HARDING UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HARDING UNIVERSITY (EIN 71-0236896)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-05-09
IRS object ID
201731299349302063
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-09T02:18:11-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710236896EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHARDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5012794393PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Box 10772AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ Mel Sansom VP FinancePersonNm
Person TitleVP FinancePersonTitleTxt
Signature2017-05-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerfalseDiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBruce D McLartyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1HU Box 12256AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$157,928,384GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.harding.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHardings mission is to provide a quality education that will lead to an understanding and philosophy of life consistent with Christian ideals.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent18VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee3268TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$715,172TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$17,835,058PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$19,764,456CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$135,854,039PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$138,912,162CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,069,333PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$1,410,003CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$713,659PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$643,875CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$156,472,089PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$157,910,490CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$28,145,525PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$28,789,377CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$67,203,529PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$69,054,065CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$149,802PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$129,243CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,123,475CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$51,396,476PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$52,069,344CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$146,895,332PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$150,042,029CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$9,576,757PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$7,868,461CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$370,125,230TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$375,303,717TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$91,456,781TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$88,766,807TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$278,668,449NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$286,536,910NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionHardings mission is to provide a quality education that will lead to an understanding and philosophy of life consistent with Christian ideals through the integration of faith, learning and living, as well as the development of Christian scholarship, ethics, lasting relationships, wellness and promotion of global citizenship.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$82,965,639ExpenseAmt
Revenue$108,132,473RevenueAmt
DescInstruction Expense - Classroom and online instruction from pre-kindergarten to doctoral level.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$16,067,022ExpenseAmt
Revenue$22,313,463RevenueAmt
DescRoom and Board - The university provides housing in newly renovated residence halls and apartments as well as high quality meals in a cafeteria and student center.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$28,396,681ExpenseAmt
DescStudent Services Support - All activities necessary for a healthy and thriving educational environment including library services, athletics, counseling services, educational assistance, registrar and admissions.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$8,419,895TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$10,698,779TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$135,849,237TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundYes (true)DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document7330IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee3268EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryITForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryGRForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryUKForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryASForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member18IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (true)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ Mel SansomPersonNm
Phone5012794393PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1915 E Market Box 10772AddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72149ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Bruce Binkley
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James H Cone Jr
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert G Diles
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
W Harrell Freeman
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles A Ganus
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard H Gibson
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Roosevelt Harris
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James D Holsombake
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gerald G Morgan
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lundy L Neely
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Roy A Reaves
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harold R Redd
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harry B Risinger Jr
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John O Simmons
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0001.00
Rebecca R Tubb
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert C Walker
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Waldron
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0001.00
Joe Wild
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John D Reese
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Craig Cheatham
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Justus
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0001.00
Howard Wright
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Don Shores
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0001.00
Russ Burcham
Board member001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bruce McLarty
President040.00$237,963$0$34,258001.00Yes (X)
J Mel Sansom
Secretary/Treasurer040.00$139,590$0$47,429005.00Yes (X)
Jim Carr
Senior VP040.00$190,215$0$43,493Yes (X)
Julie Hixson-Wallace
Asst Provost Ctr for Health Sciences040.00$166,958$0$21,314Yes (X)
Larry Long
VP Academic Affairs040.00$150,643$0$30,665Yes (X)
David B Burks
Former President040.00$161,108$0$14,249Yes (X)Yes (X)
Kenneth Yates
Dept. Chair Pharmacy Science040.00$152,533$0$4,861Yes (X)
Michael Murphy
Dean College of PA040.00$137,729$0$17,643Yes (X)
Julie C Kissack
Dept. Chair College of Pharmacy040.00$141,309$0$29,689Yes (X)
Forrest Smith
Assoc Dean College of Pharmacy040.00$131,792$0$28,201Yes (X)
David Collins
Executive VP040.00$145,833$0$40,866Yes (X)
Lewis Finley
Dean College of Education040.00$113,415$0$21,398Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,869,088TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$334,066TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K32IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ARAMARK Services
1101 Market St 24th FloorPhiladelphiaPA19107Dining/Catering Services$6,985,426
ARAMARK Facility Serv
24818 Network PlaceChicagoIL60673Janitorial Services$2,321,128
Platinum Drywall Inc
800 Towne Oaks DrLittle RockAR722276216Construction$974,143
Arnold-Blevins Electric
PO Box 688North Little RockAR721150688Construction$762,466
White River Flooring
800 S Main StSearcyAR721436856Construction$613,103
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K38CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,679,573GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$18,084,883AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,298,162NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$19,764,456TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Tuition Fees611710$108,132,473$108,132,473
Housing721310$12,175,565$12,175,565
Food service722210$10,155,435$9,979,502$175,933
Bookstore income451211$4,023,239$3,785,041$238,198
Sales and services611710$1,472,680$1,472,680

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,952,770TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,651,729RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$301,041UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$138,912,162TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,789,329TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,789,329RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$313,925TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$158,396RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$158,396RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$158,396TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$158,396RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$3,708,087SecuritiesAmt
Other-$491,245OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$4,199,332TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$189,448FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$17,894FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$171,554TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$157,910,490TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$141,144,715RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$715,172UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$195,557TotalAmt
Program Services$195,557ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,593,820TotalAmt
Program Services$28,593,820ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,717,899TotalAmt
Program Services$47,500,784ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,180,526ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,036,589FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,376,016TotalAmt
Program Services$3,021,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$276,167ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$77,909FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,908,173TotalAmt
Program Services$8,732,267ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$948,288ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$227,618FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,051,977TotalAmt
Program Services$2,785,536ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$219,334ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,107FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$191,485TotalAmt
Management And General$191,485ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$130,224TotalAmt
Management And General$130,224ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$129,243TotalAmt
Fundraising$129,243FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$563,101TotalAmt
Management And General$563,101ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,603,732TotalAmt
Program Services$6,562,853ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,879ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,104,267TotalAmt
Program Services$529,314ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$522,818ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,135FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,397,172TotalAmt
Program Services$6,005,523ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$985,900ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$405,749FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,473,237TotalAmt
Program Services$759,502ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,713,735ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,123,397TotalAmt
Program Services$5,766,318ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$357,079ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,496,676TotalAmt
Program Services$4,249,544ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$129,586ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$117,546FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$526,075TotalAmt
Program Services$496,067ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,008ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,653,518TotalAmt
Program Services$1,551,872ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$101,646ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,028,165TotalAmt
Program Services$10,449,214ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$578,951ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$870,112TotalAmt
Program Services$532,114ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$327,998ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,000FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Other expenses - Food$2,056,642$2,056,642
Other expenses - Purchase for resale$2,783,412$2,783,412
Other expenses - Equipment and furnishings$162,043$144,432$17,151$460
Other expenses - Other$3,906,086$3,132,526$754,441$19,119

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$150,042,029TotalAmt
Program Services$135,849,237ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,069,317ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,123,475FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,369,604BOYAmt
EOY$885,294EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,483,258BOYAmt
EOY$4,381,791EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,171,795BOYAmt
EOY$12,208,025EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,378,157BOYAmt
EOY$11,634,366EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,358,634BOYAmt
EOY$2,719,141EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,361,471BOYAmt
EOY$919,321EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$372,002,161LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$160,258,206LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$207,782,255BOYAmt
EOY$211,743,955EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,365,039BOYAmt
EOY$112,426,460EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,855,017BOYAmt
EOY$18,385,364EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$370,125,230BOYAmt
EOY$375,303,717EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,889,375BOYAmt
EOY$3,802,844EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,311,284BOYAmt
EOY$4,222,996EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,230,000BOYAmt
EOY$33,050,000EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$750,000BOYAmt
EOY$750,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,477,171BOYAmt
EOY$25,422,854EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,798,951BOYAmt
EOY$21,518,113EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,456,781BOYAmt
EOY$88,766,807EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,706,849BOYAmt
EOY$152,118,204EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,164,020BOYAmt
EOY$25,040,504EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,797,580BOYAmt
EOY$109,378,202EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$278,668,449BOYAmt
EOY$286,536,910EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$370,125,230BOYAmt
EOY$375,303,717EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$7,868,461ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd
Public Support CY1700.00000PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support CY5090.00000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00000InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Donor Advised Funds Held4DonorAdvisedFundsHeldCnt
Donor Advised Funds Contri$1,752,353DonorAdvisedFundsContriAmt
Donor Advised Funds Grants$47,476DonorAdvisedFundsGrantsAmt
Donor Advised Funds Vl EOY$2,331,851DonorAdvisedFundsVlEOYAmt
Disclosed Org Leg CtrlYes (true)DisclosedOrgLegCtrlInd
Disclosed For Charitable PrpsYes (true)DisclosedForCharitablePrpsInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$118,044,187BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,442,361ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,331,193InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,876,913GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$104,137AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$119,174,305EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$117,046,106BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,179,599ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,422,738InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,405,295GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$198,961AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$118,044,187EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$105,172,399BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,731,464ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$14,454,103InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,066,859GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$245,001AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$117,046,106EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$99,287,179BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,973,320ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,868,299InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$4,718,769GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$237,630AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$105,172,399EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$101,526,790BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,477,622ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,334,595InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$4,819,836GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$231,992AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$99,287,179EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.09500BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.90100PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00400TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,327,306OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,327,306BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$258,116,826OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$86,925,495DepreciationAmt
Book Value$171,191,331BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$30,933,359OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$24,351,375DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,581,984BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$54,227,391OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$39,053,241DepreciationAmt
Book Value$15,174,150BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,397,279OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,928,095DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,469,184BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$211,743,955TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDesc
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (7 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal income taxes
payroll deductions payable$1,856,006
accrued liabilities$3,325,506
deposits and other liabilities$1,421,068
reserve for split interest agreements$7,348,248
refundable grants$6,449,127
lease payable$1,118,158
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$21,518,113TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$160,434,542TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$2,524,052OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,524,052RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$157,910,490RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$157,910,490TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$152,155,691TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$2,113,662OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,113,662ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$150,042,029ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$150,042,029TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
V 4The Universitys endowment is intended to further the mission of Harding through scholarships and departmental support.
X 2As of June 30, 2016, the University had no uncertain tax positions that qualify for either recognition or disclosure in the financial statements. With few exceptions, the University is no longer subject to US federal, state, and local income tax examinations by tax authorities for years before 2012.
XI 2dEffects of audit elimination entries of 49,052 less wholly-owned affiliated entity with revenues of 2,475,000.
XII 2dEffects of audit elimination entries of 49,052 less wholly-owned affiliated entity with revenues of 2,064,610.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line Reference6aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationVarious funding has been received by the University from federal agencies.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (5 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe328Program servicesEducational programs$3,927,906
South America17Program servicesEducational programs$591,638
Sub-Saharan Africa13Program servicesEducational programs$522,748
East Asia and the Pacific12Program servicesEducational programs$569,349
Europe Including Iceland and Greenlandinvestments$636,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices6SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees40SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office6TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee40TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$6,247,641SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$6,247,641TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdActivityActivityTxtFundraiser Control Of FundsFundraiserControlOfFundsIndRetained By ContractorRetainedByContractorAmt
Wilson- Bennet
104 S AppleSearcyAR72143phonathonfalse$69,573
PhilanthroCorp
111 S Tejon St Ste 520Colorado SpringsCO80903mailout teleconferencefalse$59,670
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Retained By Contractors$129,243TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Fall DinnerEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$169,043GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$169,043GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$2,787RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$5,334FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$3,131EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$1,936OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Pie AuctionEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$12,305GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$12,305GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$1,232FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$156OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total1OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$8,100GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$8,100GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Other Events$219RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Other Events$252FoodAndBeverageOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$2,847OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$189,448GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$189,448GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$3,006RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$6,818FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$3,131EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$4,939OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$17,894DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$171,554NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (11 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Highland Village Church of Christ
4716 Bull Creek RdAustinTX787315500$50,000Mission work
Great Cities Missions
3939 Belt Line Road Ste 705AddisonTX750015826$35,000Mission work
Trinity International University
2065 Half Day RdBannockburnIL600151241$20,500Mission work
Clifton L Ganus Foundation II
Box 12241SearcyAR721490001$16,411Mission work
Sunset Church of Christ
1222 W Sunset StSpringfieldMO658078009$15,000Mission work
Wilkesboro Church of Christ
1740 Curtis Bridge RdWilkesboroNC286972246$15,000Mission work
League Street Church of Christ
1100 League St SSulphur SpringsTX754823847$12,000Mission work
Likewise Inc
605 E Race AveSearcyAR721434418$12,000Mission work
College Church of Christ
712 E Race AveSearcyAR721434421$10,565Mission work
Kingsley Terrace Church of Christ
2031 E 30th StIndianapolisIN462182796$9,671Mission work
Gadsden Church of Christ
PO Box 967GadsdenAL359020967$5,560Mission work
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org11Total501c3OrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships-Higher EducationGrantTypeTxt
Recipient4199RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$28,593,820CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I Line 2Harding University awards financial assistance to its students on basis of the verified financial need or merit and does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, national or ethnic origin, religion, age, sex, disability or prior military service. Financial assistance is monitored so that it is in compliance with awarding terms and conditions. Expenditures are reviewed for allowability and compliance. Students are required to submit appropriate documents prior to approval.
Part III Line 1cCash grants are credits to students accounts.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Bruce McLarty
President$226,285$11,678$23,162$11,096$272,221
Jim Carr
Senior VP$187,180$3,035$19,483$24,010$233,708
J Mel Sansom
Secretary/Treasurer$132,448$7,142$13,799$33,630$187,019
Julie Hixson-Wallace
Asst Provost Ctr for Health Sciences$166,947$11$16,886$4,428$188,272
Kenneth Yates
Dept. Chair Pharmacy Science$152,533$4,861$157,394
Larry Long
VP Academic Affairs$150,643$15,967$14,698$181,308
Michael Murphy
Dean College of PA$137,729$12,678$4,965$155,372
David B Burks
Former President$155,804$5,304$14,249$175,357
Julie C Kissack
Dept. Chair College of Pharmacy$141,298$11$14,899$14,790$170,998
Lewis Finley
Dean College of Education$113,415$10,941$10,457$134,813
Forrest Smith
Assoc Dean College of Pharmacy$131,792$13,411$14,790$159,993
David Collins
Executive VP$145,833$15,075$25,791$186,699

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
A521595697812254NC02015-05-28$5,805,475Refunding 2/11/10 Issuefalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
B521595697812254JV32010-12-22$4,275,306Dormitory Renovationfalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
C521595697812254KR02011-10-20$8,509,929Student Apartment Constructionfalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
D521595697812254LK42012-04-19$7,512,201Refunding 4/19/05 Issue and Student Apartment Constructionfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmt
A$6,855,000$5,805,475$287,250$96,739$7,2342015Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$4,275,306$185,849$82,648$7,9092012falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)$4,006,809
C$8,509,929$298,350$136,635$14,2412013falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)$8,074,944
D$3,550,000$7,512,201$331,637$119,590$9,2202014Yes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)$4,104,065

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
CfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
DfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueInd
AfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)falseYes (true)
CfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
DfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)
CYes (true)
DYes (true)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart IV Line 2cFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe rebate computation was performed on 01/20/2016.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
A521595697812254MC12013-03-12$6,425,989Student Apartment Constructionfalsefalsefalse
Public Educational and Residential Housing Facilities Board
B521595697812254MQ02014-12-10$6,536,117Student Apartment Constructionfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$6,425,989$217,058$105,867$6,103,064$5,1552014falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$6,536,117$225,264$108,223$6,202,630$4,7632015falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan To OrganizationLoanToOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
Don Lois Shores Fund
Board membersOperating cashYes (X)$250,000$250,000falsefalseYes (true)
Shores Unitrust Fund
Board membersOperating cashYes (X)$500,000$500,000falsefalseYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$750,000TotalBalanceDueAmt

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmtAssistance PurposeAssistancePurposeTxt
Family members of interested person
Family members of interested persons$159,830Tuition discounts
Family members of interested person
Family members of interested persons$24,047Merit-based scholarships
Substantial contributor
Related to substantial contributors$98,316Tuition discounts
Substantial contributor
Related to substantial contributors$58,753Merit-based scholarships

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVarious family membersPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionRelated to interested personsRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$1,087,097TransactionAmt
TransactionCompensationTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution18ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,022,691NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescLoan ForgivenessDesc
Contribution12ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$275,471NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4dProgram Service Expenses 8,419,895, Grants and allocations 0, Revenue 10,698,779 Other expenses include program expenses for auxiliary operations and public service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bBoard members received a copy of Harding Universitys completed Form 990 for review via e-mail.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cBoard members and officers complete a conflict of interest questionnaire annually. Depending on potential conflict or conditions, restrictions are enforced to reduce or eliminate the conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15aComparable data is made available to the board for determination of the organizations top management officials salary.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Harding Universitys governing documents and conflict of interest policy are available upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Mediterranean Investment Properties LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1123 Black Oak PlaceAddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72143ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN272348256EIN
Primary ActivitiesReal estate investmentsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding Place IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 S BentonAddressLine1Txt
CitySearcyCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72143ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710780709EIN
Primary ActivitiesRetirement CommunityPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section509a2ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status9PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harding University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (19 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
HU CRUT - 1
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716169914investmentARHU TTEETrust$421,0921.00000false
HU CRUT - 2
36 Gloucester StLittle RockAR72227716172992investmentARTrust$2,4980.80000falseN/A
HU CRUT - 3
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716147280investmentARHU TTEETrust$111,8890.71000false
HU CRUT - 4
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716154181investmentARHU TTEETrust$500,0001.00000false
HU CRUT - 5
2719 E Race AveSearcyAR72143716168109investmentARTrust$151,4691.00000falseN/A
HU CRUT - 6
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716171792investmentARHU TTEETrust$1,109,8861.00000false
HU CRUT - 7
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716146015investmentARHU TTEETrust$211,3091.00000false
HU CRUT - 8
Box 10772SearcyAR72149266098581investmentARHU TTEETrust$134,8921.00000false
HU CRUT - 9
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716179445investmentARHU TTEETrust$32,6651.00000false
HU CRUT - 10
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716176256investmentARTrustfalseN/A
HU Trust - 1
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716130150investmentARHU TTEETrust$278,6271.00000false
HU Trust - 2
Box 12241SearcyAR72149716161353investmentARTrust$115,0001.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 3
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716171178investmentARHU TTEETrust$277,6071.00000false
HU Trust - 4
Box 10772SearcyAR72149206126036investmentARHU TTEETrust$17,1780.60000false
HU Trust - 5
400 West CapitolLittle RockAR72201716185442investmentARTrust$2,124,1811.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 6
401 North Arkansas AveRussellvilleAR72801716098252investmentARTrust$690,6371.00000falseN/A
HU Trust - 7
Box 10772SearcyAR72149716178640investmentARTrustfalseN/A
HU Trust - 8
Box 10772SearcyAR72149237380574investmentARTrustfalseN/A
HU CRUT - 11
Box 10772SearcyAR72149477059457investmentARHU TTEETrust$473,2281.00000false
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Harding Place
q$23,389Cost
Harding Place
d$4,380,597Cost
Harding Place
j$107,892Cost
Harding Place
n

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.