CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2025

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-6060726)
Tax period
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Filed
2026-09-11
IRS object ID
202642549349301494
Schema version
2025v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-09-11T16:34:00+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN331498605PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PLANTE & MORAN PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1750 TRADE CENTER WAY SUITE 300AddressLine1Txt
CityPORTAGECityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49002ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2025-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN386060726EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCREDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2699689251PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 140AddressLine1Txt
CityBATTLE CREEKCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP490160140ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTRACY MILLERPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2026-09-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDAVID LOWENTHAL CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00378651PTIN
Phone2695674500PhoneNum
Preparation2026-09-09PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2025TaxYr

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KELLOGG COMMUNITY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRACY MILLERBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 140AddressLine1Txt
CityBATTLE CREEKCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP490160140ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$62,515,464GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.KELLOGGCCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1941FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionKCCU IS A FULL-SERVICE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION SERVING FAMILIES FOR DECADES. YOUR CREDIT UNION PROVIDES MORE OPPORTUNITY THAN OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS BECAUSE IT IS OWNED AND GOVERNED BY THE PEOPLE WHO UTILIZE ITS PRODUCTS AND SERVICES. EVERY MEMBER OWNS A SHARE OF THE CREDIT UNION AND THE CREDIT UNION OPERATES TO PROMOTE THE FINANCIAL WELL-BEING OF ALL ITS MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee194TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers12TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$140,163TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$46,669,894PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$54,524,860CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$10,224,083PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$7,760,929CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$72,941PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$15,963CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$56,966,918PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$62,301,752CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$16,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$16,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,829,768PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,308,148CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$30,006,133PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$34,469,996CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$42,851,901PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$48,794,144CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$14,115,017PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$13,507,608CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$907,537,397TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$961,622,499TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$766,026,096TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$803,585,617TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$141,511,301NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$158,036,882NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionKCCU IS A FULL-SERVICE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION SERVING FAMILIES FOR DECADES. YOUR CREDIT UNION PROVIDES MORE OPPORTUNITY THAN OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS BECAUSE IT IS OWNED AND GOVERNED BY THE PEOPLE WHO UTILIZE ITS PRODUCTS AND SERVICES. EVERY MEMBER OWNS A SHARE OF THE CREDIT UNION, AND THE CREDIT UNION OPERATES TO PROMOTE THE FINANCIAL WELL-BEING OF ALL ITS MEMBERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescINCOME FROM THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP AND INVESTMENT OF MEMBERS' FUNDS PROVIDE THE FOUNDATION FROM WHICH THE ORGANIZATION CAN FUNCTION AND PROVIDE SERVICES TO ITS RESTRICTED MEMBERSHIP.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document16089IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee194EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcfalseRegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyfalseWhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRACY MILLERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8008545421PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 140AddressLine1Txt
CityBATTLE CREEKCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP490160140ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
CAROL CASEY
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHIRSTOPHER DEMAREST
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
E PAUL CHAMBERS
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
HENRY PAT ROLFE
CHAIRPERSON1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIE SMITH
VICE CHAIRPESON1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELISSA MILLER
SECRETARY1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROGER E PITZER
TREASURER1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SEPH DABROWSKI
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TREY JUNKINS
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
AMBER MALLERNEE
CCO38.00.0$194,130$0$36,135Yes (X)
CHRIS HARRIS
CFO38.00.0$159,260$0$22,613Yes (X)
JASON CAIN
CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFICER - PART YEAR38.00.0$87,732$0$6,027Yes (X)
KATE PRATLEY
CHIEF RISK OFFICER38.00.0$164,843$0$37,590Yes (X)
LINDSEY R LAW
CLO38.00.0$240,877$0$26,159Yes (X)
TRACY MILLER
CEO38.00.0$503,350$0$59,615Yes (X)
BECKY SCHUTZ
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR37.50.0$170,645$0$23,471Yes (X)
CHRIS KASPER
SENIOR INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MANAGER37.50.0$125,420$0$30,482Yes (X)
JERALD PAWLOWICZ
FINANCIAL ADVISOR37.50.0$194,652$0$33,033Yes (X)
JESSICA BISSENDEN
VP OF HR37.50.0$133,952$0$13,008Yes (X)
TARA STEELE
BUSINESS LENDING MANAGER37.50.0$150,642$0$22,253Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,125,503TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$310,386TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
TRACE3
PO BOX 603915CHARLOTTENC28260IT EQUIPMENT AND SERVICE PROVIDER$1,154,932
CU ANSWERS
6000 28TH ST SEGRAND RAPIDSMI49546CORE PROCESSOR$1,127,011
FISERV SOLUTIONS INC
PO BOX 934057ATLANTAGA93405CARD PROCESSOR$1,104,140
VISA USA
PO BOX 742233LOS ANGELESCA90074DEBIT/CREDIT CARD PROCESSOR$886,283
EDGE ONE
161 BUSINESS PARK CIRCLESTOUGHTONWI53589BANKING EQUIMENT$524,143
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K27CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INCOME ON LOANS522100$42,925,228$42,925,228
FEES/CHARGES/OTHER522100$4,845,643$4,845,643
SALES OF MORTGAGES522100$134,069$134,069
MORTGAGE PRODUCTION FEES522100$127,749$127,749

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,492,171TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$6,492,171RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$54,524,860TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,759,156TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$7,759,156RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$27,822RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$152,022RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$124,200RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$124,200TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$124,200RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$63,463OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$61,690OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,773OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,773RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFINANCE & INSURANCEDesc
Business520000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$140,163TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$140,163UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$140,163OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$62,301,752TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$62,161,589RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$140,163UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,000TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,538,330TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,742,035TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$750,605TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,452,298TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$824,880TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,832TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$216,000TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$109,035TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$275,535TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,214,569TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$814,517TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,479TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,072,704TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,973TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,644TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,138,963TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,453,066TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$176,917TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN SERVICING$2,910,794
MAINTENANCE$1,150,452
ATM EXPENSES$2,657,052
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$2,220,120

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,867,344TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,794,144TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,473,797BOYAmt
EOY$8,723,252EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,123,526BOYAmt
EOY$116,545,957EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$225,895BOYAmt
EOY$276,857EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$750,000BOYAmt
EOY$750,000EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$672,060,143BOYAmt
EOY$707,953,353EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$969,927BOYAmt
EOY$854,616EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$26,636,133LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$14,075,574LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,822,021BOYAmt
EOY$12,560,559EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,121,267BOYAmt
EOY$88,915,385EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,663,900BOYAmt
EOY$6,564,258EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,326,921BOYAmt
EOY$18,478,262EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$907,537,397BOYAmt
EOY$961,622,499EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,436,825BOYAmt
EOY$10,733,503EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$756,589,271BOYAmt
EOY$792,852,114EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$766,026,096BOYAmt
EOY$803,585,617EOYAmt

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$141,511,301BOYAmt
EOY$158,036,882EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$141,511,301BOYAmt
EOY$158,036,882EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$907,537,397BOYAmt
EOY$961,622,499EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$13,507,608ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,016,995NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$978OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,141,838OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,141,838BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,494,920OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,903,260DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,591,660BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,945,660OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,118,602DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,827,058BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,053,715OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,053,712DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,000,003BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$12,560,559TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
FEDERAL INCOME TAXES
MEMBER SHARES$792,852,114
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$792,852,114TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$0RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$0TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$0ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$0TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART XIIITHERE WAS AN AUDIT FOR THE TWELVE MONTHS ENDED ON 9/30. THERE IS NO AUDIT PERFORMED FOR THE FILLING PERIOD OF THE 990.
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) FOOTNOTETHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE (IRC SECTION 501(C)(14)), FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt
SCHOLARSHIP5$10,000$0
TEACHER GRANTS15$6,000$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE I, PART IIIKCCU AWARDS A ONE-TIME $2,000 SCHOLARSHIP TO 5 KCCU MEMBERS. ALL KCCU MEMEBERS WHO ARE PLANNING TO ATTEND OR CURRENTLY ATTEND AN ACCREDITED MICHIGAN COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY OR ARE WORKING TOWARDS A CERTIFICATION OR DEGREE PROGRAM IN THE TRADES AT STATE SUPPORTED COMMUNITY COLLEGES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP.
SCHEDULE I, PART IIIKCCU TEACHER GRANT PROGRAM IS A $400 AWARD GIVEN TO 15 TEACHERS TO BE USED FOR EQUIPMENT, EDUCATIONAL SOFTWARE, BOOKS, SPECIAL MATERIALS, OR ANY OTHER TOOLS TO HELP WITH THE EDUCATION OF OUR FUTURE GENERATION OF LEADERS! ALL APPLICANTS MUST BE PROFESSIONALLY CERTIFIED EDUCATORS TEACHING PRE-K THROUGH 12TH GRADE, AND PLAN TO CONTINUE TEACHING IN THE PROCEEDING SCHOOL YEAR. ONE APPLICATION IS ALLOWED PER TEACHER, PER SCHOOL YEAR. TEACHERS ARE THE ONLY INDIVIDUALS THAT CAN APPLY/NOMINATE THEMSELVES. STUDENTS, PARENTS, COMMUNITY MEMBERS, ADMINISTRATORS, ETC. CANNOT NOMINATE THEIR FAVORITE EDUCATORS. TEACHERS MUST BE AN EDUCATOR AT A SCHOOL THAT IS WITHIN KCCU'S FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP. APPLICANTS DO NOT NEED TO BE A MEMBER OF KCCU TO APPLY AND KCCU EMPLOYEES, IMMEDIATE FAMILY MEMBERS OF KCCU EMPLOYEES, DIRECTORS, OR OFFICERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TRACY MILLER
CEO$432,446$0$70,904$0$0$0$37,795$0$21,820$0$562,965$0$0$0
LINDSEY R LAW
CLO$207,807$0$33,070$0$0$0$23,747$0$2,412$0$267,036$0$0$0
AMBER MALLERNEE
CCO$166,278$0$27,852$0$0$0$16,115$0$20,020$0$230,265$0$0$0
KATE PRATLEY
CHIEF RISK OFFICER$148,593$0$16,250$0$0$0$17,467$0$20,123$0$202,433$0$0$0
CHRIS HARRIS
CFO$159,260$0$0$0$0$0$16,328$0$6,285$0$181,873$0$0$0
JERALD PAWLOWICZ
FINANCIAL ADVISOR$25,872$0$2,870$0$165,910$0$13,881$0$19,152$0$227,685$0$0$0
BECKY SCHUTZ
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$37,576$0$20,350$0$112,719$0$17,241$0$6,230$0$194,116$0$0$0
TARA STEELE
BUSINESS LENDING MANAGER$126,080$0$24,562$0$0$0$14,924$0$7,329$0$172,895$0$0$0
CHRIS KASPER
SENIOR INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MANAGER$114,484$0$10,936$0$0$0$10,526$0$19,956$0$155,902$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1A TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONSTHE ORGANIZATION OCCASIONALLY PROVIDES OPPORTUNITIES FOR SPOUSES AND OTHER FAMILY PARTNERS TO TRAVEL WITH BOARD MEMBERS TO CONFERENCES. THE FAMILY MEMBERS SHARE ACCOMMODATIONS PROVIDED BY THE ORGANIZATION WITH THE BOARD MEMBER. THE BOARD MEMBER IS NOT REIMBURSED FOR ANY ADDITIONAL TRAVEL EXPENSES RELATED TO COMPANION TRAVEL.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4B SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLANTRACY MILLER PARTICIPATES IN A SPLIT DOLLAR COLLATERAL INSURANCE SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN. THE LOAN RELATED TO THIS PLAN IS REPAID TO THE CREDIT UNION THROUGH THE RECOVERY OF ANY OUTLAYS, PLUS INTEREST, FROM THE UNDERLYING POLICY. AT SPECIFIED TIMES, THE PARTICIPANT RECEIVES BENEFIT PAYOUTS FROM THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE POLICY TO SUPPLEMENT RETIREMENT INCOME. THE BORROWINGS ARE MONITORED TO ENSURE THE POLICY WILL PAY A DEATH BENEFIT AT LEAST SUFFICIENT TO COVER THE CREDIT UNION'S OUTLAYS PLUS INTEREST. ANY REMAINING DEATH BENEFITS ARE DIVIDED BETWEEN THE CREDIT UNION AND THE PARTICIPANT'S BENEFICIARIES AS AGREED UPON.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRACY MILLERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship With OrgCEORelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeSPLIT DOLLAR COLLATERAL INSURANCE SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLANLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$750,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$837,690BalanceDueAmt
DefaultfalseDefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (true)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (true)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$837,690TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHEDULE L, PART II, LOANS TO AND FROM INTERESTED PERSONS: (A) NAME OF PERSON: TRACY MILLER (B) RELATIONSHIP WITH ORGANIZATION: CEO (C) PURPOSE OF LOAN: SPLIT DOLLAR COLLATERAL ASSIGNMENT - RETIREMENT (D) LOAN TO OR FROM ORGANIZATION = FROM (E) ORIGINAL PRINCIPAL AMOUNT $ 750,000. (F) BALANCE DUE $ 837,690. (G) LOAN IN DEFAULT = NO (H) APPROVED BY BOARD OR COMMITTEE = YES (I) WRITTEN AGREEMENT = YESExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 6 CLASSES OF MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERSTHE CREDIT UNION HAS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 7A MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS ELECTING MEMBERS OF GOVERNING BODYBOARD MEMBERS ARE ELECTED BY CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP IF ELECTION IS NEEDED.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 7B DECISIONS REQUIRING APPROVAL BY MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERSMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 11B REVIEW OF FORM 990 BY GOVERNING BODYTHE CFO AND CEO ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE COMPLETION AND REVIEW OF THE FORM 990 BEFORE IT IS FILED WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 15A PROCESS TO ESTABLISH COMPENSATION OF TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIALTHE APPLICABLE INDIVIDUALS ARE SUBJECT TO AN ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW AND GIVEN THE RESULTS, WILL BE COMPARED WITH PEER DATA TO ENSURE A COMPETITIVE AND COMMENSURATE PACKAGE IS PROVIDED.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 19 REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLICTHE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE CREDIT UNION'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2F OTHER PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE- TOTAL REVENUE: 6492171, RELATED OR EXEMPT FUNCTION REVENUE: 6492171, UNRELATED BUSINESS REVENUE: , REVENUE EXCLUDED FROM TAX UNDER SECTIONS 512, 513, OR 514: ;
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G OTHER FEES:OTHER PROFESSIONAL FEES 207,535. TOTAL OTHER FEES ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G, COL A 275,535.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E ALL OTHER FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES:MISCELLANEOUS 2,816,921. VISA EXPENSES 50,423. TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E, COL A 2,867,344.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS OR FUND BALANCESNET CHANGE IN UNREALIZED GAINS/(LOSSES) ON POST RETIREMENT BENEFIT PLAN - 978; TOTAL - 978;
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C CHANGE OF OVERSIGHT PROCESS OR SELECTION PROCESSWE HAVE A COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND THE SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT. OUR PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.
PART VI GOVERNANCE, MANAGEMENT, AND DISCLOSURE. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12:IF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARISE AT THE BOARD OR EMPLOYEE LEVEL, THE IMPLICATED INDIVIDUAL WILL REMOVE HIM/HERSELF FROM THE DECISION MAKING PROCESS. IF APPROVED, THE INDIVIDUAL WILL NOT BE ABLE TO MANAGE THE RELATIONSHIP.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.