UNIVERSITY CLINICAL EDUCATION & RESEARCH ASSOCIATES: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY CLINICAL EDUCATION & RESEARCH ASSOCIATES (EIN 99-0307152)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2015-02-12
IRS object ID
201500439349302580
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-02-12T17:10:38-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN261659234PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CW ASSOCIATES CPASBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1700 BISHOP STREET SUITE 1040AddressLine1
CityHONOLULUCity
StateHIState
ZIP Code96813ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN990307152EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY CLINICAL EDUCATION &BusinessNameLine1
Business Name Line2RESEARCH ASSOCIATES (UCERA)BusinessNameLine2
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8084694961PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1677 ALA MOANA BOULEVARD NO 1001AddressLine1
CityHONOLULUCity
StateHIState
ZIP Code96813ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDR ARNAR MAGNUSSONPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone8084694961PhoneNum
Signature2015-02-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK A HAYESPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00085205PTIN
Phone8085311040PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-03-07 17:11:31ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDR ARNAR MAGNUSSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1677 ALA MOANA BOULEVARD NO 1001AddressLine1
CityHONOLULUCity
StateHIState
ZIP Code96813ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$37,769,937GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UCERA.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1993FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateHILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE FUNDING TO BUILD AND SUSTAIN THE INFRASTRUCTURE OF THE JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND ITS DEPARTMENTS; FUND RESEARCH, EDUCATION, AND SCHOLARLY DEVELOPMENT; PROVIDE ADDITIONAL RESOURCES TO RECRUIT, RETAIN, AND DEVELOP QUALIFIED FACULTY AT THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII; PROVIDE CLINICAL TRAINING AND EDUCATION TO STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII; AND PROVIDE HEALTH CARE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC, WITH SPECIAL ATTENTION TO THE POOR AND OTHER UNDERSERVED POPULATIONS OF HAWAII AND THE PACIFIC REGION.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body19VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee286TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers13TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$361,083PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$610,819CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,682,295PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$28,834,250CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$22,081PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$114,700CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$70,533PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$83,347CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$29,135,992PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$29,643,116CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,648,987PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,434,419CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$23,659CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,435,522PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$10,026,402CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$27,084,509PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$27,460,821CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,051,483PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,182,295CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$17,702,496TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$20,581,444TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,237,241TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,721,503TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$13,465,255NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$15,859,941NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionUCERA IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION ESTABLISHED TO FURTHER THE MISSION AND VISION OF THE JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII (JABSOM). IT CONTRIBUTES TO JABSOM'S GOAL OF IMPROVING THE HEALTH CARE STATUS OF THE CITIZENS OF HAWAII AND THE PACIFIC BY SUPPORTING THE EDUCATION, RESEARCH AND CLINICAL ACTIVITIES OF THE SCHOOL. IT SUPPORTS FINANCIAL DIVERSIFICATION OF THE SCHOOL BY DEVELOPING REVENUE GENERATING INITIATIVES IN COLLABORATION WITH HOSPITALS, GOVERNMENT AGENCIES AND OTHER ENTITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,775,689ExpenseAmt
Revenue$28,561,507RevenueAmt
DescCLINICAL AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES - 1) PROVIDE HEALTH CARE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC, WITH SPECIAL ATTENTION TO THE POOR AND OTHER UNDERSERVED POPULATIONS OF HAWAII AND THE PACIFIC REGION. 2) SPECIALTY CLINICS - MULTI-SPECIALTY FACULTY PRACTICE AT CLINICS LOCATED AT VARIOUS SITES INCLUDING: GOLD BOND BUILDING (677 ALA MOANA BLVD, HONOLULU, HI 96813); 1319 PUNAHOU STREET, SUITE 800, 801, 900; 94-235 HANAWAI CIRCLE, WAIPAHU, HI 96797; QUEEN'S OUTPATIENT CENTER; PHYSICIAN'S OFFICE BUILDINGS AT QUEEN'S; LEAHI HOSPITAL; MOLOKAI GENERAL HOSPITAL. PROVIDE PHYSICIANS ON THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII FACULTY WITH A BASE OF OB/GYN, ENDOCRINE, INTERNAL MEDICINE, GERIATRIC, SURGICAL, AND PSYCHIATRIC PATIENTS FROM WHICH THEY CAN EDUCATE MEDICAL STUDENTS AND RESIDENTS. 3) QUEEN'S HOSPITAL AND HAWAII PACIFIC HEALTH/KAPIOLANI HOSPITAL/WAHIAWA GENERAL CONTRACTS - PROVIDE FACULTY MEMBERS TO TREAT PATIENTS AND TO PROVIDE SPECIALTY CLINICAL SERVICES TO HOSPITALS. 4) VETERAN'S ADMINISTRATION SPECIALTY CLINICS - PROVIDE SPECIALIST PHYSICIANS TO TREAT PATIENTS AT THE VA MEDICAL & REGIONAL OUTPATIENT CLINIC. THIS POPULATION TENDS TO BE INDIGENT AND UNDERSERVED. THE VA CLINIC IS ALSO A TEACHING SITE FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND PROVIDES A BASE OF TEACHING PATIENTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,956,039ExpenseAmt
DescMEDICAL SCHOOL AND FACULTY SUPPORT - IN GENERAL, PROVIDES FUNDING TO BUILD AND SUSTAIN THE INFRASTRUCTURE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND ITS DEPARTMENTS. PROVIDE ADDITIONAL RESOURCES TO RECRUIT, RETAIN, AND DEVELOP QUALIFIED FACULTY AT THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII MEDICAL SCHOOL.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$889,421ExpenseAmt
DescEDUCATIONAL SUPPORT - 1) IN GENERAL, PROVIDE EDUCATION AND CLINICAL TRAINING FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII MEDICAL SCHOOL STUDENTS. 2) INTERNATIONAL TRAINING PROGRAM (INL-FS) - PROVIDE INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL STUDENTS AND RESIDENTS WITH U.S. TRAINING EXPERIENCES AT THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE. 3) OFFICE OF MEDICAL EDUCATION (OME-ME) - PROVIDE SIMULATED PATIENTS FOR CLINICAL SKILLS TRAINING AND EXAMINATIONS FOR SCHOOL OF MEDICINE STUDENTS AND RESIDENTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$632,717ExpenseAmt
Revenue$306,323RevenueAmt
DescRESEARCH SUPPORT - UCERA HAS A QUEEN'S MEDICAL CENTER CONTRACT TO CONDUCT CARDIOVASCULAR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION CONSULTING FOR ABOUT 6 HOURS PER WEEK. THERE WAS NO OTHER RESEARCH ACTIVITY THROUGH UCERA IN FISCAL YEAR 2013. UCERA IS IN POSITION TO ACCOMODATE RESEARCH ACTIVITIES THAT REQUIRE HIPAA COMPLIANT HANDLING OF PROTECTED HEALTH INFORMATION (PHI).Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$632,717TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$306,323TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$23,253,866TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee286EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members19GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldHIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JOSEPH ADRIANOBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8084694959PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1677 ALA MOANA BOULEVARD NO 1001AddressLine1
CityHONOLULUCity
StateHIState
ZIP Code96813ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JERRIS HEDGES
CHAIR10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DIRK YOSHIZAWA
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES BURNS
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL ERNE
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KHENG SEE ANG
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EUGENE BAL III
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY BOLAND
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY PS GUERRERO
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE20.00Yes (X)$108,060$0$3,468
ROSANNE HARRIGAN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALLEN L HIXON
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE9.00Yes (X)$108,542$0$2,875
SATORU IZUTSU
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE20.00Yes (X)$91,680$0$212
JOSEPH KAHOLOKULA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNE KATEKARU
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAMAL MASAKI
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE5.00Yes (X)$33,467$0$752
KENNETH NAKAMURA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALAN SCHILLER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN STEINEMANN
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE32.00Yes (X)$240,118$0$8,854
ELIZABETH TAM
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
IVICA ZALUD
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE48.00Yes (X)$234,608$0$7,173
PATRICIA AL BLANCHETTE
CEO UNTIL 1-13-14/EMPLOYEE40.00Yes (X)$248,979$0$10,338
ARNAR MAGNUSSON
CEO/CMO/EMPLOYEE40.00Yes (X)$100,258$0$247
JOSEPH ADRIANO
CFO/EMPLOYEE40.00Yes (X)$130,033$0$5,850
LAUREN KWAK IN HOUSE COUNSEL
CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$74,213$0$14,936
MARGUERITE LISA BARTHOLOMEW
EMPLOYEE40.00$302,157$0$5,818Yes (X)
JANET BURLINGAME
EMPLOYEE40.00$326,251$0$8,009Yes (X)
BARRY CARLTON
EMPLOYEE40.00$362,061$0$7,854Yes (X)
MICHAEL CARNEY
EMPLOYEE40.00$366,765$0$13,887Yes (X)
ROBERT J KIM
EMPLOYEE40.00$325,320$0$16,738Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,052,512TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$107,011TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K40IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
UH OFFICE OF RESEARCH SVC
2530 DOLE ST SAKAMAKI D-200HONHI96822PHYSICIAN/ADMIN COMP$5,196,488
HILO MEDICAL CENTER
1190 WAIANUENUE AVENUEHILOHI96720PHYSICIAN/ADMIN COMP$384,871
KAEO RAD LLC
4348 WAIALAE AVENUEHONOLULUHI96816IT MANAGEMENT SERVICES$267,671
KAPIOLANI MEDICAL CENTER FOR WOMEN AND C
1319 PUNAHOU STREETHONOLULUHI96826TECHNICAL SERVICES$164,286
HAWAII RESIDENCY PROGRAM INC
1356 LUSITANA STREET 5TH FLOOR51HONOLULUHI96813ADMIN COMPENSATION$112,326
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$610,819AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$330,050NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$610,819TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SPECIALTY CLINICS621400$16,288,919$16,288,919
HAWAII PACIFIC HEALTH621110$5,900,514$5,900,514
QUEENS MEDICAL CENTER621110$5,193,262$5,193,262
OTHER CONTRACTS900099$1,145,232$1,145,232
FEES AND CONTRACT FROM GOVERNMENT900099$306,323$306,323
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$28,834,250TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$66,805TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$66,805ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$49,767RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$49,767RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$49,767TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$49,767ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,174,716SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,126,821SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$47,895SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$47,895TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$47,895ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNON-OPERATING INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$33,580TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$33,580RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$33,580OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$29,643,116TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$28,867,830RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$164,467ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,621,966TotalAmt
Program Services$1,371,855ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$248,516ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,595FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,725,370TotalAmt
Program Services$11,653,904ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,057,371ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,095FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$263,001TotalAmt
Program Services$216,815ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,186ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$850,791TotalAmt
Program Services$595,014ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$255,777ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$973,291TotalAmt
Program Services$818,848ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$154,443ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,436TotalAmt
Management And General$4,436ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,015TotalAmt
Management And General$57,015ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,346TotalAmt
Management And General$14,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$388,485TotalAmt
Program Services$352,249ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$35,696ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$540FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$670,842TotalAmt
Program Services$549,390ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$120,766ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$686FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,430,102TotalAmt
Program Services$1,021,287ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$406,506ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,309FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$438,820TotalAmt
Program Services$408,820ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,831ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$169FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$190,039TotalAmt
Program Services$149,969ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$39,844ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$226FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$100,899TotalAmt
Program Services$5,054ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$95,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$541FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PURCHASED SERVICES$5,813,115$5,261,098$548,899$3,118
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$605,442$605,442
MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSE$246,878$197,446$49,161$271
DUES AND MEMBERSHIP$65,983$46,675$19,199$109

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,460,821TotalAmt
Program Services$23,253,866ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,183,296ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,659FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,175BOYAmt
EOY$1,175EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,126,752BOYAmt
EOY$7,511,380EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,513,761BOYAmt
EOY$3,454,276EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$562,621BOYAmt
EOY$581,710EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$3,102,367LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,857,866LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,078,941BOYAmt
EOY$1,244,501EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,981,033BOYAmt
EOY$7,710,976EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$412,213BOYAmt
EOY$77,426EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,702,496BOYAmt
EOY$20,581,444EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,688,836BOYAmt
EOY$3,443,180EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$923,191EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,548,405BOYAmt
EOY$355,132EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,237,241BOYAmt
EOY$4,721,503EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,085,410BOYAmt
EOY$15,499,182EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$279,583BOYAmt
EOY$260,497EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,262BOYAmt
EOY$100,262EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,465,255BOYAmt
EOY$15,859,941EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,702,496BOYAmt
EOY$20,581,444EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,182,295ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$212,391NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$460,366CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$149,287CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$796,293CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$361,083CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$610,820CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,377,849TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,274,147CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$29,883,097CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$29,948,734CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$28,682,295CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$28,834,250CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$143,622,523TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,734,513CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$30,032,384CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$30,745,027CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$29,043,378CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$29,445,070CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$146,000,372TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$200CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$204CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$30,404TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$10,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$200CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$204CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$30,404TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$145,969,968PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$74,104CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$52,355CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$57,726CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$82,409CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$116,572CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$383,166TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$74,104CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$52,355CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$57,726CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$82,409CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$116,572CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$383,166TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$117,136CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$127,709CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$165,631CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,753CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$33,580CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$453,809TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,925,753CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$30,212,448CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$30,968,384CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$29,135,540CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$29,595,222CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$146,837,347TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.99410PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99350PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00260InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00330InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part IV Form990ScheduleAPartIVGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART III, LINE 12, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNON-OPERATING INCOME - 2009 AMOUNT: $ 117,136. 2011 AMOUNT: $ 9,750. 2012 AMOUNT: $ 9,753. 2013 AMOUNT: $ 33,580. OTHER REVENUE - 2010 AMOUNT: $ 127,709. 2011 AMOUNT: $ 155,881.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$100,262BeginningYearBalanceAmt
End Year Balance$100,262EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contributions$100,262ContributionsAmt
End Year Balance$100,262EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$820,762OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$100,372DepreciationAmt
Book Value$720,390BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,281,605OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,757,494DepreciationAmt
Book Value$524,111BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,244,501TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDUE TO JABSOMDesc
Amt$355,132Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$355,132TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$29,860,246TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$212,390NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$212,390RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$29,647,856RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$14,346InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$19,086OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$4,740RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$29,643,116TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$27,446,475TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$27,446,475ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$14,346InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$14,346ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$27,460,821TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:DURING THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2013, UCERA RECEIVED A PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED CONTRIBUTION AMOUNTING TO $100,262 TO CREATE AN ENDOWMENT TO SUPPORT THE CLINICAL WORK OF PATRICIA BLANCHETTE, M.D. AS LONG AS SHE IS AFFILIATED WITH UCERA, OR IF SHE NO LONGER HAS SUCH AFFILIATION, TO SUPPORT THE GENERAL CLINICAL WORK OF UCERA. THE PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED CONTRIBUTION WAS HELD IN AN OPERATING CASH ACCOUNT AT JUNE 30, 2013 AND INVESTED IN MARKETABLE SECURITIES IN JUNE 30, 2014.
PART X, LINE 2:U.S. GAAP REQUIRES UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IF THEY ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO FAIL UPON REGULATORY EXAMINATION. MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED UCERA'S TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2014 AND 2013 AND FOR THE YEARS THEN ENDED BY REVIEWING ITS INCOME TAX RETURNS AND CONFERRING WITH ITS TAX ADVISORS, AND DETERMINED THAT UCERA HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS REQUIRED TO BE REPORTED IN ACCORDANCE WITH SUCH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES. SUCH RETURNS ARE GENERALLY OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES UNTIL THE STATUTES OF LIMITATIONS EXPIRE. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES IT IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX EXAMINATIONS FOR THE TAX YEARS PRIOR TO 2010.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DECREASE IN TEMPORARILY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS -19,086.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SUSAN STEINEMANN
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE$201,861$0$38,119$0$138$0$7,237$0$1,617$0$248,972$0$0$0
IVICA ZALUD
DIRECTOR/EMPLOYEE$159,676$0$74,794$0$138$0$6,814$0$359$0$241,781$0$0$0
PATRICIA AL BLANCHETTE
CEO UNTIL 1-13-14/EMPLOYEE$248,750$0$0$0$229$0$7,536$0$2,802$0$259,317$0$0$0
MARGUERITE LISA BARTHOLOMEW
EMPLOYEE$134,937$0$167,130$0$90$0$5,523$0$295$0$307,975$0$0$0
JANET BURLINGAME
EMPLOYEE$227,892$0$98,269$0$90$0$7,650$0$359$0$334,260$0$0$0
BARRY CARLTON
EMPLOYEE$39,720$0$322,246$0$95$0$7,650$0$204$0$369,915$0$0$0
MICHAEL CARNEY
EMPLOYEE$269,377$0$97,250$0$138$0$7,650$0$6,237$0$380,652$0$0$0
ROBERT J KIM
EMPLOYEE$280,260$0$45,000$0$60$0$7,650$0$9,088$0$342,058$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonELMER TAM JR MEMBER OF KAEO RADPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFAMILY MEMBER OF ELIZABETH TAM, M.D., CURRENT DIRECTORRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$296,997TransactionAmt
TransactionSERVICES AS CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER (CONSULTANT). THE PAYMENT TO ELMER TAM, JR. IS TO HIS COMPANY, KAEO RAD, LLC, SOME OF WHICH HE USES TO PAY FOR PERSONNEL COST AND OTHER OPERATING COST OF THE COMPANY.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$330,050NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCOST BASISMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, COLUMN (B):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION IS REPORTING THE NUMBER OF CONTRBUTIONS RECEIVEDExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I, LINE 6, DESCRIPTION OF VOLUNTEERS:THE ONLY VOLUNTEERS UTILIZED BY UCERA ARE THE VOLUNTEER BOARD MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4THE ORGANIZATION REVISED ITS BYLAWS REGARDING VOTING BY PROXIES, THE RANKING OF CLINICAL UNITS, AND THE ADDITION OF A MECHANISM IN THE NEXT BYLAWS REVISION TO ENSURE EQUAL PARTICIPANT, REPRESENTATION, AND ENGAGEMENT FROM ALL DEPARTMENTS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE CFO REVIEWS IN DETAIL THE INFORMATION, FIGURES, AND OTHER DETAILS OF THE FORM 990, AND PRESENTS THE FORM 990 TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE. THE BOARD APPROVES THE 990 PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION REQUIRES THE BOARD MEMBERS ATTESTATION FOR ANY CONFLICT OF INTEREST ON THE MONTHLY BOARD MEETING. ON AN ANNUAL BASIS THE BOARD MEMBERS SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT AND ARE PROVIDED WITH THE POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. NATIONAL COMPARATORS ARE USED, INCLUDING THE MEDICAL GROUP MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION (MGMA), ASSOCIATION OF THE AMERICAN MEDICAL COLLEGES (AAMC), AND SULLIVAN & COTTER COMPENSATION BENCHMARKS. THIS PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED IN THE PERSONNEL FILE AND WAS LAST UNDERTAKEN IN 2011.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VII, SECTION A, LINE 1A:REPORTABLE COMPENSATION FROM RELATED ORGANIZATION: MEMBERS OF THE UCERA BOARD ARE NOT COMPENSATED FOR THEIR SERVICE AS BOARD MEMBERS. UCERA BOARD MEMBERS (GUERRERO, HIXON, IZUTSU, MASAKI, STEINEMANN, AND ZALUD) ARE ALSO UCERA EMPLOYEES AND ARE COMPENSATED BY UCERA FOR THEIR WORK AS EMPLOYEES. UCERA BOARD MEMBERS (DRS. BOLAND, GUERRERO, HARRIGAN, HEDGES, HIXON, IZUTSU, KAHOLOKULA, MASAKI, NAKAMURA, SCHILLER, STEINEMANN, TAM, AND ZALUD) ARE EMPLOYEES OF RELATED ORGANIZATIONS, THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII (UH) JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND THE UH SCHOOL OF NURSING, AND ARE COMPENSATED DIRECTLY BY UH FOR THEIR PROFESSIONAL SERVICES AS UH EMPLOYEES.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINEBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1651 ILALO STREET MEB 223AddressLine1
CityHONOLULUCity
StateHIState
ZIP Code96813ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN996000354EIN
Primary ActivitiesMEDICAL SCHOOLPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateHILegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
P$5,390,331CASH
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
Q$112,231ACCRUAL

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, SCHEDULE R, PART V, LINE 2(1):REIMBURSEMENT PAID TO JABSOM FOR SALARIES, FRINGE BENEFITS, AND MALPRACTICE INSURANCE.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE R, PART V, LINE 2(2):REIMBURSEMENT TO BE PAID BY JABSOM FOR RENT.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.