CONNECTICUT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CONNECTICUT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 06-0666277)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2026-05-04
IRS object ID
202601249349302615
Schema version
2024v5.5
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-05-04T16:13:51-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN060903326PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WHITTLESEY PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1280 TRUMBULL ST 24TH FLAddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN060666277EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CONNECTICUT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCONNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8605255641PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 OAK STREET 500AddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP061068001ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTODD JAECKPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone8605255641PhoneNum
Signature2026-05-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLISA WILLSPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01828548PTIN
Phone8605223111PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTODD JAECKPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 OAK STREET 500AddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP061068001ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$31,262,530GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CEA.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1848FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCTLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCEA IS A MEMBER-DRIVEN ORGANIZATION GOVERNED BY DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED OFFICIALS THAT PROMOTES PUBLIC EDUCATION AND ADVOCATES FOR CERTIFIED EDUCATORS IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT THROUGH NEGOTIATION AND ORGANIZING ACTIVITIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body34VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee94TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$61,672TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$60,672NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$20,687,898PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,054,304CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$844,112PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,614,562CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$528,683PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$483,985CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$21,003,327PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$23,184,881CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$290,108PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$423,603CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,960,981PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,815,369CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,993,337PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$4,693,329CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$19,244,426PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$19,932,301CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,758,901PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,252,580CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$36,163,469TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$45,677,143TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$5,861,906TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,470,356TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$30,301,563NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$41,206,787NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE ASSOCIATION PROMOTES QUALITY PUBLIC EDUCATION THROUGH ADVANCING THE TEACHING PROFESSION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE ASSOCIATION PROVIDES STAFF AND FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO LOCAL AFFILIATES FOR ORGANIZING COLLECTIVE BARGAINING, ELECTIONS, NEGOTIATIONS, AND LOCAL SUPPORT SERVICES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTHE ASSOCIATION PROVIDES MULTI-MEDIA COMMUNICATIONS TO MEMBERS THROUGH PRINT, DIGITAL, VIDEO, AND PODCAST RESOURCES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTHE ASSOCIATION PROVIDES EXPERT LEGAL SERVICES TO MEMBERS IN AREAS OF LABOR NEGOTIATIONS AND EMPLOYMENT RELATED MATTERS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxYes (1)SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document25IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee94EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members34GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CONNECTICUT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8605255641PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 OAK STAddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP061068001ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (46 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
KATE DIAS
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$152,190$101,746$47,080
JOSLYN DELANCEY
VICE-PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$127,267$116,941$14,319
TARA FLAHERTY
SECRETARY10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,000$0$0
STEPHANIE WANZER
TREASURER10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$21,000$0$0
KATY GALE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TANYA KORES
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAMMIA AGOORA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES ALLAN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARILYN DELLA ROCCO
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIA DIMBO
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER KAMINSKI
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LILLIAN PERONE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SANDRA PETERKIN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRISTEN RECORD
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA CORDOVA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN GAZAUKAS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EVELIS MAYETTE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHERYN PETRUZZI
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER RODRIGUEZ
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JACQUELYN SAWN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BETH FOULDS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHSEPH HOLLOWAY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHERIE CALABRESE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURA CLARK
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER DOWNHOUR
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEROGE FLAHERTY JR
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN KIELY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT MAHON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHERYN NOONAN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL GIBLIN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM MURRAY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY BETH LANG
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EMMA SANDS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA HIGGINS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TODD JAECK
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR40.00Yes (X)$186,552$0$66,800
RAYMOND ROSSOMANDO
DIRECTOR OF PROFESSIONAL P40.00$200,879$0$66,871Yes (X)
NANCY ANDREWS
DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS40.00$198,016$0$66,457Yes (X)
MARILYN MATHES
DIRECTOR OF AFFILIATE & ME40.00$198,025$0$75,701Yes (X)
ADRIENNE DELUCCA
GENERAL COUNSEL40.00$222,790$0$50,999Yes (X)
HERMAN WHITTER
DIRECTOR OF AFFILIATE & ME40.00$192,869$0$65,713Yes (X)
MELANIE KOLEK
LEGAL COUNSEL40.00$212,357$0$77,773Yes (X)
REBECCA MITCHELL
LEGAL COUNSEL40.00$211,266$0$68,372Yes (X)
ERIC FISHER
UNISERV REP40.00$169,931$0$62,398Yes (X)
MICHAEL BRADY
UNISERV REP40.00$167,158$0$71,240Yes (X)
MICHAEL BREEN
UNISERV REP40.00$163,518$0$70,714Yes (X)
LOVEL CASSELLS
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE - FORMER40.00$123,420$0$21,595Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,561,238TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$218,687TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$826,032TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K60IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
GILBANE BUILDING CO
7 JACKSON WALKWAYPROVIDENCERI02903CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$1,433,227
ARCHITECTURAL BUILDING SYSTEMS
136 ROCKWELL ROADNEWINGTONCT06111CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$505,128
SMG CORPORATE SERVICES
25 CONTROLS DRIVESHELTONCT06484CLEANING CONTRACTOR$318,665
RM BRADLEY CO
ONE FINANCIAL PLAZAHARTFORDCT06103PROPERTY MANAGEMENT$315,826
MIRANDA CREATIVE INC
18 ELM AVENORWICHCT06360MEDIA SERVICES$229,656
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MEMBERSHIP DUES900099$18,975,723$18,975,723
NEA SUPPORT AND REIMBURSEMENT900099$1,947,146$1,947,146

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$131,435TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$131,435RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,054,304TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$731,258TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$731,258ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,871,296RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,416,953RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$545,657RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$545,657TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$545,657ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,544,000SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,660,696SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,883,304SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,883,304TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,883,304ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSPECIAL SERVICESDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$61,672TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$61,672UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$61,672OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,184,881TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$21,054,304RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$61,672UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,068,905ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$423,603TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,317,399TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,455,679TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,222,248TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,027,774TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$792,269TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,523TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$114,884TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,552TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$603,644TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$470,792TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,034TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$468,757TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$631,635TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$579,344TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$852,079TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,657TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$164,358TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,714TotalAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,356TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,932,301TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,412,690BOYAmt
EOY$6,233,361EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,850,349BOYAmt
EOY$1,418,666EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$393,851BOYAmt
EOY$241,947EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$33,025,119LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,846,657LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,294,986BOYAmt
EOY$8,178,462EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,211,593BOYAmt
EOY$21,608,076EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$7,996,631EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,163,469BOYAmt
EOY$45,677,143EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,101,481BOYAmt
EOY$4,470,356EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$760,425BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,861,906BOYAmt
EOY$4,470,356EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,301,563BOYAmt
EOY$41,206,787EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,301,563BOYAmt
EOY$41,206,787EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,163,469BOYAmt
EOY$45,677,143EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,252,580ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$397,243NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$8,049,887OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantially All Dues NondedYes (1)SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd
Only In House Lobbying0OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd
Agree Carryover Prior Year0AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$430,276OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$430,276BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$31,765,850OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$24,257,202DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,508,648BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$828,993OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$589,455DepreciationAmt
Book Value$239,538BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,178,462TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
PREPAID POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS OTHER THAN PENSION$5,539,826
PREPAID POSTRETIREMENT PENSION BENEFITS$2,456,805
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$7,996,631TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,164,926TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$397,243NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$10,466,840OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,069,597RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$23,095,329RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$89,552InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$89,552RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$23,184,881TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,259,702TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$2,416,953OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,416,953ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$19,842,749ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$89,552InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$89,552ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$19,932,301TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PENSION GAIN 2,343,753. OTHER POST RETIREMENT GAIN 5,706,134. RENTAL EXPENSE 2,416,953.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES 2,416,953.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (14 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
CT STEM ACADEMY
284 WASHINGTON STWALLINGFORDCT064928614889681361(A)(2)$40,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
TOLLAND EDUCATION ASSN
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237106764501(C)5$59,244$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
DANBURY EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237107187501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
FAIRFIELD EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106066082479501(C)5$25,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
WATERBURY EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106061071127501(C)5$25,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
MANCHESTER EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237107210501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
HAMDEN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237107199501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
GREENWICH EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106060867892501(C)5$6,810$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
BRIDGEPORT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106060866571501(C)5$25,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
WESTPORT EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106060881866501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
MILFORD EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237106726501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
WALLINGFORD EDUCATION ASSN
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237106769501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
EAST HARTFORD EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106237107191501(C)5$7,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS
STAMFORD EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
CARE OF CEA 21 OAK STREETHARTFORDCT06106060712064501(C)5$25,000$0TO DEFRAY ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmYes (1)EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KATE DIAS
PRESIDENT$152,190$101,746$0$0$0$0$0$0$47,080$0$199,270$101,746$0$0
MELANIE KOLEK
LEGAL COUNSEL$212,357$0$0$0$0$0$30,693$0$47,080$0$290,130$0$0$0
REBECCA MITCHELL
LEGAL COUNSEL$211,266$0$0$0$0$0$30,535$0$37,837$0$279,638$0$0$0
ADRIENNE DELUCCA
GENERAL COUNSEL$222,790$0$0$0$0$0$32,201$0$18,798$0$273,789$0$0$0
MARILYN MATHES
DIRECTOR OF AFFILIATE & ME$198,025$0$0$0$0$0$28,621$0$47,080$0$273,726$0$0$0
RAYMOND ROSSOMANDO
DIRECTOR OF PROFESSIONAL P$200,879$0$0$0$0$0$29,034$0$37,837$0$267,750$0$0$0
NANCY ANDREWS
DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS$198,016$0$0$0$0$0$28,620$0$37,837$0$264,473$0$0$0
HERMAN WHITTER
DIRECTOR OF AFFILIATE & ME$192,869$0$0$0$0$0$27,876$0$37,837$0$258,582$0$0$0
JOSLYN DELANCEY
VICE-PRESIDENT$127,267$116,941$0$0$0$0$0$0$488$13,831$127,755$130,772$0$0
TODD JAECK
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$186,552$0$0$0$0$0$26,963$0$39,837$0$253,352$0$0$0
MICHAEL BRADY
UNISERV REP$167,158$0$0$0$0$0$24,160$0$47,080$0$238,398$0$0$0
MICHAEL BREEN
UNISERV REP$163,518$0$0$0$0$0$23,634$0$47,080$0$234,232$0$0$0
ERIC FISHER
UNISERV REP$169,931$0$0$0$0$0$24,561$0$37,837$0$232,329$0$0$0
LOVEL CASSELLS
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE - FORMER$123,420$0$0$0$0$0$17,838$0$3,757$0$145,015$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ASSOCIATION IS DIRECTED AND LED BY ELECTED MEMBERS, OFFICERS, AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ADELEGATE MEMBERS ARE CONVENED ANNUALLY TO ELECT OFFICERS AS DIRECTED BY THE ASSOCIATION'S CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS AND IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST FORMS ARE UPDATED ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE STAFF PERSONNEL COMMITTEE AND THE BOARD COMPARES SALARIES TO COMPARABLE POSITIONS IN THE STATE AND THEN APPROVES RAISES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19GOVERNANCE DOCUMENTS AND CI POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE INCLUDED IN THE ORGANIZATION'S ANNUAL REPORT. FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATION'S WEBSITE OR UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:DEFINED BENEFIT INCOME/(EXPENSE) 2,343,753. OTHER POST RETIREMENT INCOME/(EXPENSE) 5,706,134.
FORM 990 PART XII, LINE 2CTHE ASSOCIATION HAS A FINANCE COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE AUDIT PROCESS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS THEN REVIEWS AND MEETS WITH AUDITORS ANNUALLY. THERE HAS BEEN NO CHANGE TO THIS PROCESS DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CONNECTICUT EDUCATION FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1CAPITOL PLACE 21 OAK STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN061283404EIN
Primary ActivitiesPROVIDE EMERGENCY AID, SCHOLARSHIPS, AND ASSISTANCE TO TEACHERS & STUDENTSPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCTLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status170(B)(1)(A)(VI)PublicCharityStatusTxt
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.