.2%
Total$881,541100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990PF · $802,641 spent · pay $0 · grants $717,821 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $717,821 89.4%
Fees: other professional $60,000 7.5%
Taxes $21,995 2.7%
Fees: accounting $1,950 0.2%
Other expenses $875 0.1%
Total$802,641100%

View the filing

2013 · Form 990PF · $690,438 spent · pay $0 · grants $622,393 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $622,393 90.1%
Fees: other professional $64,400 9.3%
Fees: accounting $2,770 0.4%
Other expenses $875 0.1%
Total$690,438100%

View the filing

2012 · Form 990PF · $608,844 spent · pay $0 · grants $545,419 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $545,419 89.6%
Fees: other professional $60,600 10.0%
Fees: accounting $1,980 0.3%
Other expenses $845 0.1%
Total$608,844100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.