FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

HOPKINS SCHOOL INCORPORATED: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HOPKINS SCHOOL INCORPORATED (EIN 06-0646674)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2017-11-06
IRS object ID
201743109349300659
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-06T07:31:16-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN221478099PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COHNREZNICK LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 CHURCH STREET 12TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityHARTFORDCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN060646674EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOPKINS SCHOOL INCORPORATEDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHOPKBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2033971001PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 Forest RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityNew HavenCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06515ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persondavid e baxterPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2033971001PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOHN TOSCANOPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00358542PTIN
Phone9592007000PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address209.3.217.20IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-03IPDt
IP Tm08:35:21IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id896C1F5B5D42EC59A37A0D46A5820AA48C1A79EDAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Hopkins SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal Officerkai bynumPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 Forest RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityNew HavenCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06515ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$67,381,820GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.Hopkins.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization TrustYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationTrustInd
Formation1660FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCTLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionA PRIVATE CO-EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION FORMED TO EDUCATE STUDENTS FROM GRADES 7 THROUGH 12.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body19VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent18VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee335TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$24,292TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$161,517NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,018,818PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$16,866,226CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,391,892PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$29,919,975CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,610,281PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,250,143CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$238,372PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$295,612CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,259,363PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$50,331,956CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,571,359PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,852,373CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,357,367PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$21,048,562CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,501,252CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,338,633PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$11,285,991CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,267,359PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$36,186,926CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,992,004PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$14,145,030CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$177,878,668TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$203,739,335TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$28,529,068TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$27,927,821TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$149,349,600NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$175,811,514NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO CONDUCT AND MANAGE A SCHOOL FOR YOUNG people AND TO CARRY ON ANY AND ALL ACTIVITIES PERMITTED TO A NONSTOCK CORPORATION UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT AS MAY BE HELPFUL OR APPROPRIATE FOR THE ACHIEVEMENT OF THE FOREGOING GOALS AND PURPOSES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$27,919,631ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,852,373GrantAmt
Revenue$30,053,202RevenueAmt
DescAcademic instruction, athletic & student activities, food service & other support for 714 students.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$27,919,631TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document91IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee335EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members19GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member18IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Dorota HabibBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2033971001PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1986 Forest RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityNew HavenCityNm
State AbbreviationCTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP06515ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Alexander C Banker
Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Vincent A Calarco
President5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gwen E Evans '84
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Niall M Ferguson '92
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard A Ferguson '63
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Geanakoplos '71
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Medina Tyson Jett '83
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eric A Kutcher '92
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr David Leffell
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark H Lynch '62
Vice President1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pamela C Paulmann '89
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stacey Jackson Perkins
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lynn J Quinn
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barbara Mullin Rosiello
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donna Steinberg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gregory R Tanner '92
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael A Thomas '86
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael W Vranos
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAI BYNUM
HEAD of School40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$200,381$0$21,039
David E Baxter
Chief Financial and Operating Officer40.00Yes (X)$263,637$0$174,453
Linda Weber
Director of Strategic Marketing & Communication40.00$167,330$0$36,491Yes (X)
Jedd Whitlock
Director of Development40.00$166,490$0$39,399Yes (X)
Pamela McKenna
Director of Admissions40.00$129,688$0$30,865Yes (X)
ELIZABETH CLIMIE
director of facilities40.00$124,566$0$22,213Yes (X)
Robert John Roberts
Assistant Head of School40.00$142,430$0$40,103Yes (X)
BARBARA RILEY
FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL0.00$1,065,885$0$24,775Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,260,407TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$389,338TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K32IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
flik independent school dining
chartwellsbostonMA022417632food service$1,066,499
markle investigations inc
po box 502north havenCT06473security AND INVESTIGATION$668,543
CS MARGISON INC
PO BOX 948FarmingtonCT06034Contractor$480,400
abm janitorial services northeast inc
po box 1534new yorkNY10008CAMPUS MAINTENANCE$222,485
James Albert Landscape Design & Maint LL
30 Tennyson AvenueNorth HavenCT06473Lawn and Lanscaping Services$146,335
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$197,699FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$16,668,527AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$5,226,343NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$16,866,226TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION & Fees611600$29,749,970$29,749,970
Other Fees611600$115,111$115,111
Application611600$25,528$25,528
Late Payment Fees611600$24,631$24,631
Publications611600$4,735$4,735
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$29,919,975TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,039,077TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$24,292UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,014,785ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$107,010RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$107,010RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$107,010TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$107,010ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$18,878,016SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$16,287,193SecuritiesAmt
Other$379,757OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,590,823SecuritiesAmt
Other-$379,757OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,211,066TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,211,066ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$37,040FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$197,699ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$41,771FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$4,731TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$4,731ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$377,740GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$341,143CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$36,597TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,597RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUS REVENUEDesc
Business611600BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$156,736TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$96,630RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$60,106ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$156,736OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$50,331,956TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,053,202RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$24,292UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,388,236ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,852,373TotalAmt
Program Services$3,852,373ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$762,591TotalAmt
Management And General$762,591ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,100,910TotalAmt
Program Services$12,052,125ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,324,291ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$724,494FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,314,903TotalAmt
Program Services$1,143,890ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,874ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$62,139FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,783,049TotalAmt
Program Services$3,471,144ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$156,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$155,207FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,087,109TotalAmt
Program Services$916,367ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$119,718ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$51,024FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,994TotalAmt
Management And General$92,994ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,800TotalAmt
Management And General$57,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,197,497TotalAmt
Management And General$1,197,497ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,626,879TotalAmt
Program Services$1,591,939ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,968,631ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$66,309FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,369TotalAmt
Program Services$150ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,769ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$450FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$384,766TotalAmt
Program Services$119,854ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$130,229ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$134,683FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$186,629TotalAmt
Program Services$166,878ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,284ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,467FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$638,200TotalAmt
Program Services$574,380ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,438ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,382FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,971TotalAmt
Program Services$14,408ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,018ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,545FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$390,642TotalAmt
Program Services$184,325ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,125ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$122,192FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$482,029TotalAmt
Program Services$361,522ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$120,507ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,429,410TotalAmt
Program Services$2,186,469ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$218,647ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,294FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,506TotalAmt
Management And General$147,506ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
supplies$368,795$335,803$26,874$6,118
rentals$281,615$272,795$525$8,295
miscellaneous$224,533$104,581$51,929$68,023
equipment$117,992$114,158$843$2,991

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$600,364TotalAmt
Program Services$456,470ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$128,255ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,639FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,186,926TotalAmt
Program Services$27,919,631ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,766,043ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,501,252FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$692BOYAmt
EOY$692EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,913,194BOYAmt
EOY$9,070,206EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,139,853BOYAmt
EOY$6,943,571EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$800BOYAmt
EOY$6,616EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,075,293EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,011BOYAmt
EOY$35,291EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$76,657,912LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$30,008,897LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,778,001BOYAmt
EOY$46,649,015EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,863,491BOYAmt
EOY$57,497,785EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,846,627BOYAmt
EOY$81,092,860EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,316,999BOYAmt
EOY$1,368,006EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$177,878,668BOYAmt
EOY$203,739,335EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,115,628BOYAmt
EOY$3,821,935EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,578,932BOYAmt
EOY$9,944,699EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,591,794BOYAmt
EOY$13,100,049EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,242,714BOYAmt
EOY$1,061,138EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,529,068BOYAmt
EOY$27,927,821EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,518,599BOYAmt
EOY$77,600,381EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,569,060BOYAmt
EOY$29,952,092EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,261,941BOYAmt
EOY$68,259,041EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,349,600BOYAmt
EOY$175,811,514EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$177,878,668BOYAmt
EOY$203,739,335EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$14,145,030ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$13,533,678NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,216,794OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$92,104,449BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$12,739,775ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$13,194,537InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,496,392GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$2,209,034OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$114,333,335EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$91,144,411BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,707,458ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,299,165InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,450,180GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,998,075OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$92,104,449EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$86,064,778BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,767,496ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,621,569InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,433,684GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,875,748OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$91,144,411EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$74,778,553BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,246,899ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,018,084InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,215,439GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,763,319OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$86,064,778EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$66,661,710BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,300,807ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,633,691InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,140,732GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,676,923OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$74,778,553EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.22800BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.53900PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.23300TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,394,147OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,394,147BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$56,436,451OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,083,603DepreciationAmt
Book Value$37,352,848BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,178,924OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,853,186DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,325,738BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,911,020OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,693,416DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,217,604BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$737,370OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$378,692DepreciationAmt
Book Value$358,678BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$46,649,015TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
U.S. LARGE CAP EQUITY FUNDS$12,090,720F
GLOBAL EX U.S. EQUITY FUNDS$12,520,088F
ALTERNATIVE ABSOLUTE RETURN$44,942,142F
ALTERNATIVE REAL ESTATE$5,799,344F
ALTERNATIVE GLOBAL PRIVATE EQUITY$1,372,562F
ALTERNATIVE TIMBER, OIL AND GAS$4,368,004F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$81,092,860TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Annuities Payable$741,625
INTEREST PAYABLE$165,156
capital lease obligations$154,357
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,061,138TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$58,833,089TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$13,533,678NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$382,914OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$13,916,592RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$44,916,497RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$1,197,497InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$4,217,962OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$5,415,459RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$50,331,956TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$31,519,970TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$382,914OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$382,914ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$31,137,056ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$1,197,497InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,852,373OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$5,049,870ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$36,186,926TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:Endowment funds will be disbursed in accordance with the school's existing spending policy for the specified purposes of the various funds.
Part X, Line 2:The School has no unrecognized tax benefits at June 30, 2017 and 2016. THE SCHOOL'S FEDERAL INFORMATION RETURNS PRIOR TO FISCAL YEAR 2014 ARE CLOSED AND MANAGEMENT CONTINUALLY EVALUATES EXPIRING STATUTES OF LIMITATIONS, AUDITS, PROPOSED SETTLEMENTS, CHANGES IN TAX LAW AND NEW AUTHORITATIVE RULINGS. IF THE SCHOOL HAS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAXES, IT WOULD RECOGNIZE INTEREST AND PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH ANY TAX MATTERS AS PART OF THE INCOME TAX PROVISION AND INCLUDE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES WITH THE RELATED TAX LIABILITY IN THE STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:cost of sales - bookstore 341,143. fundraising expenses 41,771.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:financial aid 3,852,373. uncollectible pledges 365,589.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:COST OF SALES - BOOKSTORE 341,143. fundraising expenses 41,771.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:FINANCIAL AID 3,852,373.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid Rcvd0GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule E, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNondiscrimination policy published in the local newspaper annually.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean - Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas,00Investment holding included in the School's Endowment portfolio$13,772,706
Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland) - Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium00Investment holding included in the School's Endowment portfolio$12,520,088
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$26,292,794SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$26,292,794TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1auctionEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$183,201GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$166,696CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$16,505GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$1,050RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$13,299EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$14,071OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2GOLFEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$51,538GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$31,003CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$20,535GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$1,150RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Entertainment Event2$6,583EntertainmentEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$5,618OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$234,739GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$197,699CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$37,040GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$2,200RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$19,882EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$19,689OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$41,771DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$4,731NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSTUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS / FINANCIAL AIDGrantTypeTxt
Recipient139RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$3,852,373NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFair ValueValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTuition DiscountNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHOPKINS SCHOOL FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM IS NEED-BASED. FAMILIES INTERESTED IN RECEIVING FINANCIAL AID COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FORM AND SUBMIT IT TO THE SCHOOL. IN ADDITION TO THE APPLICATION, FAMILIES ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE ADDITIONAL FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO, COMPLETE COPIES OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS AND FORM W-2. A FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE INFORMATION AND DETERMINES THE LEVEL OF FINANCIAL AID AWARD, IF ANY. ANY FINANCIAL AID AWARD IS FOR ONE YEAR AT A TIME. ALL RECIPIENTS MUST COMPLETE THE FULL APPLICATION PROCESS EACH YEAR. IN GENERAL, FINANCIAL AID APPLICATIONS ARE DUE IN JANUARY AND FINANCIAL AID AWARDS ARE MADE IN MARCH. FINANCIAL AID IS NOT A CASH GRANT AWARD. ACTUAL FINANCIAL AID AWARDS ARE REFLECTED AS CREDITS TOWARDS TUITION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionYes (1)InitialContractExceptionInd
Rebuttable Presumption Proc0RebuttablePresumptionProcInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KAI BYNUM
HEAD of School$161,781$0$150$0$38,450$0$16,250$0$4,789$0$221,420$0$0$0
David E Baxter
Chief Financial and Operating Office$262,487$0$150$0$1,000$0$48,550$0$145,564$0$457,751$0$0$0
Linda Weber
Director of Strategic Marketing & Co$167,180$0$150$0$0$0$20,071$0$16,421$0$203,822$0$0$0
Jedd Whitlock
Director of Development$166,340$0$150$0$0$0$16,648$0$22,750$0$205,888$0$0$0
Pamela McKenna
Director of Admissions$128,538$0$150$0$1,000$0$13,471$0$17,394$0$160,553$0$0$0
ELIZABETH CLIMIE
director of facilities$123,416$0$150$0$1,000$0$9,669$0$29,614$0$163,849$0$0$0
Robert John Roberts
Assistant Head of School$141,280$0$150$0$1,000$0$17,683$0$22,420$0$182,533$0$0$0
BARBARA RILEY
FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL$187,085$0$0$0$878,800$0$20,625$0$4,150$0$1,090,660$0$750,000$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aKAI BYNUM, HEAD OF SCHOOL, AS A CONDITION OF EMPLOYMENT IN ORDER TO PROPERLY DISCHARGE HIS RESPONSIBILITIES, AND FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF THE SCHOOL, IS REQUIRED TO MAINTAIN HIS RESIDENCE IN A LOCAL HOME OWNED BY THE SCHOOL. PERSONAL USE IS CALCULATED AND INCLUDED IN HIS W-2 ANNUALLY. IN ADDITION, MR. BYNUM RECEIVES AN ANNUAL ALLOWANCE FOR SOCIAL CLUB DUES SO HE HAS ACCESS TO ARRANGE SOCIAL FUNCTIONS AND EVENTS OF BENEFIT TO THE SCHOOL.
Part I, Line 4bMS. RILEY PARTICIPATED IN A DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN, SUBJECT TO SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF FORFEITURE, TO WHICH CERTAIN AMOUNTS had been CREDITED BY THE SCHOOL. upon her vesting during fiscal 2017, the AMOUNT was paid and IS INCLUDED IN SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMNs (B)(iii) and (F). Mr. Baxter participates in a deferred compensation plan, subject to substantial risk of forgeiture, to which certain amounts have been credited by the School. such amount is in reported in Part II, Column (C).
Part I, Line 7EMPLOYEES RECEIVED A HOLIDAY BONUS IN THEIR 2016 W-2.
Part I, Line 8The School entered into a contract with the new Head of School, which was effective July 1, 2016.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
St of CT health & educational facilities Authority
A06080618620774UT882009-12-10$7,873,388HOpkins School Series C - Refinance series A bonds000
ST of CT health & educational facilities Authority
B0608061862017-03-08$7,860,000HOpkins School Series D- defease series b bonds000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$2,243,388$7,873,388$596,428$7,119,492$157,468Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$7,860,000$7,704,300$155,7000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000000000
B000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
barbara riley
Former Head of SchoolSee Part V of Schedule LYes (X)$500,000$500,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
Barbara riley
Former Head of Schoolsee part V of Schedule LYes (X)$500,000$500,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
kai bynum
trustee/Head of Schoolsee Part V of Schedule LYes (X)$115,293$75,2930Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$1,075,293TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Schedule L, Part II, Lines 1 and 2With respect to Schedule B, Part II, Columns (c), (d), (h), and (i): The School did not make the loans to Barbara M. Riley described in Part II of Schedule B. The loans receivable from Barbara M. Riley listed in lines 1 and 2 of Part II were not initiated by the School. The loans to Barbara M. Riley were made by third parties and subsequently donated to the School. The School had no knowledge of the loans at the time they were made. Because the loans were not made by the School, the loans were not, and could not, have been approved by the Committee of Trustees. However, acceptance of the assignments of the loans as a charitable contribution to the School was approved by the School's governing body. The assignment of the loans to the School was memorialized in a written assignment agreement. Interest is charged at the applicable federal rate.
FORM 990, Schedule L, Part II, Line 3THE SCHOOL DID NOT MAKE A DIRECT LOAN TO THE HEAD OF SCHOOL. AS A CONDITION OF HIS HIRING, THE SCHOOL ASSUMED AN OUTSTANDING LOAN RECEIVABLE FROM HIS PREVIOUS EMPLOYER.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution16ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$5,172,253NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMV at date of donationMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Descin kind auctionDesc
Contribution263ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$54,090NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining Revenuesfair valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Column (b):THE AMOUNT IN COLUMN B REPRESENTS THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTORS.
Part I, Line 32b:The School liquidates all gifts of securities through an account held with a third-party financial institution. The School's policy is to liquidate other types of non-cash contributions by engaging the appropriate third-party professionals to execute the liquidations.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2two members of the committee of trustees have a family relationship.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bTHE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF TRUSTEES HAS BEEN AUTHORIZED TO REVIEW THE FORM 990 AND TO APPROVE ITS FILINGS. WHEN IT HAS PERFORMED ITS AUTHORIZED DUTY, THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REPORTS TO THE COMMITTEE OF TRUSTEES THAT IT HAS REVIEWED AND APPROVED ITS FILING. THE 990, EXCLUDING SCHEDULE B SCHEDULE OF CONTRIBUTORS, IS THEN MADE AVAILABLE TO TRUSTEES AS REQUESTED AFTER IT IS FILED.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cthe school provides the conflict of interest policy to trustees and key employees on an annual basis. this policy is reviewed at a trustee meeting. on an annual basis all trustees and key employees sign a conflict of interest certificate of acknowledgement.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15compensation for the head of school is set by contract. this contract typically runs for a three year period. at the outset of the contract, compensation is determined by a subset of trustees, including the president. benchmark and comparative data obtained from a variety of sources, including the national association of independent schools and other regionalized surveys, is used to determine a market based rate of compensation. for years 2 and 3 of the contract, annual compensation is escalated at a rate consistent with annual percentage increases for faculty and staff. Compensation for the chief financial and operating officer is set by contract. This contract runs for a single twelve month period. Rates of compensation under this contract are set annually by the head of school. benchmark and comparative data obtained from a variety of sources, including the national association of independent schools and other regionalized surveys, is used to determine a market based rate of compensation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18Form 1023, form 990, and form 990T are made available for public inspection upon request.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are generally not made available for public inspection since the documents are considered to be internal information.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gother: Program service expenses 1,591,939. Management and general expenses 1,968,631. Fundraising expenses 66,309. Total expenses 3,626,879.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:change in valuation of split interest agreements -851,205. uncollectible pledges -365,589.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHERE HAVE BEEN NO CHANGES MADE TO THE ORGANIZTION'S OVERSIGHT OR SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE TAX YEAR.