ASSOCIATION OF BONE & JOINT SURGEONS: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ASSOCIATION OF BONE & JOINT SURGEONS (EIN 42-0848331)
Tax period
2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
Filed
2016-11-14
IRS object ID
201603199349307760
Schema version
2015v2.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-11-14T13:54:46-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363856676PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KUTCHINS ROBBINS & DIAMOND LTDBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11101 PERIMETER DR STE 760AddressLine1Txt
CitySCHAUMBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60173ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN420848331EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ASSOCIATION OF BONE AND JOINTBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2SURGEONSBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlASSOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8477378945PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 S NORTHWEST HWY SUITE 203AddressLine1Txt
CityPARK RIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60068ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonXAVIER A DURALDE MDPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone8474305041PhoneNum
Signature2016-10-20SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCHAD PORTERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01058119PTIN
Phone8472401040PhoneNum
Preparation2016-11-10PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2017-02-10 21:41:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMARLENE DEMAIO MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 S NORTHWEST HWY SUITE 203AddressLine1Txt
CityPARK RIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60068ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$4,631,192GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.ABJS.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOKLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE ASSOCIATION OF BONE AND JOINT SURGEONS (THE ASSOCIATION) IS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION, ORGANIZED TO EXCHANGE INFORMATION, STIMULATE DEVELOPMENT AND ADVANCEMENT OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, TRAIN LEADERS, SPONSOR AND CONTRIBUTE TO THE SCIENTIFIC ASPECTS OF, AND CLINICAL RESEARCH IN, ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, AND SPONSOR PUBLICATION OF THE SCIENTIFIC JOURNAL, CLINICAL ORTHOPAEDICS AND RELATED RESEARCH (CORR).ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee12TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$38,790TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$28,692PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$14,200CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,026,741PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$4,245,935CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$304,223PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$359,297CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$11,871PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$11,760CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$4,371,527PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$4,631,192CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$49,336PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$87,840CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$799,190PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$947,588CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,334,389PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,988,322CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,182,915PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,023,750CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,188,612PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,607,442CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$15,869,572TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$17,238,959TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$200,044TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$213,255TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$15,669,528NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$17,025,704NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE ASSOCIATION OF BONE AND JOINT SURGEONS (THE ASSOCIATION) IS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION, ORGANIZED TO EXCHANGE INFORMATION, STIMULATE DEVELOPMENT AND ADVANCEMENT OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, TRAIN LEADERS, SPONSOR AND CONTRIBUTE TO THE SCIENTIFIC ASPECTS OF, AND CLINICAL RESEARCH IN, ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, AND SPONSOR PUBLICATION OF THE SCIENTIFIC JOURNAL, CLINICAL ORTHOPAEDICS AND RELATED RESEARCH (CORR).MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$1,765,587ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,148,999RevenueAmt
DescMEDICAL JOURNAL PUBLISHED TO DISSEMINATE ORTHOPAEDIC KNOWLEDGE TO PROFESSIONALS IN THE FIELD OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$276,856ExpenseAmt
Revenue$65,886RevenueAmt
DescEDUCATIONAL/SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS AND WORKSHOPS TO DISSEMINATE CURRENT RESEARCH FINDINGS IN VARIOUS AREAS OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY TO PROFESSIONALS IN THE FIELD.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$87,840ExpenseAmt
Grant$87,840GrantAmt
DescVARIOUS RESEARCH AWARDS TO ORTHOPAEDIC PROFESSIONALS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$2,130,283TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document26IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee12EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCOLETTE HOHIMERPersonNm
Phone8477378945PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 S NORTHWEST HWY SUITE 203AddressLine1Txt
CityPARK RIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60068ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MATTHEW B DOBBS MD
ACT. MEMBER-1.00Yes (X)$60,000$0$0
MARLENE DEMAIO MD
PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DONALD H LEE MD
FIRST VICE P1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD J FRIEDMAN MD
SECOND VICE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
R LOR RANDALL MD FACS
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
XAVIER A DURALDE MD
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GUIDO MARRA MD
TREASURER EL1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHARLES L SALTZMAN MD
IMMED PAST P1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MIGUEL A AYERZA MD
PAST PRESIDE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
RANDALL E MARCUS MD
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
TODD J ALBERT MD
EDITOR'S REP1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
COLETTE HOHIMER
EXECUTIVE DI37.50$185,314$0$0Yes (X)
LEE R BEADLING
MANAGING DIR37.50$160,270$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$405,584TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K2IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonUNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTONPersonNm

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14245 ROOSEVELT WAY NEAddressLine1Txt
Address Line2BOX 354743AddressLine2Txt
CitySEATTLECityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesEDITORIALServicesDesc
Compensation$549,639CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$14,200AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$14,200TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
PUBLISHING INCOME511120$4,110,209$4,110,209
ANNUAL MEETING611710$65,886$65,886
ADVERTISING541800$38,790$38,790
MEMBERSHIP DUES813920$31,050$31,050
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$4,245,935TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$359,297TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$359,297ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$11,760RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$11,760RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,760TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$11,760ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,631,192TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,207,145RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$38,790UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$371,057ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,840TotalAmt
Program Services$87,840ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$776,693TotalAmt
Program Services$456,398ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$320,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,378TotalAmt
Program Services$6,870ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,508ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,466TotalAmt
Program Services$66,529ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,937ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,051TotalAmt
Program Services$35,984ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,067ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,626TotalAmt
Management And General$37,626ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,080TotalAmt
Management And General$30,080ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$133,582TotalAmt
Management And General$133,582ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$987,021TotalAmt
Program Services$994,128ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$7,107ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,844TotalAmt
Program Services$5,752ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$35,092ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,771TotalAmt
Program Services$3,534ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,237ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,819TotalAmt
Program Services$64,746ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,073ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,743TotalAmt
Program Services$17,064ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,679ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,752TotalAmt
Program Services$6,406ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$375,501TotalAmt
Program Services$344,331ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,170ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,458TotalAmt
Management And General$78,458ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,043TotalAmt
Program Services$16,415ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,628ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
GIFTS & AWARDS$39,655$6,250$33,405
BOARD OF DIRECTORS EXP.$17,000$17,000
PUBLISHING SUBSCRIPTIONS$11,160$11,160
BANK & CREDIT CARD FEES$6,251$6,251

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,016TotalAmt
Program Services$1,036ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,980ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,023,750TotalAmt
Program Services$2,130,283ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$893,467ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,896,608BOYAmt
EOY$1,053,762EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,663BOYAmt
EOY$50,823EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,140BOYAmt
EOY$143,059EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$1,964,418LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$758,292LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,264,689BOYAmt
EOY$1,206,126EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,699,986BOYAmt
EOY$14,783,189EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$858,486BOYAmt
EOY$2,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,869,572BOYAmt
EOY$17,238,959EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,044BOYAmt
EOY$213,255EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,044BOYAmt
EOY$213,255EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,040,641BOYAmt
EOY$16,379,288EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,851BOYAmt
EOY$170,780EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$471,036BOYAmt
EOY$475,636EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,669,528BOYAmt
EOY$17,025,704EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,869,572BOYAmt
EOY$17,238,959EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,607,442ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$251,266NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$51,150CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$79,585CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$41,442CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$28,692CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$14,200CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$215,069TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,309,509CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,474,184CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,714,698CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,003,281CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,207,145CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,708,817TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,360,659CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,553,769CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,756,140CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,031,973CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,221,345CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,923,886TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$19,923,886PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$179,376CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$471,341CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$391,056CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$316,094CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$371,057CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,728,924TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$179,376CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$471,341CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$391,056CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$316,094CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$371,057CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,728,924TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$498CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year$2,698CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,196TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,540,533CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,025,110CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,147,196CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,348,067CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,595,100CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,656,006TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.92000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.92070PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.08000InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.08000InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$858,486BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,600ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,329InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$866,415EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$817,179BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$18,850ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$22,457InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$858,486EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$698,932BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$51,342ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$66,905InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$817,179EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$582,112BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$50,150ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$66,670InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$698,932EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$581,140BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$27,400ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$26,428InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$582,112EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.27930BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.54900PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.17170TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$165,854OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$165,854BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,508,813OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$508,457DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,000,356BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$289,751OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$249,835DepreciationAmt
Book Value$39,916BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,206,126TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$4,246,344TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$251,266NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$251,266RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$4,497,610RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$133,582InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$133,582RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$4,631,192TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$2,890,168TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$2,890,168ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$133,582InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$133,582ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,023,750TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE SOCIETY'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE TO BE HELD IN PERPETUITY AND INVESTMENT INCOME IS TO BE UTILIZED FOR THE SOCIETY'S MISSION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
THE HIP SOCIETY
9400 W HIGGINS ROAD SUITE 500ROSEMONTIL60018237348162501C3$25,000RESEARCH
THE KNEE SOCIETY
9400 W HIGGINS ROAD SUITE 500ROSEMONTIL60018133190169501C3$25,000RESEARCH
SPRINGER
233 SPRING STREETNEW YORKNY100131578042509538$37,840EDUCATION
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRECIPIENTS MUST MEET SPECIFIC CRITERIA TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR GRANTS FROM THE ASSOCIATION. MANUSCRIPTS DESCRIBING THE WORK ARE SUBMITTED AND GRADED BY A COMMITTEE. APPLICANTS MUST SUBMIT A FULL CURRICULUM VITAE AND A STATEMENT OF THE PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR'S ROLE IN THE STUDY. RECIPIENTS ARE SELECTED BASED ON THEIR WORK. THE AWARDS ARE GIVEN FOR WORK ALREADY COMPLETED. RECIPIENTS MUST NOTIFY THE ASSOCIATION OF OTHER FUNDING SOURCES. THEY MUST PRESENT THEIR WORK AT THE ASSOCIATION'S ANNUAL MEETING.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
COLETTE HOHIMER
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$185,314$185,314
LEE R BEADLING
MANAGING DIRECTOR-PA$160,270$160,270

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990 - ORGANIZATION'S MISSIONTHE ASSOCIATION OF BONE AND JOINT SURGEONS (THE ASSOCIATION) IS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION, ORGANIZED TO EXCHANGE INFORMATION, STIMULATE DEVELOPMENT AND ADVANCEMENT OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, TRAIN LEADERS, SPONSOR AND CONTRIBUTE TO THE SCIENTIFIC ASPECTS OF, AND CLINICAL RESEARCH IN, ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY, AND SPONSOR PUBLICATION OF THE SCIENTIFIC JOURNAL, CLINICAL ORTHOPAEDICS AND RELATED RESEARCH (CORR).
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6THE ASSOCIATION IS ORGANIZED WITH MEMBERS. THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE ASSOCIATION CONSISTS OF FOUR CLASSES OF MEMBERS: ACTIVE, SENIOR, EMERITUS, AND HONORARY.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7AELECTION MAY BE BY RETURN BALLOT. A THREE-QUARTERS (3/4) AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF THE ACTIVE, SENIOR, AND EMERITUS MEMBERS, RESPONDING BY THE DEADLINE DATE SHALL BE NECESSARY FOR ELECTION TO MEMBERSHIP. A CANDIDATE THUS REJECTED MAY AGAIN BE PROPOSED FOR MEMBERSHIP AT THE END OF THREE (3) YEARS. TO FULFILL THE CRITERIA FOR MEMBERSHIP, A NEWLY ELECTED MEMBER MUST PRESENT A PAPER WITHIN TWO (2) MEETINGS FOLLOWING ELECTION TO MEMBERSHIP. THE MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE SHALL DISTRIBUTE A SCHEDULE OF DEADLINES ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BELECTION OF OFFICERS, APPROVAL OF BYLAW CHANGES , ADMISSION OF NEW MEMBERS, LOCATION OF ANNUAL CONFERENCE
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BAN INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM (CPA) PREPARES THE ASSOCIATION'S FORM 990 AND SUBMITS THE FORM TO THE ASSOCIATION'S MANAGEMENT AND TREASURER FOR REVIEW. AN ELECTRONIC COPY OF THE FORM IS ALSO PROVIDED TO ALL VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. THE FORM 990 IS ALSO ATTACHED TO THE ILLINOIS FORM AG-990-IL, WHICH REQUIRES THE SIGNATURE OF TWO OFFICERS. THIS PROVIDES THE OPPORTUNITY FOR A FINAL REVIEW OF THE FORM BY A SECOND OFFICER.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTHE ASSOCIATION'S MANAGEMENT SUBMITS A QUESTIONNAIRE ANNUALLY TO EACH DIRECTOR WITH THE QUESTIONS DESIGNED TO DETECT ANY VIOLATION OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. MANAGEMENT THEN PREPARES A REPORT OF ITS FINDINGS AND PRESENTS IT TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS DETERMINED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BASED ON COMPENSATION FOR COMPARABLE POSITIONS IN MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATIONS. COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BCOMPENSATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS DETERMINED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BASED ON COMPENSATION FOR COMPARABLE POSITIONS IN MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATIONS. COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GPUBLISHING PAYROLL SRVC. FEES 2,414 0 0 PUBLISHING PROFESSIONAL FEES 4,367 0 0 PAYROLL SERVICE FEES 0 1,609 0 PUBLISHING HIRING EXPENSES 439 0 0 EDITORIAL STIPENDS 986,908 0 0 OTHER PROFESSIONAL FEES 0 4,850 0 OUTSIDE SERVICES 0 391 0 ALLOCATION TO UBIT 0 -13,957 0

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.