NOVARTIS US FOUNDATION
Cite this
Plain text NOVARTIS US FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2024. https://furp.org/org/novartis-us-foundation-136193034. Retrieved 2026-10-30.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). NOVARTIS US FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2024]. Retrieved October 30, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/novartis-us-foundation-136193034
MLA “NOVARTIS US FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2024, https://furp.org/org/novartis-us-foundation-136193034. Accessed 30 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-30; covers tax years 2020–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $12.5M · expenses $14.2M · assets $16.8M
- EIN
- 13-6193034
- Address
- 1 HEALTH PLZ, EAST HANOVER, NJ 07936-1016
- Website
- HTTPS://WWW.NOVARTISFOUNDATION.ORG
- NTEE code
- -
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
- Ruling date
- January 1966 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Private non-operating foundation
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 23 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
23 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jamie Huertas | SECRETARY | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Eduard Marti | TREASURER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Kristina Digravina | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Ashley Atkins | MANAGER | 2020-2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Hayley Razloznik | MANAGER | 2020-2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| David Xia | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Daniel Wipfli | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Binta Beard | PRESIDENT | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Michael L Perez | ASSISTANT SECRETARY | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| David Hellmuth (former) | SECRETARY | 2020-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Katherine Vazquez (former) | TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 2020-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Stephen Petty (former) | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2020-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Dorothy Stenrud (former) | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2021-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Patricia Sestak (former) | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2021-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Patrice Matchaba (former) | PRESIDENT | 2021-2023 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Tracy Furey (former) | PRESIDENT/TRUSTEE | 2020-2021 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Lucia Aurello (former) | MANAGER | 2020-2021 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| David Simpson (former) | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 2020-2021 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Christian Klee (former) | TRUSTEE | 2020 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Thomas Kendris (former) | CHAIRMAN | 2020 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Candie Phipps (former) | TRUSTEE | 2020 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Marylynn Sauro (former) | TRUSTEE | 2020 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Bryant Aaron (former) | TRUSTEE | 2020 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 9 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAMIE HUERTAS | SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| EDUARD MARTI | TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| KRISTINA DIGRAVINA | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ASHLEY ATKINS | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HAYLEY RAZLOZNIK | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DAVID XIA | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DANIEL WIPFLI | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| BINTA BEARD | PRESIDENT | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL L PEREZ | ASSISTANT SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
2023 · 8 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID HELLMUTH | SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| KATHERINE VAZQUEZ | TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| STEPHEN PETTY | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ASHLEY ATKINS | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HAYLEY RAZLOZNIK | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DOROTHY STENRUD | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PATRICIA SESTAK | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| PATRICE MATCHABA | PRESIDENT | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 8 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID HELLMUTH | SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| KATHERINE VAZQUEZ | TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| STEPHEN PETTY | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ASHLEY ATKINS | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HAYLEY RAZLOZNIK | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DOROTHY STENRUD | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PATRICIA SESTAK | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| PATRICE MATCHABA | PRESIDENT | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 11 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TRACY FUREY | PRESIDENT/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| DAVID HELLMUTH | SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| KATHERINE VAZQUEZ | TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| STEPHEN PETTY | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ASHLEY ATKINS | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LUCIA AURELLO | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HAYLEY RAZLOZNIK | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DOROTHY STENRUD | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PATRICIA SESTAK | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| PATRICE MATCHABA | PRESIDENT | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DAVID SIMPSON | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 13 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TRACY FUREY | PRESIDENT/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| DAVID HELLMUTH | SECRETARY | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| KATHERINE VAZQUEZ | TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| STEPHEN PETTY | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ASHLEY ATKINS | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LUCIA AURELLO | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| HAYLEY RAZLOZNIK | MANAGER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| THOMAS KENDRIS | CHAIRMAN | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CANDIE PHIPPS | TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MARYLYNN SAURO | TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DAVID SIMPSON | ASSISTANT TREASURER | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BRYANT AARON | TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHRISTIAN KLEE | TRUSTEE | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2024 · 9 grants to organizations · $13.8M · 1 returned · -$15K
2023 · 8 grants to organizations · $10.2M
2022 · 6 grants to organizations · $6.5M
2021 · 9 grants to organizations · $11.6M
2020 · 9 grants to organizations · $11.8M
Listed grants add up to $11,842,297; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $16,439,862. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.
2024 · 1 contributor · $6.5M
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOVARTIS CORPORATION | Organization or other | EAST HANOVER, NJ | $6,532,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2024 · filing |
2023 · 1 contributor · $6.8M
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOVARTIS CORPORATION | Organization or other | EAST HANOVER, NJ | $6,832,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2023 · filing |
2022 · 1 contributor · $5.8M
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOVARTIS CORPORATION | Organization or other | EAST HANOVER, NJ | $5,800,135 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2022 · filing |
2021 · 1 contributor · $1.3M
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOVARTIS CORPORATION | Organization or other | EAST HANOVER, NJ | $1,250,221 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2021 · filing |
2020 · 1 contributor · $1.0M
| # | Contributor | Type | City, state | Total | Noncash | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOVARTIS CORPORATION | Organization or other | EAST HANOVER, NJ | $1,000,000 | - | Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing |
Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $12,468,613 | $14,166,542 | $16,755,990 | $6,045,181 | $6,532,000 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $11,098,253 | $10,506,293 | $14,852,875 | $7,742,957 | $6,832,000 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $11,748,476 | $6,807,575 | $13,549,393 | $7,150,997 | $5,800,135 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $6,780,440 | $11,922,830 | $11,019,681 | $2,210,096 | $1,250,221 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $8,384,010 | $17,085,931 | $12,076,630 | $7,352,486 | $1,000,000 | - | $0 | - | - |
Connected to
Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.
- NOVARTIS PATIENT ASSISTANCE FOUNDATION East Hanover, NJ · 4 people in common (Daniel Wipfli, Eduard Marti, Jamie Huertas)
- MORPHOSYS FOUNDATION INC East Hanover, NJ · 3 people in common (Daniel Wipfli, Eduard Marti, Jamie Huertas)
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (73)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSM US FOUNDATION | IA | B82 | $7,047,036 | $7,007,407 | CHAIR & TREASURER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| NOUR FOUNDATION | NY | P20 | $11,362,949 | $957,302 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| USGA FOUNDATION | NJ | N11 | $5,592,408 | $3,614,036 | DIRECTOR | $3,048,448 | Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state |
| US LBM FOUNDATION | GA | T12 | $3,362,201 | $3,741,405 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| CURTIS FOUNDATION | NC | Not reported | $2,917,377 | $518,638 | PRESIDENT/TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| INDO-US FOUNDATION | IL | P99 | $5,332,128 | $4,441,922 | VICE-PRESIDE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| BOAT US FOUNDATION | VA | M40 | $4,058,802 | $3,848,827 | TREASURER | $118,636 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| OCI US FOUNDATION | IA | Not reported | $1,500,000 | $1,500,000 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| WLSA US FOUNDATION | CA | B90 | $2,422,851 | $60,761 | SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| NOVA VISTA FOUNDATION | DE | T22 | $2,152,011 | $1,626,898 | VP, DIR OF RESEARCH & PROGRAM | $70,740 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| ELMA FOUNDATION US | NY | T20 | $2,069,895 | $2,781,790 | DIRECTOR & CEO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| EROL FOUNDATION US | CA | T23 | $1,921,597 | $1,900,972 | SECRETARY/MANAGING DIRECTOR/DIRECTOR | $344,834 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| NORD FOUNDATION | CO | T22 | $1,533,291 | $887,339 | Director, President/Treasu | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 10x |
| NOVUS FOUNDATION | IL | T22 | $2,024 | $2,043 | Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVO FOUNDATION | NY | T99 | $473,629,747 | $237,536,467 | VICE PRESIDENT | $595,126 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOUS FOUNDATION | LA | Q21 | $263,929 | $228,856 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| CHARTIS FOUNDATION | MA | E60 | $400,730 | $427,650 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVUM FOUNDATION | TX | T21 | $723,692 | $602,025 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| UNION FOUNDATION US | IL | X20 | $668,768 | $626,190 | Treasurer | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVED FOUNDATION | WA | T20 | $63,667 | $34,722 | MANAGER | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| Noris Foundation | CO | Not reported | $6,121 | $4,766 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVAMIND FOUNDATION | CA | B99 | $198,093 | $1,915 | CFO Secretary Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVACHAI FOUNDATION | VA | B90 | $109,597 | $88,207 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| NOVA FOUNDATION INC | CA | T20 | $40,569 | $41,592 | Chairman | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| Nova Foundation Inc | NV | Not reported | $29,729 | $241,709 | Vice President | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 73 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990PF · $14,166,542 spent · pay $0 · grants $13,775,425 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $13,775,425 | 97.2% | |
| Other expenses | $193,277 | 1.4% | |
| Taxes | $81,715 | 0.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $64,000 | 0.5% | |
| Fees: other professional | $52,125 | 0.4% | |
| Total | $14,166,542 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990PF · $10,506,293 spent · pay $0 · grants $10,184,424 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $10,184,424 | 96.9% | |
| Other expenses | $160,847 | 1.5% | |
| Fees: other professional | $64,000 | 0.6% | |
| Taxes | $57,647 | 0.5% | |
| Fees: accounting | $39,375 | 0.4% | |
| Total | $10,506,293 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990PF · $6,807,575 spent · pay $0 · grants $6,520,326 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $6,520,326 | 95.8% | |
| Other expenses | $121,690 | 1.8% | |
| Taxes | $82,609 | 1.2% | |
| Fees: other professional | $64,000 | 0.9% | |
| Fees: accounting | $18,950 | 0.3% | |
| Total | $6,807,575 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990PF · $11,922,830 spent · pay $0 · grants $11,604,941 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $11,604,941 | 97.3% | |
| Other expenses | $219,739 | 1.8% | |
| Taxes | $76,750 | 0.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $21,400 | 0.2% | |
| Total | $11,922,830 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990PF · $17,085,931 spent · pay $0 · grants $16,439,862 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $16,439,862 | 96.2% | |
| Other expenses | $373,606 | 2.2% | |
| Fees: other professional | $158,700 | 0.9% | |
| Taxes | $102,543 | 0.6% | |
| Fees: accounting | $11,220 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $17,085,931 | 100% |
Comments