BEULAH COMMUNITY NURSING HOME: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BEULAH COMMUNITY NURSING HOME (EIN 45-0277390)
Tax period
2014-07-01 to 2015-06-30
Filed
2015-12-15
IRS object ID
201503499349300035
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-12-15T09:21:19-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1914AddressLine1Txt
CityBISMARCKCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585021914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN450277390EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Beulah Community Nursing HomeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBEULBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7018733175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1118 22nd St NEAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58523ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKeith GendreauPersonNm
Person TitleAdministratorPersonTitleTxt
Phone7018733175PhoneNum
Signature2015-11-25SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLisa Chaffee CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012551091PhoneNum
Preparation2015-11-25PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-03-07 17:11:31ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Knife River Care CenterBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKeith GendreauPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1118 22nd St NEAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58523ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,565,244GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.krcc-nd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1960FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide Family-centered compassionate care in a therapeutic and safe environment, where the goal is quality of life.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee222TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers158TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$115,715PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$104,673CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$8,094,051PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$8,455,039CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$11,955PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,532CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$8,221,721PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,565,244CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,116,715PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,989,883CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,139,354PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,589,378CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$8,256,069PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$8,579,261CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$34,348PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$14,017CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$10,039,480TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$9,868,120TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$10,092,617TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,632,183TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY-$53,137NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$235,937NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionKnife River Care Center is dedicated to the preservation of dignity and respect to those we serve and employ. With great compassion, we strive to make excellence our standard.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$7,885,709ExpenseAmt
Revenue$8,455,039RevenueAmt
DescBeulah Community Nursing Home, d/b/a Knife River Care Center, is a licensed 86-bed Long Term Care Nursing Facility, which provides skilled nursing care to the elderly in the Beulah, North Dakota area. The facility also provides a variety of services, which include, but are not limited to, I.V. therapy, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, tube feedings, tracheotomy care, and wound care. The facility provides 24-hour services of a Licensed Social Worker in order to meet the varying psychosocial needs of all residents. Knife River Care Center is a participant in the State and Federal Medicare and Medicaid programs. All costs incurred for the fiscal year were related to providing the necessary services to those individuals who required the support of a long term care facility.In order to meet State and Federal requirements for electronic health records, Knife River Care Center was able to qualify for a 1% loan through the Bank of North Dakota. While this isn't a grant, the 1% loan provides a more affordable method for Knife River Care Center to meet the State and Federal EMR mandates. KRCC continues to pay off this low interest EMR loan. Due to the proximity of oil fields in the Beulah area, Knife River Care Center is experiencing staffing shortages. The State provided a calculation method to determine how much money could be allocated to oil field long term care facilities. Knife River Care Center was fortunate to receive an amount based upon our census and area population of $49,431. These monies were earmarked to offset our extensive Contract Agency expense.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$7,885,709TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document8IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee222EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Linda CzywczynskiBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7018733175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1118 22nd St NEAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58523ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Fred Stern
President1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dena Kemmet
Vice President1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carla Borlaug Director thru
10/2014)/Secretary (as of 10/2014)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Lou Horning Secretary thru
10/2014)/Director (as of 10/2014)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michelle Anderson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Max Miller
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ed Boger
Director (as of Oct 2014)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dale Gilje
Director (thru Oct 2014)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Keith Gendreau
Administrator40.00Yes (X)$113,209$0$17,272
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$113,209TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$17,272TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$49,431GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$55,242AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$104,673TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Resident Serv. Revenue623000$8,410,350$8,410,350
Other Program Service623000$44,689$44,689
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$8,455,039TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,601TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,601ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$931OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$931OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$931TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$931ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,565,244TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,455,039RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,532ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,211TotalAmt
Program Services$12,321ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,890ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,194,731TotalAmt
Program Services$3,963,740ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$230,991ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$131,771TotalAmt
Program Services$122,121ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,650ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,643TotalAmt
Program Services$169,039ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,604ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$316,527TotalAmt
Program Services$293,412ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,115ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,600TotalAmt
Management And General$13,600ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,132TotalAmt
Management And General$28,132ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,305TotalAmt
Management And General$2,305ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,046,952TotalAmt
Program Services$1,018,414ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,538ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,719TotalAmt
Management And General$3,719ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$307,418TotalAmt
Program Services$254,598ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$52,820ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,783TotalAmt
Management And General$60,783ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$383,516TotalAmt
Program Services$383,516ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,424TotalAmt
Program Services$1,459ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,965ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,423TotalAmt
Program Services$15,240ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,183ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$338,969TotalAmt
Program Services$337,854ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,115ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$726,882TotalAmt
Program Services$726,882ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,510TotalAmt
Program Services$59,510ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Food & Dietary$295,298$295,298
Medical & Pharmacy$103,771$103,771
Repairs & Maintenance$80,364$80,364
Bad Debt$33,065$33,065

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,247TotalAmt
Program Services$15,105ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,142ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,579,261TotalAmt
Program Services$7,885,709ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$693,552ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200BOYAmt
EOY$200EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,123BOYAmt
EOY$192,751EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$605,753BOYAmt
EOY$650,100EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,453BOYAmt
EOY$18,842EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,944BOYAmt
EOY$40,846EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$12,624,376LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$4,866,119LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,340,329BOYAmt
EOY$7,758,257EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$927,678BOYAmt
EOY$1,207,124EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,039,480BOYAmt
EOY$9,868,120EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$752,976BOYAmt
EOY$735,579EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,188,676BOYAmt
EOY$7,968,274EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,233BOYAmt
EOY$50,370EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,098,732BOYAmt
EOY$877,960EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,092,617BOYAmt
EOY$9,632,183EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$541,428BOYAmt
EOY-$555,445EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$488,291BOYAmt
EOY$791,382EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$53,137BOYAmt
EOY$235,937EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,039,480BOYAmt
EOY$9,868,120EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$14,017ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$303,091OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$41,261CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$88,938CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$75,165CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$115,715CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$104,673CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$425,752TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$41,261CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$88,938CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$75,165CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$115,715CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$104,673CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$425,752TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$534SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$425,218PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$12,764CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,996CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$12,372CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$11,828CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,601CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$47,561TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$473,313TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$38,447,517GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.89840PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.81340PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$49,707OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$49,707BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,680,130OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,657,409DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,022,721BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,412,206OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,009,784DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,402,422BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$482,333OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$198,926DepreciationAmt
Book Value$283,407BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$7,758,257TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Deferred Financing Costs$293,695
Patronage Capital$72,684
Custodian Accounts$49,363
Interest in Net Assets of Knife River Care Center Foundation$791,382
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$1,207,124TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,510,524TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$8,510,524RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$54,720OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$54,720RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,565,244TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,579,261TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$8,579,261ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$8,579,261TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:The Care Center acts as custodian for the funds of the residents. These funds are included in cash and accounts payable in the financial statements. Resident trust funds totaled $10,118 and $10,026 at June 30, 2015 and 2014. The Care Center also acts as custodian for the Employee's Christmas Club Fund and the Friends Club. Participating employees of the Christmas Club authorize the Care Center to withhold funds from each paycheck which are deposited into a fund administered by the Care Center. These funds are included in cash and accrued expenses in the financial statements. The funds are distributed to participating employees in November each year. Funds held by the Care Center totaled $36,165 and $38,105 at June 30, 2015 and 2014. Funds held for the Friends Club totaled $3,080 at June 30, 2015 and $3,080 at June 30, 2014.
Part X, Line 2:The Care Center is organized as a North Dakota nonprofit organization and has been recognized by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) as exempt from federal income taxes under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). The Care Center is annually required to file a Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990) with the IRS. In addition, the Care Center is subject to income tax on net income that is derived from business activities that are unrelated to its exempt purpose. The Care Center has determined it is not subject to unrelated business income tax and has not filed an Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return (Form 990T) with the IRS. The Care Center believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Care Center would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Contributions Transferred From Foundation 54,720.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1City of Beulah North DakotaBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN450276796BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2006-04-06BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$9,230,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeTo refund bonds issued 12/29/2005 and KRCC New Facility ProjectPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,261,726RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$9,230,000TotalProceedsAmt
Capitalized Interest$390,692CapitalizedInterestAmt
Capital Expenditures$8,839,308CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2008SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (1)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDate Rebate Computation PerformedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIssuer Name: City of Beulah, North Dakota Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 04/06/2011ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Membership: The membership of Knife River Care Center (KRCC) shall be all persons over the age of 18 who are residing within Mercer county and adjacent counties in North Dakota, and family members of residents who are willing to assist the board of directors and officers of KRCC in the operation of KRCC.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aMember Voting Rights: The members of the organization vote yearly to elect the board of directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 8bCommittees: There are no committees in place that may act on behalf of the board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11Form 990 Review: Upon receipt of the draft Form 990, the organization will forward the draft to the board members for their review and comment.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cProcedures for addressing the conflict of interest: The chairperson of the board or committee shall, if appropriate, appoint a disinterested person or committee to investigate alternatives to the proposed transaction or arrangement. After exercising due diligence, the board or committee shall determine whether Knife River Care Center can obtain a more advantageous transaction with reasonable efforts from a person or entity that would not give rise to a conflict of interest. If a more advantageous transaction or arrangement is not reasonably attainable under circumstances that would not give rise to a conflict of interest, the board or committee shall determine by majority vote of the disinterested directors whether the transaction or arrangement is in Knife River Care Center's best interest and for its own benefit, and whether the transaction is fair and reasonable to Knife River Care Center, and shall make its decision as to whether to enter into the transaction or arrangement in conformity with such determination. Violations of the Conflicts of Interest Policy: If the board or committee has reasonable cause to believe that a member has failed to disclose actual or possible conflicts of interest, it shall inform the member of the basis for such belief and afford the member an opportunity to explain the alleged failure to disclose. If after hearing the response of the member and making such further investigation as may be warranted in the circumstances, the board or committee determines that the member has in fact failed to disclose an actual or possible conflict of interest, it shall take appropriate disciplinary and corrective action.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aAdministrator compensation is determined by the independent board of directors. The board uses comparable data from the North Dakota Long Term Care Association in determining the amount of salary to be provided. The deliberation and decision is documented in the board meeting minutes. This process is done annually and was last completed in January of 2015. This same policy would be used with any other officers or key employees of the organization. At the time of filing, the Administrator serves as both the top financial official and the top management official within the organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization's governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are available if specifically requested.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gContracted Services: Program service expenses 943,123. Management and general expenses 28,538. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 971,661. Consultants: Program service expenses 75,291. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 75,291.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Interest in Assets of Foundation 303,091.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Knife River Care Center Friends ClubBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1118 22nd St NEAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58523ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN450277390EIN
Primary ActivitiesStaff Special EventsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$7,603TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$11,628EndOfYearAssetsAmt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.