PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC
Cite this
Plain text PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2016–2017. https://furp.org/org/project-enlighten-inc-260424123. Retrieved 2026-10-29.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2016–2017]. Retrieved October 29, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/project-enlighten-inc-260424123
MLA “PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC.” furp.org, tax years 2016–2017, https://furp.org/org/project-enlighten-inc-260424123. Accessed 29 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-29; covers tax years 2016–2017. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2017 · Form 990EZ · revenue $25K · expenses $22K · assets $23K
- EIN
- 26-0424123
- Address
- PO BOX 550505, SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA 96155
- Website
- www.projectenlighten.org
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- -
- Ruling date
- -
- Principal officer
- Asad Rahman (its 2022 Form 990-N)
- Form 990-N e-postcards
- 1 filed, 2022 (organizations with gross receipts normally $50,000 or less file this instead of a full Form 990) IRS data ↗
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
Promote education and humanitarian aid
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 5 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
5 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asad Rahman | President | 2016-2017 | 20 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Olivia Rahman | Secretary | 2016-2017 | 10 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Matt Keyes | Director | 2016-2017 | 5 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Riva Duncan | Director | 2016-2017 | 5 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Mike Carroll | Director | 2016-2017 | 5 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2017 · 5 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asad Rahman | President | 20 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Olivia Rahman | Secretary | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Matt Keyes | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Riva Duncan | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Mike Carroll | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2016 · 5 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asad Rahman | President | 20 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Olivia Rahman | Secretary | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Matt Keyes | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Riva Duncan | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Mike Carroll | Director | 5 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $25,104 | $22,241 | $23,130 | $23,130 | $23,186 | - | - | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $20,282 | $25,095 | $20,267 | $20,267 | $19,668 | - | - | - | - |
Funders of this organization
3 grantors reported grants to this organization, $177,266 in all, tax years 2010 to 2023. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Type | Match | Years given | Grants | Total | Latest year | Latest year's amount | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FORGOOD INC | DAF sponsor | Exact | 2010-2022 | 16 | $176,498 | 2022 | $5,212 | show |
| AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC” | 2020-2023 | 4 | $438 | 2023 | $88 | show |
| AMERICAN EXPRESS FOUNDATION | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “PROJECT ENLIGHTEN INC” | 2020-2022 | 11 | $330 | 2022 | $90 | show |
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (31)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight Project Inc | IL | Not reported | $27,121 | $25,562 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ELI Project Inc | GA | Not reported | $49,854 | $52,241 | Executive Dir. | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| LIGHTHOUSE PROJECT INC | CA | S20 | $96,956 | $50,424 | Member at Large | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state, similar mission |
| ENSO PROJECT INC | CA | A23 | $69,960 | $65,167 | President | $15,600 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| ENLACE PROJECT INC | NY | Q30 | $84,112 | $63,147 | TREASURER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| EOS PROJECT INC | OR | Not reported | $67,831 | $22,247 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT EDEN INC | NH | Q33 | $99,105 | $63,151 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT FLIGHT INC | NY | B92 | $79,422 | $86,240 | CO-DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT EDEN INC | DC | K30 | $67,457 | $4,614 | Board Member | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT EDEN INC | WV | Not reported | $97,792 | $104,112 | PRESIDENT | $18,339 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT 6 INC | MD | I80 | $74,420 | $69,537 | EMPLOYEE | $61,923 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| PROJECT ELF INC | MA | O12 | $61,317 | $47,245 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| E4 PROJECT INC | CO | E60 | $196,320 | $155,745 | COFOUNDER/SE | $33,572 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| PROJECT OPEN INC | NY | P50 | $150,551 | $78,879 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| PROJECT ELF INC | OK | P58 | $195,889 | $181,009 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| PROJECT EXTEND INC | NJ | Not reported | $138,503 | $512,166 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| GREEN LIGHT PROJECT INC | NY | B99 | $4,173,499 | $4,532,087 | POLITICAL POLICY & SECURIT | $394,340 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| PROJECT PORCHLIGHT INC | NJ | Not reported | $896,031 | $940,652 | PRESIDENT | $103,205 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| 10TEN PROJECT INC | GA | Not reported | $511,171 | $545,330 | Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| PROJECT INSIGHT INC | AZ | P20 | $5,740,916 | $5,882,262 | President | $169,019 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| PROJECT GEN INC | NY | F30 | $348,647 | $348,647 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| PROJECT ID INC | WA | N99 | $532,051 | $630,456 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $88,501 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| Project Z Inc | VA | Not reported | $4,260,000 | $1,853,622 | none | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| LIGHTHOUSE PROJECT INC | NY | P20 | $1,246,005 | $307,058 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| PROJECT ECHO INC | MD | P20 | $1,164,231 | $1,132,525 | TREASURER & DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 31 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2017 · Form 990EZ · $22,241 spent · pay $0 · grants $18,100 · events $900
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $18,100 | 81.4% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $3,497 | 15.7% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $644 | 2.9% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $900 | reported apart |
| Total | $22,241 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990EZ · $25,095 spent · pay $0 · grants $20,550 · events $600
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $20,550 | 81.9% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $2,786 | 11.1% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $1,680 | 6.7% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $79 | 0.3% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $600 | reported apart |
| Total | $25,095 | 100% |
Comments