MARYLAND FIRE-RESCUE SERVICES

Cite this

Plain text MARYLAND FIRE-RESCUE SERVICES. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2025. https://furp.org/org/maryland-fire-rescue-services-311576459. Retrieved 2026-11-02.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). MARYLAND FIRE-RESCUE SERVICES [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2025]. Retrieved November 2, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/maryland-fire-rescue-services-311576459

MLA “MARYLAND FIRE-RESCUE SERVICES.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2025, https://furp.org/org/maryland-fire-rescue-services-311576459. Accessed 2 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-02; covers tax years 2020–2025. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990 · revenue $280K · expenses $107K · assets $1.3M

Also known as
FOUNDATION INC
EIN
31-1576459
Address
PO BOX 742, ANNAPOLIS, MD 21404-0742
Website
WWW.MDFIRERESCUEHERO.COM
NTEE code
A80
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
April 1998 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity supported by the public (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

A MEMORIAL FOR THE FIRE AND EMERGENCY SERVICE PERSONNEL WHO DIE IN THE LINE OF DUTY IN MARYLAND

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 8 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

8 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Dennis Beard President2020-2025 4 $0 reported 1
Steve Hardesty Vice President2021-2025 2 $0 reported 1
Sharon Owens Secretary2020-2025 2 $0 reported 1
Michelle Malin Treasurer2020-2025 2 $0 reported 1
Teresa Crisman Director2022-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Robert Small Director2022-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Mike Faust Director2022-2025 1 $0 reported 1
Rod Devilbiss (former) Vice President2020 2 $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
STEVE HARDESTY Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01
TERESA CRISMAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT SMALL Director1 $0$0$0 $01
MIKE FAUST Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2024 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
STEVE HARDESTY Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01
TERESA CRISMAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT SMALL Director1 $0$0$0 $01
MIKE FAUST Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
STEVE HARDESTY Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01
TERESA CRISMAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT SMALL Director1 $0$0$0 $01
MIKE FAUST Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
STEVE HARDESTY Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01
TERESA CRISMAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT SMALL Director1 $0$0$0 $01
MIKE FAUST Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
STEVE HARDESTY Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 100 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
DENNIS BEARD President4 $0$0$0 $01
ROD DEVILBISS Vice President2 $0$0$0 $01
SHARON OWENS Secretary2 $0$0$0 $01
MICHELLE MALIN Treasurer2 $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

2025 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2024 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2023 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2022 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2021 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-
2020 · 1 contractor · Not reported
NameLocationServicePaid
NONE-

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990 period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$279,691$107,187 $1,331,999$1,131,999 $277,250$0 $00100
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$82,077$69,780 $959,495$959,495 $78,988$0 $00100
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$62,205$46,839 $947,198$947,198 $59,915$0 $00100
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$71,282$71,042 $931,832$931,832 $70,933$0 $00100
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$43,044$45,574 $931,592$931,592 $43,020$0 $00100
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$27,208$27,481 $934,122$934,122 $26,856$0 $00100

Funders of this organization

2 grantors reported grants to this organization, $5,031 in all, tax years 2020 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY INC DAF sponsor Exact 2020 1$5,000 2020$5,000
show
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “MARYLAND FIRE-RESCUE SERVICES” 2020-2023 4$31 2023$16
show

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
MACES LANE COMMUNITY CENTERMDA80 $306,234$34,642 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
HEART OF THE CIVIL WAR HERITAGE AREA INCMDA80 $406,817$465,650 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$100,663 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
NATIONAL SOC OF COLONIAL DAMES OF AMERICA IN THE STATE OF MDMDA80 $309,869$194,297 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
THE NATIONAL CAPITAL RADIO AND TELEVISION MUSEUMMDA80 $204,073$130,803 Chair$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
NATIONAL SOCIETY OF THE DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTIONMDA80 $224,003$130,093 Treasurer$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
FRIENDS OF THE DAYTON ARCADEMDA80 $182,647$56,930 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
BLACKS OF THE CHESAPEAKE FOUNDATION INCMDA80 $272,527$240,391 PRESIDENT & CEO UNTIL NOV. 2024$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
HERITAGE TOURISM ALLIANCE OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY INCMDA80 $285,089$264,438 Executive Dir.$97,319 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
SPARROWS POINT NORTH POINT HISTORICAL SOCIETY INCMDA80 $268,173$277,361 President$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
LAFAYETTE TRAILMDA80 $250,692$202,480 President$70,000 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
NANTICOKE HISTORIC PRESERVATIONALLIANCE INCMDA80 $361,968$28,145 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
CHESAPEAKE CROSSROADS HERITAGE AREA INCMDA80 $222,856$233,344 Board Member$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
WOMENS CLUB FOUNDATION INCMDA80 $207,262$409,015 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$20,814 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x, same state
MASSACHUSETTES FALLEN FIRE FIGHTERS MEMORIAL FUND INCMAA80 $248,382$138,973 PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
KENTUCKY LAW ENFORCEMENT MEMORIAL FOUNDATION INCKYA80 $248,250$245,808 CHAIR$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
EAST CLEVELAND FARMERS MARKET PRESERVATION SOCIETYOHA80 $301,289$297,956 Board President$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
SAG HARBOR ANTIQUE FIRE TRUCKS INCNYA80 $249,600$35,037 VICE PRESIDE$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
HOPE CLUB PRESERVATION FUNDRIA80 $199,422$145,527 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
STRAND THEATRE PRESERVATION SOCIETYWVA80 $271,867$129,505 Board Member$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
SAVING A HEROS PLACETXA80 $270,785$250,454 President$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
EVERGLADES SOCIETY FOR HISTORICAL PRESERVATION INCFLA80 $354,758$50,156 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
HONOR FLIGHT SYRACUSE INCNYA80 $445,639$358,232 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
THE ALIBI PRESERVATION FOUNDATIONCOA80 $431,535$309,612 PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
EVERGREEN MEMORIAL HISTORIC CEMETERYCAA80 $439,597$164,279 Director$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x
KASSON ALLIANCE FOR RESTORATION INCMNA80 $260,579$9,447 BOARD MEMBER$0 Same NTEE code A80, revenue within 2x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
HIND FOUNDATION Private foundation$3,000,0003 12016–2020 CAMPAIGN FOR THE PRESERVATION OF MISSION SAN ANTONIO DE PADUA
DAYTON FOUNDATION DEPOSITORY DAF sponsor$1,232,0684 12020–2024 FRIENDS OF THE DAYTON ARCADE
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$1,177,90059 262016–2024 HARMONIE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION INC; CCN HISTORIC BUILDING PRESERVATION FOUNDATION; BALANCING ENVIRONMENT AND REHABILITATION BEAR; 1616 LATIMER FUND and 22 more
WILLIAM & FLORA HEWLETT FOUNDATION Private foundation$800,00012 12011–2020 EL CAMPANIL THEATRE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$675,80032 152015–2024 USS CLEVELAND LEGACY FOUNDATION; VETERANS MEMORIAL & SUPPORT FOUNDATION OF LOS GATOS; OLD ST JOSEPHS HISTORIC PRESERVATION CORPORATION; SANTA MONICA CONSERVANCY and 11 more
ANDREW W MELLON FOUNDATION Private foundation$675,0003 22020–2024 MIDDLE PASSAGE CEREMONIES AND PORT MARKERS PROJECT INC; HULA PRESERVATION SOCIETY
NATIONAL TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION IN THE UNITED STATES DAF sponsor$656,55011 72011–2024 PALMETTO TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION; BLACKS OF THE CHESAPEAKE FOUNDATION INC; NANTICOKE HISTORIC PRESERVATIONALLIANCE INC; ASSOCIATION OF NATCHITOCHES WOMEN FOR PRESERV OF HIST NATCHITOCHES and 3 more
VANGUARD CHARITABLE ENDOWMENT PROGRAM DAF sponsor$615,17712 102020–2024 FLORIDA TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION INC; SANDISFIELD ARTS & RESTORATION COMMITTEE; JAMES ARNOLD MANSION INC; HOPE CLUB PRESERVATION FUND and 6 more
PEW CHARITABLE TRUSTS DAF sponsor$410,00010 12010–2020 DOWNEAST RAIL HERITAGE PRESERVATION TRUST
YAFFA FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$400,0001 12022–2022 NORTH SEA MARITIME CENTER
MARIN COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$376,6765 12019–2023 BELVEDERE-TIBURON LANDMARKS SOCIETY
LENNOX FOUNDATION Private foundation$340,0006 12016–2023 MOFFETT FIELD HISTORICAL SOCIETY
BEDELL HOLMES HARNED TRUST FUND Private foundation$302,7998 12012–2025 SOCIETY OF COLONIAL WARS
AK STEEL FOUNDATION Private foundation$300,0002 12021–2023 USS CLEVELAND LEGACY FOUNDATION
FELICIA FUND INC Private foundation$285,0002 12023–2024 HOPE CLUB PRESERVATION FUND

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990 · $107,187 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $66,190$66,190-- 61.8%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $23,603$23,603-- 22.0%
Other (as described)GENERAL $9,426$9,426-- 8.8%
Other (as described)MEMORIAL SERVICE $7,056$7,056-- 6.6%
All other expenses $912$912-- 0.9%
Total$107,187100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990 · $69,780 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $31,441$31,441-- 45.1%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $22,927$22,927-- 32.9%
Other (as described)MEMORIAL SERVICE $8,293$8,293-- 11.9%
Other (as described)GENERAL $6,493$6,493-- 9.3%
All other expenses $626$626-- 0.9%
Total$69,780100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $46,839 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $26,833$26,833-- 57.3%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $8,903$8,903-- 19.0%
Other (as described)MEMORIAL SERVICE $6,524$6,524-- 13.9%
Other (as described)GENERAL $3,795$3,795-- 8.1%
All other expenses $784$784-- 1.7%
Total$46,839100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $71,042 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $26,379$26,379-- 37.1%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $24,690$24,690-- 34.8%
Other (as described)MEMORIAL SERVICE $16,345$16,345-- 23.0%
Other (as described)GENERAL $2,458$2,458-- 3.5%
All other expenses $1,170$1,170-- 1.6%
Total$71,042100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $45,574 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $36,481$36,481-- 80.0%
Other (as described)MEMORIAL SERVICE $5,587$5,587-- 12.3%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $1,491$1,491-- 3.3%
Other (as described)GENERAL $1,078$1,078-- 2.4%
All other expenses $937$937-- 2.1%
Total$45,574100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $27,481 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MAINTENANCE/ENHANCEMENTS $22,501$22,501-- 81.9%
Other (as described)FUND RAISING $2,499$2,499-- 9.1%
Other (as described)UTILITIES $1,036$1,036-- 3.8%
Other (as described)GENERAL $814$814-- 3.0%
All other expenses $631$631-- 2.3%
Total$27,481100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.