SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL (EIN 93-0415219)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-11-14
IRS object ID
201723189349312992
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-14T18:30:05-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN930418710PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DELAP LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15885 MEADOWS ROAD NO 200AddressLine1Txt
CityLAKE OSWEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97035ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN930415219EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSANTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5037692175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTERRY FLETCHALLPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5037692175PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK E EKLUND CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00156145PTIN
Phone5036974118PhoneNum
Preparation2017-11-13PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address76.14.192.226IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-13IPDt
IP Tm09:29:00IPTm
IP TimezonePSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdBED54D2DEB6E9258230C084D8939139CD33CD9C2AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA037F773A43E5D098BFBF49CACF0A7B31F1836C7AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTERRY FLETCHALLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$47,005,063GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1950FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionGENERAL ACUTE HEALTH CARE HOSPITAL SERVING SANTIAM COMMUNITIESActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee451TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$163,242PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$25,444CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$42,319,756PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$46,284,802CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$24,294PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$142,244CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$306,269PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$223,649CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$42,813,561PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$46,676,139CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$38,853PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$43,618CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$24,071,350PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,978,191CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,983,573PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,043,488CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$41,093,776PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$45,065,297CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,719,785PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,610,842CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$56,699,850TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$58,737,185TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$32,216,050TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$32,538,033TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$24,483,800NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$26,199,152NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL'S MISSION IS TO PROVIDE QUALITY HEALTH CARE TO PERSONS SUFFERING FROM ILLNESS, INJURIES, OR DISABILITIES AND TO PROMOTE THE GENERAL HEALTH AND WELFARE OF THE COMMUNITY THROUGH EDUCATION, SUPPORT, AND MEDICAL SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$39,683,384ExpenseAmt
Grant$43,618GrantAmt
Revenue$46,331,951RevenueAmt
DescACUTE HOSPITAL CARE: PATIENT DAYS 3,201, NURSERY DAYS 126, AMBULANCE TRIPS 1,967, OUTPATIENT DAYS 43,121, REFERENCE LABORATORY 135,527.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$39,683,384TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document84IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee451EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 Filedind0Form8899Filedind
Form1098 C Filed0Form1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TERRY FLETCHALLBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5037692175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97383ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RON ETZEL
SECRETARY3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICTOR KINTZ
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARYANN MEREDITH
VICE PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE ODENTHAL
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDY MICKEY
PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEORGE LONG
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUANITA CULVER
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NORM RAUSCHER
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRY FLETCHALL
CEO50.00Yes (X)$269,713$0$54,088
MAGGIE HUDSON
CFO/COO50.00Yes (X)$223,748$0$40,309
GENNY BALDWIN
CHIEF NURSING OFFICER50.00$169,001$0$22,127Yes (X)
JOHN HOFFMAN
M.D.40.00$401,159$0$28,208Yes (X)
JOHN SILVER
M.D.40.00$381,156$0$27,397Yes (X)
SUSAN TAYLOR
M.D.40.00$301,165$0$19,488Yes (X)
KALSANG PHUNTSHOG
M.D.32.00$286,791$0$28,208Yes (X)
NICOLAS J STRATTON
M.D.40.00$401,159$0$27,397Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,433,892TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$247,222TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K36IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ROBERT L JACQUES MD
5419 SW SCHOLLS FERRY ROADPORTLANDOR97225HOSPITALIST$424,695
STEPHEN P MOON MD
16788 SW SARALA STALOHAOR97007EMERGENCY ROOM PHYSICIAN$302,405
MILLER NASH LLP
PO BOX 3585PORTLANDOR97208LEGAL SERVICES$284,050
OMAC ADVERTISING
2573 12TH STREET SESALEMOR97302ADVERTISING SERVICES$256,841
EDWARD HC JUNN MD
9742 NW SKYVIEW DRPORTLANDOR97231EMERGENCY ROOM PHYSICIAN$245,393
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$25,444AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$25,444TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE - NET622110$45,836,841$45,836,841
K-1, INCOME FROM CCO900099$481,967$481,967
ELECTRONIC HLTH RECORDS990009-$34,006-$34,006
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$46,284,802TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,923TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$37,923ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$49,900RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$103,864RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$53,964RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$53,964TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$53,964RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$160,907SecuritiesAmt
Other$168,474OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$164,885SecuritiesAmt
Other$60,175OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$3,978SecuritiesAmt
Other$108,299OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$104,321TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$104,321ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CAFETERIA REVENUE722210$176,500$176,500
OTHER MISC. REVENUE900099$101,113$101,113
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$277,613OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,676,139TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,331,951RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$318,744ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,618TotalAmt
Program Services$43,618ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$776,681TotalAmt
Management And General$776,681ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,197,178TotalAmt
Program Services$19,234,506ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$962,672ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$538,692TotalAmt
Program Services$495,714ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,978ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,054,145TotalAmt
Program Services$3,429,588ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$624,557ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,411,495TotalAmt
Program Services$1,266,795ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$144,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,566TotalAmt
Management And General$102,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$248,899TotalAmt
Management And General$248,899ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,527,242TotalAmt
Program Services$2,851,645ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$675,597ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$717,089TotalAmt
Management And General$717,089ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$553,444TotalAmt
Program Services$143,275ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$410,169ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$332,090TotalAmt
Management And General$332,090ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,815,334TotalAmt
Program Services$1,815,334ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63TotalAmt
Management And General$63ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,182,943TotalAmt
Program Services$2,114,644ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$68,299ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$256,728TotalAmt
Program Services$34,571ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$222,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
SUPPLIES$6,102,767$6,102,767
CLINIC EXPENSE$1,550,623$1,550,623
EQUIPMENT MAINTENANCE$546,489$552,571-$6,082
MISCELLANEOUS$57,678$44,831$12,847

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,533TotalAmt
Program Services$2,902ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,631ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,065,297TotalAmt
Program Services$39,683,384ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,381,913ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$240BOYAmt
EOY$240EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,050,030BOYAmt
EOY$11,725,228EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,899,968BOYAmt
EOY$6,139,086EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$309,916BOYAmt
EOY$263,681EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,316,628BOYAmt
EOY$1,368,540EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$832,676BOYAmt
EOY$632,887EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$55,801,493LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$22,721,778LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,502,045BOYAmt
EOY$33,079,715EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$998,415BOYAmt
EOY$1,192,874EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$272,728BOYAmt
EOY$272,728EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,268,203BOYAmt
EOY$3,013,065EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$249,001BOYAmt
EOY$1,049,141EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,699,850BOYAmt
EOY$58,737,185EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,446,791BOYAmt
EOY$3,819,725EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,711,460BOYAmt
EOY$26,864,456EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,057,799BOYAmt
EOY$1,853,852EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,216,050BOYAmt
EOY$32,538,033EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,483,800BOYAmt
EOY$26,199,152EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,483,800BOYAmt
EOY$26,199,152EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,699,850BOYAmt
EOY$58,737,185EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,610,842ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$43,473NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$61,037OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$330,620InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,144,800OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,475,420BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,864,409InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$36,082,071OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,836,664DepreciationAmt
Book Value$27,109,816BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$619,850OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$521,309DepreciationAmt
Book Value$98,541BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$10,000InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,603,719OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,363,805DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,249,914BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$146,024OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$146,024BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$33,079,715TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
EST 3RD PARTY PAYOR SETTLEMENTS$52,000
OTHER LONG-TERM LIABILITIES$1,801,852
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,853,852TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$46,780,649TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$43,473NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$550,000OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$593,473RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$46,187,176RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$488,963OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$488,963RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$46,676,139TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,065,297TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$45,065,297ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$45,065,297TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:IT IS MANAGEMENT'S BELIEF THAT NONE OF THE HOSPITAL'S ACTIVITIES HAVE GENERATED MATERIAL UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME; THEREFORE, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. INCOME TAX POSITIONS THAT MEET A "MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT" RECOGNITION THRESHOLD ARE MEASURED AT THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX BENEFIT THAT IS MORE THAN 50% LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH THE APPLICABLE TAXING AUTHORITY. THE PORTION OF THE BENEFITS ASSOCIATED WITH INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN THAT EXCEEDS THE AMOUNT MEASURED AS DESCRIBED ABOVE WOULD BE REFLECTED AS A LIABILITY FOR UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS IN THE HOSPITAL'S CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS ALONG WITH ANY ASSOCIATED INTEREST AND PENALTIES THAT WOULD BE PAYABLE TO THE TAXING AUTHORITIES UPON EXAMINATION. INTEREST AND PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS WOULD BE CLASSIFIED AS INCOME TAXES IN THE HOSPITAL'S CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS AND CHANGES IN UNRESTRICTED NET ASSETS. THERE WERE NO UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS, NOR ANY INTEREST AND PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS, ACCRUED OR EXPENSED AS OF AND FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DISTRIBUTIONS, WILLAMETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY HEALTH, LLC 550,000.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:REVENUE FROM K-1, WILLAMETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY HEALTH, LLC 488,963.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd
Percent200Yes (X)Percent200Ind
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Percent300Yes (X)Percent300Ind
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetYes (1)ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Unable To Provide Care0UnableToProvideCareInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (1)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (1)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served1538PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$670,329TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$670,329NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01490TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,442,458TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$7,878,489DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,563,969NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03470TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served1538PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$10,112,787TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$7,878,489DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,234,298NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.04960TotalExpensePct

Community Health Services CommunityHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served3133PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$248,835TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$6,580DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$242,255NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00540TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$175,183TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$175,183NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00390TotalExpensePct

Cash And In Kind Contributions CashAndInKindContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$43,618TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$43,618NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00100TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served3133PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$467,636TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$6,580DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$461,056NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01030TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served4671PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$10,580,423TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$7,885,069DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,695,354NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.05990TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$2,015,016BadDebtExpenseAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$4,114,231ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$5,778,576CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$1,664,345MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cost To Charge RatioYes (X)CostToChargeRatioInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website AddressWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
State License14-0709StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted15CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other FcltsYes (1)CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt16ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLHTTP://SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/RESOURCES.PHPStrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care200.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care300.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Income Level CriteriaYes (X)IncomeLevelCriteriaInd
Asset Level CriteriaYes (X)AssetLevelCriteriaInd
Medical Indigency CriteriaYes (X)MedicalIndigencyCriteriaInd
Insurance Status CriteriaYes (X)InsuranceStatusCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
FAP TranslatedYes (X)FAPTranslatedInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back Medicaid Medcr PrvtYes (X)LookBackMedicaidMedcrPrvtInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 5: CONSULTED WITH MARION COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND OTHER COMMUNITY MEMBERS REGARDING THE NEEDS OF STAYTON AND SURROUNDING AREAS SERVED.
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 6A: SALEM HEALTH SYSTEM, SILVERTON HOSPITAL NETWORK
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 11: CHIP PLANNING IMPLEMENTED IN 2016
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility12FacilityNum

Oth Hlth Care Fclts Not Hospital OthHlthCareFcltsNotHospitalGrp

Oth Hlth Care Fclts OthHlthCareFcltsGrp (12 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdFacilityFacilityTxt
1 - SUBLIMITY MEDICAL CLINIC
114 SE CHURCH STSUBLIMITYOR97325PHYSICIAN CLINIC
2 - AUMSVILLE MEDICAL CLINIC
205 MAIN STAUMSVILLEOR97325PHYSICIAN CLINIC
3 - SANTIAM MEDICAL CLINIC
280 S FIRST AVENUEMILL CITYOR97360PHYSICIAN CLINIC
4 - CASCADE MEDICAL CLINIC
1375 N 10TH AVENUE STE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
5 - SANTIAM PULMONARY CLINIC
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
6 - SANTIAM INTERNAL MEDICINE CLINIC
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE 200STAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
7 - SANTIAM ORTHOPAEDIC CLINIC
1369 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
8 - SANTIAM WOMEN'S CLINIC
1373 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
8 - SANTIAM MEDICAL ASSOCIATES
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE 100STAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
9 - SANTIAM SURGERY CLINIC
1371 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
10 - STAYTON FAMILY PRACTICE
1375 N 10TH AVE SUITE ASTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
11 - NORTH SANITAM PODIATRY CLINIC
1375 N 10TH AVE SUITE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:[NOTE: SEE PAGES 9-10 OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS]PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AND ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS:THE COLLECTION OF RECEIVABLES FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS AND PATIENTS IS THE HOSPITAL'S PRIMARY SOURCE OF CASH AND IS CRITICAL TO ITS OPERATING PERFORMANCE. WHEN THE HOSPITAL PROVIDES CARE TO PATIENTS, IT DOES NOT REQUIRE COLLATERAL; HOWEVER, IT MAINTAINS AN ESTIMATED ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE PRIMARY COLLECTION RISKS RELATE TO UNINSURED PATIENT ACCOUNTS AND PATIENT ACCOUNTS FOR WHICH THE PRIMARY INSURANCE PAYOR HAS PAID, BUT THE PATIENT IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REMAINING AMOUNT OUTSTANDING (GENERALLY DEDUCTIBLES AND CO PAYMENTS). THE HOSPITAL DOES NOT MAINTAIN A SIGNIFICANT ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS RELATED TO PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS, NOR HAS IT HISTORICALLY HAD SIGNIFICANT BAD DEBT WRITE-OFFS OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS. HOWEVER, FOR SERVICES PROVIDED TO PATIENTS WHO HAVE THIRD-PARTY COVERAGE, THE HOSPITAL RECORDS THE RELATED PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE AND PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE NET OF CONTRACTUAL DISCOUNTS AND ALLOWANCES. FOR PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE DUE FROM SELF-PAY PATIENTS - WHICH INCLUDE BOTH PATIENTS WITHOUT INSURANCE AND PATIENTS WITH DEDUCTIBLE AND COPAYMENT BALANCES DUE FOR WHICH THIRD-PARTY COVERAGE EXISTS FOR PART OF THE BILL - THE HOSPITAL RECORDS A SIGNIFICANT ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS IS ESTIMATED BASED PRIMARILY UPON THE HOSPITAL'S HISTORICAL COLLECTION EXPERIENCE, THE AGE OF PATIENTS' ACCOUNTS, MANAGEMENT'S ESTIMATE OF ITS PATIENTS' ECONOMIC ABILITY TO PAY, AND THE EFFECTIVENESS OF COLLECTION EFFORTS. PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE BALANCES ARE ROUTINELY REVIEWED IN CONJUNCTION WITH HISTORICAL COLLECTION RATES AND OTHER ECONOMIC CONDITIONS WHICH MIGHT ULTIMATELY AFFECT THE COLLECTABILITY OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS WHEN CONSIDERING THE ADEQUACY OF THE AMOUNTS RECORDED IN THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE HOSPITAL'S STANDARD RATES (OR THE DISCOUNTED RATES, IF NEGOTIATED) AND THE AMOUNTS ACTUALLY COLLECTED AFTER ALL REASONABLE COLLECTION EFFORTS HAVE BEEN EXHAUSTED IS CHARGED OFF AGAINST THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. RECOVERIES OF AMOUNTS CHARGED OFF ARE ADDED TO THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. ACTUAL WRITE-OFFS HAVE HISTORICALLY BEEN WITHIN MANAGEMENT'S EXPECTATIONS. SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN PAYOR MIX, BUSINESS OFFICE OPERATIONS, ECONOMIC CONDITIONS, OR TRENDS IN FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENTAL HEALTH CARE COVERAGE COULD AFFECT THE HOSPITAL'S COLLECTION OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE, CASH FLOWS, AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS.SIGNIFICANT CONCENTRATIONS OF GROSS PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015 WERE APPROXIMATELY AS FOLLOWS: 2016 2015MEDICARE 37% 41%OREGON HEALTH PLAN (OHP) AND MEDICAID 18 18COMMERCIAL INSURANCE AND OTHER THIRD-PARTY PAYORS 34 26SELF-PAY 11 15 100% 100% THE HOSPITAL'S ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS REPRESENTED 58% AND 56% OF GROSS SELF-PAY PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015, RESPECTIVELY. THE FOLLOWING IS A SUMMARY OF THE ACTIVITY IN THE HOSPITAL'S ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015: 2016 2015BALANCE - BEGINNING OF YEAR $1,173,000 $1,134,000PROVISION FOR BAD DEBTS 2,015,016 1,382,961ACCOUNTS WRITTEN OFF - NET OF RECOVERIES (1,876,016) (1,343,961)BALANCE - END OF YEAR $1,312,000 $1,173,000
PART III, LINE 9B:FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IS GRANTED ON A SLIDING SCALE. IF AMOUNT DEEMED TO BE PAYABLE BY THE PATIENT IS DELINQUENT, THE PATIENT IS SENT TO COLLECTION AGENCY FOR THE PORTION OUTSTANDING.
PART VI, LINE 7, REPORTS FILED WITH STATESOR

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
FAMILY BUILDING BLOCKS
383 N 3RD AVESTAYTONOR97383931233373501(C)3$5,000THIS ORGANIZATION SUPPORTS THE COMMUNITY IN PREVENTING CHILD ABUSE BY WORKING WITH HIGH RISK CHILDREN AND FAMILIES.
MEDICAL FOUNDATION OF MARION AND POLK COUNTIES
2295 RYAN DR SE 100SALEMOR97301931261633501(C)3$5,500THIS ORGANIZATION HELPS PROVIDE ACCESS TO PRESCRIPTION MEDICATIONS AND HEALTHCARE FOR MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY, ESPECIALLY THE WORKING UNDERPRIVILEDGED. THIS ORGANIZATION HELPS PROVIDE ACCESS TO PRESCRIPTION MEDICATIONS AND HEALTHCARE FOR MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY, ESPECIALLY THE WORKING UNDERPRIVILEDGED. THIS ORGANIZATION HELPS PROVIDE ACCESS TO PRESCRIPTION MEDICATIONS AND HEALTHCARE FOR MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY, ESPECIALLY THE WORKING UNDERPRIVILEDGED. THIS ORGANIZATION HELPS PROVIDE ACCESS TO PRESCRIPTION MEDICATIONS AND HEALTHCARE FOR MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY, ESPECIALLY THE WORKING UNDERPRIVILEDGED.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (1)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TERRY FLETCHALL
CEO$232,945$0$22,470$0$14,298$0$41,107$0$12,981$0$323,801$0$0$0
MAGGIE HUDSON
CFO/COO$188,605$0$11,816$0$23,327$0$19,241$0$21,068$0$264,057$0$0$0
GENNY BALDWIN
CHIEF NURSING OFFICER$118,065$0$11,816$0$39,120$0$11,070$0$11,057$0$191,128$0$0$0
JOHN HOFFMAN
M.D.$399,998$0$1,161$0$0$0$7,950$0$20,258$0$429,367$0$0$0
JOHN SILVER
M.D.$379,995$0$1,161$0$0$0$7,950$0$19,447$0$408,553$0$0$0
SUSAN TAYLOR
M.D.$300,004$0$1,161$0$0$0$7,950$0$11,538$0$320,653$0$0$0
KALSANG PHUNTSHOG
M.D.$285,630$0$1,161$0$0$0$7,950$0$20,258$0$314,999$0$0$0
NICOLAS J STRATTON
M.D.$399,998$0$1,161$0$0$0$7,950$0$19,447$0$428,556$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTERRY FLETCHALL, CEO - $25,000 CONTRIBUTED TO 457(B) & 457(F) SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN IN 2016.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE HOSPITAL HAS APPROXIMATELY 400 MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE HOSPITAL MEMBERS VOTE ON SELECTING THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, KEY EMPLOYEES AND CHIEF OF STAFF ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN AN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ATTESTING TO THEIR COMPLIANCE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15SMH USES A THIRD PARTY COMPENSATION AND BENEFIT SERVICE: OLNEY & ASSOCIATES. THE SURVEY PROVIDES DATA ON HOSPITAL KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS BASED ON BED SIZE, GEOGRAPHIC REGION, ADMISSIONS AND GROSS REVENUE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS FOR THE CEO (TERRY FLETCHALL), COO/CFO (MAGGIE HUDSON) AND CHIEF NURSING OFFICER(GENNY BALDWIN). THE CEO'S CONTRACT IS THROUGH THE HOSPITAL APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND THE CHIEF NURSING OFFICER AND COO/CFO CONTRACTS ARE WITH THE HOSPITAL APPROVED BY THE CEO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL MAKES COPIES OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALSO AVAILABLE BY CONTACTING THE STATE OF OREGON DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:REVENUE FROM WILLAMETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY HEALTH, LLC 61,037.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEDICAL GROUP LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97383ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN462570877EIN
Primary ActivitiesTO PROVIDE OUTPATIENT MEDICAL SERVICES AT VARIOUS CLINIC LOCATIONSPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$12,644,653TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$9,869,124EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AUXILIARY
1401 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383237399406OPERATION OF GIFT SHOP AT THE HOSPITALOR501(C)(3)LINE 30
SANTIAM HEALTHCARE ALLIANCE INC
1401 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383HOSPITALOR501(C)(3)LINE 30
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AUXILIARYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeNTransactionTypeTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.