MID-HUDSON VALLEY EARLY EDUCATION CENTER

Cite this

Plain text MID-HUDSON VALLEY EARLY EDUCATION CENTER. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2015–2024. https://furp.org/org/mid-hudson-valley-early-education-center-465534882. Retrieved 2026-10-29.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). MID-HUDSON VALLEY EARLY EDUCATION CENTER [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2015–2024]. Retrieved October 29, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/mid-hudson-valley-early-education-center-465534882

MLA “MID-HUDSON VALLEY EARLY EDUCATION CENTER.” furp.org, tax years 2015–2024, https://furp.org/org/mid-hudson-valley-early-education-center-465534882. Accessed 29 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-29; covers tax years 2015–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990 · revenue $10.0M · expenses $10.4M · assets $4.4M

EIN
46-5534882
Address
100 WOODS RD TAYLOR PAVILION M222, VALHALLA, NY 10595-1530
Website
WWW.MIDHUDSONREGIONAL.ORG
NTEE code
B99
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
April 2015 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity, 509(a)(2)
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

DEVELOP, MAINTAIN, AND ADVANCE PROGRAMS TO EMPOWER CHILDREN TO LEARN AND GROW THROUGH A VARIETY OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES AND EXPERIENCES.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

15 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsLatest year payTotal pay from hereOrganizations
Julie Switzer CHAIRMAN (RETIRED OCTOBER 2024)2017-2024 $1,045,814$8,328,701 9
Joline Frey BOARD MEMBER2019-2024 $369,570$1,944,398 2
Margaret Slomin DIRECTOR (TERMED OCTOBER 2024)2015-2024 $206,790$1,651,316 1
John Morgan TREASURER2023-2024 $874,531$1,529,634 6
Barbara Kukowski CHAIRMAN (AS OF NOVEMBER 2024)2024 $633,286$633,286 1
Elissa Waliszewski BOARD MEMBER (STARTED NOVEMBER 2024)2024 $565,238$565,238 6
Sharon Marino EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (TERMED DECEMBER 2024)2024 $353,127$353,127 1
James Crecco EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (AS OF DECEMBER 2024)2024 $288,734$288,734 1
Jodie Ceseratto DIRECTOR (AS OF NOVEMBER 2024)2024 $182,719$182,719 1
David Ingber (former) TREASURER (resigned November 2023)2017-2023 $465,648$5,798,222 3
Paul Hochenberg (former) FORMER EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR2015-2022 $147,827$2,871,210 6
Anthony Mahler (former) CHAIRMAN (RESIGNED 6/1/17)2015-2017 $653,491$1,811,498 3
Richard Rank (former) TREASURER (RESIGNED 6/1/17)2015-2017 $393,807$1,208,859 1
Mecca Mitchell (former) trustee2019-2020 $474,558$944,737 1
Mecca Santana (former) trustee2017-2018 $422,751$730,199 1

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

1 person listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
lawrence shaffer (former) trustee term ended 09/30/20152015 1 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 9 people listed · 9 paid, $4.5M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JULIE SWITZER CHAIRMAN (RETIRED OCTOBER 2024)1 $0$1,013,867$31,947 $1,045,8149
JOHN MORGAN TREASURER1 $0$839,830$34,701 $874,5316
BARBARA KUKOWSKI CHAIRMAN (AS OF NOVEMBER 2024)1 $0$598,163$35,123 $633,2861
ELISSA WALISZEWSKI BOARD MEMBER (STARTED NOVEMBER 2024)1 $0$534,090$31,148 $565,2386
JOLINE FREY BOARD MEMBER1 $0$312,997$56,573 $369,5702
SHARON MARINO EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (TERMED DECEMBER 2024)1 $0$319,834$33,293 $353,1271
JAMES CRECCO EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (AS OF DECEMBER 2024)1 $0$226,564$62,170 $288,7341
MARGARET SLOMIN DIRECTOR (TERMED OCTOBER 2024)40 $0$169,363$37,427 $206,7901
JODIE CESERATTO DIRECTOR (AS OF NOVEMBER 2024)1 $0$170,746$11,973 $182,7191
2023 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $2.7M · 0 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JULIE SWITZER CHAIRMAN1 $0$1,059,210$34,187 $1,093,3979
JOHN MORGAN Treasurer (as of November 2023)1 $0$622,886$32,217 $655,1036
DAVID INGBER TREASURER (resigned November 2023)1 $0$381,163$84,485 $465,6483
JOLINE FREY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1 $0$286,105$52,096 $338,2012
MARGARET SLOMIN SECRETARY40 $0$159,170$36,506 $195,6761
2022 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $2.7M · 0 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JULIE SWITZER CHAIRMAN1 $0$1,062,607$47,287 $1,109,8949
DAVID INGBER TREASURER1 $0$859,127$89,868 $948,9953
JOLINE FREY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1 $0$274,012$50,290 $324,3022
MARGARET SLOMIN SECRETARY39 $0$153,023$33,694 $186,7171
PAUL HOCHENBERG FORMER EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR0 $0$139,999$7,828 $147,8276
2021 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $2.5M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JULIE SWITZER CHAIRMAN1 $0$1,021,437$43,120 $1,064,5579
DAVID INGBER TREASURER1 $0$805,912$77,817 $883,7293
JOLINE FREY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1 $0$264,602$48,230 $312,8322
MARGARET SLOMIN SECRETARY39 $0$114,923$35,490 $150,4131
PAUL HOCHENBERG FORMER EXEC. DIRECTOR0 $0$123,750$0 $123,7506
2020 · 6 people listed · 6 paid, $3.1M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
julie switzer chairman1 $0$960,705$92,165 $1,052,8709
DAVID INGBER TREASURER1 $0$850,985$85,390 $936,3753
MECCA MITCHELL trustee1 $0$398,355$76,203 $474,5581
JOLINE FREY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1 $0$255,190$47,865 $303,0552
PAUL HOCHENBERG FORMER EXEC. DIRECTOR0 $0$131,250$45,104 $176,3546
MARGARET SLOMIN secretary39 $0$143,627$29,216 $172,8431
2019 · 6 people listed · 6 paid, $3.2M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
julie switzer chairman1 $0$915,495$89,200 $1,004,6959
DAVID INGBER TREASURER1 $0$836,013$83,314 $919,3273
MECCA MITCHELL trustee1 $0$394,426$75,753 $470,1791
PAUL HOCHENBERG EXE. DIRECTOR (UNTIL 06/2019)1 $0$305,333$59,181 $364,5146
JOLINE FREY EXE. DIRECTOR (EFF. 06/2019)1 $0$236,049$60,389 $296,4382
MARGARET SLOMIN secretary39 $0$139,477$31,907 $171,3841
2018 · 5 people listed · 5 paid, $3.1M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
julie switzer chairman1 $0$877,350$125,589 $1,002,9399
DAVID INGBER TRUSTEE1 $0$817,794$111,378 $929,1723
PAUL HOCHENBERG EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1 $0$453,211$97,234 $550,4456
MECCA SANTANA trustee1 $0$337,178$85,573 $422,7511
MARGARET SLOMIN secretary40 $0$132,129$29,820 $161,9491
2017 · 7 people listed · 7 paid, $3.7M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JULIE SWITZER CHAIRMAN1 $0$851,690$102,845 $954,5359
DAVID INGBER TRUSTEE1 $0$614,741$100,235 $714,9763
ANTHONY MAHLER CHAIRMAN (RESIGNED 6/1/17)1 $0$573,909$79,582 $653,4913
Paul Hochenberg Executive Director1 $0$424,072$95,849 $519,9216
RICHARD RANK TREASURER (RESIGNED 6/1/17)1 $0$321,392$72,415 $393,8071
MECCA SANTANA TRUSTEE1 $0$228,755$78,693 $307,4481
MARGARET SLOMIN SECRETARY40 $0$125,244$34,169 $159,4131
2016 · 4 people listed · 4 paid, $1.7M · 0 employees · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Anthony Mahler Chairman1 $0$522,033$97,206 $619,2393
Paul Hochenberg Executive Director1 $0$429,703$94,144 $523,8476
Richard Rank Treasurer1 $0$318,063$92,070 $410,1331
MARGARET SLOMIN SECRETARY40 $0$119,764$5,509 $125,2731
2015 · 5 people listed · 4 paid, $1.5M · 0 employees · 2 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Anthony Mahler Chairman1 $0$440,864$97,904 $538,7683
Paul Hochenberg Executive Director1 $0$363,718$100,834 $464,5526
Richard Rank Treasurer1 $0$301,102$103,817 $404,9191
Margaret Slomin SECRETARY40 $0$115,979$4,879 $120,8581
lawrence shaffer trustee term ended 09/30/20151 $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

2024 · 2 contractors · $303K
NameLocationServicePaid
CROTHALL HEALTHCARE INCCHICAGO, ILHOUSEKEEPING$172,007
ALLIANCE GROUPJERICHO, NYFINANICAL CONSULTANT$130,980
2023 · 1 contractor · $212K
NameLocationServicePaid
ALLIANCE GROUPJERICHO, NYFINANICAL CONSULTANT$211,653
2022 · 1 contractor · $100K
NameLocationServicePaid
ALLIANCE GROUPJERICHO, NYFINANICAL CONSULTANT$100,478
2021 · 1 contractor · $180K
NameLocationServicePaid
ALLIANCE GROUPJERICHO, NYFINANICAL CONSULTANT$180,293
2018 · 1 contractor · $121K
NameLocationServicePaid
The Alliance GroupJERICHO, NYconsultant$120,773
2017 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2016 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$10,018,713$10,441,095 $4,440,767-$6,203,245 $626,537$9,392,115 $001
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$9,818,246$11,039,496 $5,926,922-$5,780,863 $719,143$9,098,938 $000
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$9,380,221$9,883,784 $5,742,225-$4,559,613 $520,049$8,860,172 $000
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,697,326$9,865,423 $6,537,521-$4,056,050 $443,884$8,253,427 $001
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,822,352$10,495,492 $6,976,265-$2,887,953 $393,871$8,428,231 $001
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$10,332,792$9,625,746 $5,330,107-$1,214,813 $432,802$9,899,960 $001
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2018-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$9,219,910$9,490,689 $3,848,677-$2,301,427 $392,673$8,827,196 $001
2017 · Form 990 period ending 2017-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,625,570$10,071,508 $3,927,417-$2,030,648 $441,335$8,182,865 $001
2016 · Form 990 period ending 2016-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$9,302,201$9,808,617 $4,365,701-$584,710 $366,350$8,935,799 $001
2015 · Form 990 period ending 2015-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,388,765$8,615,432 $4,192,642-$78,294 $389,161$7,998,824 $002

Connected to

Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.

Funders of this organization

2 grantors reported grants to this organization, $67,963 in all, tax years 2013 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
CHILD CARE COUNCIL OF DUTCHESS AND PUTNAM INC Public charity Exact 2013, 2015-2019 7$67,947 2019$10,460
show
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “MID-HUDSON VALLEY EARLY EDUCATION CENTER” 2022-2023 2$16 2023$11
show

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
MARC ACADEMY & FAMILY CENTER INCNYB99 $10,075,031$9,555,071 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$139,993 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
M2 THE INSTITUTE FOR EXPERIENTIAL JEWISH EDUCATIONNYB99 $7,908,393$5,398,444 VP OF PROGRAMS$175,659 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
BEGINNING WITH CHILDREN FOUNDATION INCNYB99 $7,179,899$7,199,023 CHAIR AND CEO$274,115 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
NEW YORK CENTER FOR CHILD DEVELOPMENTNYB99 $12,996,027$12,214,195 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$324,019 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
VILLAGE ACADEMIES INCNYB99 $14,601,046$14,812,555 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$728,105 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
KING CENTER CHARTER SCHOOLNYB99 $6,533,009$7,044,045 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$165,950 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
ROCHESTER EDUCATION ASSOCIATION FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF YOUTH INCNYB99 $5,338,099$1,162,183 EXECUTIVE DI$166,875 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
POTSDAM AUXILIARY & COLLEGE EDUCATIONAL SERVICES INCNYB99 $7,337,011$7,269,523 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$162,476 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
PRIZMAH CENTER FOR JEWISH DAY SCHOOLS INCNYB99 $9,168,239$9,134,353 EX-OFFICIO, CEO$486,091 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
CAVE CANEM FOUNDATION INCNYB99 $5,062,490$2,159,920 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$167,273 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT CORPNYB99 $11,637,955$11,394,949 Executive Director TTP$155,596 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
TEACHING MATTERS INCNYB99 $15,983,600$12,832,866 CEO$329,495 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL OF BROOKLYNNYB99 $18,172,425$18,110,519 HEAD OF SCHOOL$429,105 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
ASCEND LEARNING INCNYB99 $19,602,469$18,106,272 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER - THRU 5/2025$344,002 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
WORLD ZIONIST ORGANIZATION AMERICAN SECTION INCNYB99 $7,799,393$7,903,989 DIRECTOR$143,683 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
NORTHSIDE CHARTER HIGH SCHOOLNYB99 $9,927,807$10,418,653 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$263,908 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
STUDENT ASSOCIATION OF BINGHAMTON UNIVERSITY INCNYB99 $5,131,355$5,275,069 FINANCIAL DIREC$92,478 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
WATERSHED AGRICULTURAL COUNCIL OF THE NEW YORK CITY WATERSHEDS INCNYB99 $17,180,494$17,099,677 EXECUTIVE DI$201,056 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
AMERICA ON TECH INCNYB99 $5,387,292$4,574,195 CEO$256,584 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
HER JUSTICE INCNYB99 $7,351,926$7,267,084 HEAD OF LEGAL PROGRAMS & POLICY$217,214 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
THE LEADERSHIP ACADEMY INCNYB99 $6,014,329$7,112,160 PRESIDENT AND CEO$356,087 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INCNYB99 $8,747,904$7,952,137 CEO/CO-FOUNDER$270,300 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
STARTING POINT SERVICES FOR CHILDREN INCNYB99 $7,597,087$7,726,383 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$302,966 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
AIDS COMMUNITY RESOURCESNYB99 $10,525,965$10,080,869 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$166,625 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state
BELLINGCAT US INCNYB99 $6,772,053$1,560,628 Chairman$0 Same NTEE code B99, revenue within 2x, same state

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
GATES FOUNDATION Private foundation$106,203,64698 102010–2024 WASHINGTON STATE CHARTER SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION; THE CALIFORNIA EDUCATION PARTNERS; TEACHING MATTERS INC; SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC and 6 more
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$34,902,001185 372016–2024 BELLINGCAT US INC; RIEKES CENTER FOR HUMAN ENHANCEMENT; THE FAMILY LEADER FOUNDATION INC; SPOKANE INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY and 33 more
FOUNDATION FOR THE CAROLINAS DAF sponsor$25,366,00013 32015–2024 POPULATION MEDIA CENTER INC; THE LPGA FOUNDATION; SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC
SHIMON BEN JOSEPH FOUNDATION Private foundation$24,857,12359 32014–2024 PRIZMAH CENTER FOR JEWISH DAY SCHOOLS INC; SEFARIA INC; M2 THE INSTITUTE FOR EXPERIENTIAL JEWISH EDUCATION
JEWISH COMMUNAL FUND DAF sponsor$21,540,79977 132009–2024 M2 THE INSTITUTE FOR EXPERIENTIAL JEWISH EDUCATION; VILLAGE ACADEMIES INC; SEFARIA INC; PRIZMAH CENTER FOR JEWISH DAY SCHOOLS INC and 9 more
THE CHICAGO COMMUNITY TRUST DAF sponsor$20,132,60021 82016–2024 ASCEND LEARNING INC; THE MANAGEMENT CENTER; AMERICA ON TECH INC; MIKVA CHALLENGE GRANT FOUNDATION INC and 4 more
NATIONAL CHRISTIAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$19,398,35550 102012–2024 INSTITUTE FOR QUALITY EDUCATION INC; THE FAMILY LEADER FOUNDATION INC; CHILDREN AT HEART FOUNDATION; HER JUSTICE INC and 6 more
JEWISH FEDERATION OF GREATER INDIANAPOLIS INC DAF sponsor$18,705,69317 22010–2024 JEWISH COMMUNITY CENTER ASSOCIATION OF INDIANAPOLIS INCORPORATED; INSTITUTE FOR QUALITY EDUCATION INC
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$15,739,32885 212014–2024 SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC; VILLAGE ACADEMIES INC; RIEKES CENTER FOR HUMAN ENHANCEMENT; SEFARIA INC and 17 more
GS DONOR ADVISED PHILANTHROPY FUND FOR WEALTH MANAGEMENT INC DAF sponsor$14,103,28226 122017–2024 WASHINGTON STATE CHARTER SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION; ASSOCIATION FOR PROGRESSIVE COMMUNICATIONS; NATIONAL COLLEGE ATTAINMENT NETWORK; RIEKES CENTER FOR HUMAN ENHANCEMENT and 8 more
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$13,988,90545 102010–2024 SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC; FPF EDUCATION AND INNOVATION FOUNDATION; RIEKES CENTER FOR HUMAN ENHANCEMENT; THE LEADERSHIP ACADEMY INC and 6 more
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$9,549,807145 292014–2024 RIEKES CENTER FOR HUMAN ENHANCEMENT; SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC; THE FAMILY LEADER FOUNDATION INC; HER JUSTICE INC and 25 more
ROBERT & RUTH HALPERIN FOUNDATION Private foundation$9,170,0005 12020–2024 THE CALIFORNIA EDUCATION PARTNERS
WILLIAM & FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Private foundation$8,406,66745 42010–2024 BUCK INSTITUTE FOR EDUCATION; SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC; THE CALIFORNIA EDUCATION PARTNERS; MIKVA CHALLENGE GRANT FOUNDATION INC
THE HEISING-SIMONS FOUNDATION Private foundation$8,180,0008 22018–2024 THE CALIFORNIA EDUCATION PARTNERS; SOLUTIONS JOURNALISM NETWORK INC

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990 · $10,441,095 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $8,179
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $8,456,384$8,033,565$422,819- 81.0%
Occupancy $654,394$621,674$32,720- 6.3%
Interest $425,459$404,186$21,273- 4.1%
Office expenses $158,924$151,490$7,434- 1.5%
Fees: accounting $144,201$136,991$7,210- 1.4%
All other expenses $105,821$96,840$8,981$0 1.0%
Depreciation and depletion $103,690$98,506$5,184- 1.0%
Fees: other services $100,246$95,234$5,012$0 1.0%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $99,900$0$99,900- 1.0%
Insurance $76,757$72,919$3,838- 0.7%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $40,768$39,696$1,072- 0.4%
Information technology $32,324$30,708$1,616- 0.3%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $27,720$27,720$0- 0.3%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $8,179$7,770$409- 0.1%
Fees: legal $6,580$0$6,580- 0.1%
Advertising and promotion -$252-$252-- -0.0%
Total$10,441,095100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $11,039,496 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $6,735
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $8,835,861$8,394,068$441,793- 80.0%
Occupancy $652,339$619,722$32,617- 5.9%
Interest $587,559$558,181$29,378- 5.3%
Fees: accounting $184,947$175,700$9,247- 1.7%
Office expenses $169,139$161,552$7,587- 1.5%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $111,326$0$111,326- 1.0%
Depreciation and depletion $108,143$102,736$5,407- 1.0%
All other expenses $92,184$68,717$23,467$0 0.8%
Fees: other services $90,187$85,678$4,509$0 0.8%
Insurance $77,793$73,903$3,890- 0.7%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $56,392$55,576$816- 0.5%
Information technology $34,433$32,711$1,722- 0.3%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $29,080$29,080$0- 0.3%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $6,735$6,398$337- 0.1%
Advertising and promotion $3,378$3,378$0- 0.0%
Total$11,039,496100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $9,883,784 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $2,988
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $7,972,516$7,573,890$398,626- 80.7%
Occupancy $671,834$638,242$33,592- 6.8%
Interest $424,829$403,588$21,241- 4.3%
Office expenses $157,796$150,501$7,295- 1.6%
Fees: accounting $151,793$144,203$7,590- 1.5%
Depreciation and depletion $114,442$108,720$5,722- 1.2%
Fees: other services $88,128$83,722$4,406$0 0.9%
Insurance $84,061$79,858$4,203- 0.9%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $63,088-$63,088- 0.6%
All other expenses $61,615$46,656$14,959$0 0.6%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $33,745$33,141$604- 0.3%
Information technology $33,424$31,753$1,671- 0.3%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $23,425$23,425$0- 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $2,988$2,838$150- 0.0%
Advertising and promotion $100$100$0- 0.0%
Total$9,883,784100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $9,865,423 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $5,325
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $8,203,343$7,793,176$410,167- 83.2%
Occupancy $489,557$465,079$24,478- 5.0%
Interest $277,240$263,378$13,862- 2.8%
Office expenses $225,252$216,093$9,159- 2.3%
Fees: accounting $175,680$166,896$8,784- 1.8%
Depreciation and depletion $111,294$105,729$5,565- 1.1%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $81,261$78,864$2,397- 0.8%
Insurance $80,320$76,304$4,016- 0.8%
Fees: other services $69,935$66,438$3,497- 0.7%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $52,237-$52,237- 0.5%
All other expenses $41,299$23,840$17,459- 0.4%
Information technology $32,798$31,158$1,640- 0.3%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $19,630$19,630-- 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $5,325$5,059$266- 0.1%
Advertising and promotion $252$252-- 0.0%
Total$9,865,423100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $10,495,492 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $416
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $8,804,907$8,364,662$440,245$0 83.9%
Occupancy $523,455$497,282$26,173- 5.0%
Interest $338,251$321,338$16,913- 3.2%
Office expenses $237,885$230,232$7,653- 2.3%
Fees: other services $97,422$92,551$4,871- 0.9%
Depreciation and depletion $96,186$91,377$4,809- 0.9%
Fees: accounting $86,038$81,736$4,302- 0.8%
Insurance $78,169$74,261$3,908- 0.7%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $71,948$70,724$1,224$0 0.7%
All other expenses $44,126$14,560$29,566- 0.4%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $42,884$0$42,884$0 0.4%
Information technology $34,283$32,569$1,714- 0.3%
Fees: legal $23,484$22,310$1,174$0 0.2%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $15,798$15,798$0$0 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $416$395$21- 0.0%
Advertising and promotion $240$240-- 0.0%
Total$10,495,492100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990 · $9,625,746 spent · pay $0 · grants $20,377 · events $19,445
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)PURCHASED SERVICES $8,121,597$7,715,517$406,080$0 84.4%
Occupancy $789,634$750,152$39,482$0 8.2%
Office expenses $122,223$116,112$6,111$0 1.3%
Fees: accounting $104,851$99,609$5,242$0 1.1%
Fees: other services $100,892$95,847$5,045$0 1.0%
Insurance $72,343$68,726$3,617$0 0.8%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $69,403$69,403$0$0 0.7%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $43,993$0$43,993$0 0.5%
Depreciation and depletion $43,383$41,214$2,169$0 0.5%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $41,560$41,560$0$0 0.4%
All other expenses $40,549$19,700$20,849- 0.4%
Information technology $32,525$30,899$1,626$0 0.3%
Grants to US individuals $20,377$20,377-- 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $19,445$18,473$972$0 0.2%
Advertising and promotion $2,971$2,971$0$0 0.0%
Total$9,625,746100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990 · $9,490,689 spent · pay $0 · grants $5,780 · events $6,146
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)OUTSOURCED STAFFING $7,934,306$7,537,591$396,715$0 83.6%
Occupancy $834,380$792,661$41,719$0 8.8%
Fees: accounting $138,473$131,549$6,924$0 1.5%
Office expenses $117,291$111,426$5,865$0 1.2%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $79,863$79,863$0$0 0.8%
Fees: other services $77,463$73,590$3,873$0 0.8%
Insurance $72,652$69,019$3,633$0 0.8%
Other (as described)SUPPLIES $58,707$58,707$0$0 0.6%
Depreciation and depletion $52,884$50,240$2,644$0 0.6%
All other expenses $39,807$13,059$26,748- 0.4%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $39,649$0$39,649$0 0.4%
Information technology $31,788$30,199$1,589$0 0.3%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $6,146$5,839$307$0 0.1%
Grants to US individuals $5,780$5,780-- 0.1%
Advertising and promotion $1,500$1,500$0$0 0.0%
Total$9,490,689100%

View the filing

2017 · Form 990 · $10,071,508 spent · pay $0 · grants $6,062 · events $12,085
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)OUTSOURCED STAFFING $8,468,629$8,045,197$423,432$0 84.1%
Occupancy $820,111$779,105$41,006$0 8.1%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $129,100$129,100$0$0 1.3%
Office expenses $108,438$103,016$5,422$0 1.1%
Fees: accounting $98,473$93,549$4,924$0 1.0%
Depreciation and depletion $83,891$79,696$4,195$0 0.8%
Other (as described)OPERATING SUPPLIES $76,087$76,087$0$0 0.8%
Insurance $71,931$68,334$3,597$0 0.7%
Fees: other services $66,643$63,311$3,332$0 0.7%
All other expenses $54,669$28,488$26,181- 0.5%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING $43,124$0$43,124$0 0.4%
Information technology $30,226$28,715$1,511$0 0.3%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $12,085$11,481$604$0 0.1%
Grants to US individuals $6,062$6,062-- 0.1%
Advertising and promotion $2,039$2,039$0$0 0.0%
Total$10,071,508100%

View the filing

2016 · Form 990 · $9,808,617 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $16,569
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)OUTSOURCED STAFFING $8,344,940$7,927,693$417,247$0 85.1%
Occupancy $807,795$767,405$40,390$0 8.2%
Other (as described)FOOD SUPPLIES $121,314$121,314$0$0 1.2%
Depreciation and depletion $84,762$80,524$4,238$0 0.9%
Office expenses $79,296$57,343$21,953$0 0.8%
Insurance $67,966$64,568$3,398$0 0.7%
Fees: management $63,793$63,793$0$0 0.7%
Other (as described)GENERAL OPERATING SUPPLIES $63,537$63,537$0$0 0.6%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING SVCS $38,489$36,565$1,924$0 0.4%
All other expenses $37,964$12,854$25,110- 0.4%
Fees: other services $34,594$32,864$1,730$0 0.4%
Information technology $26,502$25,177$1,325$0 0.3%
Fees: accounting $21,000$16,760$4,240$0 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $16,569$15,741$828$0 0.2%
Advertising and promotion $96$96$0$0 0.0%
Total$9,808,617100%

View the filing

2015 · Form 990 · $8,615,432 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $16,271
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Outsourced Staffing $7,213,657$6,275,882$937,775$0 83.7%
Occupancy $795,367$691,969$103,398$0 9.2%
Other (as described)Food Supplies $114,491$114,491$0$0 1.3%
Office expenses $80,349$58,639$21,710$0 0.9%
All other expenses $75,295$25,763$49,532- 0.9%
Insurance $66,515$57,868$8,647$0 0.8%
Depreciation and depletion $53,312$46,381$6,931$0 0.6%
Other (as described)GENERAL OPERATING SUPPLIES $49,538$49,538$0$0 0.6%
Fees: accounting $45,470$39,559$5,911$0 0.5%
Information technology $37,263$32,419$4,844$0 0.4%
Other (as described)HOUSEKEEPING SVCS $36,526$0$36,526$0 0.4%
Fees: other services $25,174$21,901$3,273- 0.3%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $16,271$14,155$2,116$0 0.2%
Travel $4,395$3,824$571$0 0.1%
Advertising and promotion $1,809$1,809$0$0 0.0%
Total$8,615,432100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.