EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL FOUNDATION (EIN 23-7053028)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2026-04-30
IRS object ID
202631209349301223
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-04-30T10:29:57+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One Oak Plaza Suite 300AddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237053028EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eastern Virginia Medical School FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlEASTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7574466051PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5AddressLine1Txt
CityNORFOLKCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP235010005ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJane R ShortPersonNm
Person TitleTreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone7574466065PhoneNum
Signature2026-04-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2026-03-27PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jane R ShortBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5AddressLine1Txt
CityNORFOLKCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP235010005ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$16,749,804GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1969FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Eastern Virginia Medical School Foundation serves to strengthen the financial security of Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University by accepting, investing and managing gifts, donations and bequests.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent23VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers21TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$223,153TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$221,758NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,363,916PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,556,152CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$10,165,532PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$11,799,989CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$143,627PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$36,869CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$14,673,075PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$16,393,010CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,043,531PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,149,204CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$226,752PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$208,137CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$46,050PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$80,608CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,356,928PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$951,434CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$11,673,261PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$10,308,775CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,999,814PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,084,235CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$184,852,997TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$196,378,391TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$663,617TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$94,495TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$184,189,380NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$196,283,896NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Eastern Virginia Medical School Foundation serves to strengthen the financial security of Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University by accepting, investing and managing gifts, donations and bequests.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$4,519,675ExpenseAmt
Grant$4,519,675GrantAmt
Revenue$36,869RevenueAmt
DescRESTRICTED GRANTS GIVEN TO Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,303,447ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,303,447GrantAmt
DescAPPROPRIATIONS FOR PROGRAM AND PROFESSORSHIP ENHANCEMENTS OF Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,309,220ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,309,220GrantAmt
DescAPPROPRIATIONS FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS OF Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMSDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,016,862ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,016,862GrantAmt
DescAPPROPRIATIONS FOR STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AT Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$1,016,862TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$1,016,862TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$9,149,204TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document15IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member23IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Thomasin Chrisman Assistant TreasurerBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7574466065PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5AddressLine1Txt
CityNORFOLKCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP235010005ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Brad Waitzer
Chair1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CLYDE T CLARK JR
Secretary1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANE R SHORT
Treasurer1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kirkland Kelley
Vice-Chair1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew S Fine
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Aubrey Layne Jr
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
B THOMAS MANSBACH
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Conrad Hall
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hans VonKruger
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harold Jones III
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jeffrey Patton JR
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Karen FINE
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEWIS W WEBB III
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Louis F Ryan
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK B DREYFUS
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK D MANION
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michelle Butler
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patricia Y King
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Preston White
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDOLPH HOOVER
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHIRLEY C BALDWIN
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Vandana A Patel
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wayne Wilbanks
TRUSTEE1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$4,556,152AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$369,804NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,556,152TotalContributionsAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,073,483TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$223,153UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,850,330ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$9,083,300SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$356,794SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,726,506SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,726,506TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$8,726,506ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNET LIFE INSURANCE ACTIVITYDesc
Business524298BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$36,869TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,869RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$36,869OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,393,010TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,869RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$223,153UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$11,576,836ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,130,951TotalAmt
Program Services$9,130,951ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,253TotalAmt
Program Services$18,253ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$153,140TotalAmt
Management And General$153,140ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,997TotalAmt
Management And General$54,997ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,345TotalAmt
Management And General$18,345ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,734TotalAmt
Management And General$53,734ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$784,521TotalAmt
Management And General$784,521ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,608TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$80,608FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,119TotalAmt
Management And General$1,119ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,422TotalAmt
Management And General$1,422ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
GENERAL EXPENSES$8,711$8,711
MERCHANT FEES$1,524$1,524
REGISTRATION FEES$1,450$1,450

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,308,775TotalAmt
Program Services$9,149,204ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,078,963ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$80,608FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,626,269BOYAmt
EOY$1,478,650EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,450,811BOYAmt
EOY$10,598,542EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,853,087BOYAmt
EOY$3,593,456EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$0LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$0LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,595,085BOYAmt
EOY$42,482,002EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$129,428,255BOYAmt
EOY$136,252,966EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,899,490BOYAmt
EOY$1,972,775EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,852,997BOYAmt
EOY$196,378,391EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,078BOYAmt
EOY$55,151EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$637,539BOYAmt
EOY$39,344EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$663,617BOYAmt
EOY$94,495EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,556,995BOYAmt
EOY$27,765,495EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$158,632,385BOYAmt
EOY$168,518,401EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,189,380BOYAmt
EOY$196,283,896EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,852,997BOYAmt
EOY$196,378,391EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,084,235ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$6,010,281NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$18,448,443CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,527,358CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$9,942,566CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,363,916CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,556,152CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$46,838,435TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$18,448,443CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,527,358CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$9,942,566CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,363,916CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,556,152CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$46,838,435TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$3,237,485SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$43,600,950PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,169,331CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,272,794CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,771,509CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,441,826CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,850,330CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$9,505,790TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$93,635CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,984CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$32,357CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$33,794CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$36,869CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$218,639TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$56,562,864TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$0GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.77084PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.79853PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10 Other IncomeFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDESCRIPTION - NET LIFE INSURANCE ACTIVITY, COLUMN A - 30689.0, COLUMN B - 21984.0, COLUMN C - 32357.0, COLUMN D - 33794.0, COLUMN E - 36869.0, COLUMN F - 155693.0; DESCRIPTION - FUNDRAISING REIMBURSEMENT, COLUMN A - 62946.0, COLUMN B - , COLUMN C - , COLUMN D - , COLUMN E - , COLUMN F - 62946.0;ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$160,004,549BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,493,755ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$16,009,153InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,528,771GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$171,978,686EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$148,452,972BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,064,694ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$14,323,795InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$4,836,912GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$160,004,549EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$137,625,711BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,540,258ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,442,238InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$4,155,235GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$148,452,972EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$152,680,070BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,149,324ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$15,050,978InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$4,152,705GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$137,625,711EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$115,609,034BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,571,213ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$37,865,241InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,365,418GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$152,680,070EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.15BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.55PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.3TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Closely-held equity interests
Financial derivatives
Alternative Investments$136,252,966F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$136,252,966TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal Income Taxes
AMOUNT DUE TO AFFILIATES$39,344
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$39,344TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,067,380TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$6,010,281NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$448,610DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$6,458,891RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$15,608,489RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$784,521InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$784,521RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$16,393,010TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$9,972,864TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$448,610DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$448,610ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$9,524,254ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$784,521InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$784,521ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$10,308,775TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment fundsTHE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 200 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES. THE ENDOWMENT INCLUDES BOTH DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS AND FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS. NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH ENDOWMENT FUNDS, INCLUDING FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS, ARE CLASSIFIED AND REPORTED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR-IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteThe Foundation is exempt from federal and state income taxes under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and the tax statutes of the Commonwealth of Virginia; accordingly, the accompanying financial statements do not reflect a provision or liability for federal and state income taxes. Certain investment earnings may be subject to unrelated business income tax but the earnings have been immaterial. The Foundation has determined that it does not have any material unrecognized tax obligations as of June 30, 2025 and 2024.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsUBI TAX -
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsUBI TAX -

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Old Dominion UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1980AddressLine1Txt
CityNorfolkCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23501ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN546000884RecipientEIN
Cash Grant$9,038,488CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantSUPPORT EVMS PROFESSORSHIPS, CHAIRS, OPERATIONS, AND SCHOLARSHIPSPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeAwardsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient10RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$18,253CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant fundsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPROGRAM EXPENDITURES ARE MONITORED BY THE ACCOUNTING OFFICE FOR FINANCIAL AVAILABILITY AND THE DEVELOPMENT OFFICE TO MATCH THE EXPENDITURE AGAINST THE DONOR RESTRICTIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contribution22ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$369,804NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesOther - QUOTED STOCK PRICESMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I Explanations of reporting method for number of contributionsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSecurities - Publicly traded - SECURITIES - PUBLICLY TRADED - THE NUMBER OF STOCK DONATIONS RECEIVED (NOT SHARES) IS REPORTED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4a-4c Description of program services(Expenses $ 1,016,862 including grants of $ 1,016,862) APPROPRIATIONS FOR STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AT Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyA complete draft of Form 990, including all required schedules, was reviewed by the Finance and Investment Committee prior to filing. The committee reviewed the return and provided any comments or questions to management and the preparer, and the return was finalized and submitted after that review.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyEACH TRUSTEE OF THE BOARD IS REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE CONFLICT OF INTEREST ANNUALLY. INDEPENDENT COMMITTEES EVAULATE CONFLICT OF INTERESTS AND TRUSTEES WITH CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE NOT PERMITTED TO VOTE ON PROPOSALS RELATED TO CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialIt IS THE POLICY OF THE EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL FOUNDATION TO PAY WAGES AND SALARIES WHICH APPROPRIATELY RECOGNIZE JOB RESPONSIBILITIES AND INDIVIDUAL PERFORMANCE AND ARE COMPETITIVE IN THE JOB MARKET IN ORDER TO ATTRACT, RETAIN, REWARD, AND MOTIVATE EMPLOYEES. THE WAGES AND SALARIES ARE PAID BY Old Dominion University AND REIMBURSED BY THE FOUNDATION.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicUPON REQUEST
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c Change of oversight process or selection processNO CHANGES TO OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE FROM PRIOR YEAR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.