UTICA UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UTICA UNIVERSITY (EIN 16-1476258)
Tax period
2013-06-01 to 2014-05-31
Filed
2015-02-02
IRS object ID
201510339349300726
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-02-02T12:40:26-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN161476258EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Utica CollegeBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUTICBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3157923011PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1
CityUticaCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code13502ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTammara RaubPersonNm
Person TitleVice President of Financial AffairsPersonTitleTxt
Phone3157923011PhoneNum
Signature2015-02-02SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTammara RaubPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1
CityUticaCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code13502ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$105,308,384GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.utica.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo operate an institution of higher learning offering instruction and research in the liberal arts, sciences and professions leading to the degrees of Associate in Arts (A.A.), Associate in Science (A.S.), Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.).ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent31VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee2107TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers70TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$35,000TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$34,000NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,961,215PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,283,028CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$93,528,017PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$97,472,036CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,068,904PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,657,169CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$951,104PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,887,309CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$100,509,240PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$105,299,542CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$31,550,268PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$34,317,350CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$41,141,995PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$42,930,103CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$55,000PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$60,000CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$3,370,459CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,027,746PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,104,967CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$100,775,009PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$105,412,420CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$265,769PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$112,878CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$106,356,090TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$106,640,177TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$57,182,339TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$56,152,564TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$49,173,751NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$50,487,613NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionUtica College educates for rewarding careers, responsible citizenship, enlightened leadership, and fulfilling lives by integrating liberal and professional study, by creating a community of learners with diverse experiences and perspectives, by balancing a commitment to its local heritage with global outreach, by encouraging lifelong learning, and by promoting scholarship in the belief that the discovery and application of knowledge enrich teaching, learning, and society.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$61,165,127ExpenseAmt
Grant$34,317,350GrantAmt
Revenue$85,800,561RevenueAmt
DescInstruction and research to educate undergraduate & graduate students preparing them to achieve distinction in their chosen professions and inspiring them to become citizens committed to their community.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$13,167,397ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,884,877RevenueAmt
DescStudent Services provides support to instructional programs with an emphasis on student life outside the classroom. it includes areas such as athletics, student activities, career counseling and placement, etc.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,807,783ExpenseAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescAcademic support encompasses the areas of faculty and program development as well as resource centers including the library and various institutes designed to support the learning experience.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,230,338ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$11,636,475RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary EnterprisesDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$6,230,338TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$11,636,475TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$88,370,645TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document331IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee2107EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctYes (1)PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member31IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTammara RaubPersonNm
Phone3157923011PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1
CityUticaCity
StateNYState
ZIP Code13502ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (45 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Lawrence Gilroy
Chairperson0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark A Pilipczuk
Vice Chairperson0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ms Cecelia M Holloway
Vice Chairperson0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert A Brvenik
Vice Chairperson0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eugene F Quadraro
Secretary0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harriet Anne Bamdad
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth D Bell
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry E Bull
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bernadette Clark
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John H Costello III
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas F Cox Jr
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ronald A Cuccaro
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harry J Cynkus
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Frederick C Degen
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
James F DuRoss Jr
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Allyn R Earl
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marianne Gaige
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bruce Hamilton
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Samuel D Hester
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew R Hislop
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi M Hoeller
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Todd S Hutton
President37.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$304,824$0$50,253
Daniel B Jones CLU
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen S Karboski
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christopher J Kelly
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jacqueline M Klotzbach
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ronald E Mason
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christian W Meyer III
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Parsons
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Russell J Petralia
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Linda E Romano Esq
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Solade E Rowe
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark P Salsbury
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John H Snyder
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Philip Taurisano
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Yvette L Walker
Trustee0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judith Kirkpatrick
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs37.5Yes (X)$166,825$0$20,494
Tammara L Raub
Vice President of Financial Affairs37.5Yes (X)$154,656$0$33,968
Laura Casamento
Executive Vice President and Chief Advancement Officer37.5Yes (X)$178,735$0$40,170
Dale Scalise-Smith
Vice President of the School for online & Extended students & Extended Parternships37.5$138,221$0$34,510Yes (X)
James Brown
Professor of Practice37.5$148,100$0$27,856Yes (X)
Walter Desocio
Vice President of Legal Affairs & General Counsel37.5Yes (X)$147,007$0$25,538
Robert Halliday
Sr. Associate Provost & Dean of Graduate Studies37.5$120,822$0$32,242Yes (X)
Carol Mackintosh
Vice President of Planning & Analysis37.5$118,879$0$35,983Yes (X)Yes (X)
Vijay Sonty
Chief information Officer and Vice President for Technology37.5$196,240$0$16,421Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,674,309TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$317,435TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K35IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
US Security Associates Inc
PO Box 931703AtlantaGA31193Security$560,836
Orbis Education Services LLC
11595 North Meridian StCarmelIN46032Education Partner - ABSN$899,542
Sodexo Inc & Affiliates
1101 Sherman DriveUticaNY13501Dining Services$3,127,624
Temco Service Industries Inc
PO Box 8000BuffaloNY14267Facilities Services$3,499,527
Deltak edu
745 McClintock DriveBurr RidgeIL60527Online Educational Services$5,413,466
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K30CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$53,700FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$1,998,206GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,231,122AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,283,028TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Student Tuition and Fees611710$85,800,561$85,800,561$0$0
Auxiliary Enterprises611710$11,671,475$11,636,475$35,000$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$97,472,036TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,657,169TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,657,169ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$11,274FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$53,700ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$8,842FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,432TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,432ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,884,877TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,884,877RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,884,877OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$105,299,542TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$99,321,913RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$35,000UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,659,601ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,317,350TotalAmt
Program Services$34,317,350ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,024,196TotalAmt
Management And General$749,508ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$274,688FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,266,911TotalAmt
Program Services$24,389,312ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,486,755ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,390,844FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,216,484TotalAmt
Program Services$1,727,739ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$370,802ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$117,943FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,397,833TotalAmt
Program Services$6,209,450ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$898,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$289,718FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,024,679TotalAmt
Program Services$1,578,133ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$338,786ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$107,760FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$274,211TotalAmt
Management And General$274,211ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$111,037TotalAmt
Management And General$111,037ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,500TotalAmt
Fundraising$63,500FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$60,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,040,540TotalAmt
Program Services$1,613,375ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,263,057ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$164,108FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$770,209TotalAmt
Program Services$60,591ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$709,618ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,611,397TotalAmt
Program Services$1,195,775ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$259,038ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$156,584FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$589,569TotalAmt
Program Services$155,477ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$416,183ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,909FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$251,119TotalAmt
Program Services$1,119ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$250,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,021,716TotalAmt
Program Services$3,210,560ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$654,004ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$157,152FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,485,444TotalAmt
Program Services$1,300,864ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,518ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,062FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$788,177TotalAmt
Program Services$555,206ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,978ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$167,993FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,732,643TotalAmt
Program Services$1,557,253ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$164,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,210FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,763,257TotalAmt
Program Services$3,168,600ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$594,657ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$309,085TotalAmt
Program Services$45,479ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$263,606ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Auxillaries - Food Service$2,481,192$2,481,192$0
Grounds Services$2,085,299$1,568,850$411,263$105,186
Custodial Services$1,782,575$1,340,633$351,931$90,011

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,943,997TotalAmt
Program Services$1,893,687ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$900,519ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$149,791FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$105,412,420TotalAmt
Program Services$88,370,645ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,671,316ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,370,459FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,600BOYAmt
EOY$1,762EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,158,216BOYAmt
EOY$11,675,035EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,198,357BOYAmt
EOY$719,725EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,253,581BOYAmt
EOY$5,726,289EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$754,900BOYAmt
EOY$746,889EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,112BOYAmt
EOY$2,372EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$283,581BOYAmt
EOY$276,597EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$112,766,977LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$50,711,331LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,215,386BOYAmt
EOY$62,055,646EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,399,529BOYAmt
EOY$12,763,324EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,467,332BOYAmt
EOY$12,672,538EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,616,496BOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,356,090BOYAmt
EOY$106,640,177EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,638,148BOYAmt
EOY$5,608,819EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,112,860BOYAmt
EOY$7,715,714EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,925,238BOYAmt
EOY$34,677,070EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,506,093BOYAmt
EOY$8,150,961EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,182,339BOYAmt
EOY$56,152,564EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,330,015BOYAmt
EOY$25,438,252EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,032,339BOYAmt
EOY$11,487,883EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,811,397BOYAmt
EOY$13,561,478EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,173,751BOYAmt
EOY$50,487,613EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,356,090BOYAmt
EOY$106,640,177EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$112,878ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,026,825NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$399,915OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersYes (1)VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$2,236DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$65,287OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$67,523TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE USED PAID LOBBYISTS TO DEVELOP ADDITIONAL COLLEGE FUNDING THROUGH REPRESENTATION WITH FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$0RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$9,847,124AssetsIncludedAmt

Held Works Art HeldWorksArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$0RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$0AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,809,005BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$601,904ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,826,355InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$596,085GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$306,269OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$53,071AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$24,281,839EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,114,197BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$384,012ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,225,281InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$591,773GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$272,349OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$50,363AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$21,809,005EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,588,939BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$547,462ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,118,637InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$577,570GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$275,925OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$50,072AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$19,114,197EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,017,414BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$311,227ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,141,133InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$556,580GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$274,530OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$49,725AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$20,588,939EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,032,951BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$476,998ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,370,519InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$538,008GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$267,295OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$57,751AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$18,017,414EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.1297BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.5344PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.3359TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,226,850OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,226,850BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$76,309,689OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,662,922DepreciationAmt
Book Value$50,646,767BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$964,898OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$561,436DepreciationAmt
Book Value$403,462BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,571,104OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,730,373DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,840,731BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,694,436OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,756,600DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,937,836BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$62,055,646TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Life Insurance$393,232F
Multi Asset Fund$12,279,306F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$12,672,538TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Post Retirement Liability$6,259,464
Charitable Trust Obligations$211,750
Perkins Loan Federal Contribution$617,466
Interest Rate Swap$1,062,281
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,150,961TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,116,535TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,026,825NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue-$2,432OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,024,393RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$71,092,142RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$34,207,400OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$34,207,400RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$105,299,542TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$71,202,588TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included-$2,432OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$2,432ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$71,205,020ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$34,207,400OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$34,207,400ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$105,412,420TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part III, Line 4The College has a fine arts collection that is housed in the Barrett Art Gallery. The gallery is open to students and members of the community who share an interest in fine arts. The college offers a number of fine arts courses.
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4Utica College has endowment funds that are managed to provide a permanent source of income to support the teaching, research, and service missions of institution.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2As of May 31, 2014 and 2013, the College did not have liabilities for unrecognized tax benefits. The College files tax returns in the U.S. federal jurisdiction and New York State. The college is no longer subject to U.S. Federal and State income tax examinations by tax authorities for fiscal years through 2009.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2dGolf Tournament - Special Events ($2,432)
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bScholarship Aid $34,207,400
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2dGolf Tournament ($2,432)
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bScholarship Aid $34,207,400

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Utica College prints its nondiscriminatory policy in the annual catalog and it is also available on our website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Explanation of Government Financial Aid: A majority of the college financial assistance is provided by the government to enable promising students to attend college if family and personal resources are inadequate to support a college education. Two of the main sources of financial aid are federal and state government.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (18 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean00Program ServicesConference Attendance$1,000
Central America and the Caribbean00Program ServicesFieldwork$23,000
Central America and the Caribbean00Speaking at Seminars or ConferencesPresent Fieldwork$4,000
East Asia and the Pacific00Program ServicesConference Attendance$5,000
East Asia and the Pacific00Program ServicesStudent International Recruitment$7,000
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Speaking at Seminars or ConferencesConference Attendance and Presentation$15,000
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesCourse Presenter and Consultant$1,000
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesFieldwork$96,000
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesStudent International Recruitment$100
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesStudy Abroad Program$400
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesAmbassador of Utica College$13,000
Middle East and North Africa00Program ServicesEmployment Recruitment$2,000
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)00Speaking at Seminars or ConferencesConference Attendance and Presentation$4,000
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)00Program ServicesFieldwork$5,000
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)00Program ServicesInternational Football Game$2,000
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)00Program ServicesStudent International Recruitment$3,000
Russia and the newly independent States00Program ServicesStudent International Recruitment$8,000
South Asia00Program ServicesConference Attendance$1,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Spent$190,500TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty0AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd
Licensed StatesNYLicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1Golf TournamentNameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$64,974GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$53,700CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$11,274GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Cash Prizes Event1$0CashPrizesEvent1Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event1$0NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$0RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$1,200FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$0EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$7,642OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Other Events$0FoodAndBeverageOtherEventsAmt
Entertainment Other Events$0EntertainmentOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$64,974GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$53,700CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$11,274GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Cash Prizes Total Events$0CashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$0NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$0RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$1,200FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$0EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$7,642OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$8,842DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$2,432NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
Fellowships103$109,951FMV
Scholarhips3131$34,207,400FMV

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGrants are awarded to college employees or students for research projects. Grantees may elect to receive reimbursement for receipted expenses or they may elect to receive their awards as W-2 compensation.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Todd S Hutton
President$252,455$0$0$0$52,369$0$27,770$0$22,483$0$355,077$0$0$0
Tammara L Raub
Vice President of Financial Affairs$142,206$0$2,250$0$10,200$0$12,180$0$21,788$0$188,624$0$0$0
Robert Halliday
Dean of Graduate Studies$120,264$0$258$0$300$0$12,381$0$19,861$0$153,064$0$0$0
Laura Casamento
Executive Vice President and Chief Advancement Officer$154,165$0$20,000$0$4,570$0$17,997$0$22,173$0$218,905$0$0$0
Walter Desocio
Vice President of Legal Affairs & General Counsel$146,467$0$0$0$540$0$11,972$0$13,566$0$172,545$0$0$0
Judith Kirkpatrick
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs$158,825$0$8,000$0$0$0$12,834$0$7,660$0$187,319$0$0$0
Dale Scalise-Smith
Vice President of the School for online & Extended students & Extended Parternships$134,137$0$1,044$0$3,040$0$14,828$0$19,682$0$172,731$0$0$0
Vijay Sonty
Chief information Officer and Vice President for Technology$180,000$0$14,700$0$1,540$0$14,616$0$1,805$0$212,661$0$0$0
James Brown
Professor of Practice$137,560$0$10,000$0$540$0$10,993$0$16,863$0$175,956$0$0$0
Carol Mackintosh
Vice President of Planning & Analysis$115,613$0$0$0$3,266$0$13,705$0$22,278$0$154,862$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1aThe President flew first class on one flight during the month of January 2014. This was due to the necessity of traveling while recovering from a medical condition. The College president's spouse is also an employee of the college, and therefore, travel costs for certain business related travel is covered for her. The president is provided a discretionary spending account of $6,000 (after tax) for contribution to charities, 501 (C) (3) organizations, or public causes of his choice. In order to effectively perform his duties as president, the president resides in housing provided by the College. The President's residence also services as a place for meeting with dignitaries and community leaders, receptions, meeting, and fundraising events. The college provides cleaning, lawn care, and other maintenance relating to the president's housing. A portion of the president's housing allowance is reported as taxable income. The college reimburses the President, Executive Vice President & Chief Advancement Officer, Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, Vice President of Legal Affairs & General Counsel, and the President of the School for online & Extended students & Extended Partnerships for membership dues and initiation fees relating to membership in any clubs that the board of directors requests them to join.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 7Deferred compensation in accordance with contracts.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Oneida County Local Development CorporationBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN273190422BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2013-11-15BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$38,200,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSee Part VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$0RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$33,477,681TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$0InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$328,200IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$191,000CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$32,958,481OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$0UnspentAmt
Current RefundingYes (1)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecYes (1)HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1See Part VIBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Of Hedge9.95TermOfHedgePct
Superintegrated Hedge0SuperintegratedHedgeInd
Hedge Terminated0HedgeTerminatedInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part I, Column f-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationDescription of Purpose. The purposes of the Bond issue are as follows: Refund City of Utica Industrial Development Agency Civic Facility Revenue Bonds (Utica College Project), Series 1998A, which were issued on June 20, 1998; Refund City of Utica Industrial Development Agency Civic Facility Revenue Bonds (Utica College Project), Series 2001, which were issued on December 13, 2001; Refund City of Utica Industrial Development Agency Multi-Mode Variable Rate Civic Facility Revenue Bonds (Utica College Project - Letter of Credit Secured), Series 2005A and Series 2005B, which were issued on December 21, 2005; Refinance taxable bank loan which was originally incurred on January 28, 2009; Purchase energy infrastructure assets; and Construct and equip educational facilities.
Schedule K, Part II, Line 3-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationTotal Proceeds of Issue. The Bonds were issued as "draw down bonds", the proceeds of which are to be advanced by the bondholder to the College from time-to-time to pay project costs. The total Bond proceeds advanced to the College, as of May 31, 2014 consist of the following: Proceeds advanced by bondholder on closing date (11/15/13) $33,477,681 Proceeds advanced by bondholder after closing date, through May 31, 2014 $0 Investment earnings through May 31, 2014 $0 Total proceeds of issue as of May 31, 2014 $33,477,681
Schedule K, Part II, Line 11-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationOther Spent Proceeds. Refund outstanding indebtedness $32,958,481
Schedule K, Part II, Line 12-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationPart II, Line 13 - Year of Substantial Completion. The project is not yet complete.
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 4a-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationPart IV, Question 4(a) and (b) - Qualified Hedge. Name of Provider - RBS Citizens, N.A. Term of Hedge: There are three interest rate swap agreements, as follows: Series 2013A Hedge - 9.95 year term Series 2013B Hedge - 9.87 year term Series 2013C Hedge - 9.16 year term
Schedule K, Part V-11/15/2013 38,200,000 Oneida County Local Development CorporationThe College has contacted Bond counsel to help prepare appropriate written procedures.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
James DuRoss
Board Member$3,625,772James DuRoss is employed by a company (Temco service industries, Inc.) that provides janitorial, landscape, and building maintenance services to the college.0
Larry Gilroy
Chairperson of the Board$118,023President of Utica College's property & casualty insurance agency, Gilroy, Kernan & Gilroy.0
Todd Hutton
President of Utica College$34,684Todd Hutton's wife, Nancy Hutton, receives compensation from the college in the form of a contribution to the 403(B) retirement plan.0
Bernadette Clark
Bernadette Clark is the wife of Tom Clark. Tom Clark is the managing agent of Adron Building LLC.$141,950The College has a rental agreement with Adron Building LLC to rent space in downtown utica.0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution14ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$186,243NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I, Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe College uses real estate agents and coin dealers in conjunction with the sale of donated properties on occasion.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4dOther Program Services: Auxiliary Enterprises Expenses $6,230,838 including grants $0 Revenue $0
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 2The College conducts business with various vendors throughout the greater Utica area. Several of the Colleges vendors have principals or employees currently serving on its board of trustees. In accordance with the college's by-laws, each vendor serving on the college board of trustees is required to disclose the details of transactions and other business involvements with the college. Significant related party transactions include certain lines of insurance coverage, rentals, parts and services, janitorial, landscape and building maintenance service, and data processing, printing, mailing and email marketing for the development office.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe 990 is reviewed and approved by the treasurer, key employees, and appropriate trustees prior to being filed and issued. Additionally, the 990 is provided to the entire board of trustees for review and comment prior to filing. This is done by posting a draft PDF of the 990 to the College trustee website.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cOfficers and Board members are required to complete conflict of interest statements and submit them to the office of financial affairs.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The compensation of the president is determined by a compensation committee of the board of trustees in consultation with an independent consultant and approved by the executive committee. The compensation of officers and key employees is determined by the college president and approved by the compensation committee.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Governing documents are available to the public through personal requests through appropriate college officials.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Change in the funded status of the pension plan $1,663,541 Change in the value of annuity obligations $35,178 Loss on interest rate swap contracts ($1,062,281) Loss on retirement of Debt ($236,523)

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.