FRIENDS OF THE WACCAMAW LIBRARY INC
Cite this
Plain text FRIENDS OF THE WACCAMAW LIBRARY INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/friends-of-the-waccamaw-library-inc-570855359. Retrieved 2026-11-03.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). FRIENDS OF THE WACCAMAW LIBRARY INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved November 3, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/friends-of-the-waccamaw-library-inc-570855359
MLA “FRIENDS OF THE WACCAMAW LIBRARY INC.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/friends-of-the-waccamaw-library-inc-570855359. Accessed 3 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-03; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990EZ · revenue $84K · expenses $65K · assets $205K
- EIN
- 57-0855359
- Address
- PO BOX 1152, PAWLEYS ISL, SC 29585-1152
- Website
- www.thefowl.org
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
- Ruling date
- April 1988 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Public charity supported by the public (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
To provide support of the Waccamaw Neck Branch Library. To add to its collections and support its programs.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 17 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
17 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 2020-2024 | 20 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 2020-2024 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Cathy Filiatreau | Director | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Mary Emma Foster | Director | 2020-2024 | 5 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Director | 2020-2024 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Director | 2020-2024 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Director | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Director | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Nancy Luria | Director | 2024 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Donna Thornton | Treasurer | 2024 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Debbie Hart | Secretary | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Roz Breit | Director | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Fran Spencer | Director | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Becky Treadwell (former) | Secretary & Membership | 2020-2023 | 15 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Otto Freier (former) | Treasurer | 2020-2023 | 20 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Phylis Cecola (former) | F.C. Manager | 2020-2023 | 6 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Kay Huston (former) | Board Member | 2020-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 13 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 10 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Nancy Luria | Director | 10 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Donna Thornton | Treasurer | 10 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Mary Emma Foster | Director | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Director | 10 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Director | 10 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Director | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Director | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Debbie Hart | Secretary | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Roz Breit | Director | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Filiatreau | Director | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Fran Spencer | Director | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 12 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 22 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 18 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Becky Treadwell | Secretary & Membership | 15 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Otto Freier | Treasurer | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phylis Cecola | F.C. Manager | 6 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Filiatreau | Past President | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Mary Emma foster | Finance | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kay Huston | Board Member | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Development | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Volunteer Cordinator | 6 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Board Member | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Development | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 12 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 22 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 18 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Becky Treadwell | Secretary & Membership | 15 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Otto Freier | Treasurer | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phylis Cecola | F.C. Manager | 6 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Filiatreau | Past President | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Mary Emma foster | Finance | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kay Huston | Board Member | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Development | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Volunteer Cordinator | 6 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Board Member | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Development | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 12 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 22 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Becky Treadwell | Secretary & Membership | 15 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Otto Freier | Treasurer | 15 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phylis Cecola | F.C. Manager | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Filiatreau | Past President | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Mary Emma foster | Finance | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kay Huston | Board Member | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Development | 4 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Volunteer Cordinator | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Board Member | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Development | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 12 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diane Stern | President | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dee Phillips | Vice President | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Becky Treadwell | Secretary & Membership | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Otto Freier | Treasurer | 20 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Phylis Cecola | F.C. Manager | 15 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy filiatreau | Past President | 5 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Mary Emma foster | Finance | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Kay Huston | Board Member | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Ketron | Development | 3 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Pat Robson | Volunteer Cordinator | 4 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Lee Brockington | Board Member | 2 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Eva Scharfstein | Development | 4 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $84,084 | $65,211 | $204,871 | $201,557 | $9,149 | $27,235 | - | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $91,852 | $87,622 | $180,493 | $180,493 | $10,034 | $31,749 | - | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $78,781 | $64,278 | $176,263 | $176,263 | $22,443 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $78,781 | $64,278 | $176,263 | $176,263 | $22,443 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $102,701 | $49,034 | $160,560 | $160,560 | $36,801 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $55,108 | $44,111 | $106,893 | $106,893 | $23,731 | $0 | - | - | - |
Funders of this organization
1 grantor reported grants to this organization, $392 in all, tax years 2020 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Type | Match | Years given | Grants | Total | Latest year | Latest year's amount | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “FRIENDS OF THE WACCAMAW LIBRARY INC” | 2020-2023 | 4 | $392 | 2023 | $91 | show |
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FRIENDS OF THE GEORGETOWN LIBRARY INC | SC | B71 | $65,154 | $62,915 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| DUNEDIN FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY INC | FL | B71 | $62,743 | $48,173 | Board Member | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE WAYLAND LIBRARY INC | MA | B70 | $86,204 | $66,937 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE TRURO LIBRARY INC | MA | B70 | $74,405 | $32,469 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE REUBEN HOAR LIBRARY INC | MA | T11 | $48,142 | $59,842 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE ELM GROVE LIBRARY INC | WI | B11 | $69,303 | $45,403 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY INC | GA | Not reported | $71,219 | $68,562 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE FRISCO PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | TX | Not reported | $105,022 | $84,959 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE WEST TISBURY LIBRARY INC | MA | Not reported | $44,911 | $37,748 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE CONCORD FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | MA | B11 | $87,700 | $124,300 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE WACO PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | TX | B71 | $119,870 | $101,659 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE AVON FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | CT | Not reported | $68,574 | $49,266 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE MATHEWS MEMORIAL LIBRARY INC | VA | B11 | $48,193 | $34,546 | DIRECTOR/BOO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY | MI | Not reported | $61,990 | $43,658 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF LITHGOW LIBRARY INC | ME | B11 | $63,683 | $29,474 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE RANCHO BERNARDO LIBRARY INC | CA | Not reported | $56,047 | $53,663 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE SANDWICH PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | MA | B71 | $57,810 | $58,646 | SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE DURHAM LIBRARY INC | NC | Not reported | $122,560 | $80,958 | MEMBER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE WINCHESTER PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | MA | P20 | $126,678 | $53,997 | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE WHITEFISH BAY LIBRARY INC | WI | Not reported | $77,302 | $39,510 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY OF BONITA | FL | Not reported | $86,749 | $67,777 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE LARGO LIBRARY INC | FL | Not reported | $79,224 | $118,211 | TREASURER | $3,600 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE SAUGERTIES PUBLIC LIBRARY INC | NY | B70 | $98,386 | $102,712 | Co-president | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| FRIENDS OF THE RIVERHEAD FREE LIBRARY INC | NY | B11 | $44,943 | $53,447 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FRIENDS OF THE ROSWELL LIBRARY INC | GA | Not reported | $81,467 | $50,082 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990EZ · $65,211 spent · pay $0 · grants $46,533 · events $17,662
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $46,533 | 71.4% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $11,871 | 18.2% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $4,897 | 7.5% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $1,910 | 2.9% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $17,662 | reported apart |
| Total | $65,211 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990EZ · $87,622 spent · pay $0 · grants $79,376 · events $9,907
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $79,376 | 90.6% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $4,647 | 5.3% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $3,599 | 4.1% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $9,907 | reported apart |
| Total | $87,622 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990EZ · $64,278 spent · pay $0 · grants $54,097 · events $16,288
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $54,097 | 84.2% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $5,222 | 8.1% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $4,275 | 6.7% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $684 | 1.1% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $16,288 | reported apart |
| Total | $64,278 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990EZ · $49,034 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $12,775
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $42,410 | 86.5% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $3,647 | 7.4% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $2,477 | 5.1% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $500 | 1.0% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $12,775 | reported apart |
| Total | $49,034 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990EZ · $44,111 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $3,829
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $37,774 | 85.6% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $3,885 | 8.8% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $1,421 | 3.2% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $1,031 | 2.3% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $3,829 | reported apart |
| Total | $44,111 | 100% |
Comments