PITZER COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PITZER COLLEGE (EIN 95-2261113)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2015-05-14
IRS object ID
201511349349301296
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-05-14T10:16:13-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN910189318PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Moss Adams LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13121 W March LaneAddressLine1
CityStocktonCity
StateCAState
ZIP Code95219ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN952261113EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Pitzer CollegeBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPITZBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9096218043PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 N Mills AvenueAddressLine1
CityClaremontCity
StateCAState
ZIP Code917116101ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonYuet K LeePersonNm
Person TitleVP for Admin/TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone9096218043PhoneNum
Signature2015-05-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTracy S PagliaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00366884PTIN
Phone2099556100PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerLaura Skandera TrombleyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 N Mills AvenueAddressLine1
CityClaremontCity
StateCAState
ZIP Code917116101ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$186,338,754GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.pitzer.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1963FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPitzer College is an educational institution focusing on undergraduate education.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body39VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent38VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1021TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers198TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$16,848TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$15,753NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$14,671,036PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$6,124,923CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$59,455,627PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$62,208,153CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$5,317,051PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,137,297CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$495,075PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$437,772CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$79,938,789PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$74,908,145CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$12,277,343PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$11,958,958CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,288,830PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,026,802CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,452,836CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,155,798PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$29,030,709CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$66,721,971PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$68,016,469CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$13,216,818PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,891,676CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$254,466,021TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$270,616,829TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$94,875,072TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$93,836,567TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$159,590,949NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$176,780,262NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPitzer College produces engaged socially responsible citizens of the world through an academically rigorous, interdisciplinary liberal arts education emphasizing social justice, intercultural understanding and environmental sensitivity. The meaningful participation of students, faculty and staff in college governance and academic program design is a Pitzer core value. Our community thrives within the mutually supportive framework of The Claremont Colleges, which provide an unsurpassed breadth of academic, athletic and social opportunities.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$59,556,612ExpenseAmt
Grant$11,958,958GrantAmt
Revenue$62,208,153RevenueAmt
DescPitzer College is an educational institution focusing on undergraduate education. The undergraduate full time equivalent enrollment for the year was 1,040 students.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$59,556,612TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1864IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1021EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (1)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryNPForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryITForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members39GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member38IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Mia Alonzo Claremont University CoBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9096218043PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 S Mills AveAddressLine1
CityClaremontCity
StateCAState
ZIP Code91711ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (53 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Hirschel B Ableson
Trustee5.80Yes (X)$0$0$0
Martin B Adelstein
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bridget Baker
Trustee1.60Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Bookman
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donnaldson Brown
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harold A Brown
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William G Brunger
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jack Cohen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Cook
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Dolgen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stuart Finkelstein
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Vicki Kates Gold
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donald P Gould
Trustee10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Hollander
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah Bach Kallick
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jill Klein
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robin Kramer
Board Chair4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)1.00
John Landgraf
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Levin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark London
Trustee3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Magdalena Marquet
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Julie Mazer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joyce Ostin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arnold Palmer
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shana Passman
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ann E Pitzer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paula B Pretlow
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan S Pritzker
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alissa Okuneff Roston
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edwin Ryu
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven R Scheyer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William D Sheinberg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shahan Soghikian
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eugene P Stein
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tracy Tindle
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles CK Woo
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Laura Skandera Trombley
President70.00Yes (X)$784,313$0$135,518Yes (X)2.00
Steven Chang
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lisa Specht
Trustee (thru 05/2014)4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Margot Levin Schiff
Trustee (thru 05/2014)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Redford
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Yuet Lee
VP for Administration/Treasurer40.00$244,820$0$32,506Yes (X)1.00
Lori M Yoshino
Assoc. VP of Administration/Assoc Treasurer40.00$129,693$0$36,860Yes (X)
Jennifer Berkley
Asst. VP & Secretary to the Board40.00$127,369$0$15,515Yes (X)1.00
Mia Alonzo
Controller4.00$0$117,397$25,838Yes (X)21.00
Muriel Poston
VP/Dean of Faculty40.00$255,870$0$36,2091.00Yes (X)
Angel Perez
VP/Admissions & Financial Aid40.00$173,825$0$25,698Yes (X)
Adrian Stevens
VP/College Advancement40.00$218,940$0$42,565Yes (X)
Katheryn Miller
Faculty (through 12/31/13)40.00$231,546$0$11,673Yes (X)
Nigel Boyle
Faculty40.00$194,112$0$41,033Yes (X)
Alan Jones
Faculty40.00$180,684$0$44,124Yes (X)
Albert Wachtel
Faculty40.00$158,751$0$32,538Yes (X)
James Marchant
Exec. Director, Advancement & Special Projects40.00$151,356$0$33,793Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,851,279TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$117,397TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$513,870TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K47IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Perera Construction & Design Inc
2890 Inland Empire Blvd Suite 102OntarioCA91764Construction$3,895,436
Bon Appetit Inc
1000 West Temple StreetLos AngelesCA900740196Food Service$2,544,063
Hartman Baldwin Inc
100 West Foothill BlvdClaremontCA91711Architecture/Construction$1,790,853
LPA Inc
PO Box 7399Newport BeachCA926587399Architect$843,866
Charles Pankow Builders Ltd
199 S Los Robles Suite 300PasadenaCA91101Construction$661,242
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$43,258FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$239,286GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$5,842,379AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$795,104NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$6,124,923TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees611600$49,423,549$49,423,549
Auxiliary enterprises611710$11,303,386$11,303,386
Summer conferences611710$1,035,971$1,035,971
Federal Grants and Contracts611710$418,534$418,534
Private contracts900099$26,713$26,713
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$62,208,153TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,724,577TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$25,972UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,750,549ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,073TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$38,073ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$114,786,482SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$108,461,425SecuritiesAmt
Other$2,950,410OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,325,057SecuritiesAmt
Other-$2,950,410OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,374,647TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$42,820UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,331,827ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$5,250FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$43,258ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$18,774FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$13,524TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$13,524ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther sourcesDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$451,296TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$451,296ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$451,296OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$74,908,145TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$62,208,153RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$16,848UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$6,558,221ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,958,958TotalAmt
Program Services$11,958,958ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,331,075TotalAmt
Program Services$980,649ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,076,797ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$273,629FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$150,971TotalAmt
Program Services$150,971ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,186,064TotalAmt
Program Services$16,377,091ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,194,791ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$614,182FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,753,332TotalAmt
Program Services$2,342,170ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$281,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$129,657FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,184,638TotalAmt
Program Services$1,985,171ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$91,633ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$107,834FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,420,722TotalAmt
Program Services$1,208,562ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$145,257ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$66,903FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$120,899TotalAmt
Program Services$45,313ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$75,586ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$431,415TotalAmt
Management And General$431,415ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$136,100TotalAmt
Management And General$136,100ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$302,777TotalAmt
Management And General$302,777ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,268,037TotalAmt
Program Services$1,237,994ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,331ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$712FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$828,845TotalAmt
Program Services$617,036ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$184,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,275FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,685,705TotalAmt
Program Services$1,511,119ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,891ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$91,695FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$480,655TotalAmt
Program Services$161,173ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,757ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,725FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$968,199TotalAmt
Program Services$912,253ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,280ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,666FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,204,448TotalAmt
Program Services$1,082,271ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,990ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$63,187FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$347,849TotalAmt
Program Services$324,920ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,914ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,150,582TotalAmt
Program Services$4,087,482ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,100ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,605,647TotalAmt
Program Services$6,963,805ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,637,352ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,490FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,944,585TotalAmt
Program Services$3,701,941ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$242,644ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$230,838TotalAmt
Program Services$10,938ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$219,900ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Food and housing$2,780,116$2,780,116
Building repair$855,317$831,399$20,109$3,809
Books & periodicals$10,543$10,543

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$678,152TotalAmt
Program Services$274,737ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$349,358ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$54,057FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,016,469TotalAmt
Program Services$59,556,612ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,007,021ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,452,836FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$737,887BOYAmt
EOY$798,667EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,802,478BOYAmt
EOY$17,881,946EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,791,022BOYAmt
EOY$11,539,131EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,968,153BOYAmt
EOY$1,064,345EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$252,522BOYAmt
EOY$169,570EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,243,200BOYAmt
EOY$3,869,977EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$125,171,603LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$32,979,844LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,062,163BOYAmt
EOY$92,191,759EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,002,438BOYAmt
EOY$99,397,471EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,478,568BOYAmt
EOY$36,450,048EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,983,383BOYAmt
EOY$4,835,206EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,144,207BOYAmt
EOY$2,418,709EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$254,466,021BOYAmt
EOY$270,616,829EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,179,251BOYAmt
EOY$6,533,580EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,360,775BOYAmt
EOY$1,397,766EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,693,033BOYAmt
EOY$77,254,710EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,458BOYAmt
EOY$497,996EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,373,555BOYAmt
EOY$8,152,515EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,875,072BOYAmt
EOY$93,836,567EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,968,613BOYAmt
EOY$107,486,675EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,358,539BOYAmt
EOY$35,510,205EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,263,797BOYAmt
EOY$33,783,382EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,590,949BOYAmt
EOY$176,780,262EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$254,466,021BOYAmt
EOY$270,616,829EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,891,676ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$10,869,613NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$571,976OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,684,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,968,212CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,665,891CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$14,671,036CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,124,923CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$38,114,129TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,684,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,968,212CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,665,891CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$14,671,036CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,124,923CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$38,114,129TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$8,127,217SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$29,986,912PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,968,255CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,357,139CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,645,597CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,815,917CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,788,622CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$14,575,530TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,733CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,229CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$25,962TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$242,672CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$369,722CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$328,016CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$484,886CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$451,296CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,876,592TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$54,592,213TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$285,764,952GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.54930PublicSupportCY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$119,050,563BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,596,178ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$19,000,104InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$664,296GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,818,288OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$287,116AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$134,877,145EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$110,612,081BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,284,824ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,827,503InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$646,432GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,715,622OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$311,791AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$119,050,563EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$114,169,993BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$736,362ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$836,804InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$429,123GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$2,616,042OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$412,305AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$110,612,081EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$94,577,476BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,121,095ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$18,474,522InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$237,969GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,385,016OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$380,115AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$114,169,993EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$77,463,651BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,467,107ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$11,002,922InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$356,204AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$94,577,476EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.61000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.23000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.16000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,096,724OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,096,724BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$108,476,876OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$26,799,122DepreciationAmt
Book Value$81,677,754BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,008,055OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,180,722DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,827,333BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,589,948OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,589,948BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$92,191,759TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Funds held in trust by others$944,613F
Limited Partnerships$35,505,435F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$36,450,048TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Government advances for student loans$3,128,403
Annuities payable$207,651
Early retirement liability$4,183,636
Asset retirement obligation$632,825
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,152,515TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$73,041,421TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$10,869,613NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$571,976OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,297,637RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$62,743,784RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$293,603InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$11,870,758OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$12,164,361RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$74,908,145TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$55,894,496TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$42,393OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$42,393ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$55,852,103ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$293,603InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$11,870,763OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,164,366ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$68,016,469TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The College uses the income from the endowment funds per the requirements of the donor. Such income is used for grants, scholarships, professorships, lectures and general operations of the College.
Part X, Line 2:The objective of the College is to maintain and conduct a 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational institution. The primary purpose of accounting and reporting is the recording of resources received and applied rather than the determination of net income. The College had no uncertain tax positions and/or obligations at June 30, 2014 and 2013. The College's tax returns are subject to review and examination by federal and state authorities. The College is no longer subject to income tax examinations by taxing authorities for years before 2011 for its federal filing and for years before 2010 for its state filings.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Actuarial Adjustments 27,355. Staff retirement plan comprehensive loss -599,331.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Student Financial aid 11,870,758.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Expenses reported on Pitzer College Costa Rica's return 42,393.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Student Financial aid 11,870,763.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Students applying to the college receive registration materials that state the nondiscrimination policy. The policy is also published on the Pitzer College website. www.pitzer.edu
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Pitzer College participates in the Pell Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Cal Grants, College Work-Study and Perkins Loan programs.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (7 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
South Asia11Program servicesEducation$337,572
Europe11Program servicesEducation$271,676
Central America and the Caribbean11Program servicesEducation$373,876
Sub-Saharan Africa11Program servicesEducation$307,663
East Asia and the Pacific11Program servicesEducation$15,881
South America11Program servicesEducation$220,027
Central America and the Caribbean00Investments$15,337,841
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices6SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees6SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office6TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee6TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$16,864,536SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$16,864,536TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFunds are sent via wire to the director in charge of the program. Receipts for all expenses are sent to the Treasurer's office where they are reconciled, translated into US currency and recorded. Actual expenses are recorded each year except for some expenses at the end of the year that are estimated and reconciled in the following year when the receipts are received.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1AuctionNameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$48,508GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$43,258CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$5,250GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$12,614FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$225EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$5,935OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$48,508GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$43,258CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$5,250GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$12,614FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$225EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$5,935OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$18,774DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$13,524NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Institutional Grant Aid400$11,697,407
Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant59$173,351
Stipends53$88,200

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPitzer College awards scholarships only to individual undergraduate students. These scholarships are awarded based upon academic achievement and/or demonstrated financial need. The Financial Aid Office, with the assistance of the Registrar's Office, monitor student enrollment each semester to ensure that students remain qualified for financial aid. The College also awards tuition to dependents of its employees who meet the requirements of the College's Tuition Remission Program. Employee dependent's must be enrolled at one of the undergraduate schools of The Claremont Colleges. Tuition is paid directly to the undergraduate college after grades are submitted to the Human Resources Office as evidence of course completion.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Laura Skandera Trombley
President$495,579$0$0$0$288,734$0$97,267$0$38,251$0$919,831$0$260,000$0
Yuet Lee
VP for Administration/Treasurer$243,500$0$0$0$1,320$0$29,520$0$2,986$0$277,326$0$0$0
Lori M Yoshino
Assoc. VP of Administration/Assoc Tr$128,853$0$0$0$840$0$17,622$0$19,238$0$166,553$0$0$0
Muriel Poston
VP/Dean of Faculty$251,045$0$0$0$4,825$0$30,300$0$5,909$0$292,079$0$0$0
Angel Perez
VP/Admissions & Financial Aid$172,499$0$0$0$1,326$0$20,760$0$4,938$0$199,523$0$0$0
Adrian Stevens
VP/College Advancement$216,765$0$0$0$2,175$0$26,760$0$15,805$0$261,505$0$0$0
Katheryn Miller
Faculty (through 12/31/13)$54,789$0$0$0$176,757$0$6,491$0$5,182$0$243,219$0$0$0
Nigel Boyle
Faculty$134,566$0$0$0$59,546$0$23,474$0$17,559$0$235,145$0$0$0
Alan Jones
Faculty$180,588$0$0$0$96$0$22,753$0$21,371$0$224,808$0$0$0
Albert Wachtel
Faculty$158,751$0$0$0$0$0$18,362$0$14,176$0$191,289$0$0$0
James Marchant
Exec. Director, Advancement & Specia$149,728$0$0$0$1,628$0$18,630$0$15,163$0$185,149$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aAny of the items checked above are provided only as documented in a particular individual's contract with the College. President is required to live in a Pitzer owned or leased residence as part of her contract. All maintenance expenses related to the house are paid by Pitzer.
Part I, Line 4bPart II: President Laura Trombley participates in a Section 457(f) supplemental nonqualified plan. A payment was made to the President in July of 2010 for the amount that vested on June 30, 2010. In accordance with the terms of the President's Employment Agreement dated July 1, 2010, additional amounts will vest on June 30, 2013 and June 30, 2016 if the President continues in the College's employ through these dates. If the President's employment ceases due to the President's death, termination by the College without Cause or resignation for Good Reason, a prorated amount of the President's Section 457(f) contributions from date of employment agreement, July 1, 2010, through date of termination will vest. Vested amounts will be paid within two and one half months of the vesting date.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
California Educational Facilities Authority Series 2009
A521705592130178UR52009-11-18$63,724,597Facility construction & improvement, refinance CEFA Series 1999 and 2005B000
California Educational Facilities Authority Series 2005A
B5217055921301754Q22005-04-29$16,335,084Facility construction & improvement000
California Municipal Finance Authority 2014 Tax-Exempt Loan
C2015634662014-06-26$24,937,500Advance refund CEFA 2005A in April 2015, property purchase, facility improve000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$2,400,000$63,897,842$669,399$275,206$792,003$38,675,810$24,159,13820130Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$110,000$18,499,925$8$241,084$18,250,366201000Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$187,741$125,2410Yes (1)0Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
C00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A0Yes (1)00000Yes (1)Yes (1)
B000Yes (1)000Yes (1)Yes (1)
C0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
C0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Date Rebate Computation PerformedIssuer Name: California Educational Facilities Authority Series 2005A Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 09/07/2010
Part II, Line 3, Column A, B and CExplanation of difference between line 3 and issue price: Interest income and gain/loss.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution40ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$795,104NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11The form is reviewed by the Audit Committee. A copy of the 990 is provided electronically to each member of the Board, excluding emeriti Trustees who are non-voting members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cPitzer has a Conflict of Interest Policy that prohibits trustees, officers and employees from using their positions and knowledge in any way that could create a conflict between the interests of the College and their own interests. The policy also requires that trustees, officers or other employees promptly report to the Trustee Audit Committee, any transaction or situation, pertaining to themselves or others, that may be a conflict of interest. Each trustee, officer and senior administrator must annually sign a statement documenting any existing or potential conflict of interest. The results of this annual reporting are reviewed by the Trustee Audit Committee. If any conflicts were identified during this documentation process, the Trustee Audit Committee would report this to the full board for their review and action, if warranted. In addition, it is the practice of trustees to recuse themselves from discussion and voting in circumstances where there may be a potential conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The College uses benchmark salary data from comparable higher education institution groups for all employees, including executive management positions. Salaries are also reviewed in relation to performance as evidenced by annual written performance evaluations and years in position. Compensation for Pitzer's top executives is reviewed and approved by the Trustee Compensation Committee whose charge, drawn from the bylaws, is as stated below: 4.22 (a)(i) Compensation Committee. There shall be a subcommittee of the Executive Committee known as the Compensation Committee that shall review and approve the compensation, including benefits, of all of the following: (a) the President, (b) the Treasurer, and (c) every person, regardless of title, with powers, duties or responsibilities comparable to a president, chief executive officer, treasurer or chief financial officer. The review shall be conducted in a accordance with California Government Code Section 125856(g). The Compensation Committee shall be composed of independent Trustees and shall not include the President or Treasurer. In addition to the President and Treasurer, the Trustee Compensation Committee reviews and approves compensation for the Vice President of Academic Affairs as this position is desginated to act as the chief executive officer in exigency. For the Treasurer and Vice President of Academic Affairs, the Compensation Committee reviews and approves recommended compensation after reviewing performance, and salary and benefits in relation to the average salary and benefits packages of selected peer organizations and years in position. Minutes of the committee and the analyses are kept in confidentiality, limited to the committee, the President, the Secretary of the Board, the Vice President for Administration and Finance/Treasurer, and the Director of Human Resources. The Director of Human Resources retains the minutes and analyses as documentation of this process. President's contract: As outlined in Pitzer College's by-laws, the Board's Executive Committee annually conducts a performance review of the President. Under the by-laws, if any changes to the President's employment contract, including salary and benefits, are considered appropriate and necessary, these changes are constructed carefully by the Compensation Committee, in discussions with the President, reviewed by the Executive Committee and submitted to the full Board of Trustees for discussion and approval. In particular, the Board discusses the President's performance, the external market for comparable presidents at peer liberal arts colleges and the overall needs and means of Pitzer College. After discussion, and given the importance that the Board attaches to its supervision of the President, the Board attempts to achieve a consensus in favor of -- and then formally approves -- all compensation decisions. A couple of years ago, the Compensation Committee, the Executive Committee and the Board of Trustees decided that, under these policies, it was appropriate and necessary to extend the President's contract for an additional period to coincide with the College's strategic planning horizon and its pending capital fund-raising campaign. As a result, under the process described above, the two committees and the Board, in consultation with independent compensation experts and legal counsel, considered a new contract for the President contract, effective July 1, 2010, for a five-year period, and it was approved by the Board of Trustees. The deliberations and review included the President's exceptional performance, her years in position and the external market for comparable presidents at a large cohort group of peer liberal arts colleges, as summarized in a report prepared by independent compensation consultants. The Board approved the new contract by consensus, its final formal vote being unanimous. The new contract was then executed by the President and the Board Chair.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19- Governing documents are not available to the general public - Conflict of interest policy is not available to the public - Audited financial statements are available on the College's website
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Actuarial adjustment 27,355. Staff retirement plan comprehensive loss -599,331.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Claremont University Consortium
101 S Mills AveClaremontCA91711954786748Support Claremont collegesCA501(c)(3)11a, Type IN/A0
Pitzer College - Costa Rica
101 S Mills AveClaremontCA91711320152376Conservation easement for forest conservationCA501(c)(3)11a, Type IN/A0

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Charitable Remainder Trust (1)BusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesCharitable Remainder UnitrustPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeTEntityTypeTxt
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.