THE GALLAGHER FAMILY FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text THE GALLAGHER FAMILY FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2013–2023. https://furp.org/org/the-gallagher-family-foundation-367156974. Retrieved 2026-10-31.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). THE GALLAGHER FAMILY FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2013–2023]. Retrieved October 31, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/the-gallagher-family-foundation-367156974

MLA “THE GALLAGHER FAMILY FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2013–2023, https://furp.org/org/the-gallagher-family-foundation-367156974. Accessed 31 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-31; covers tax years 2013–2023. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2023 · Form 990PF · revenue $1.1M · expenses $1.2M · assets $0

Also known as
C/O ALLISON PFEIFLE ARENTFOX SCHIFF LLP
EIN
36-7156974
Address
233 S WACKER DRIVE SUITE 7100, CHICAGO, IL 60606
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
-
Ruling date
-
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 2 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

2 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Mary G Johnson TRUSTEE2013-2023 1 $0 reported 1
Jennifer A Gallagher TRUSTEE2013-2023 1 $0 reported 1

People by year

2023 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2022 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2021 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2020 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2019 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2018 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2017 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2016 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2015 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2014 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MARY G JOHNSON TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER TRUSTEE1 $0-$0 $01
2013 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JENNIFER A GALLAGHER CO-TRUSTEE2 $0-$0 $01
MARY G JOHNSON CO-TRUSTEE2 $0-$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2023 · 28 grants to organizations · $1.1M
2022 · 29 grants to organizations · $900K
2021 · 26 grants to organizations · $750K
2020 · 27 grants to organizations · $750K
2019 · 29 grants to organizations · $800K
2018 · 28 grants to organizations · $708K
2017 · 30 grants to organizations · $800K
2016 · 29 grants to organizations · $590K
2015 · 21 grants to organizations · $600K
2014 · 32 grants to organizations · $1.2M
2013 · 0 grants to organizations · $0 · 21 grants to individuals · $540K

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.

2013 · 1 contributor · $452K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 ESTATE OF MARY CLAIRE GALLAGHER Person $451,833- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2013 · filing

Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2023 · Form 990PF period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,086,823$1,153,843 $0$0 -- $0--
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$859,367$911,739 $70,551$70,551 -- $0--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$732,181$768,983 $122,924$122,924 -- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$685,820$773,419 $159,726$159,726 -- $0--
2019 · Form 990PF period ending 2019-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$769,646$807,508 $247,326$247,326 -- $0--
2018 · Form 990PF period ending 2018-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$70,973$714,483 $285,187$285,187 -- $0--
2017 · Form 990PF period ending 2017-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$99,171$810,428 $928,697$928,697 -- $0--
2016 · Form 990PF period ending 2016-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$117,283$598,861 $1,372,250$1,372,250 -- $0--
2015 · Form 990PF period ending 2015-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$80,144$617,826 $1,853,658$1,853,658 -- $0--
2014 · Form 990PF period ending 2014-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$117,553$1,253,178 $2,413,936$2,413,936 -- $0--
2013 · Form 990PF period ending 2013-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$543,281$558,509 $3,540,542$3,540,542 $451,833- ---

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
THE GORDON FAMILY FOUNDATIONNYT20 $2,033,859$202,424 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE SAFE FAMILY FOUNDATIONMAT21 $713,948$248,707 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE WIESLER FAMILY FOUNDATIONMANot reported $1,484,223$420,580 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GAT FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT20 $1,225,312$569,950 DIRECTOR AND PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE FERRIS FAMILY FOUNDATIONNHNot reported $733,129$704,886 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE MANKOFF FAMILY FOUNDATIONTXT22 $1,081,263$378,169 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE COMFORT FAMILY FOUNDATIONVAT22 $1,079,904$233,310 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$48,565 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE PITTMAN FAMILY FOUNDATIONNYNot reported $1,267,062$2,314,142 CO-TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE MAYNARD FAMILY FOUNDATIONOHT20 $1,335,625$1,496,407 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$88,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE LOCASTO FAMILY FOUNDATIONAZT20 $824,784$79,810 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE OPATRNY FAMILY FOUNDATIONWYNot reported $1,586,593$848,746 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE JAUNICH FAMILY FOUNDATIONCANot reported $678,588$1,724,435 PRESIDENT/TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE BRADLEY FAMILY FOUNDATIONWAT20 $663,238$615,880 SECRETARY$3,815 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE HOFMANN FAMILY FOUNDATIONCANot reported $2,094,972$9,114,054 TREASURER/CFO$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GLASER FAMILY FOUNDATIONAZB82 $857,430$984,188 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
HALLAS FAMILY FOUNDATIONMINot reported $736,473$1,947,124 PRESIDENT/TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE CREW FAMILY FOUNDATION INCCTNot reported $1,150,781$1,297,619 PRESIDENT DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE MIDDLETON FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT22 $934,350$153,112 DIR, PRES, SEC, TREAS$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
FOX FAMILY FOUNDATIONCOA12 $961,320$1,231,390 DIRECTOR$6,821 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GAUGHAN FAMILY FOUNDATIONNVT22 $1,729,903$2,366,062 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GOLD FAMILY FOUNDATIONNYT20 $618,496$1,028,237 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE MILANA FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNYT22 $593,017$533,729 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE KNAPP FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNYNot reported $2,070,025$1,760,550 TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
THE BARBA FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNJNot reported $556,406$5,763,618 MANAGER$15,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
FAIN FAMILY FOUNDATIONFLT22 $1,013,021$1,581,176 PRESIDENT & TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
JANE N MOOTY FOUNDATION Private foundation$754,9755 12020–2024 GLASER FAMILY FOUNDATION
CATHOLIC FOUNDATION FOR THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH IN NORTHERN CO DAF sponsor$448,0004 12018–2020 THE MARTIN FAMILY FOUNDATION
FORGOOD INC DAF sponsor$252,6415 12020–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
VANGUARD CHARITABLE ENDOWMENT PROGRAM DAF sponsor$165,5005 12020–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$134,1549 32016–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION; THAYER FAMILY FOUNDATION; GARRETT FAMILY FOUNDATION
WILLIAM PENN FOUNDATION Private foundation$110,0001 12023–2023 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
PHILADELPHIA FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$97,5003 12020–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
PATRICIA KIND FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$70,0003 12021–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
MKM FOUNDATION Private foundation$60,0003 12020–2022 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$57,5003 22019–2023 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION; THAYER FAMILY FOUNDATION
PHILADELPHIA HEALTH PARTNERSHIP Private foundation$40,0002 12015–2016 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
CONNELLY FOUNDATION Private foundation$40,0002 12022–2023 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
DAN AND SALLIE DUTTON FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$40,0003 12023–2025 THAYER FAMILY FOUNDATION
JOHN A AND MARGARET POST FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$30,0003 12020–2022 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION
ROBERT WOOD JOHNSON FOUNDATION Private foundation$20,0008 12018–2024 GARCES FAMILY FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2023 · Form 990PF · $1,153,843 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,096,658 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,096,658 95.0%
Fees: legal $35,585 3.1%
Taxes $21,500 1.9%
Other expenses $100 0.0%
Total$1,153,843100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990PF · $911,739 spent · pay $0 · grants $900,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $900,000 98.7%
Fees: legal $7,739 0.8%
Taxes $4,000 0.4%
Total$911,739100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $768,983 spent · pay $0 · grants $750,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $750,000 97.5%
Taxes $11,042 1.4%
Fees: legal $7,941 1.0%
Total$768,983100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $773,419 spent · pay $0 · grants $750,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $750,000 97.0%
Taxes $14,558 1.9%
Fees: legal $8,861 1.1%
Total$773,419100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990PF · $807,508 spent · pay $0 · grants $800,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $800,000 99.1%
Fees: legal $7,008 0.9%
Taxes $500 0.1%
Total$807,508100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990PF · $714,483 spent · pay $0 · grants $707,500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $707,500 99.0%
Fees: legal $4,636 0.6%
Other expenses $1,547 0.2%
Taxes $800 0.1%
Total$714,483100%

View the filing

2017 · Form 990PF · $810,428 spent · pay $0 · grants $800,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $800,000 98.7%
Fees: legal $7,395 0.9%
Other expenses $2,165 0.3%
Taxes $868 0.1%
Total$810,428100%

View the filing

2016 · Form 990PF · $598,861 spent · pay $0 · grants $590,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $590,000 98.5%
Fees: legal $6,735 1.1%
Other expenses $1,520 0.3%
Taxes $606 0.1%
Total$598,861100%

View the filing

2015 · Form 990PF · $617,826 spent · pay $0 · grants $600,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $600,000 97.1%
Fees: other professional $10,000 1.6%
Fees: legal $6,747 1.1%
Taxes $1,064 0.2%
Other expenses $15 0.0%
Total$617,826100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990PF · $1,253,178 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,235,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,235,000 98.5%
Fees: other professional $10,000 0.8%
Fees: legal $7,500 0.6%
Taxes $613 0.0%
Other expenses $65 0.0%
Total$1,253,178100%

View the filing

2013 · Form 990PF · $558,509 spent · pay $0 · grants $540,000 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $540,000 96.7%
Other expenses $10,025 1.8%
Fees: legal $7,603 1.4%
Taxes $881 0.2%
Total$558,509100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.