INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS DAF sponsor
Cite this
Plain text INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2014–2024. https://furp.org/org/independent-order-of-odd-fellows-381391995. Retrieved 2026-10-31.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2014–2024]. Retrieved October 31, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/independent-order-of-odd-fellows-381391995
MLA “INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS.” furp.org, tax years 2014–2024, https://furp.org/org/independent-order-of-odd-fellows-381391995. Accessed 31 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-31; covers tax years 2014–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $152K · expenses $194K · assets $2.6M
- Also known as
- Tall Oaks Camp
- EIN
- 38-1391995
- Address
- 7153 S REBECCA RD, BALDWIN, MI 49304-8372
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (association)
- Ruling date
- May 1962 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes, according to the Business Master File
- Foundation status
- Public charity, 509(a)(2)
- Donor-advised funds
- Sponsor: its returns say it maintains donor-advised funds (latest tax year 2024). Figures by year
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
To provide underprivileged, foster and other at-risk children with a rewarding and educational camping experience.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 50 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
50 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ken Borycz | Director | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Jim Coleman | Director | 2018-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 2020-2024 | 3 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 2018-2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 2020-2024 | 20 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Tina Smith | Director | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Freeman Saumier | Director | 2021-2024 | 4 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Patty VanDoorne | CEO/Director | 2021-2024 | 15 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Karen Dorman | Director | 2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Canice Borycz | Director | 2023-2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | CFO | 2018-2024 | 15 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Robert Hey | Vice CEO | 2023-2024 | 5 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Pam Adair | Corp. Secretary | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ann Sedell (former) | Director | 2023 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Paul Werner (former) | Director | 2022 | 2 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Daniel Brownrigg (former) | Vice President | 2018-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Dale Kremnetz (former) | Director | 2020-2022 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Linda Fogelsonger (former) | Director | 2018-2022 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ken Borcyz (former) | Director | 2021 | 2 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Sue Herron (former) | CEO | 2018-2021 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Elliott Brackett (former) | Director | 2018-2021 | 4 | $0 reported | 1 |
| RuthAnn Stone (former) | Director | 2021 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Donna Brownrigg (former) | Director | 2020 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Duane Hunt (former) | Director | 2018-2020 | 4 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Karen Allen (former) | Director | 2020 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dorthy Hawkins (former) | Secretary | 2018 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Edward Dahl (former) | Director | 2018 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dean Beckstein (former) | Director | 2018 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Janet Sansote (former) | Director | 2018 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| John (former) | Smith | 2014-2017 | 4 | Not reported | 61 |
| Jim (former) | Coleman | 2014-2017 | 4 | Not reported | 25 |
| Ken (former) | Borycz | 2014-2017 | 3 | Not reported | 11 |
| Sue (former) | Herron | 2014-2017 | 1 | Not reported | 7 |
| Ed (former) | Dahl | 2017 | 0 | Not reported | 6 |
| Barbara (former) | Ferry | 2014-2017 | 0 | Not reported | 2 |
| Sally (former) | Grubaugh | 2016-2017 | 0 | Not reported | 3 |
| Elliott (former) | Brackett | 2014-2017 | 0 | Not reported | 1 |
| Duane (former) | Hunt | 2015-2017 | 4 | Not reported | 1 |
| Dorthy (former) | Hawkins | 2016-2017 | 3 | Not reported | 1 |
| Terry (former) | Messmer | 2014-2017 | 10 | Not reported | 1 |
| Ruthie (former) | Earle | 2017 | 3 | Not reported | 1 |
| Donna (former) | Brownrigg | 2014-2016 | 1 | Not reported | 17 |
| Glenda (former) | McKeever | 2016 | 3 | Not reported | 1 |
| Brian (former) | Barr | 2016 | 2 | Not reported | 1 |
| Edith (former) | Swenson | 2015 | 0 | Not reported | 3 |
| Tamara (former) | Hunt | 2014-2015 | 3 | Not reported | 2 |
| Robert (former) | Kowalski | 2015 | 2 | Not reported | 2 |
| Susan (former) | Waterson | 2014 | 0 | Not reported | 17 |
| Dan (former) | Brownrigg | 2014 | 2 | Not reported | 4 |
| Karen (former) | Messmer | 2014 | 10 | Not reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 13 people listed · none paid · 14 employees · 40 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jim Coleman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ken Borycz | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 20 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Tina Smith | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Freeman Saumier | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Patty VanDoorne | CEO/Director | 15 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Karen Dorman | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Canice Borycz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | CFO | 15 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Robert Hey | Vice CEO | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Pam Adair | Corp. Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 13 people listed · none paid · 13 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jim Coleman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 3 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ken Borycz | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 20 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Tina Smith | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Freeman Saumier | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Patty VanDoorne | CEO/Director | 15 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ann Sedell | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Canice Borycz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | Treasurer | 15 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Robert Hey | Vice CEO | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Pam Adair | Corp. Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 11 people listed · none paid · 12 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jim Coleman | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel Brownrigg | Vice President | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 8 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Dale Kremnetz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Freeman Saumier | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Patty VanDoorne | CEO/Director | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Fogelsonger | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Paul Werner | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | Treasurer | 15 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2021 · 12 people listed · none paid · 12 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sue Herron | CEO | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Elliott Brackett | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel Brownrigg | Vice President | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 8 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Dale Kremnetz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Freeman Saumier | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Patty VanDoorne | Director | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RuthAnn Stone | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Ken Borcyz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | Treasurer | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2020 · 12 people listed · none paid · 2 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sue Herron | CEO | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Elliott Brackett | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Sally Grubaugh | Secretary | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel Brownrigg | Vice President | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| Judy Kowalski | Chair of the Board | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Dale Kremnetz | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Duane Hunt | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Karen Allen | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Donna Brownrigg | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Jim Coleman | Director | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | Treasurer | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2018 · 12 people listed · none paid · 1 employee · 42 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sue Herron | Chair of Board | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Elliott Brackett | Vice President | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dorthy Hawkins | Secretary | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Cathy Bachman | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Daniel Brownrigg | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| Edward Dahl | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Linda Fogelsonger | Director | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Duane Hunt | Director | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Dean Beckstein | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Janet Sansote | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jim Coleman | CEO | 5 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Terry Messmer | Treasurer | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2017 · 12 people listed · none paid · 14 employees · 40 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BARBARA | Ferry | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| RUTHIE | Earle | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ELLIOTT | Brackett | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| JOHN | Smith | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 61 |
| JIM | Coleman | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 25 |
| DUANE | Hunt | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| DORTHY | Hawkins | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| TERRY | Messmer | 10 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEN | Borycz | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 11 |
| SUE | Herron | 1 | - | - | - | $0 | 7 |
| ED | Dahl | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 6 |
| SALLY | Grubaugh | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 3 |
2016 · 12 people listed · none paid · 17 employees · 40 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BARBARA | Ferry | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| GLENDA | McKeever | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ELLIOTT | Brackett | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| JOHN | Smith | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 61 |
| JIM | Coleman | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 25 |
| DUANE | Hunt | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| DORTHY | Hawkins | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| TERRY | Messmer | 10 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEN | Borycz | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 11 |
| DONNA | Brownrigg | 1 | - | - | - | $0 | 17 |
| BRIAN | Barr | 2 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| SALLY | Grubaugh | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 3 |
2015 · 12 people listed · none paid · 18 employees · 40 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BARBARA | Ferry | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| SUE | Herron | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 7 |
| ELLIOTT | Brackett | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| JOHN | Smith | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 61 |
| JIM | Coleman | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 25 |
| DUANE | Hunt | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| TAMARA | Hunt | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| TERRY | Messmer | 10 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEN | Borycz | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 11 |
| DONNA | Brownrigg | 1 | - | - | - | $0 | 17 |
| ROBERT | Kowalski | 2 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| EDITH | Swenson | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 3 |
2014 · 12 people listed · none paid · 18 employees · 40 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BARBARA | Ferry | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| SUE | Herron | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 7 |
| ELLIOTT | Brackett | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| JOHN | Smith | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 61 |
| JIM | Coleman | 4 | - | - | - | $0 | 25 |
| TAMARA | Hunt | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 2 |
| TERRY | Messmer | 10 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KAREN | Messmer | 10 | - | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEN | Borycz | 3 | - | - | - | $0 | 11 |
| DONNA | Brownrigg | 1 | - | - | - | $0 | 17 |
| DAN | Brownrigg | 2 | - | - | - | $0 | 4 |
| SUSAN | Waterson | 0 | - | - | - | $0 | 17 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $152,282 | $193,854 | $2,575,519 | $2,575,519 | $85,708 | $9,374 | - | 14 | 40 |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $154,267 | $194,805 | $2,617,091 | $2,617,091 | $75,228 | $7,880 | - | 13 | 20 |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $139,140 | $191,328 | $2,657,649 | $2,657,649 | $77,918 | $4,970 | - | 12 | 20 |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $334,280 | $177,155 | $2,710,053 | $2,710,053 | $77,171 | $1,570 | - | 12 | 20 |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $60,828 | $105,490 | $2,552,928 | $2,552,928 | $32,374 | $0 | - | 2 | 20 |
| 2018 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $76,473 | $111,612 | $2,647,377 | $2,647,377 | $56,389 | $3,725 | - | 1 | 42 |
| 2017 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $19,203 | $77,376 | $2,703,306 | $2,703,306 | $7,820 | $0 | - | 14 | 40 |
| 2016 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $78,720 | $122,881 | $2,742,653 | $2,742,653 | $53,051 | $4,670 | - | 17 | 40 |
| 2015 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $93,716 | $127,488 | $2,750,140 | $2,750,140 | $68,938 | $5,365 | - | 18 | 40 |
| 2014 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $98,673 | $147,451 | $2,779,760 | $2,779,760 | $67,895 | $5,900 | - | 18 | 40 |
Connected to
Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.
- INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS Eastpointe, MI · 4 people in common (Canice Borycz, Judy Kowalski, Ken Borycz)
- GRAND LODGE OF THE INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS OF MICHIGAN Plymouth, MI · 2 people in common (Jim Coleman, Terry Messmer) · related organization (Schedule R)
- INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS Maple Rapids, MI · related organization (Schedule R)
Funders of this organization
2 grantors reported grants to this organization, $80,490 in all, tax years 2011 to 2024. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Type | Match | Years given | Grants | Total | Latest year | Latest year's amount | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GRAND LODGE OF THE INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS OF MICHIGAN | Public charity | Exact | 2018, 2023 | 2 | $52,040 | 2023 | $20,072 | show |
| FREMONT AREA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | Exact | 2011-2012, 2022, 2024 | 5 | $28,450 | 2024 | $8,000 | show |
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | MI | Not reported | $158,081 | $125,315 | FINANCIAL SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| GRAND LODGE OF THE INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS OF MICHIGAN | MI | Y41 | $289,100 | $597,077 | GRAND SECRET | $25,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | NH | N20 | $159,422 | $145,526 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $194,677 | $98,678 | NOBLE GRAND | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | IL | Not reported | $109,412 | $135,872 | Vice President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | KY | Not reported | $178,032 | $61,865 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | PA | Not reported | $173,195 | $128,327 | COORDINATOR | $21,074 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $111,254 | $43,792 | SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | KS | Not reported | $225,487 | $212,886 | Grand Secretary | $9,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $120,769 | $96,059 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | DE | Not reported | $119,249 | $65,721 | TREASURER AND TRUSTEE | $1,400 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | IA | Not reported | $149,414 | $56,829 | SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | TX | Not reported | $129,993 | $112,734 | Vice Grand | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | IA | L22 | $186,350 | $254,882 | SPECIAL DEPUTY OF GRAND LO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $100,956 | $123,760 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | KY | Not reported | $157,846 | $118,413 | SECRETARY | $21,423 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $253,761 | $224,860 | Chair/B Manager | $55,585 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $78,360 | $86,273 | Director | $268 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | PA | Not reported | $208,212 | $127,660 | Trustee | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | IA | Not reported | $199,218 | $167,636 | Treasurer | $15,043 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $175,829 | $187,656 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $109,431 | $87,504 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | NC | O50 | $268,213 | $237,902 | Exec Director | $15,000 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | CA | Not reported | $232,585 | $125,175 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS | AZ | Not reported | $87,488 | $92,629 | GRAND TREASURER | $8,800 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
| Grantor | Type | Total given | Grants | Organizations funded | Years | Which ones |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCPHERSON COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | $48,879 | 1 | 1 | 2013–2013 | INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS |
| PETOSKEY-HARBOR SPRINGS AREA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | $20,000 | 1 | 1 | 2018–2018 | GRAND LODGE OF THE INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS OF MICHIGAN |
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $193,854 spent · pay $65,673 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other salaries and wages | $57,641 | $45,641 | $12,000 | $0 | 29.7% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $46,636 | $16,322 | $30,314 | $0 | 24.1% | |
| Insurance | $23,463 | $1,028 | $22,435 | $0 | 12.1% | |
| Occupancy | $20,216 | $16,173 | $4,043 | $0 | 10.4% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $13,066 | $13,066 | $0 | $0 | 6.7% |
| Fees: legal | $9,419 | $0 | $9,419 | $0 | 4.9% | |
| Payroll taxes | $8,032 | $6,360 | $1,672 | $0 | 4.1% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Equip | $5,994 | $5,994 | $0 | $0 | 3.1% |
| Office expenses | $3,296 | $3,296 | $0 | $0 | 1.7% | |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $2,953 | $341 | $2,612 | $0 | 1.5% |
| Fees: other services | $2,027 | $2,027 | $0 | $0 | 1.0% | |
| All other expenses | $911 | $911 | $0 | $0 | 0.5% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $200 | $200 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $193,854 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990 · $194,805 spent · pay $69,217 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other salaries and wages | $59,852 | $44,452 | $15,400 | $0 | 30.7% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $46,806 | $16,383 | $30,423 | $0 | 24.0% | |
| Occupancy | $22,299 | $18,001 | $4,298 | $0 | 11.4% | |
| Insurance | $21,726 | $895 | $20,831 | $0 | 11.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $12,697 | $12,697 | $0 | $0 | 6.5% |
| Payroll taxes | $9,365 | $6,262 | $3,103 | $0 | 4.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Misc | $9,083 | $9,083 | $0 | $0 | 4.7% |
| Fees: legal | $5,000 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | 2.6% | |
| Office expenses | $3,476 | $3,476 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% | |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $2,506 | $2,506 | $0 | $0 | 1.3% |
| All other expenses | $1,462 | $1,462 | $0 | $0 | 0.8% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $408 | $408 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Memberships | $125 | $0 | $125 | $0 | 0.1% |
| Total | $194,805 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990 · $191,328 spent · pay $66,813 · grants $0 · events $312
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other salaries and wages | $53,900 | $39,500 | $14,400 | $0 | 28.2% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $47,172 | $16,511 | $30,661 | $0 | 24.7% | |
| Occupancy | $30,720 | $24,576 | $6,144 | $0 | 16.1% | |
| Insurance | $20,004 | $907 | $19,097 | $0 | 10.5% | |
| Payroll taxes | $12,913 | $9,463 | $3,450 | $0 | 6.7% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $10,978 | $10,978 | $0 | $0 | 5.7% |
| All other expenses | $5,728 | $5,728 | $0 | $0 | 3.0% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Misc | $3,400 | $3,400 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% |
| Office expenses | $2,972 | $2,972 | $0 | $0 | 1.6% | |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $2,859 | $2,839 | $20 | $0 | 1.5% |
| Advertising and promotion | $320 | $320 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $312 | $0 | $312 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Memberships | $50 | $0 | $50 | $0 | 0.0% |
| Total | $191,328 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990 · $177,155 spent · pay $56,789 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other salaries and wages | $51,982 | $37,582 | $14,400 | $0 | 29.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $46,662 | $16,332 | $30,330 | $0 | 26.3% | |
| Occupancy | $29,546 | $23,637 | $5,909 | $0 | 16.7% | |
| Insurance | $18,799 | $961 | $17,838 | $0 | 10.6% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $6,374 | $6,374 | $0 | $0 | 3.6% |
| All other expenses | $5,169 | $4,769 | $400 | $0 | 2.9% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Misc | $4,869 | $4,869 | $0 | $0 | 2.7% |
| Payroll taxes | $4,807 | $3,475 | $1,332 | $0 | 2.7% | |
| Office expenses | $4,081 | $4,081 | $0 | $0 | 2.3% | |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $2,420 | $2,420 | $0 | $0 | 1.4% |
| Fees: other services | $1,807 | $1,807 | $0 | $0 | 1.0% | |
| Travel | $519 | $0 | $519 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Memberships | $120 | $0 | $120 | $0 | 0.1% |
| Total | $177,155 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990 · $105,490 spent · pay $16,088 · grants $0 · events $316
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $45,863 | $15,467 | $30,396 | $0 | 43.5% | |
| Occupancy | $22,559 | $0 | $22,559 | $0 | 21.4% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $14,650 | $0 | $14,650 | $0 | 13.9% | |
| Insurance | $11,904 | $0 | $11,904 | $0 | 11.3% | |
| All other expenses | $3,912 | $3,765 | $147 | $0 | 3.7% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Misc | $1,871 | $1,871 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% |
| Office expenses | $1,843 | $187 | $1,656 | $0 | 1.7% | |
| Payroll taxes | $1,438 | $0 | $1,438 | $0 | 1.4% | |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $1,014 | $1,014 | $0 | $0 | 1.0% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $316 | $0 | $316 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Memberships | $120 | $0 | $120 | $0 | 0.1% |
| Total | $105,490 | 100% |
2018 · Form 990 · $111,612 spent · pay $28,144 · grants $0 · events $2,704
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $48,666 | $16,412 | $32,254 | $0 | 43.6% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $25,468 | $20,108 | $5,360 | $0 | 22.8% | |
| Occupancy | $22,125 | $10,125 | $12,000 | $0 | 19.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $3,019 | $3,019 | $0 | $0 | 2.7% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $2,704 | $0 | $2,704 | $0 | 2.4% | |
| Payroll taxes | $2,676 | $2,243 | $433 | $0 | 2.4% | |
| Office expenses | $2,190 | $1,710 | $480 | $0 | 2.0% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Supplies/Misc | $1,899 | $1,776 | $123 | $0 | 1.7% |
| Other (as described) | License and Fees | $1,575 | $1,491 | $84 | $0 | 1.4% |
| Advertising and promotion | $1,050 | $1,050 | $0 | $0 | 0.9% | |
| Other (as described) | Memberships | $240 | $0 | $240 | $0 | 0.2% |
| Total | $111,612 | 100% |
2017 · Form 990 · $77,376 spent · pay $3,528 · grants $0 · events $849
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $50,390 | $36,784 | $13,606 | $0 | 65.1% | |
| Insurance | $10,787 | $1,215 | $9,572 | $0 | 13.9% | |
| Occupancy | $10,096 | $565 | $9,531 | $0 | 13.0% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $2,625 | $0 | $2,625 | $0 | 3.4% | |
| Payroll taxes | $903 | $0 | $903 | $0 | 1.2% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $849 | $0 | $849 | $0 | 1.1% | |
| Other (as described) | Licenses,Fees & Memberships | $763 | $763 | $0 | $0 | 1.0% |
| Office expenses | $622 | $0 | $622 | $0 | 0.8% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $175 | $175 | $0 | $0 | 0.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Miscellaneous | $111 | $111 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $55 | $55 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% |
| Total | $77,376 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990 · $122,881 spent · pay $20,160 · grants $0 · events $4,622
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $48,889 | $38,133 | $10,756 | $0 | 39.8% | |
| Occupancy | $24,048 | $9,379 | $14,669 | $0 | 19.6% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $18,181 | $15,368 | $2,813 | $0 | 14.8% | |
| Insurance | $11,590 | $1,150 | $10,440 | $0 | 9.4% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $8,123 | $8,123 | $0 | $0 | 6.6% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $4,622 | $0 | $4,622 | $0 | 3.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Equipment & Supplies | $2,180 | $2,180 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% |
| Payroll taxes | $1,979 | $1,742 | $237 | $0 | 1.6% | |
| Other (as described) | Licenses,Fees & Memberships | $1,818 | $1,704 | $114 | $0 | 1.5% |
| Office expenses | $1,014 | $1,014 | $0 | $0 | 0.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Miscellaneous | $437 | $437 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% |
| Total | $122,881 | 100% |
2015 · Form 990 · $127,488 spent · pay $22,844 · grants $0 · events $4,235
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $57,162 | $45,442 | $11,720 | $0 | 44.8% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $20,996 | $18,921 | $2,075 | $0 | 16.5% | |
| Occupancy | $20,368 | $9,810 | $10,558 | $0 | 16.0% | |
| Insurance | $9,593 | $1,600 | $7,993 | $0 | 7.5% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $8,204 | $8,204 | $0 | $0 | 6.4% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $4,235 | $0 | $4,235 | $0 | 3.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Equipment & Supplies | $2,829 | $2,829 | $0 | $0 | 2.2% |
| Payroll taxes | $1,848 | $1,627 | $221 | $0 | 1.4% | |
| Office expenses | $1,263 | $1,193 | $70 | $0 | 1.0% | |
| Other (as described) | Licenses,Fees & Memberships | $990 | $816 | $174 | $0 | 0.8% |
| Total | $127,488 | 100% |
2014 · Form 990 · $147,451 spent · pay $29,717 · grants $0 · events $2,978
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $62,525 | $52,050 | $10,475 | $0 | 42.4% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $27,045 | $23,920 | $3,125 | $0 | 18.3% | |
| Occupancy | $25,060 | $13,497 | $11,563 | $0 | 17.0% | |
| Insurance | $9,725 | $1,412 | $8,313 | $0 | 6.6% | |
| Other (as described) | Youth Food | $9,386 | $9,386 | $0 | $0 | 6.4% |
| Other (as described) | Youth Equipment & Supplies | $4,344 | $4,344 | $0 | $0 | 2.9% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $2,978 | $0 | $2,978 | $0 | 2.0% | |
| Payroll taxes | $2,672 | $2,418 | $254 | $0 | 1.8% | |
| Office expenses | $1,740 | $1,670 | $70 | $0 | 1.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Licenses,Fees & Memberships | $1,296 | $1,122 | $174 | $0 | 0.9% |
| Other (as described) | Trailer Reimbursement | $530 | $530 | $0 | $0 | 0.4% |
| Fees: other services | $150 | $150 | $0 | $0 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $147,451 | 100% |
Donor-advised funds
Donors to individual donor-advised funds are not public. These filings show what the sponsor reports, not who gave.
As reported on Schedule D Part I (and the Form 990 Part IV question “did the organization maintain donor advised funds”). Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
| Maintains DAFs | DAFs held | Contributions | Grants | Value at year end | Other funds held | Other contributions | Other grants | Other value at year end |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 8 | $2,080 | - | $15,771 | 5 | $70,414 | - | $96,388 |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 12 | $1,200 | - | $384,005 | 5 | $212,714 | - | $111,321 |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 14 | $4,285 | - | $379,676 | 5 | $353,367 | - | $138,351 |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 19 | $18,198 | $44,658 | $391,676 | - | - | - | - |
| 2018 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 19 | $10,204 | - | $412,156 | - | - | - | - |
| 2017 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 8 | $20,112 | - | $379,829 | - | - | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 5 | $1,930 | - | $352,608 | - | - | - | - |
| 2015 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 5 | $11,300 | - | $350,678 | - | - | - | - |
| 2014 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| Yes | 5 | - | - | $350,678 | - | - | - | - |
Comments