James R Jordan Foundation
Cite this
Plain text James R Jordan Foundation. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2022. https://furp.org/org/james-r-jordan-foundation-364369648. Retrieved 2026-11-01.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). James R Jordan Foundation [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2022]. Retrieved November 1, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/james-r-jordan-foundation-364369648
MLA “James R Jordan Foundation.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2022, https://furp.org/org/james-r-jordan-foundation-364369648. Accessed 1 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-01; covers tax years 2020–2022. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2022 · Form 990EZ · revenue $3K · expenses $293K · assets $0
- EIN
- 36-4369648
- Address
- PO Box 11698, Chicago, IL 60611
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- -
- Ruling date
- -
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
Provide resources and support for strengthening families, motivating youth and ensuring high quality academic opportunities for children in underserved communities
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
1 person paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Latest year pay | Total pay from here | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beverly P Smith (former) | Vice President | 2020 | $63,806 | $63,806 | 1 |
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
10 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deloris Jordan | President & CEO | 2020-2022 | 4 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Natalie Sheneman | Secretary | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| debi A Ross | Chair | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| William J Tarnow | Director | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Alicia Leighton-Armah | Treasurer | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Joy V Cunningham | Director | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Roger M Veome | Director | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Darryl W Dennard | Director | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dr Jim Embrescia | Director | 2020-2022 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Robert Johnson (former) | Director | 2020 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2022 · 9 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deloris Jordan | President & CEO | 4 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Natalie Sheneman | Secretary | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| debi A Ross | Chair | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| William J Tarnow | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Alicia Leighton-Armah | Treasurer | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Joy V Cunningham | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Roger M Veome | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Darryl W Dennard | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Dr Jim Embrescia | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 9 people listed · none paid · 6 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| William J Tarnow | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joy V Cunningham | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Roger M Veome | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darryl W Dennard | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dr Jim Embrescia | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Deloris Jordan | President & CEO | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Natalie Sheneman | Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| debi A Ross | Chair | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Alicia Leighton-Armah | Treasurer | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 11 people listed · 1 paid, $64K · 5 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beverly P Smith | Vice President | 40 | $63,806 | $0 | $0 | $63,806 | 1 |
| Robert Johnson | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Deloris Jordan | President & CEO | 4 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| William J Tarnow | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joy V Cunningham | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Roger M Veome | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Darryl W Dennard | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Dr Jim Embrescia | Director | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Natalie Sheneman | Secretary | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| debi A Ross | Chairman | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Alicia Leighton-Armah | Treasurer | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2021 · 1 grant to organizations · $574K
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $3,113 | $293,003 | $0 | $0 | - | - | - | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $342,936 | $809,858 | $293,421 | $289,890 | $46,870 | $19,722 | $0 | 6 | - |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $634,638 | $389,770 | $1,049,682 | $756,812 | $524,356 | $32,304 | $63,806 | 5 | - |
Funders of this organization
6 grantors reported grants to this organization, $155,350 in all, tax years 2009 to 2020. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Type | Match | Years given | Grants | Total | Latest year | Latest year's amount | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNITED AIRLINES FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “JAMES R JORDAN FOUNDATION” | 2012-2014 | 3 | $75,000 | 2014 | $25,000 | show |
| NATIONAL BASKETBALL PLAYERS ASSOC FOUNDATION | Public charity | Exact | 2019-2020 | 2 | $40,000 | 2020 | $15,000 | show |
| SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | Exact | 2015, 2017 | 2 | $20,000 | 2017 | $10,000 | show |
| NORTHWESTERN MEMORIAL HEALTHCARE | Public charity | Exact | 2009 | 1 | $10,000 | 2009 | $10,000 | show |
| THDF II INC | Public charity | Exact | 2020 | 1 | $8,350 | 2020 | $8,350 | show |
| NEW FRONTIERS FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “JAMES R JORDAN FOUNDATION” | 2011 | 1 | $2,000 | 2011 | $2,000 | show |
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J & H JAMES FOUNDATION | IL | Not reported | $1,565 | $614,326 | CO-PRES. & DIR. | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| JAMES & RITA HOSNA FOUNDATION | IL | T22 | $5,513 | $49,823 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| JAMES W BRYAN FOUNDATION | OH | W12 | $3,973 | $3,973 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES BOOTH FOUNDATION | OK | O50 | $4,400 | $1,978 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| James 127 Foundation | CA | Not reported | $3,381 | $199,924 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| R FOUNDATION | UT | T22 | $5,059 | $3,994 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| James Behrens Foundation | DE | Not reported | $3,624 | $4,001 | Pres, Dir, Sec | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| MICHAEL JAMES FOUNDATION | MO | W12 | $5,342 | $4,887 | Officer | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| EVELYN F JAMES FOUNDATION | VA | Not reported | $5,387 | $13,983 | PRESIDENT/ D | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES S PROPP FOUNDATION | NY | T20 | $5,703 | $37,836 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ORNSTEEN-JAMES FOUNDATION | PA | Not reported | $3,519 | $49,865 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JORDAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION | PA | T20 | $3,789 | $41,234 | DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, TREAS | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| JAMES A DOOLEY FOUNDATION | WI | Not reported | $5,608 | $11,470 | DIRECTOR/PRES | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ST JAMES FOUNDATION | SC | P20 | $7,478 | $18,239 | CEO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| FIVE JAMES FOUNDATION | PA | Not reported | $11,306 | $19,185 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| Jordan Family Foundation | NC | Not reported | $11,581 | $13,269 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JAMES FAMILY FOUNDATION | UT | T11 | $10,024 | $2,163 | MANAGER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JAMES FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $10,593 | $17,795 | DIRECTOR/CHAIRMAN OF THE B | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JAMES R RICE FAMILY FOUNDATION | DC | T20 | $13,905 | $34,658 | Trustee | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| J & R FOUNDATION | NY | T30 | $1,400 | $1,450 | Trustee | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| R & R FOUNDATION | OH | T20 | $10,478 | $50,174 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JOE RYAN FOUNDATION | AL | Not reported | $1,535 | $1,554 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JAMES P PREVITI FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $9,888 | $10,822 | DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, SEC. & TREAS | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JOAN M & RUSSELL C JORDAN FOUNDATION | NJ | Not reported | $10,981 | $5,867 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| JAMES R WARREN FAMILY FOUNDATION | NC | T20 | $15,222 | $14,891 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2022 · Form 990EZ · $293,003 spent · pay $0 · grants $238,655 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $238,655 | 81.5% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $25,503 | 8.7% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $16,685 | 5.7% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $12,073 | 4.1% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $87 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $293,003 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990 · $809,858 spent · pay $83,306 · grants $574,500 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grants to US organizations and governments | $574,500 | $574,500 | - | - | 70.9% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $72,438 | $67,426 | $5,012 | - | 8.9% | |
| Other (as described) | Program activities | $63,662 | $63,630 | $32 | - | 7.9% |
| Occupancy | $44,710 | $24,095 | $20,615 | - | 5.5% | |
| Fees: other services | $10,565 | $1,613 | $8,952 | - | 1.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Equipment rental and maint. | $7,246 | $6,507 | $739 | - | 0.9% |
| Payroll taxes | $5,838 | $5,426 | $412 | - | 0.7% | |
| All other expenses | $5,494 | $2,496 | $2,998 | - | 0.7% | |
| Other employee benefits | $5,030 | $2,913 | $2,117 | - | 0.6% | |
| Travel | $4,778 | $4,771 | $7 | - | 0.6% | |
| Other (as described) | Dues and subscriptions | $4,323 | $3,445 | $878 | - | 0.5% |
| Fees: accounting | $4,225 | $3,020 | $1,205 | - | 0.5% | |
| Other (as described) | Telephone | $3,703 | $2,770 | $933 | - | 0.5% |
| Office expenses | $1,929 | $782 | $1,147 | - | 0.2% | |
| Insurance | $1,127 | $365 | $762 | - | 0.1% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $290 | $290 | - | - | 0.0% | |
| Total | $809,858 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990 · $389,770 spent · pay $190,093 · grants $0 · events $2,789
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other salaries and wages | $103,124 | $100,708 | $2,416 | - | 26.5% | |
| Occupancy | $67,140 | $57,784 | $9,356 | - | 17.2% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees | $63,806 | $58,704 | $5,102 | - | 16.4% | |
| Other (as described) | Program activities | $56,614 | $56,091 | $523 | - | 14.5% |
| Fees: other services | $31,925 | $24,215 | $7,710 | - | 8.2% | |
| Payroll taxes | $12,836 | $12,242 | $594 | - | 3.3% | |
| Other employee benefits | $10,327 | $1,084 | $9,243 | - | 2.6% | |
| Office expenses | $9,941 | $7,571 | $2,370 | - | 2.6% | |
| Other (as described) | Equipment rental and maint. | $9,041 | $6,273 | $2,768 | - | 2.3% |
| Travel | $6,156 | $5,181 | $975 | - | 1.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $4,225 | $3,470 | $755 | - | 1.1% | |
| Other (as described) | Telephone | $3,950 | $3,421 | $529 | - | 1.0% |
| All other expenses | $3,945 | $1,937 | $2,008 | - | 1.0% | |
| Other (as described) | Dues and subscriptions | $3,863 | $2,698 | $1,165 | - | 1.0% |
| Insurance | $2,697 | $2,239 | $458 | - | 0.7% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $180 | - | $180 | - | 0.0% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $80,530 | $2,609 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $389,770 | 100% |
Comments