SOUTHWESTERN LAW SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTHWESTERN LAW SCHOOL (EIN 95-1246140)
Tax period
2014-07-01 to 2015-06-30
Filed
2016-05-13
IRS object ID
201621379349308727
Schema version
2014v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-05-13T18:22:20-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN951246140EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTHWESTERN LAW SCHOOLBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2137386818PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13050 Wilshire BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityLos AngelesCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP900101106ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul J Kalush IIIPersonNm
Person TitleChief Financial OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Phone2137385722PhoneNum
Signature2016-05-13SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-08-17 19:52:53ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSusan Westerberg PragerPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13050 Wilshire BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityLos AngelesCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP900101106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$56,975,847GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.swlaw.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1911FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe mission of Southwestern Law School is to produce highly skilled graduates who are capable of integrating theory and practice to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body27VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent27VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee659TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers33TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,144,763PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,615,296CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$47,861,875PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$49,665,451CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$583,265PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,262,617CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$436,441PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$728,431CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$51,026,344PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$53,271,795CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$8,198,759PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,871,055CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$24,275,531PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$22,190,209CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$314,898CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$15,718,127PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,382,314CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$48,192,417PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$45,443,578CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,833,927PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$7,828,217CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$102,463,837TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$108,698,187TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$45,174,419TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$43,985,648TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$57,289,418NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$64,712,539NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of Southwestern Law School is to produce highly skilled graduates who are capable of integrating theory and practice to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century. Through excellent faculty committed to promoting the highest level of professionalism, Southwestern seeks to create a vibrant academic community with a student-centered approach to legal education.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$36,220,542ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,871,055GrantAmt
Revenue$49,665,451RevenueAmt
DescHigher Education: Five JD programs are offered: a three-year, full-time day program; four-year, part-time evening program; four-year, part-time day program; PLEAS, a four-year, part-time program for students with child-care responsibilities; and SCALE, an accelerated two-Year, full-time program featuring small classes, practical skills training, and real-world experience. LLM programs are also offered in general law studies and entertainment law. Southwestern maintains an average enrollment of 1,000-1,100 students.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$36,220,542TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1664IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee659EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members27GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member27IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Paul J Kalush IIIBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2137386818PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13050 Wilshire BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityLos AngelesCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP900101106ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Thomas H Hoberman
Chair of the Board of Trustees10Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael J Downer
Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees0.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Julie K Xanders
Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees0.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daphne M Anneet CYPT
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Aronzon CYPT
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven P Byrne
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$750$0$0
Michael E Cahill
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Phyllis Cheng
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dennis PR Codon
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas L Driscoll
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter Duchesneau
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Darin J Feinstein
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rory M Hernandez CYPT
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cindy Johnson
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anthony Kidd
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lauren B Leichtman
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wayne Levin
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hon Ronald SW Lew
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Roger Lowenstein
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sanford P Paris
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel M Petrocelli
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hon Robert H Philibosian
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
John A Schulman
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larraine Segil
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$1,000$0$0
John Spirtos
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert G van Schoonenberg
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hon Arleigh M Woods
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi Yoshioka CYPT
Board Member0.40Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan W Prager
Dean/CEO400Yes (X)$389,844$0$9,810
Janice Manis
Chief Operating Officer400Yes (X)$197,055$0$19,983
Paul J Kalush III
Chief Financial Officer400Yes (X)$172,431$0$23,975
Janis K Yokoyama
Corporate Secretary400Yes (X)$142,880$0$15,145
Debra L Bassett
Faculty400$224,650$0$21,327Yes (X)
John Tehranian
Faculty400$217,724$0$27,802Yes (X)
Catherine Carpenter
Faculty400$208,923$0$54,219Yes (X)
Arthur F McEvoy
Faculty400$209,913$0$20,049Yes (X)
James Camp
Assistant Dean for Property Admin & Development400$208,182$0$55,189Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,973,352TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$247,499TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K73IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
Kensington Caterers
5556 West Washington BlvdLos AngelesCA90016Catering$322,402
Barbri Group
9400 North Cental ExpresswayDallasTX752315038Bar Preparation Services$214,825Suite 613
Grant Thornton LLP
1000 Wilshire BlvdLos AngelesCA90017Accounting Services$135,329Suite 300
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$462,606GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,152,690AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,615,296TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Student Tuition and Fees611310$47,222,433$47,222,433$0$0
Student Housing Revenue611710$2,280,401$2,280,401$0$0
Interest Earned on Student Loans611710$82,640$82,640$0$0
Sales and Services of Educational Departments611710$53,190$53,190$0$0
Federal Workstudy Off-Campus611710$26,787$26,787$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$49,665,451TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$988,478TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$988,478ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,341,353RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,619,191RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$277,838RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$277,838TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$277,838ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,359,000SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,084,861SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$274,139SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$274,139TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$274,139ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Student Convenience (i.e. Parking)812930$631,074$0$0$631,074
Legal Settlement900099$160,000$0$0$160,000
Conference Revenue611710$60,103$60,103$0$0

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$155,092TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$155,092ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,006,269OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$53,271,795TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$49,725,554RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,930,945ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,871,055TotalAmt
Program Services$8,871,055ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$989,680TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$968,756ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,924FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$332,276TotalAmt
Program Services$332,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,469,203TotalAmt
Program Services$13,769,861ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,544,427ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$154,915FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,205,746TotalAmt
Program Services$1,007,812ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$183,992ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,942FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,758,652TotalAmt
Program Services$1,421,819ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,490ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,343FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,434,652TotalAmt
Program Services$1,078,941ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$345,779ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,932FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,920TotalAmt
Program Services$162,920ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,020TotalAmt
Program Services$1,219ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$71,801ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$142,349TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$142,349ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$694,985TotalAmt
Program Services$373,537ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,306ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,142FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$406,634TotalAmt
Program Services$220,471ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$175,767ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,396FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,228,163TotalAmt
Program Services$335,520ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$885,612ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,031FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$297,361TotalAmt
Program Services$25,455ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$271,906ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,410TotalAmt
Program Services$2,410ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,292,733TotalAmt
Program Services$2,096,108ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,196,625ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$752,300TotalAmt
Program Services$736,326ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,067ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,907FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$713,421TotalAmt
Program Services$462,541ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$206,514ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,366FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,618,848TotalAmt
Program Services$1,503,313ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$115,535ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,209,898TotalAmt
Program Services$2,149,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,060,237ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$227,855TotalAmt
Program Services$132,820ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$95,035ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Library Books and Materials$1,363,806$1,363,806$0$0
Orientation and Graduation$91,220$91,220$0$0
Bond Amortization$44,023$36,723$7,300$0
Accreditation$31,681$31,681$0$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,687TotalAmt
Program Services$13,047ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,443,578TotalAmt
Program Services$36,220,542ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,908,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$314,898FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$703,638BOYAmt
EOY$725,659EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,200,547BOYAmt
EOY$14,731,297EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,529,050BOYAmt
EOY$2,237,728EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$705,130BOYAmt
EOY$417,167EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,627,824BOYAmt
EOY$1,599,260EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$102,435,685LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$48,429,746LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,365,302BOYAmt
EOY$54,005,939EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,975,506BOYAmt
EOY$24,506,729EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,054,780BOYAmt
EOY$10,182,116EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$302,060BOYAmt
EOY$292,292EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,463,837BOYAmt
EOY$108,698,187EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,321,365BOYAmt
EOY$5,002,976EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,703,918BOYAmt
EOY$1,737,749EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,033,016BOYAmt
EOY$27,143,607EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,116,120BOYAmt
EOY$10,101,316EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,174,419BOYAmt
EOY$43,985,648EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,184,615BOYAmt
EOY$47,115,426EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,668,024BOYAmt
EOY$5,617,503EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,436,779BOYAmt
EOY$11,979,610EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,289,418BOYAmt
EOY$64,712,539EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,463,837BOYAmt
EOY$108,698,187EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$7,828,217ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$405,096NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,735,968BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$559,911ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$576,822InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$435,110GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$14,437,591EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$11,324,682BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$556,617ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,195,579InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$340,910GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$13,735,968EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,638,928BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$359,132ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,667,062InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$340,440GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$11,324,682EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,756,734BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$499,512ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$307,848InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$309,470GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$9,638,928EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,609,194BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$277,985ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,167,535InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$297,980GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$9,756,734EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$3,072,218InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,349,610OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$8,421,828BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$5,570,043InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$75,700,838OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$37,664,496DepreciationAmt
Book Value$43,606,385BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$6,800InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,940,336OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,476,697DepreciationAmt
Book Value$470,439BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$366,535InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,429,305OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,288,553DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,507,287BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$54,005,939TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescStudent LoansDesc
Book Value$10,182,116BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$10,182,116TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Advances for Student Loans (Perkins)$9,067,578
Lease Payable$878,212
Deferred Rent - Land$155,526
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$10,101,316TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$44,937,838TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$405,096NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$405,096RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$45,342,934RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$7,928,861OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$7,928,861RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$53,271,795TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,514,717TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$37,514,717ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$7,928,861OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$7,928,861ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$45,443,578TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4Southwestern Law School's endowment fund primarily provides financial assistance in the form of scholarships to Southwestern law students. The endowment fund also provides Professorships for Southwestern faculty and supplemental operating income.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2The Law School is exempt from federal income taxes pursuant to Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Law School has received a favorable determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service indicating that they qualify for tax-exempt status. The Law School is also exempt from California income taxes under the related State provisions. Management believes that the Law School will continue to be exempt from taxes. As of July 1, 2010, the Law School adopted accounting guidance related to uncertain tax positions. In accordance with this guidance, management is required to determine whether a tax position of the Law School is more likely than not to be sustained upon examination by the applicable taxing authority, including resolution of any related appeals or litigation processes, based on the technical merits of the position. The tax benefit to be recognized is measured as the largest amount of benefit that is greater than fifty percent likely of being realized upon ultimate settlement. Derecognition of a tax benefit previously recognized could result in the Law School recording a tax liability that would reduce net assets. The Law School has reviewed all significant tax positions for material tax jurisdictions including the U.S. federal and California state tax jurisdictions for which the statute of limitations remained open which is generally three years for federal and state taxes and four years for California. The open tax years are 2011 through 2015 for federal and 2010 through 2015 for California tax years and determined there were no material unrecognized tax benefits. However, the statue can be extended if there was a failure to file a necessary tax return. In addition, there have been no material changes in unrecognized benefits since July 1, 2014, nor are any anticipated in the 12 months following June 30, 2015. However, management's conclusions regarding this policy may be subject to review and adjustment at a later date based on factors including, but not limited to, on-going analyses of and changes to tax laws, regulations and interpretations thereof. There have been no related tax penalties or interest, which would be classified as operating or interest expense in the statement of operations.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bFinancial statements include student financial aid of $7,928,861 as a reduction of revenue while the 990 records this amount as an expense.
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bFinancial statements include student financial aid of $7,928,861 as a reduction of revenue while the 990 records this amount as an expense.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3The non-discrimination policy is published on the internet at http://www.swlaw.edu/about/nondiscrimination/ and in the school catalog.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The law school currently receives funding for the Federal Workstudy program. The school also participated in the Federal Perkins revolving loan program. Both the Federal Workstudy program and the Federal Perkins revolving loan program provide financial assistance to Southwestern law School students.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)18Program ServicesEducation conducted through foreign summer program.$403,694
South America18Program ServicesEducation conducted through foreign summer program.$32,574
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Office2TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee16TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Spent$436,268TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (4 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt
Scholarship Awards465$8,142,143$0
Federal Workstudy Grants278$524,012$0
Faculty Research Grants23$178,000$0
Professorships3$26,900$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanationand Schedule I, Part III, Line 1 - Southwestern Law School offers a number of scholarships from income provided by gifts from donors as well as its own general funds. Qualifications for amounts of scholarships vary, but the determination of awards is generally based on financial need and scholastic achievement, as well as the amount of funds available. Schedule I Part III, Line 2 - Federal Workstudy Grants are awarded to assist students in meeting their educational expenses through part-time employment, and to encourage them to participate in community service activities. Once funds have been approved by the Financial Aid office, the student must secure a position through an eligible employer. Schedule I Part III, Line 3 - Faculty Research Grants are awarded for faculty research in accord with written policies, based on annual written applications from full time members of the faculty. The applicant's record of compliance with the terms of previous stipend awards, assessment of the prior and proposed research and available funds are all considered. The Dean and the Dean of Research make recommendations to the Trustee Committee on Educational Policy, which makes its recommendation to the Board of Trustees. Schedule I Part III, Line 4 - Regarding Professorships, the Dean makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees of those Professors of Law to be named to Professorships and Endowed Chairs, and the Board acts to bestow the honor of this status, generally for a term of years. Distinction in research and quality teaching are essential. Where donor restrictions on a particular professorship or Chair call for subject matter expertise or other qualifications, those restrictions are taken into account as well.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Susan W Prager
Dean/CEO$362,055$0$0$0$27,789$0$5,625$0$4,185$0$399,654$0$0$0
Janice Manis
Chief Operating Officer$192,055$0$5,000$0$0$0$17,865$0$2,118$0$217,038$0$0$0
Paul J Kalush III
Chief Financial Officer$168,391$0$4,000$0$40$0$15,660$0$8,315$0$196,406$0$0$0
Janis K Yokoyama
Corporate Secretary$142,880$0$0$0$0$0$13,005$0$2,140$0$158,025$0$0$0
James Camp
Assistant Dean for Property Admin & Development$191,637$0$0$0$16,545$0$18,561$0$36,628$0$263,371$0$0$0
Catherine Carpenter
Faculty$208,923$0$0$0$0$0$19,740$0$34,479$0$263,142$0$0$0
Debra L Bassett
Faculty$210,650$0$0$0$14,000$0$20,250$0$1,077$0$245,977$0$0$0
John Tehranian
Faculty$203,724$0$0$0$14,000$0$19,710$0$8,092$0$245,526$0$0$0
Arthur F McEvoy
Faculty$201,913$0$0$0$8,000$0$18,930$0$1,119$0$229,962$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1aThe Dean/CEO received an annual automobile allowance of $6,000 and a $10,000 allowance for community affairs which advance the Law School's interest in the community. These amounts were treated as reportable compensation and were part of the Dean/CEO employment contract which was approved by the Law School's Board of Trustees.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1bThe Dean/CEO received an annual automobile allowance of $6,000 and a $10,000 allowance for community affairs which advance the Law School's interest in the community. These amounts were treated as reportable compensation and were part of the Dean/CEO employment contract which was approved by the Law School's Board of Trustees.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3The Board of Trustees meets to determine the compensation package for Southwestern's Dean/CEO. Form 990s of other organizations as well as compensation surveys are used to determine the Dean/CEO's salary. The Board considers Southwestern's internal budgeted salary increase in conjunction with the other salary information listed above to target a responsible compensation package. The Board of Trustees approves the compensation package. This process takes place annually.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 7The COO and the CFO both received bonuses during the tax year. The amount was determined by the Dean/CEO of the institution. See Schedule J, Part II (B) (ii) for amounts.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
California Educational Facilities Authority
A521705592130175A772003-05-29$12,283,629To refund the Authority's Series 1994 bonds (Original issue date of 10/01/94).000
California Municipal Finance Authority
B20156346613048TMA82011-10-27$20,839,207To finance the design and construction of a student housing facility000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr
A$5,440,000$0$12,628,218$0$0$0$228,389$0$0$0$12,399,828$00Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$320,000$0$20,839,207$1,609,750$2,282,631$0$416,770$0$0$16,530,056$0$000Yes (1)Yes (1)2013

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000000Yes (1)
B000000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000Yes (1)0000Yes (1)
B0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-05/29/2003 12,283,629 California Educational Facilities AuthorityFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationArbitrage procedures were performed on October 9, 2008 and based on the findings there were no and will be no rebate liability for these bonds. There was no positive arbitrage earnings created with the refunding proceeds. There were not enough sale proceeds used for issuance costs to generate possible arbitrage during the computation period. The bond fund was a bona fide debt service fund and accordingly the bond fund is not subject to rebate. There was no reserve fund established for the bonds. There were not unexpended proceeds of the refunded bonds that could become transferred proceeds of the bonds. There were no replacement proceeds of the bonds. Due to all of these factors there is no rebate liability for these bonds.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Lisa Gear
Family Member of Paul Kalush$105,126Employment Compensation0
Dennis Yokoyama
Family Member of Janis Yokoyama$164,890Employment Compensation0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe 990 is prepared by management and is then reviewed by an independent audit firm. The 990 is then sent to all the members of the Board of Trustees before it is filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cA questionnaire is sent to Board of Trustee members and all officers on an annual basis which they are required to complete. Any conflicts of interest that might arise are subsequently discussed to determine whether appropriate action, if any, is warranted.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The compensation committee meets to determine the compensation package for Southwestern's Dean/CEO. Form 990s of other organizations as well as compensation surveys are used to determine the Dean/CEO's salary. The committee considers Southwestern's internal budgeted salary increase in conjunction with the other salary information listed above to target a responsible compensation package. The Board of Trustees approves the compensation package. This process is undertaken on an annual basis for our Dean/CEO.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19These documents are not made available to the general public.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.