WORKERS FEDERAL CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WORKERS FEDERAL CREDIT UNION (EIN 04-2079901)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2015-02-28
IRS object ID
201510599349300306
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-02-28T10:33:28-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOLF & COMPANY PCBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line199 HIGH STREET 21ST FLOORAddressLine1
CityBOSTONCity
StateMAState
ZIP Code02110ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042079901EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Workers' Credit UnionBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% WORKERS CREDIT UNIONInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlWORKBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9783451021PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1815 Main StreetAddressLine1
Address Line2SuiteAddressLine2
CityFitchburgCity
StateMAState
ZIP Code014200900ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ TIMOTHY SMITHPersonNm
Person TitleSVP/CFO/TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone9783451021PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichael J Rowe CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00535831PTIN
Phone9783451021PhoneNum
Preparation2014-11-13PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDouglas PetersenPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1815 MAIN STREETAddressLine1
CityFitchburgCity
StateMAState
ZIP Code014200900ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$50,511,421GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresshttp://www.wcu.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1914FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE ORGANIZATION IS A STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION THAT SERVES MEMBERS WHO LIVE OR WORK IN MASSACHUSETTS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee271TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers5TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$195,009TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$346,791NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$43,324,583PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$44,544,036CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,540,547PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,951,045CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$63,318PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$16,340CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$49,928,448PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$50,511,421CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,128,514PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,720,131CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$24,252,535PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$25,821,546CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$38,381,049PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$41,541,677CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$11,547,399PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$8,969,744CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$913,270,562TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,038,005,093TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$791,518,870TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$910,462,304TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$121,751,692NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$127,542,789NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE ORGANIZATION IS A STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION THAT SERVES MEMBERS WHO LIVE OR WORK IN MASSACHUSETTS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescThe Credit Union is cooperative owned, directed and dedicated to its members. As of 12/31/2013, the Credit Union's net loans totaled $742 million and share deposits totaled $707 million.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document44924IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee271EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (true)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWORKERS CREDIT UNIONPersonNm
Phone9783451021PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1815 MAIN STREETAddressLine1
CityFITCHBURGCity
StateMAState
ZIP Code014200900ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (32 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
JOHN S FORD
vice chairman1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,031$0$0
MARINA M RAHER
Director/Audit comm chair1.0Yes (X)$1,089$0$0
ERIC D SHAPIRO
DIRECTOR/Assistant Clerk1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN MORSE
CLERK/Director1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,266$0$0
WILHO MYLLYMAKI
DIRECTOR1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES E ROUSE
Chairman1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,283$0$0
RAYMOND J MARTINO
DIRECTOR1.0Yes (X)$1,610$0$0
Melissa Fetterhoff
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Dolan
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Heafy
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUGLAS J PETERSEN
President/CEO40.0Yes (X)$429,478$0$40,879
CATHERINE GOODALL
CONTROLLER/ASSISTANT TREASURER40.0Yes (X)$131,330$0$10,164
J Timothy Smith
SVP - CFO & Treasurer40.0Yes (X)$194,579$0$36,325
LINDA JACKSON
AVP, TRAINING MANAGER40.0$95,382$0$8,559Yes (X)
John M DOOLIN
SVP of HUMAN RESOURCES40.0$169,516$0$15,117Yes (X)
MICHAEL J DEMBOWSKI
SVP of Oper, Tech & Compliance40.0$144,699$0$10,087Yes (X)
JOHN C DOYLE JR
SVP of Retail Services40.0$157,090$0$11,875Yes (X)
ROBERT GALLO
AVP Commercial Lending40.0$145,668$0$13,662Yes (X)
THOMAS J GRAY
SVP of Lending40.0$163,952$0$12,341Yes (X)
GORDON R WETMORE
SVP pf Marketing40.0$156,777$0$11,857Yes (X)
Linda Lagoy
VP, Reginal Manager40.0$113,113$0$9,180Yes (X)
Richard Rogers
Vice President40.0$114,851$0$5,842Yes (X)
Robert Remillard
VP/Sales Manager40.0$110,172$0$9,035Yes (X)
David Thibodeau
VP/Information Technology40.0$103,284$0$10,974Yes (X)
William Mullin
SVP Bus Banking & Comm lending40.0$172,629$0$13,789Yes (X)
John Manfroni
AVP, Risk Mgmt Officer, CRCM40.0$95,989$0$9,170Yes (X)
DAVID ROGERS
SVP OF COMMERCIAL DEVELOPMENT40.0$100,713$0$9,415Yes (X)
DAVID EARLS
REGISTERED INSURANCE & INV REP40.0$250,626$0$14,318Yes (X)
MARK FANTASIA
VP INSURANCE & INVESTMENT40.0$226,821$0$15,187Yes (X)
CATHERINE BENOIT
AVP Mortgage Lending40.0$214,933$0$10,967Yes (X)
Glen Marshall
Mortgage Originator40.0$143,987$0$8,274Yes (X)
FREDERICK D HEALEY
former PRESIDENT/CEO0.0$129,224$0$149Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,573,092TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$287,166TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K20IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Intuit Financial Services
PO BOX 515306LOS ANGELESCA900516606Consulting$585,197
Smith Jones
76 Main StreetSTURBRIDGEMA01566MARKETING$615,682
Blue Cross Blue Shield
PO Box 371318PITTSBURGHPA152507318insurance$1,809,968
EPLUS Technology Inc
po box 404398ATLANTAGA303844398technology solutions$397,756
My CU Mortgage
3040 Presidential DrFAIRBORNOH45324Mortgage Servicing$251,307
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K26CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ATM SURCHARGES/SHARED BRANCHING522100$78,814$78,814
INTEREST ON LOANS$33,311,448$33,311,448
FEES$11,153,774$11,153,774
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$44,544,036TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,175,085TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$116,195UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,058,890ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$16,340RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$16,340RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,340TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$16,340RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$775,960OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$775,960OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$775,960TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$775,960ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$50,511,421TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$44,481,562RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$195,009UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,834,850ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,443,868TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,786,762TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,007,617TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,501,529TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$980,355TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$427,697TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$154,190TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$707,375TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,231,077TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,363,389TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,776,416TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,234,108TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,853TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$272,519TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,864,001TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,320,927TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN LOSS PROVISION$5,510,925
NCUSIF INSURANCE ASSESSMENT$655,948
LOAN SERVICING EXPENSE$932,733
DUES, MEMBERSHIPS, SUBSCIPTS$155,799

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$111,589TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,541,677TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,893,027BOYAmt
EOY$16,182,844EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$660,879,936BOYAmt
EOY$742,122,702EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,770,158BOYAmt
EOY$9,809,364EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$23,077,005LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$15,060,383LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,901,255BOYAmt
EOY$8,016,622EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$192,746,503BOYAmt
EOY$247,279,049EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,079,683BOYAmt
EOY$14,594,512EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$913,270,562BOYAmt
EOY$1,038,005,093EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$791,518,870BOYAmt
EOY$910,462,304EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$791,518,870BOYAmt
EOY$910,462,304EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,301,403BOYAmt
EOY$8,301,403EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$113,450,289BOYAmt
EOY$119,241,386EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$121,751,692BOYAmt
EOY$127,542,789EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$913,270,562BOYAmt
EOY$1,038,005,093EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$8,969,744ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$3,178,647NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,368,902OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,368,902BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,298,996OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,303,743DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,995,253BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$626,949OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$562,066DepreciationAmt
Book Value$64,883BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EquipmentEquipmentGrp

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,782,158OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,194,574DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,587,584BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,016,622TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARE AND DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS$706,482,980
OTHER LIABILITIES$4,979,324
SHORT TERM BORROWINGS$8,000,000
LONG TERM DEBT$191,000,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$910,462,304TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$47,316,434TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$3,178,647NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$3,178,647RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$50,495,081RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$16,340OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$16,340RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$50,511,421TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,558,017TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$16,340OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$16,340ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$41,541,677ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$41,541,677TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D part XII Line 4b$16,340 of rental income was reclassified to income from expense.
Schedule D Page 4 Part XII Line 2d$16,340 of rental income was reclassified to income from expense.
Schedule D, Page 3, Part X, line 2Uncertain Tax Positions The Credit Union is exempt, by statute, from federal taxes on income related to the exempt purpose of the Credit Union. Tax positions taken or expected to be taken, including the position that the Credit Union qualifies as a tax exempt entity, are required to be evaluated to determine whether the tax positions are "more-likely-than-not" to be upheld under regulatory review. Tax positions not deemed to meet the more-likely-than-not threshold would be accrued and disclosed in the consolidated financial statements. There are no uncertain tax positions that require accrual or disclosure at December 31, 2013 or 2012.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
FREDERICK D HEALEY
former PRESIDENT/CEO$42,670$0$86,554$0$0$0$0$0$149$0$129,373$0$0$0
DOUGLAS J PETERSEN
President/CEO$335,550$0$78,842$0$15,086$0$32,800$0$8,079$0$470,357$0$0$0
DAVID EARLS
REGISTERED INSURANCE & INV REP$242,362$0$1,000$0$7,264$0$7,926$0$6,392$0$264,944$0$0$0
MARK FANTASIA
VP INSURANCE & INVESTMENT$216,097$0$10,000$0$724$0$9,308$0$5,879$0$242,008$0$0$0
John M DOOLIN
SVP of HUMAN RESOURCES$131,628$0$32,648$0$5,240$0$7,038$0$8,079$0$184,633$0$0$0
CATHERINE BENOIT
AVP Mortgage Lending$212,245$0$0$0$2,688$0$7,858$0$3,109$0$225,900$0$0$0
MICHAEL J DEMBOWSKI
SVP of Oper, Tech & Compliance$114,767$0$28,298$0$1,634$0$4,508$0$5,579$0$154,786$0$0$0
JOHN C DOYLE JR
SVP of Retail Services$126,615$0$28,658$0$1,817$0$6,499$0$5,376$0$168,965$0$0$0
ROBERT GALLO
AVP Commercial Lending$122,729$0$21,989$0$950$0$6,128$0$7,534$0$159,330$0$0$0
THOMAS J GRAY
SVP of Lending$134,961$0$27,014$0$1,977$0$6,762$0$5,579$0$176,293$0$0$0
GORDON R WETMORE
SVP pf Marketing$125,553$0$28,420$0$2,804$0$5,485$0$6,372$0$168,634$0$0$0
J Timothy Smith
SVP - CFO & Treasurer$154,015$0$39,370$0$1,194$0$30,746$0$5,579$0$230,904$0$0$0
Glen Marshall
Mortgage Originator$143,378$0$50$0$559$0$5,856$0$2,418$0$152,261$0$0$0
William Mullin
SVP Bus Banking & Comm lending$146,044$0$23,325$0$3,260$0$7,170$0$6,619$0$186,418$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, 1A AND 1BALL EXPENSES PAID ARE WITHIN THE GUIDELINES OF THE CREDIT UNION'S ACCOUNTS PAYABLE POLICY. GUIDELINES FOR THE APPROVAL PROCESS INCLUDE FINAL APPROVAL OF ALL EXPENSES INCURRED BY THE CEO; SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT EXPENSES ARE APPROVED BY THE CEO. THE POLICY IS APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUALLY.
Schedule J Part I Line 4aThe Former CEO departed the Credit Union at the end of 2010. The Credit Union has made agreed upon severance payments, as part of that departure. The CEO will continue receive payments including salaries, bonus and benefits coverage from the Credit Union through 2013.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part II - Loans to/from Interest PersonsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSome of the officers and directors have loans outstanding with the Credit Union. These loans were obtained in the ordinary course of business of the Credit Union on the same terms as are available to all members. Persuant to instructions for Schedule L, these loans are not reportable on Schedule L.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Page 6, Part VI, Section A, Lines 6, 7a & 7bMembers Line 6 - Workers' Credit Union is a state-chartered community credit union. Our field of membership allows us to accept members who either reside in Massachusetts or work for a company that is based in Massachusetts. Line 7a and 7b - The members vote for the board of directors at the annual meeting and on all business brought before the members.
Page 6, Part VI, Section B, Line 11aReview of Form 990 The board of directors has delegated the responsibility of reviewing the form 990 to the CEO and CFO. The form 990 is made available to any board member who requests it.
Page 6, Part VI, Section B, Line 12a, b & cConflict of interest policy There is a written conflict of interest policy for all board members and all employees. All employees and board members are required to sign off on a code of conduct policy annually which addresses conflicts of interest. The board reviews all conflicts to assure that all conflicts are resolved.
Page 6, part VI, Section B, Lines 15a & 15bOfficer Compensation The board reviews and approves the employment contract of the CEO annually. The board uses comparables with other like financial institutions along with job performance factors to determine compensation.
Page 6, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Public documents The Credit Union makes available all governing documents and form 990 to anyone who asks for it. a copy of the statement of assets income and expense is posted in all banking lobbies.
Page 6, Part VI, Section B, Line 16a & 16bJoint Ventures The Credit Union has invested in several joint ventures. These CUSOs are approved for investing only after careful review of the economics and how the investment will help the Credit Union deliver more financial services to its members. Please refer to Schedule R for details.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Workers Financial Services LLCBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1815 Main StreetAddressLine1
CityFitchburgCity
StateMAState
ZIP Code01420ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN043535666EIN
Primary ActivitiesInsurancePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$113,217TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$10,896EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Workers CUBusinessNameLine1

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (8 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Predominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtDisproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsIndUBI Code VUBICodeVAmtGeneral Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerIndOwnershipOwnershipPct
NorthEast Member Business Services
600 Main streetwalthamMA02452201741448Loan underwriNHRTN Federal CUunrelated-$219,440$0false$0false0.23810
Gateway Servces Group LLC
7600 E Orchard RdGreenwood VillageCO801112583061695018InsuranceCOWorkers CUunrelated$11,507$152,200false$0false0.07380
Member Gateways LLC
PO Box 2617South BendIN46680911944928Product DevINWorkers CUunrelated$42,139$135,379false$00.04000
CUSO Development Company LLC
6090 Fulton St EAdaMI49301020772844Mortgage LoanMIWorkers CUunrelatedfalse$0false
CUSO Financial Services
PO Box 85744San DiegoCA92186330731851InvestmentsCAWorkers CUunrelated$168,173$710,235false$0false0.01984
CU Student Choice Partners LLC
1001 Connecticut Ave NWWashingtonDC20036383777896Student LoansDCWorkers CUunrelated$134,063$228,420false$0false0.05128
Student CU connect cuso
8575 w 110th street suite 220Overland ParkKS66210263590122Student LoansKSWorkers CUunrelated$42,937-$886,696false$0false0.17021
X-Card Systems LLC
5 Fram Ave suite 102FrazerPA19355261167506Debit CardsPAX-Card Systemsunrelated$0-$21,794false$0false0.03394
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.