FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

J GEORGE MITNICK FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text J GEORGE MITNICK FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2025. https://furp.org/org/j-george-mitnick-foundation-237281995. Retrieved 2026-10-23.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). J GEORGE MITNICK FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2025]. Retrieved October 23, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/j-george-mitnick-foundation-237281995

MLA “J GEORGE MITNICK FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2025, https://furp.org/org/j-george-mitnick-foundation-237281995. Accessed 23 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-23; covers tax years 2020–2025. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990PF · revenue $73K · expenses $15K · assets $549K

Also known as
FOUNDATION
EIN
23-7281995
Address
505 20TH ST N STE 1150, BIRMINGHAM, AL 35203-4620
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (trust)
Ruling date
March 1973 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Private non-operating foundation
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 4 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

4 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Emily Hess Levine TRUSTEE2024-2025 0 $0 reported 2
David R Nelson Jr TRUSTEE2020-2025 0 $0 reported 2
Ronne M Hess TRUSTEE2020-2025 0 $0 reported 1
Stuart M Nelson (former) TRUSTEE2020-2024 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EMILY HESS LEVINE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2024 · 4 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
EMILY HESS LEVINE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
STUART M NELSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
2023 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STUART M NELSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2022 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STUART M NELSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2021 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STUART M NELSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2020 · 3 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STUART M NELSON TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
RONNE M HESS TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID R NELSON JR TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2025 · 1 grant to organizations · $10K
2024 · 1 grant to organizations · $10K
2023 · 1 grant to organizations · $29K
2022 · 1 grant to organizations · $15K
2021 · 2 grants to organizations · $115K
2020 · 2 grants to organizations · $33K

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990PF period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$73,317$14,508 $549,161$549,161 $178- $0--
2024 · Form 990PF period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$16,130$14,694 $483,016$483,016 $97- $0--
2023 · Form 990PF period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
-$780$33,397 $475,274$475,274 -- $0--
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$23,551$19,411 $492,893$492,893 -- $0--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$29,402$119,279 $477,299$477,299 -- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$43,047$37,155 $467,998$467,998 -- $0--

Connected to

Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (73)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
MARY L GEORGE FOUNDATIONMAT22 $39,628$38,406 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATIONCAT50 $58,615$475,902 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/SECRETARY$171,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GEORGE LEWIS FOUNDATIONMTT20 $38,978$66,430 Director$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
JOHN GEORGE HOME FOUNDATIONMIP80 $98,338$9,819 VICE PRESIDE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GEORGE WORKMAN FOUNDATIONAZT21 $60,003$28,423 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GEORGE R WILEY FOUNDATIONCANot reported $37,958$114,863 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GEORGE MURRAY FOUNDATION INCOHP20 $37,205$30,007 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
ST GEORGE FOUNDATIONOKNot reported $20,096$23,906 TRUSTEE$5,688 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE FOUNDATION INCNJQ30 $22,558$221,990 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
JOBS BY GEORGE FOUNDATIONCOO51 $298,932$256,542 PRESIDENT$20,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE F LONZ FOUNDATIONOHNot reported $32,220$27,950 PRES/SEC/TRU$325 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE FAMILY FOUNDATIONART21 $30,018$81,291 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE B PAGE FOUNDATIONCANot reported $257,269$274,275 SECRETARY$12,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
SAINT GEORGE FOUNDATIONOHT11 $274,725$79,454 TRUSTEE$6,741 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE DUFFY FOUNDATIONNYNot reported $284,633$184,853 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
MICK FOUNDATIONTNNot reported $146,999$225,699 DIRECTOR$100,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE C DODGE FOUNDATIONAZT22 $26,031$13,163 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE P WHITE FOUNDATIONILNot reported $33,412$40,200 PRESIDENT &$6,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE ANDREVE FOUNDATIONNCM12 $33,326$64,431 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE J LONDON MEMORIAL FOUNDATIONILNot reported $28,968$8,612 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE IGNATIUS FOUNDATIONCANot reported $230,141$280,233 Chairman$8,406 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE E WHITE FOUNDATIONWYNot reported $240,736$460,353 SECRETARY$111,627 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE G VAUGHT JR FOUNDATIONCOT22 $252,000$264,751 PRESIDENT/SECRETARY/TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
SR2 GEORGE FOUNDATION INCGAT50 $20,760$18,183 Director$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
GEORGE W COMSTOCK FOUNDATIONNYT20 $16,970$15,711 TRUSTEE$5,550 Similar name, revenue within 5x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 73 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
SIDNEY A KOHL FAM FOUNDATION TR Private foundation$538,00010 12015–2024 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$269,3068 22016–2023 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION; GEORGE FOUNDATION INC
PLEDGELING FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$163,7412 12023–2024 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
FORGOOD INC DAF sponsor$134,34211 12010–2021 GEORGE FOUNDATION INC
ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$120,0002 12011–2022 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
GILBERT AND JACKI CISNEROS FOUNDATION Private foundation$113,0005 12016–2019 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
ALLEN & ANITA KOHL CHARITABLE FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$99,80012 12016–2024 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
JOHNNY CARSON FOUNDATION Private foundation$65,0004 12021–2024 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
CARUSO FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$25,0001 12023–2023 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
PORTICUS NORTH AMERICA FOUNDATION Private foundation$21,0001 12017–2017 GEORGE FAMILY FOUNDATION
THE 1440 FOUNDATION Private foundation$21,0001 12017–2017 GEORGE FAMILY FOUNDATION
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$20,0504 12014–2022 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
GIBSON GIVES Private foundation$18,7002 12023–2024 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
WEINTRAUB FAMILY FOUNDATION Private foundation$15,0003 12021–2023 GEORGE LOPEZ FOUNDATION
ALICE SHAW FARBER TRUST UW Private foundation$10,5231 12010–2010 GEORGE DUFFY FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990PF · $14,508 spent · pay $0 · grants $10,086 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $10,086 69.5%
Fees: other professional $2,030 14.0%
Fees: accounting $1,900 13.1%
Other expenses $261 1.8%
Taxes $226 1.6%
Printing and publications $5 0.0%
Total$14,508100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990PF · $14,694 spent · pay $0 · grants $10,341 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $10,341 70.4%
Fees: other professional $1,874 12.8%
Fees: accounting $1,832 12.5%
Fees: legal $550 3.7%
Taxes $97 0.7%
Total$14,694100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990PF · $33,397 spent · pay $0 · grants $29,421 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $29,421 88.1%
Fees: other professional $1,996 6.0%
Fees: accounting $1,700 5.1%
Taxes $280 0.8%
Total$33,397100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990PF · $19,411 spent · pay $0 · grants $15,211 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $15,211 78.4%
Fees: other professional $2,241 11.5%
Fees: accounting $1,600 8.2%
Taxes $359 1.8%
Total$19,411100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $119,279 spent · pay $0 · grants $114,742 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $114,742 96.2%
Fees: other professional $2,481 2.1%
Fees: accounting $1,500 1.3%
Taxes $556 0.5%
Total$119,279100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $37,155 spent · pay $0 · grants $33,334 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $33,334 89.7%
Fees: other professional $2,224 6.0%
Fees: accounting $1,375 3.7%
Taxes $176 0.5%
Other expenses $40 0.1%
Printing and publications $6 0.0%
Total$37,155100%

View the filing