FEM ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2013
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- FEM ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 46-0213171)
- Tax period
- 2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
- Filed
- 2014-10-27
- IRS object ID
- 201433009349300703
- Schema version
- 2013v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2014-10-27T08:11:02-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2013-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 450250958 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | EIDE BAILLY LLP | BusinessNameLine1 |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 EAST 10TH ST PO BOX 5125 | AddressLine1 |
| City | SIOUX FALLS | City |
| State | SD | State |
| ZIP Code | 571175125 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2013-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 460213171 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FEM ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | FEME | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 6054266891 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 468 | AddressLine1 |
| City | IPSWICH | City |
| State | SD | State |
| ZIP Code | 574510468 | ZIPCode |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SCOTT MOORE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | GENERAL MANAGER/CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 6054266891 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2014-10-22 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | LAURIE HANSON | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00851848 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6053391999 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2014-10-22 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2013 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2015-11-30 17:44:51Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | SCOTT MOORE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 468 | AddressLine1 |
| City | IPSWICH | City |
| State | SD | State |
| ZIP Code | 574510468 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $14,385,532 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.FEMELECTRIC.COOP | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1949 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | SD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO SAFELY PROVIDE RELIABLE, COST-EFFICIENT ELECTRICITY AND OTHER SERVICES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 5 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 5 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 25 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $185,821 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $165,808 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $11,976,607 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $13,611,877 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $77,109 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $59,723 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $53,865 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $136,732 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $12,107,581 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $13,808,332 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $6,264 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $7,771 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $404,428 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $971,853 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,652,973 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,635,657 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $9,844,044 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $10,800,303 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $11,907,709 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $13,415,584 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $199,872 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $392,748 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $34,564,292 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $32,316,981 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $26,444,727 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $23,039,981 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $8,119,565 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $9,277,000 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | TO ENHANCE THE QUALITY OF LIFE OF OUR MEMBERS, BY SAFELY PROVIDING RELIABLE, COST-EFFICIENT ELECTRICITY AND OTHER SERVICES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | PROVIDED ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 1,304 MEMBERS AND REPLACED APPROXIMATELY 234 MILES OF OVERHEAD WITH UNDERGROUND LINES. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | 0 | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 39 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 25 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $13,169,836 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $959,302 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 5 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 5 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | Yes (1) | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | 0 | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | Yes (1) | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Written Policy Or Procedure | 0 | WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SCOTT MOORE | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 6054266891 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 468 | AddressLine1 |
| City | IPSWICH | City |
| State | SD | State |
| ZIP Code | 574510468 | ZIPCode |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (6 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALDEN FLAKOLL | ||||||
| PRESIDENT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $6,710 | $0 | $0 |
| GARY BACHMAN | ||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 8.80 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $13,260 | $0 | $0 |
| LARRY BOWAR | ||||||
| SECRETARY | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $6,135 | $0 | $0 |
| FRANK HEINZ | ||||||
| TREASURER | 6.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $7,625 | $0 | $0 |
| GERALD HAUPT | ||||||
| ASSISTANT SEC/TREAS. | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $9,860 | $0 | $0 |
| SCOTT MOORE | ||||||
| GENERAL MANAGER/CEO | 47.50 | Yes (X) | $101,462 | $0 | $67,921 | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $145,052 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $67,921 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp
Contractor Name ContractorName
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | K&H ELECTRIC INC | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contractor Address ContractorAddress
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 S SAINT PAUL AVE | AddressLine1 |
| City | LINTON | City |
| State | ND | State |
| ZIP Code | 58552 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Services | BORING URD CABLE | ServicesDesc |
| Compensation | $239,561 | CompensationAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SALE OF POWER | 221000 | $12,945,392 | $12,945,392 | ||
| COOP CAPITAL CREDITS | 221000 | $461,617 | $461,617 | ||
| PARTNERSHIP INCOME | 541900 | $149,820 | $131,673 | $18,147 | |
| INTERNET INCOME | 517000 | $55,048 | $900 | $54,148 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $13,611,877 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $55,923 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $55,923 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $3,800 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $3,800 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $3,800 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,800 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $713,932 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $577,200 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $136,732 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $136,732 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $13,808,332 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $13,544,641 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $185,821 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $77,870 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,771 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $971,853 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $192,745 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,118,103 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $231,265 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $93,544 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $798,280 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $721,103 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| UBI TAXES | $17,994 |
| COST OF POWER | $8,606,597 |
| ADMIN & GENERAL | $775,965 |
| DISTRIBUTION-OPERATIONS | $499,283 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | -$618,919 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,415,584 | TotalAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $226,093 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $933,157 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,911,830 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,122,415 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $798,378 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $887,071 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $53,765 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $53,543 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,191,495 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $970,749 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $83,368 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $682,744 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $27,681,492 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $7,957,369 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,902,180 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $19,724,123 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $747,708 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $880,728 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,639,738 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,052,752 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,737 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,699 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $34,564,292 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $32,316,981 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $997,491 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,126,426 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,640,910 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,664,447 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,746,179 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,183,147 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $60,147 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,961 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,444,727 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,039,981 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,119,565 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,277,000 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,119,565 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,277,000 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $34,564,292 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $32,316,981 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $392,748 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $764,687 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,674 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $2,674 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $350,842 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $140,783 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $210,059 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $27,327,976 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $7,816,586 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $19,511,390 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $19,724,123 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIPS | $8,900 | C |
| EAST RIVER ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE | $3,729,515 | C |
| RURAL ELECTRIC SUPPLY COOPERATIVE | $61,125 | C |
| NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION | $927,540 | C |
| NATIONAL RURAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS COOPERATIVE | $207,674 | C |
| OTHER COOPERATIVES | $24,239 | C |
| FEDERATED RURAL ELECTRIC INSURANCE | $53,759 | C |
| RURAL ELECTRIC ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, INC. | $40,000 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $5,052,752 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| CUSTOMER DEPOSITS | $7,769 |
| DEFERRED CREDITS | $3,259 |
| OTHER CURRENT LIABILITIES | $54,933 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $65,961 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $13,740,125 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $13,740,125 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $68,207 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $68,207 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $13,808,332 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $12,375,524 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $12,375,524 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,040,060 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,040,060 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $13,415,584 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE ASSOCIATION BELIEVES IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AFFECTING ITS ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE ASSOCIATION WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF SUCH INTEREST AND PENALTIES ARE INCURRED. GENERALLY, THE ASSOCIATION IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO FEDERAL OR STATE TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR YEARS BEFORE 2010. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | EXPENSES NETTED TO REVENUE FOR GAAP 68,207. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | ALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 971,853. EXPENSES NETTED TO REVENUE FOR GAAP 68,207. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SCOTT MOORE | PersonNm |
| Title | GENERAL MANAGER/CEO | TitleTxt |
| Base Compensation Filing Org | $100,216 | BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs | $0 | CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt |
| Bonus Filing Organization | $0 | BonusFilingOrganizationAmount |
| Bonus Related Organizations | $0 | BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Other Compensation Filing Org | $1,246 | OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Other Compensation Rltd Orgs | $0 | OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt |
| Deferred Compensation Flng Org | $44,671 | DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt |
| Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs | $0 | DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org | $24,958 | NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs | $0 | NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt |
| Total Compensation Filing Org | $171,091 | TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Total Compensation Rltd Orgs | $0 | TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt |
| Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org | $0 | CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt |
| Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs | $0 | CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (15 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4 | THE COOPERATIVE AMENDED ARTICLE I, SECTION 1, REQUIREMENTS OF MEMBERSHIP, TO RESTRICT TRANSFERABILITY OF MEMBERSHIP TO THE PERVIEW OF THE BYLAWS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO AMENDED SECTION 1, REQUIREMENTS OF MEMBERSHIP, TO CLARIFY THAT, "IT IS DEEMED THAT ANY FIRM, ASSOCIATION, CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY, POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OR INDIVIDUAL (IF AN INDIVIDUAL IS MARRIED, HIS/HER MEMBERSHIP SHALL BE A JOINT MEMBERSHIP ONLY) MAY HOLD ONE (1) MEMBERSHIP ONLY. THE NUMBER OF ACCOUNTS HELD UNDER SAID MEMBERSHIP MAY VARY." THE COOPERATIVE AMENDED ARTICLE III, SECTION 3, CONVERSION OF MEMBERSHIP, TO PROVIDE GUIDANCE IN THE EVENT OF A JOINT MEMBERSHIP DIVORCE. THE AMENDED BYLAWS STATE THE FOLLOWING: "IN THE EVENT OF DIVORCE, THE PARTIES SHALL PROVIDE LEGAL DOCUMENTATION (FINAL DIVORCE DECREE/ORDER) OR FILE WRITTEN DOCUMENTATION, ON FORMS PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE, INDICATING WHO SHALL REMAIN AS A MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE AND HOW CAPITAL CREDITS SHALL BE ALLOCATED TO THE PARTIES. FAILURE TO PROVIDE SUITABLE DOCUMENTATION SHALL RESULT IN THE MEMBERSHIP REMAINING THE SAME AS IT WAS PRIOR TO THE DIVORCE." THE COOPERATIVE ADDED ARTICLE VI, SECTION 8, ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER, TO DEFINE THE ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE OFFICER. THE ADDITION TO THE BYLAWS STATES THE FOLLOWING: "IN THE ABSENCE OF EITHER THE SECRETARY OR THE TREASURER, OR IN THE EVENT OF THE SECRETARY'S OR TREASURER'S INABILITY OR REFUSAL TO ACT, THE ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER SHALL PERFORM THE DUTIES OF SUCH SECRETARY OR TREASURER, AND WHEN SO ACTING SHALL HAVE ALL THE POWERS OF AND BE SUBJECT TO ALL THE RESTRICTIONS UPON THE SECRETARY OR TREASURER. THE ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER SHALL ALSO PERFORM SUCH OTHER DUTIES AS FROM TIME TO TIME MAY BE ASSIGNED TO THE DIRECTOR BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS." THE COOPERATIVE AMENDED ARTICLE VII, SECTION 2, PATRONAGE CAPITAL IN CONNECTION WITH FURNISHING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO DESCRIBE THE ALLOCATION OF UNCLAIMED RETIRED CAPITAL CREDITS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | EACH MEMBER HOLDS ONE MEMBERSHIP AND HAS ONE VOTE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | A NOMINATION COMMITTEE IS FORMED FROM THE MEMBERSHIPS IN THE DISTRICT(S) OF THE BOARD MEMBER BEING ELECTED. THAT COMMITTEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR NOMINEES TO BE PLACED ON THE BALLOT. AN ELECTION IS HELD AT THE ANNUAL MEETING AND ALL MEMBERS HAVE ONE VOTE IN THE ELECTION OF THE BOARD MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | CHANGES TO BY-LAWS MUST BE APPROVED BY MEMBERS. ALL MEMBERS HAVE ONE VOTE WITH THE SAME VOTING RIGHTS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8B | THE COOPERATIVE DOES NOT HAVE COMMITTEES WITH BROAD AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11 | THE GENERAL MANAGER/CEO WILL REVIEW THE FORM 990 BEFORE IT IS SUBMITTED TO THE IRS. THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT A BOARD MEETING HELD PRIOR TO THE FILING OF THE 990. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EACH DIRECTOR WILL DISCLOSE IN WRITING TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING ANY CONFLICT OF INTEREST, AS OUTLINED IN THE POLICY, AS THEY EXIST OR WHEN THEY MAY BE INVOLVED IN THE FUTURE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MONITORS CONFLICTS AND IS OVERSEEN BY THE ASSOCIATION'S ATTORNEY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | THE SDREA ANNUAL WAGE AND SALARY STUDY IS USED AS A BENCHMARK FOR WAGES. THIS PROCESS WAS UNDERTAKEN IN 2013. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -216,612. INCREASE IN OTHER EQUITIES 9,446. ALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 971,853. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE SELECTION AND OVERSIGHT OF THE INDEPENDENT PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 16B | THE ORGANIZATION HAS NOT ADOPTED A WRITTEN POLICY HOWEVER, THE RURAL DEVELOPMENT UTILITITES PROGRAM LIMITS THE AMOUNT OF INCOME THAT CAN BE MADE FROM NONOPERATING VENTURES. OVER 85% OF GROSS REVENUES NEED TO COME FROM COOPERATIVE MEMBERSHIPS. |
| FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F, OTHER COMPENSATION: | INCLUDED IN OTHER COMPENSATION IS THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE DOES NOT REPRESENT CURRENT YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN. RATHER, IT IS AN ESTIMATE OF THE INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN AS CALCULATED BY THE PLAN ADMINISTRATOR. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES: | THE LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES REPORTED ON LINES 6-10 ARE INCLUDED IN DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE, ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE AND CUSTOMER EXPENSE. THEREFORE, LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES ARE SHOWN AS A REDUCTION TO OTHER EXPENSES ON LINE 24E. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS: | THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PART IX, LINE 4, TO MEAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED FOR THE YEAR, RATHER THAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH THE BY-LAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1 | CityUSAddress/City | StateUSAddress/State | ZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCode | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1 | Predominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxt | Share Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmt | Share Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmt | Disproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsInd | General Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerInd | OwnershipOwnershipPct |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RURAL DAKOTA DEVELOPMENT LLC | |||||||||||||
| PO BOX 468 | IPSWICH | SD | 57451 | 260078214 | HOUSING DEVELOPMENT | SD | FEM ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC | INVESTMENT INCOME | -$691 | $75,840 | 0 | Yes (1) | 0.33330 |
| NORTH STAR ENERGY LLC | |||||||||||||
| 4418 MAIN STREET | SELBY | SD | 57472 | 481268151 | LP GAS SALES | SD | FEM ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC | UNRELATED | $133,082 | $1,280,544 | 0 | 0 | 0.33330 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | 0 | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | 0 | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Comments