DALTON SCHOOLS INC: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
DALTON SCHOOLS INC (EIN 13-2751872)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2015-05-05
IRS object ID
201541259349300404
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-05-05T07:13:01-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EISNERAMPER LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1750 THIRD AVENUEAddressLine1
CityNEW YORKCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code100172703ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN132751872EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DALTON SCHOOLS INCBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% ALAN SCHEFEN CFOInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlDALTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2124235200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1
Address Line2SuiteAddressLine2
CityNEW YORKCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code10128ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonALAN SCHEFENPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2124235200PhoneNum
Signature2015-04-16SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJULIE FLOCHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00736879PTIN
Phone2124235200PhoneNum
Preparation2015-05-05PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-04-25 22:37:26ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerELLEN STEINPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1
CityNEW YORKCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code10128ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$73,755,425GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.dalton.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1919FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or Missionthe dalton school is committed to providing an education of excellence that meets each student's interests, abilities and needs within a common curricular framework.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body32VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent29VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee599TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$5,975TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$13,248,453PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,662,339CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$52,268,865PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$54,100,634CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,688,881PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,520,739CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$450,015PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$495,974CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$67,656,214PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$64,779,686CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$8,117,820PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,367,500CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$36,704,819PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$38,209,108CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,037,245CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,136,545PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,554,262CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$62,959,184PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$65,130,870CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,697,030PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$351,184CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$154,542,495TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$165,886,976TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$27,502,215TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$30,770,912TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$127,040,280NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$135,116,064NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE DALTON SCHOOL IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING AN EDUCATION OF EXCELLENCE THAT MEETS EACH STUDENT'S INTERESTS, ABILITIES AND NEEDS WITHIN A COMMON CURRICULAR FRAMEWORK.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$55,963,728ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,367,500GrantAmt
Revenue$54,100,634RevenueAmt
DescEDUCATIONAL INSTRUCTION FOR APPROXIMATELY 1300 STUDENTS IN VARIOUS CLASSES FROM KINDERGARTEN THROUGH TWELFTH GRADE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$55,963,728TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document151IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee599EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members32GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member29IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonALAN SCHEFEN CFOPersonNm
Phone2124235446PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1
CityNEW YORKCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code10128ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
CHERYL COHEN EFFRON
PRESIDENT10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEAH JOHNSON
SECRETARY2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN STEINMAN
TREASURER2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAREN ACKMAN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
HILLARY ADDINGTON
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIM BARAKETT
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEBORAH BINGHAM
FACULTY REPRESENTATIVE2.0Yes (X)$50,149$0$36,396
CASPER CALDAROLA
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JACOB COLLINS
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREAS DRACOPOULOS
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KIM ELLIMAN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM FISHER
FACULTY REPRESENTATIVE2.0Yes (X)$83,372$0$23,304
DEIRDRE FLYNN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHAD GALLANT
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BUZZY GEDULD
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CLAIRE HANNAN-RADOMISLI
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENT HIKIDA
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALY JEDDY
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT KASDIN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALAN KLEIN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC J LEE
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
HOLLY SPEYER LIPTON
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE MENIN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
VALERIE RUBSAMEN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ZACH SCHREIBER
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JACKIE SIEGAL
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JONATHAN SOBEL
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN STEINMAN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROY SWAN
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CARLA VAN DE WALLE
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARRI WALTCHER
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JIM ZELTER
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELLEN STEIN
HEAD OF SCHOOL40.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$651,905$0$51,479
EDWARD PINGER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.0Yes (X)$346,229$0$65,323
JAMES BEST
ASSOCIATE HEAD OF SCHOOL40.0$416,524$0$40,322Yes (X)
LISA WALLER
DIRECTOR OF HIGH SCHOOL40.0$279,107$0$54,864Yes (X)
EDWARD FRISCHLING
ATHLETIC AND CAMP DIRECTOR40.0$244,106$0$70,809Yes (X)
ALAN SCHEFEN
CONTROLLER40.0$219,571$0$48,191Yes (X)
ELIZABETH KRENTS
ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR40.0$211,294$0$43,416Yes (X)
JOHN NEIERS
DIRECTOR OF TECHNOLOGY40.0$209,830$0$43,335Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,712,087TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$477,439TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K96IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGREENBERG TRAURIG LLPPersonNm

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 PARK AVENUEAddressLine1
CityNEW YORKCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code10016ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesLEGAL SERVICESServicesDesc
Compensation$399,987CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$872,152FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$302,032GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$7,488,155AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$594,000NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,662,339TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION REVENUE611710$52,346,330$52,346,330
SUMMER PROGRAMS611710$1,111,336$1,111,336
AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS611710$471,799$471,799
DRIVER EDUCATION611710$66,649$66,649
SUMMER SPORTS PROGRAM611710$104,520$104,520
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$54,100,634TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$385,675TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$8,199UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$393,874ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$212,804RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$69,788RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$143,016RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$143,016TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$143,016ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$9,769,981SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,549,517SecuritiesAmt
Other$85,400OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,220,464SecuritiesAmt
Other-$85,400OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,135,064TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,224UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,132,840ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$271,034FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$872,152ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$271,034FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
FORFEITED DEPOSITS611710$47,000$47,000
LATE PAYMENT CHARGES611710$28,892$28,892
APPLICATION FEES611710$66,714$66,714

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$210,352TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$210,352ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$352,958OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$64,779,686TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$54,100,634RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$5,975UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,022,688ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,367,500TotalAmt
Program Services$8,367,500ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,650,180TotalAmt
Management And General$2,650,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,427,268TotalAmt
Program Services$24,327,132ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,161,773ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$938,363FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,075,116TotalAmt
Program Services$2,876,714ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$107,507ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$90,895FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,057,605TotalAmt
Program Services$3,722,109ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$187,766ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$147,730FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,998,939TotalAmt
Program Services$1,752,076ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$181,498ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$65,365FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,272TotalAmt
Management And General$104,272ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,000TotalAmt
Management And General$60,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$164,056TotalAmt
Management And General$164,056ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$309,273TotalAmt
Program Services$788ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$265,239ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$43,246FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,591,130TotalAmt
Program Services$1,055,139ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$286,724ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$249,267FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$283,925TotalAmt
Program Services$182,439ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$68,143ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,343FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,899,333TotalAmt
Program Services$3,492,501ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$267,171ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$139,661FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$935,142TotalAmt
Program Services$906,919ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,908ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,315FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$563,273TotalAmt
Program Services$438,069ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$125,204ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,651TotalAmt
Management And General$7,651ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,293,808TotalAmt
Program Services$3,845,817ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$294,200ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$153,791FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$436,060TotalAmt
Management And General$436,060ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
STUDENT CAFETERIA$1,980,561$1,964,989$15,572
UNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES$251,250$251,250
SECURITY$466,596$466,596
EDUCATIONAL EXPENSES$181,832$181,832

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,026,100TotalAmt
Program Services$2,383,108ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$485,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$157,697FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,130,870TotalAmt
Program Services$55,963,728ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,129,897ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,037,245FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,129BOYAmt
EOY$421,295EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,293,889BOYAmt
EOY$21,081,460EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,289,018BOYAmt
EOY$9,646,858EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$737,643BOYAmt
EOY$583,619EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,140,689BOYAmt
EOY$1,536,493EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$99,517,392LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$50,693,726LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,865,994BOYAmt
EOY$48,823,666EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,120,307BOYAmt
EOY$29,810,014EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,575,884BOYAmt
EOY$53,600,083EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$411,942BOYAmt
EOY$383,488EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$154,542,495BOYAmt
EOY$165,886,976EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,997,000BOYAmt
EOY$6,879,046EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,505,215BOYAmt
EOY$23,891,866EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,502,215BOYAmt
EOY$30,770,912EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,347,329BOYAmt
EOY$73,371,396EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,395,579BOYAmt
EOY$16,202,918EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,297,372BOYAmt
EOY$45,541,750EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$127,040,280BOYAmt
EOY$135,116,064EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$154,542,495BOYAmt
EOY$165,886,976EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$351,184ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$8,390,233NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$36,735OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$75,375,853BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,630,521ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,996,372InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,592,648OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$83,410,098EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$62,871,753BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$9,794,691ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,789,030InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,079,621OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$75,375,853EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$58,275,489BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,909,893ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$564,465InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,749,164OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$62,871,753EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$52,343,649BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,478,706ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,280,022InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,826,888OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$58,275,489EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$43,925,945BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,749,638ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,386,615InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,718,549OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$52,343,649EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.37457BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.54600PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.07943TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,361,429OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$79,974,509OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$40,424,155DepreciationAmt
Book Value$39,550,354BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,187,578OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,809,197DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,378,381BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,993,876OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,460,374DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,533,502BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$44,462,237TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLIMITED PARTNERSHIPSDesc
Book Value$53,600,083BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$53,600,083TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$64,887,819TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$8,390,233NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$85,400OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$8,475,633RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$56,412,186RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$8,367,500OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$8,367,500RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$64,779,686TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$56,763,370TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$56,763,370ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$8,367,500OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$8,367,500ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$65,130,870TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PARTS XI AND XII - OTHERPART XI, LINE 2D - LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT PART XI, LINE 4B - SCHOLARSHIPS PART XII - LINE 4B - SCHOLARSHIPS SCHOLARSHIPS NETTED AGAINST REVENUE PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND REPORTED AS PART OF EXPENSES ON THE FORM 990: $8,367,500
USE OF ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS - PART V, LINE 4THE SCHOOL'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 94 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES, CONSISTING OF BOTH BOARD DESIGNATED AND DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS. THE PURPOSE OF ALL THESE FUNDS INCLUDE SCHOLARSHIPS AND STUDENT SUPPORT, FACULTY SUPPORT, AS WELL AS FACILITY UPGRADE AND MAINTENANCE.
INCOME TAXES PART X LINE 2The School is subject to the provisions of the Financial Accounting Standards Board's (the "FASB") Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") Topic 740-10-05 relating to accounting and reporting for uncertainty in income taxes. Because of the School's general tax-exempt status, ASC Topic 740-10-05 has not had, and is not expected to have, a material impact on the School's financial statements. The annual compliance filings of the School are subject to examination by the Internal Revenue Service ("IRS"), as well as by other various state and local authorities, generally for three years after they are submitted.
CHANGE IN POST-RETIREMENT LIABILITY - PART X1 LINE 8CHANGE IN POST-RETIREMENT LIABILITY ($36,735)

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE E QUESTION 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNEWSPAPER ADVERTISEMENTS AND SCHOOL PUBLICATIONS WHICH MAY BE INSPECTED AT THE SCHOOL'S PREMISES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestmentsTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$33,751,254RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$33,751,254SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$33,751,254TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART IV QUESTION 4 AND 5FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE SCHOOL IS NOT REQUIRED TO FILE FORMS 926 AND 8621 AS THE SCHOOLS ACTIVITIES DID NOT MEET THE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1DALTON BENEFITNameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$1,143,186GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$872,152CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$271,034GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$271,034OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Other Events Total0OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Total$1,143,186GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$872,152CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$271,034GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$271,034OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$271,034DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFINANCIAL AID PROVIDED TO STUDENTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient264RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$8,367,500NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTUITION REDUCTIONNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART IVFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE REVIEWS ALL APPLICATIONS FOR FINANCIAL AID. AFTER REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS, THE COMMITTEE DETERMINES THE AMOUNT OF AID THAT IS APPROPRIATE. THE COMMITTEE IS MADE UP OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND STAFF SUPPORT. ALL GRANTS OR FINANICAL AID ARE AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED TO TUITION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ELLEN STEIN
HEAD OF SCHOOL$651,905$0$0$0$0$0$35,700$0$15,779$0$703,384$0$0$0
JAMES BEST
ASSOCIATE HEAD OF SCHOOL$416,524$0$0$0$0$0$22,950$0$17,372$0$456,846$0$0$0
EDWARD PINGER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$346,229$0$0$0$0$0$35,700$0$29,623$0$411,552$0$0$0
LISA WALLER
DIRECTOR OF HIGH SCHOOL$279,107$0$0$0$0$0$26,580$0$28,284$0$333,971$0$0$0
EDWARD FRISCHLING
ATHLETIC AND CAMP DIRECTOR$244,106$0$0$0$0$0$35,700$0$35,109$0$314,915$0$0$0
ALAN SCHEFEN
CONTROLLER$219,571$0$0$0$0$0$20,901$0$27,290$0$267,762$0$0$0
ELIZABETH KRENTS
ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR$211,294$0$0$0$0$0$29,877$0$13,539$0$254,710$0$0$0
JOHN NEIERS
DIRECTOR OF TECHNOLOGY$209,830$0$0$0$0$0$29,390$0$13,945$0$253,165$0$0$0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution58ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$594,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTIONS A, B, AND CPART VI, SECTION A, LINE 10 THE ORGANIZATION'S FORM 990 IS FIRST REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, THE AUDIT COMMITTEE, AND THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD AND THEN PRESENTED TO THE FULL BOARD BEFORE FILING. PART VI, SECTION B, LN 12C ALL BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO COMPLETE A FORMAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM/QUESTIONNAIRE. THIS IS DONE ONCE A YEAR. THE FORMS ARE KEPT BY THE HEAD OF SCHOOL. THE HEAD OF SCHOOL AND THE COMPLETE BOARD REVIEW THE FORMS. PART VI, SECTION B, LINES 15A AND 15B COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES WERE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD USING COMPARABLE DATA FROM CERTAIN OUTSIDE ORGANIZATIONS. PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 FORM 990 AND THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE OFFICES OF THE DALTON SCHOOL UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX LINE 24BDEBORAH BINGHAM AND WILLIAM FISHER ARE FACULTY REPRESENTATIVES ON THE SCHOOLS BOARD OF TRUSTEES. AS SUCH, THEY ARE ENTITLED TO SHARE A SINGLE VOTE ON THE BOARD WITH RESPECT TO MATTERS BROUGHT BEFORE THE TRUSTEES WHICH REQUIRE RATIFICATION.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 5 - RECONCILIATION OF NET ASSETSUNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES AMOUNTING TO $251,250 REPRESENTS A CHARGE AGAINST A RESERVE AND IS NOT REFLECTIVE OF A CHARGE AGAINST ANY SPECIFIC DONATION.
FORM 990 PART XI, LINE 9OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS REPRESENTS THE CHANGE IN THE POST-RETIREMENT BENEFIT LIABILITY OF $36,735.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.