THE CHARLENE AND DAVID HOWE FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text THE CHARLENE AND DAVID HOWE FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2014–2021. https://furp.org/org/the-charlene-and-david-howe-foundation-200370098. Retrieved 2026-10-29.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). THE CHARLENE AND DAVID HOWE FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2014–2021]. Retrieved October 29, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/the-charlene-and-david-howe-foundation-200370098

MLA “THE CHARLENE AND DAVID HOWE FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2014–2021, https://furp.org/org/the-charlene-and-david-howe-foundation-200370098. Accessed 29 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-29; covers tax years 2014–2021. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2021 · Form 990PF · revenue $61K · expenses $5.2M · assets $0

Also known as
C/O PRAGER METIS CPAS LLC
EIN
20-0370098
Address
100 SUNNYSIDE BLVD SUITE 200, WOODBURY, NY 11797
NTEE code
-
Exempt type
-
Ruling date
-
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 2 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

2 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
David S Howe TRUSTEE2014-2021 0 $0 reported 2
Charlene W Howe TRUSTEE2014-2021 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2021 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
CHARLENE W HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID S HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2020 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
CHARLENE W HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID S HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2019 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
CHARLENE W HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID S HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02
2014 · 2 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
CHARLENE W HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID S HOWE TRUSTEE0 $0-$0 $02

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2021 · 7 grants to organizations · $5.2M
2020 · 12 grants to organizations · $362K
2019 · 22 grants to organizations · $292K
2014 · 15 grants to organizations · $124K

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$61,482$5,229,304 $0$0 -- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$744,487$370,505 $5,227,061$5,167,822 -- $0--
2019 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,624,727$300,049 $4,853,079$4,793,840 -- $0--
2014 · Form 990PF period ending 2015-11-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$75,598$138,187 $1,673,327$1,673,327 -- $0--

Connected to

Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (26)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
THE GINA AND DAVID CHU FOUNDATION CO DAVID CHUNYNot reported $43,363$44,356 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
DAVID AND LUCY CHANG FOUNDATIONDET90 $71,085$48,174 Dir, Pres, Sec, Treas$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
CHARLES DAVID ASHLEY FOUNDATIONWINot reported $42,636$1,060,980 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
CHADY AND DAVID HALL FOUNDATIONOHT20 $306,677$152,748 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
DAVID AND MARY CHOW FOUNDATIONCAB82 $137,628$120,671 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
THE DAVID NALEN FOUNDATIONIDNot reported $27,398$126,168 BRD CHAIRMAN$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
THE BOB AND AUBYN HOWE FOUNDATIONTXNot reported $13,395$45,920 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
DAVID CHARLES HORN FOUNDATION INCNYT23 $10,041$3,013 PRES & TREAS.$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x, same state
THE DAVID AND CHRISTINA LYNCH FOUNDATIONWAT22 $438,046$438,046 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x
THE HERMINE AND DAVID HELLER FOUNDATIONNYT20 $2,376,251$2,728,380 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state
DAVID S HOWE FOUNDATIONNYT20 $2,000,928$1,305,274 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state
THE KIM AND DAVID WAGMAN FOUNDATIONNYT20 $4,171,340$1,538,359 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state
THE PHILLY AND CHARLIE DAKE FOUNDATIONNYNot reported $26$44,937 Chairman$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state
THE PAUL AND CAROL DAVID FOUNDATIONOHNot reported $3,967,385$5,041,685 Staff$316,453 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CHARLES AND JANA DAVIS FOUNDATIONILNot reported $226$595 President$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CLARK AND CHARLENE THOMPSON FOUNDATIONTXNot reported $679,299$694,667 President / Trustee$2,400 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATIONCAT21 $1,363,326$922,372 TREASURER, DIRECTOR$772,970 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
The David Herro Charitable FoundationFLNot reported $2,921,972$4,577,511 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
DAVID S AND MARLENE R SHEENA CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONMAT22 $1,325,868$21,830 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
ARLENE F PAGE AND J DAVID PAGE CHARITABLE FOUNDATION INCFLT20 $1,613,635$385,673 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
THE ROSE AND DAVID DORTORT FOUNDATIONCANot reported $1,002,518$779,360 ASSISTANT TREASURER$472,200 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
THE CHARLESS FOUNDATIONMONot reported -$888$86,648 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
The Dirk and Charlene Kabcenell FoundationCANot reported $0$0 Secretary$0 Similar name
THE CHARLENE TANG FOUNDATIONCAT22 $0$1,486 CEO$0 Similar name
THE CHARLES AND DANICA PEREZ FOUNDATIONCANot reported $0$880 Trustee$0 Similar name

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 26 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
THE CHARLENE AND DAVID HOWE FOUNDATION Private foundation$4,984,8521 12021–2021 DAVID S HOWE FOUNDATION
JEWISH COMMUNITY FEDERATION OF S F MARIN PENINSULA & SONOMA COUNTIES DAF sponsor$750,0002 12012–2013 CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATION
DRAPER FOUNDATION Private foundation$325,0004 12019–2024 CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATION
CRANKSTART FOUNDATION Private foundation$100,0002 12020–2021 CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATION
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$50,0001 12019–2019 CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATION
SAN FRANCISCO FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$25,0001 12019–2019 CARLA AND DAVID CRANE FOUNDATION
BRIDGEWATER EDSON FOUNDATION Private foundation$15,4571 12023–2023 ARLENE F PAGE AND J DAVID PAGE CHARITABLE FOUNDATION INC
KIKIS FAM FOUNDATION Private foundation$2,5001 12013–2013 THE DAVID NALEN FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2021 · Form 990PF · $5,229,304 spent · pay $0 · grants $5,205,396 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $5,205,396 99.5%
Taxes $15,720 0.3%
Fees: accounting $7,428 0.1%
Other expenses $750 0.0%
Fees: other professional $10 0.0%
Total$5,229,304100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $370,505 spent · pay $0 · grants $362,500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $362,500 97.8%
Fees: accounting $7,250 2.0%
Other expenses $750 0.2%
Fees: other professional $5 0.0%
Total$370,505100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990PF · $300,049 spent · pay $0 · grants $292,500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $292,500 97.5%
Fees: accounting $6,907 2.3%
Taxes $346 0.1%
Other expenses $250 0.1%
Fees: other professional $46 0.0%
Total$300,049100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990PF · $138,187 spent · pay $0 · grants $123,500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $123,500 89.4%
Taxes $9,169 6.6%
Fees: accounting $5,192 3.8%
Other expenses $326 0.2%
Total$138,187100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.