BROWNTON HOUSING CORPORATION

Cite this

Plain text BROWNTON HOUSING CORPORATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2017–2025. https://furp.org/org/brownton-housing-corporation-411241207. Retrieved 2026-11-01.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). BROWNTON HOUSING CORPORATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2017–2025]. Retrieved November 1, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/brownton-housing-corporation-411241207

MLA “BROWNTON HOUSING CORPORATION.” furp.org, tax years 2017–2025, https://furp.org/org/brownton-housing-corporation-411241207. Accessed 1 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-01; covers tax years 2017–2025. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990 · revenue $475K · expenses $440K · assets $1.3M

EIN
41-1241207
Address
201 N BROAD ST STE 109, MANKATO, MN 56001-3569
NTEE code
L21
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
January 2021 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity, 509(a)(2)
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

PROVIDE LOW INCOME HOUSING

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 11 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

11 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Edward M Tschida CHAIRPERSON2017-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Sue Keithahn BOARD MEMBER2019-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Karl Johnson BOARD MEMBER2019-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Kathy Vantol SECRETARY/TREASURER2024-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Philip Carter VICE CHAIR2025 1 $0 reported 1
Pam Year (former) VICE CHAIR2019-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Larry Vantol (former) SEC. TREAS.2017-2020 Not reported $0 reported 1
Charles Warner (former) OFFICER2017-2018 Not reported $0 reported 1
Robert Kreie (former) OFFICER2017-2018 Not reported $0 reported 1
Bob Metzel (former) OFFICER2017-2018 Not reported $0 reported 1
Dan Weir (former) OFFICER2017-2018 Not reported $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON1 $0$0$0 $01
PHILIP CARTER VICE CHAIR1 $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN BOARD MEMBER1 $0$0$0 $01
KARL JOHNSON BOARD MEMBER1 $0$0$0 $01
KATHY VANTOL SECRETARY/TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
2024 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON1 $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR VICE CHAIR1 $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN BOARD MEMBER1 $0$0$0 $01
KARL JOHNSON BOARD MEMBER1 $0$0$0 $01
KATHY VANTOL SECRETARY1 $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
KARL JOHNSON OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON- $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR VICE CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
KARL JOHNSON OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON- $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR VICE CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
KARL JOHNSON OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON- $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR VICE CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
KARL JOHNSON OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON- $0$0$0 $01
LARRY VANTOL SEC. TREAS.- $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR VICE CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2019 · 5 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
KARL JOHNSON OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
SUE KEITHAHN OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
EDWARD M TSCHIDA CHAIRPERSON- $0$0$0 $01
LARRY VANTOL OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
PAM YEAR OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
2018 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EDWARD M TSCHIDA OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
CHARLES WARNER OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT KREIE OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
BOB METZEL OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
LARRY VANTOL OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
DAN WEIR OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
2017 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EDWARD M TSCHIDA OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
CHARLES WARNER OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT KREIE OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
BOB METZEL OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
LARRY VANTOL OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01
DAN WEIR OFFICER- $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990 period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$475,195$440,362 $1,337,904-$148,593 $0$475,171 $000
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$437,365$424,407 $1,042,540-$105,656 $0$437,347 $000
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$190,114$172,177 $522,605$27,332 $0$211,484 -0-
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$209,723$203,496 $509,052$9,417 $0$208,884 -0-
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$192,175$204,841 $510,459$3,190 $0$192,168 -0-
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$200,485$185,629 $512,999$15,856 $0$200,485 -0-
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$185,295$211,314 $505,465$1,000 $0$185,295 -0-
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2018-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$236,714$229,443 $539,375$27,015 $0$236,714 -0-
2017 · Form 990 period ending 2017-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$167,958$184,954 $540,296$19,745 $0$167,958 -0-

Funders of this organization

2 grantors reported grants to this organization, $23,000 in all, tax years 2020 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
MANKATO AREA FOUNDATION DAF sponsor Exact 2023 1$18,000 2023$18,000
show
GREATER MINNESOTA HOUSING FUND Public charity Exact 2020 1$5,000 2020$5,000
show

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
KNOLLWOOD COMMUNITY HOUSING CORPORATIONMNL21 $583,763$471,094 CEO (THRU 06/2024)$374,548 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
WILDWOOD MANORMNL21 $607,679$473,635 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state, similar mission
DELANO COMMONS SENIOR HOUSINGMNL21 $423,416$297,332 EXECUTIVE VP OF COMMONBOND$263,592 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
SOUTH LAKE TAHOE SUPPORTIVE HOUSING INCMNL21 $382,837$469,896 PRESIDENT$621,952 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
SARTELL SENIOR HOUSING INCMNL21 $347,322$452,283 PRESIDENT/TR$599,259 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
NHHI ASI-SENIOR BLOOMINGTON INCMNL21 $454,947$512,535 TREASURER$310,879 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
ASI HOMES INCMNL21 $405,898$290,677 PRESIDENT/TR$621,952 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
ST FRANCIS OF ASSISSI INCMNL21 $546,022$561,046 PRESIDENT & CEO$546,642 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
PERIS FOUNDATIONMNL21 $714,756$361,598 Executive Dir.$59,073 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
ENVISION COMMUNITIES INCMNL21 $404,625$201,062 CHAIR$14,107 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
LANDING APARTMENTSMNL21 $513,499$670,921 TREASURER$259,181 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
BETHLEHEM INN OF WASECAMNL21 $318,812$156,958 Shelter Manager$44,427 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
J-HAP INCMNL21 $676,378$517,145 PRESIDENT EMERITUS$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
SEABURYMNL21 $535,021$742,673 PRESIDENT/CEO$371,663 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, same state
CCHD CHARITABLE CORPORATIONUTL21 $616,167$7,585 VICE PRESIDE$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
HOLY FAMILY HOUSING CORPORATIONMAL21 $560,153$581,544 PRESIDENT (THROUGH NOVEMBER 2024)$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
GREENVILLE PUBLIC HOUSING CORPORATIONKYL21 $380,274$52,566 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
MANTECA SENIOR HOUSING CORPORATIONCAL21 $385,379$584,350 PRESIDENT$662,794 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
529 EXCHANGE HOUSING DEVELOPMENT FUND COMPANY INCNYL21 $577,341$447,560 CEO$174,610 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
MANITO PRESBYTERIAN HOMES INCWAL21 $634,884$536,299 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
NORWICH HOUSING CORPVTL21 $521,209$540,680 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
BIRCH TREE HOUSING CORPORATIONMOL21 $366,435$413,928 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
CROWN HOUSING CORPORATIONCAL21 $345,490$157,297 CHAIR$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar name
IDA B WELLS INCCTL21 $469,321$604,982 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission
FLORAL GARDENS APARTMENTS INCCAL21 $687,225$752,126 VICE PRESIDENT$354,634 Same NTEE code L21, revenue within 2x, similar mission

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
MINNEAPOLIS JEWISH FEDERATION DAF sponsor$1,031,26611 12011–2024 J-HAP INC
JOHN & DENISE GRAVES FOUNDATION Private foundation$330,5008 12022–2024 PERIS FOUNDATION
POHLAD FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$315,0002 12022–2023 PERIS FOUNDATION
SAUER FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$207,0003 12023–2025 PERIS FOUNDATION
MCKNIGHT FOUNDATION Private foundation$200,0002 12023–2024 ENVISION COMMUNITIES INC
MINNEAPOLIS FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$137,5184 22018–2024 PERIS FOUNDATION; J-HAP INC
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$117,8699 22017–2024 J-HAP INC; BETHLEHEM INN OF WASECA
THRIVENT CHARITABLE IMPACT & INVESTING DAF sponsor$114,5931 12023–2023 SPOKANE URBAN MINISTRIES
OTTO BREMER TRUST Private foundation$100,0005 22019–2024 BETHLEHEM INN OF WASECA; J-HAP INC
NEWPORT MILLENNIUM HOUSING CORPORATION IV Private foundation$90,0001 12021–2021 NEWPORT MILLENNIUM HOUSING CORPORATION III
MORGAN STANLEY GLOBAL IMPACT FUNDING TRUST INC DAF sponsor$57,5002 12018–2023 J-HAP INC
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$50,0002 12019–2020 J-HAP INC
SAINT PAUL & MINNESOTA FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$50,0002 12024–2025 BETHLEHEM INN OF WASECA
MARDAG FOUNDATION Private foundation$45,0002 12022–2024 BETHLEHEM INN OF WASECA
AMERICAN ENDOWMENT FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$30,5003 22019–2024 J-HAP INC; PERIS FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990 · $440,362 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)OPERATING AND MAINTENAN $105,522$105,522-- 24.0%
Other (as described)UTILITIES $71,546$71,546-- 16.2%
Depreciation and depletion $53,378$53,378-- 12.1%
Other (as described)ADMINISTRATIVE $49,187$49,187-- 11.2%
Fees: management $48,478$48,478-- 11.0%
Insurance $40,223$40,223-- 9.1%
Interest $26,361$26,361-- 6.0%
Other (as described)TAXES $25,044$25,044-- 5.7%
Fees: accounting $11,850$11,850-- 2.7%
All other expenses $3,653$3,653-- 0.8%
Fees: legal $3,107$3,107-- 0.7%
Fees: other services $1,517$1,517-- 0.3%
Advertising and promotion $496$496-- 0.1%
Total$440,362100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990 · $424,407 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)OPERATING AND MAINTENAN $123,321$123,321-- 29.1%
Other (as described)UTILITIES $67,151$67,151-- 15.8%
Other (as described)ADMINISTRATIVE $46,633$46,633-- 11.0%
Fees: management $44,516$44,516-- 10.5%
Other (as described)TAXES $37,880$37,880-- 8.9%
Depreciation and depletion $37,401$37,401-- 8.8%
Insurance $32,215$32,215-- 7.6%
Interest $27,472$27,472-- 6.5%
Fees: accounting $7,200$7,200-- 1.7%
Advertising and promotion $450$450-- 0.1%
Fees: legal $168$168-- 0.0%
Total$424,407100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $172,177 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $108,378$108,378-- 62.9%
Fees: management $23,700$23,700-- 13.8%
Depreciation and depletion $15,365$15,365-- 8.9%
Insurance $14,937$14,937-- 8.7%
Fees: accounting $3,600$3,600-- 2.1%
Interest $2,630$2,630-- 1.5%
Fees: legal $2,114$2,114-- 1.2%
Advertising and promotion $1,453$1,453-- 0.8%
Total$172,177100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $203,496 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $152,281$152,281-- 74.8%
Depreciation and depletion $23,895$23,895-- 11.7%
Insurance $13,522$13,522-- 6.6%
Interest $9,766$9,766-- 4.8%
Fees: accounting $3,900$3,900-- 1.9%
Advertising and promotion $132$132-- 0.1%
Total$203,496100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $204,841 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $57,249$57,249-- 27.9%
Other (as described)REPAIRS $47,256$47,256-- 23.1%
Depreciation and depletion $23,895$23,895-- 11.7%
Other (as described)MANAGEMENT FEES $20,106$20,106-- 9.8%
Insurance $19,608$19,608-- 9.6%
Other (as described)CARETAKER $17,715$17,715-- 8.6%
Interest $10,210$10,210-- 5.0%
Other (as described)MISC ADMIN $5,672$5,672-- 2.8%
Fees: accounting $3,100$3,100-- 1.5%
Advertising and promotion $30$30-- 0.0%
Total$204,841100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $185,629 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)REPAIRS $64,991$64,991-- 35.0%
Occupancy $49,200$49,200-- 26.5%
Other (as described)DEPRECIATION $23,895$23,895-- 12.9%
Other (as described)MANAGEMENT FEES $20,836$20,836-- 11.2%
Other (as described)CARETAKER $17,131$17,131-- 9.2%
All other expenses $4,473$4,473-- 2.4%
Fees: accounting $3,000$3,000-- 1.6%
Interest $2,103$2,103-- 1.1%
Total$185,629100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990 · $211,314 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $73,796$73,796-- 34.9%
Other (as described)REPAIRS $69,476$69,476-- 32.9%
Other (as described)DEPRECIATION $23,895$23,895-- 11.3%
Other (as described)MANAGEMENT FEES $17,616$17,616-- 8.3%
Other (as described)CARETAKER $14,370$14,370-- 6.8%
Fees: accounting $4,700$4,700-- 2.2%
All other expenses $3,745$3,745-- 1.8%
Interest $2,675$2,675-- 1.3%
Fees: legal $1,041$1,041-- 0.5%
Total$211,314100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990 · $229,443 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $82,072$82,072-- 35.8%
Other (as described)REPAIRS $63,660$63,660-- 27.7%
Other (as described)DEPRECIATION $27,307$27,307-- 11.9%
Other (as described)MANAGEMENT FEES $23,030$23,030-- 10.0%
Other (as described)CARETAKER $17,093$17,093-- 7.4%
Fees: accounting $5,500$5,500-- 2.4%
All other expenses $5,416$5,416-- 2.4%
Interest $5,365$5,365-- 2.3%
Total$229,443100%

View the filing

2017 · Form 990 · $184,954 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Occupancy $69,375$69,375-- 37.5%
Other (as described)REPAIRS $47,014$47,014-- 25.4%
Other (as described)DEPRECIATION $23,895$23,895-- 12.9%
Other (as described)MANAGEMENT FEES $17,190$17,190-- 9.3%
Other (as described)CARETAKER $13,960$13,960-- 7.5%
Interest $4,890$4,890-- 2.6%
Fees: accounting $4,500$4,500-- 2.4%
All other expenses $4,130$4,130-- 2.2%
Total$184,954100%

View the filing

State business registration

The same business name in the same state, from the state’s official registry data.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.