STEPHEN W AND SUSAN M BAIRD FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text STEPHEN W AND SUSAN M BAIRD FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/stephen-w-and-susan-m-baird-foundation-200478557. Retrieved 2026-10-27.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). STEPHEN W AND SUSAN M BAIRD FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved October 27, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/stephen-w-and-susan-m-baird-foundation-200478557

MLA “STEPHEN W AND SUSAN M BAIRD FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/stephen-w-and-susan-m-baird-foundation-200478557. Accessed 27 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-27; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $2.2M · expenses $3.1M · assets $33.2M

Also known as
FOUNDATION C/O STEPHEN W BAIRD
EIN
20-0478557
Address
120 S LA SALLE ST STE 2000, CHICAGO, IL 60603-3594
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
March 2005 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Private non-operating foundation
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 2 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

2 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Stephen W Baird DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT2020-2024 0 $0 reported 1
Susan M Baird DIRECTOR, SECRETARY2020-2024 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHEN W BAIRD DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
SUSAN M BAIRD DIRECTOR, SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
2023 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHEN W BAIRD DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
SUSAN M BAIRD DIRECTOR, SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
2022 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHEN W BAIRD DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
SUSAN M BAIRD DIRECTOR, SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
2021 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHEN W BAIRD DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
SUSAN M BAIRD DIRECTOR, SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
2020 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
STEPHEN W BAIRD DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
SUSAN M BAIRD DIRECTOR, SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

2024 · 1 contractor · $198K
NameLocationServicePaid
GRESHAM PARTNERS LLCCHICAGO, ILINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT$198,211
2023 · 1 contractor · $178K
NameLocationServicePaid
GRESHAM PARTNERS LLCCHICAGO, ILINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT$178,322

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2024 · 35 grants to organizations · $2.2M
2023 · 24 grants to organizations · $2.1M
2022 · 37 grants to organizations · $2.0M
2021 · 46 grants to organizations · $1.8M
2020 · 67 grants to organizations · $1.2M

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.

2024 · 4 contributors · $342K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
3 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $149,731$149,731 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing
1 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $67,822$67,822 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing
4 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $65,237$65,237 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing
2 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $59,187$59,187 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing
2023 · 3 contributors · $971K
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $625,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing
2 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $249,177$249,177 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing
3 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Organization or other CHICAGO, IL $96,937$96,937 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing
2022 · 3 contributors · $1.8M
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
3 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $965,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing
2 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $500,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing
1 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $300,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing
2021 · 5 contributors · $5.3M
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
3 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $3,000,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing
4 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $1,000,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing
5 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $900,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing
2 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Person CHICAGO, IL $293,537$293,537 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing
1 NORTH STREET INVESTMENTS 2 LLC Person CHICAGO, IL $84,243$84,243 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing
2020 · 10 contributors · $7.5M
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
8 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $2,014,704- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
9 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $2,000,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
10 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $1,600,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
6 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $1,000,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
3 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $300,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
2 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $159,548$159,548 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
1 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $140,833$140,833 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
5 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $121,880$121,880 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
7 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $95,460$95,460 Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
4 STEPHEN AND SUSAN BAIRD Person CHICAGO, IL $50,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing

Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990PF period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$2,185,427$3,089,267 $33,171,660$33,171,660 $341,977- $0--
2023 · Form 990PF period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,869,017$2,853,720 $34,423,808$34,416,308 $971,114- $0--
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$3,342,100$2,366,691 $35,753,391$35,745,891 $1,765,000- $0--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$7,234,460$2,120,244 $35,258,966$35,251,466 $5,277,780- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$8,088,773$1,380,640 $30,151,574$30,144,074 $7,482,425- $0--

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
Stephen and Susan Butt Family FoundationTXNot reported $8,221,861$1,622,740 Co-Trustee$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
BOB AND SUSAN WILSON FOUNDATIONTNT22 $10,998,377$531,606 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x
SUSAN POLIS SCHUTZ AND STEPHEN SCHUTZ FOUNDATIONCANot reported $45,291$2,058,305 TREASURER/ASST SEC./DIRECT$256,439 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
BARBARA AND STEPHEN MILLER FOUNDATIONDET20 $68,501$148,944 Pres, Dir, Sec$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
STEPHEN M SANDER FOUNDATION INCNYT22 $127,104$147,090 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
STEPHEN G AND SUSAN E DENKERS FAMILY FOUNDATIONUTT22 $51,634$182,014 Trustee$1,000 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
STEPHEN AND KELLY MACK FOUNDATIONNYP99 $0$0 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 7 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
ROBERT A AND SUSAN C WILSON FOUNDATION Private foundation$10,834,8501 12024–2024 BOB AND SUSAN WILSON FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990PF · $3,089,267 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,248,820 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $2,248,820 72.8%
Other expenses $555,507 18.0%
Fees: other professional $238,261 7.7%
Taxes $39,149 1.3%
Fees: accounting $7,530 0.2%
Total$3,089,267100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990PF · $2,853,720 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,059,400 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $2,059,400 72.2%
Other expenses $341,839 12.0%
Fees: other professional $218,372 7.7%
Interest $142,309 5.0%
Taxes $80,975 2.8%
Fees: accounting $10,825 0.4%
Total$2,853,720100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990PF · $2,366,691 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,036,955 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $2,036,955 86.1%
Fees: other professional $214,265 9.1%
Interest $72,117 3.0%
Taxes $26,222 1.1%
Fees: accounting $16,928 0.7%
Other expenses $204 0.0%
Total$2,366,691100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $2,120,244 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,823,012 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,823,012 86.0%
Fees: other professional $220,659 10.4%
Interest $39,544 1.9%
Taxes $26,434 1.2%
Fees: accounting $10,000 0.5%
Other expenses $595 0.0%
Total$2,120,244100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $1,380,640 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,176,257 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,176,257 85.2%
Fees: other professional $169,142 12.3%
Taxes $13,105 0.9%
Fees: accounting $11,000 0.8%
Interest $10,973 0.8%
Other expenses $163 0.0%
Total$1,380,640100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.