HOPE COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HOPE COLLEGE (EIN 38-1381271)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-05-15
IRS object ID
201721359349302167
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-15T09:03:44-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN381357951PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PLANTE & MORAN PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1750 TRADE CENTRE WAY STE 300AddressLine1Txt
CityPORTAGECityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49002ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN381381271EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOPE COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHOPEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6163957810PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1141 E 12TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOLLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49423ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTHOMAS BYLSMAPersonNm
Person TitleVICE PRESIDENT, CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6163957810PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonVICKI L VANDENBERG CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00100422PTIN
Phone2695674587PhoneNum
Preparation2017-05-04PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTHOMAS BYLSMAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1141 E 12TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOLLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$282,719,203GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.HOPE.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1866FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE MISSION OF HOPE COLLEGE IS TO EDUCATE STUDENTS FOR LIVES OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE IN A GLOBAL SOCIETY THROUGH ACADEMIC AND CO-CURRICULAR PROGRAMS OF RECOGNIZED EXCELLENCE IN THE LIBERAL ARTS AND IN THE CONTEXT OF THE HISTORIC CHRISTIAN FAITH.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body34VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee3561TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers30TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$834,429TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$267,567NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$16,512,580PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$14,548,210CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$133,024,467PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$135,368,425CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$17,821,879PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$1,302,225CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,690,880PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,389,245CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$169,049,806PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$150,003,655CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$34,590,794PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$34,699,611CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$60,609,620PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$65,047,207CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$5,616,066CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$48,981,897PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$50,506,011CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$144,182,311PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$150,252,829CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$24,867,495PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$249,174CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$482,846,633TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$464,019,780TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$94,683,782TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$91,670,101TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$388,162,851NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$372,349,679NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE MISSION OF HOPE COLLEGE IS TO EDUCATE STUDENTS FOR LIVES OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE IN A GLOBAL SOCIETY THROUGH ACADEMIC AND CO-CURRICULAR PROGRAMS OF RECOGNIZED EXCELLENCE IN THE LIBERAL ARTS AND IN THE CONTEXT OF THE HISTORIC CHRISTIAN FAITH.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$132,643,395ExpenseAmt
Grant$33,487,029GrantAmt
Revenue$128,109,774RevenueAmt
DescTHE ORGANIZATION PROVIDED COMPREHENSIVE LITERACY & SCIENCE COURSES OF STUDY TO APPROXIMATELY 3,300 FULL TIME EQUIVALENT STUDENTS IN THE FALL OF 2015 AND 3,100 IN THE SPRING OF 2016. THE ORGANIZATION WAS ALSO INVOLVED IN ADMINISTRATIVE, AUXILLARY OPERATIONS & STUDENT SERVICES TO SUPPORT THE CAMPUS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,803,085ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,212,582GrantAmt
Revenue$4,638,920RevenueAmt
DescTHE ORGANIZATION IS INVOLVED IN RESEARCH TO MAINTAIN ONE OF THE TOP CHEMISTRY & BIOLOGY DEPTS IN THE COUNTRY, UTILIZE RESEARCH AS A TEACHING TOOL IN THE CLASSROOM & TO FACILITATE LEARNING.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$137,446,480TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document350IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee3561EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members34GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THOMAS BYLSMA VICE-PRESIDENT CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6163957810PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1HOPE COLLEGE 141 E 12TH STAddressLine1Txt
CityHOLLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49423ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (43 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MARY V BAUMAN
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK VAN GENDEREN
VICE CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN C KNAPP
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$326,018$0$75,176
DAVID W LOWRY
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY S ALLEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM R BOERSMA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID M BAST
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY R CASTILLO
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID B CHARNIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUGLAS CONANT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNIE G DANDAVATI
TRUSTEE/PROFESSOR40.00Yes (X)$87,524$0$22,271
BARBARA DEPREE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NANCY DIRKSE DEWITT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J LINDSEY DOOD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KARL DROPPERS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH W ERIKS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN GIBBS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANIEL GORDON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA C GRANGER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TAYLOR W HOLBROOK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES L JURRIES
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRENT KRUEGER
TRUSTEE/PROFESSOR40.00Yes (X)$91,555$0$24,213
MONICA NEWENDORP
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GERALD J PILLAY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUGLAS C RUCH
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$4,906$0$0
A PAUL SCHAAP
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUZANNE L SHIER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BETH A SNYDER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID L VAN ANDEL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
D SCOTT VAN OOSTENDORP
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JILL VER STEEG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EMILIE D WIERDA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESLIE B WONG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARGARET MILLER-WILLIT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS BYLSMA
CFO40.00Yes (X)$196,721$0$42,091
RICHARD RAY
PROVOST40.00Yes (X)$189,840$0$32,360
RICHARD A FROST
VP OF STUDENT DEVELOPMENT40.00$153,362$0$59,596Yes (X)
WILLIAM VANDERBILT
VP FOR ADMISSIONS40.00$172,840$0$33,224Yes (X)
RICHARD J PUCKETT
VP FOR DEVELOPMENT40.00$248,452$0$32,993Yes (X)
JENNIFER G FELLINGER
VP OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS/MKTG40.00$146,340$0$22,869Yes (X)
TODD P STEEN
FACULTY40.00$139,629$0$25,661Yes (X)
GREG MAYBURY
DIRECTOR OF PHYSICAL PLANT40.00$139,523$0$31,045Yes (X)
PETER SCHAKEL
FACULTY40.00$131,707$0$19,043Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,028,417TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$420,542TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K46IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CREATIVE DINING SERVICE
ONE ROYAL PARK DRIVE SUITE 3ZEELANDMI49464FOOD SERVICE MANAGEMENT$10,436,085
BLUE CROSS-BLUE SHIELD MICHIGAN
86 MONROE CENTER NWGRAND RAPIDSMI49503HEALTH INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION$8,388,274
GRANGER CONSTRUCTION
940 MONROE AVE NW SUITE 142GRAND RAPIDSMI49503CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$5,427,300
GO CONSTRUCTION
300 IONIA AVE NWGRAND RAPIDSMI49503CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$3,640,985
STANTEC ARCHITECTURE INC
1500 SPRING GARDEN SUITE 1100PHILADELPHIAPA19130ARCHITECTURE SERVICES$831,819
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K72CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$3,428,934GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$11,119,276AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$838,459NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$14,548,210TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
TUITION & FEES611600$100,042,809$100,042,809
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611600$27,476,779$27,476,779
BOOKSTORE INCOME611600$2,876,553$2,876,553
HAWORTH CONFERENCE CTR.721000$2,128,534$396,333$1,732,201
OTHER PROGRAM INCOME900099$1,957,653$1,957,653

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$886,097TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$394,900RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$491,197UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$135,368,425TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,251,777TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$53,101UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,304,878ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$130,161,546SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$132,715,548SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$2,554,002SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$2,554,002TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$2,554,002ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,389,245TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,389,245ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,389,245OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$150,003,655TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$132,748,694RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$834,429UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,872,322ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,435,690TotalAmt
Program Services$33,435,690ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,263,921TotalAmt
Program Services$1,263,921ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,511,697TotalAmt
Program Services$1,401,881ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,687ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,129FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,745,333TotalAmt
Program Services$44,235,831ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,754,776ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,754,726FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,697,073TotalAmt
Program Services$3,232,498ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$231,514ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$233,061FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,661,209TotalAmt
Program Services$5,868,772ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$392,634ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$399,803FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,431,895TotalAmt
Program Services$3,067,779ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$177,836ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$186,280FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,317TotalAmt
Program Services$17,282ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$89,035ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,850TotalAmt
Program Services$400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,450ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$847,771TotalAmt
Management And General$847,771ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,699,850TotalAmt
Program Services$2,186,634ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$212,836ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$300,380FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$794,330TotalAmt
Program Services$489,405ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$63,344ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$368,269FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,126,062TotalAmt
Program Services$3,727,396ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$124,708ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$273,958FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,455,415TotalAmt
Program Services$1,330,516ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,076ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$77,823FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,123,170TotalAmt
Program Services$3,953,675ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,407ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$85,088FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,076,346TotalAmt
Program Services$3,660,544ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,118ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$325,684FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$704,188TotalAmt
Program Services$397,322ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,128ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,738FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,762,064TotalAmt
Program Services$1,573,523ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$159,995ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,546FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,560,577TotalAmt
Program Services$7,644,595ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$777,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$138,682FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$517,227TotalAmt
Program Services$339,089ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$173,531ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,607FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
FOOD SERVICE & LAUNDRY$9,349,432$9,157,660$56,296$135,476
TUITION WAIVERS$2,770,750$2,469,967$158,203$142,580
INVENTORY PURCHASES$2,144,293$1,990,701$76,487$77,105
OTHER MAINTENANCE & REP$1,946,093$1,873,699$36,405$35,989

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,427,276TotalAmt
Program Services$4,127,700ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$309,434ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising-$9,858FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$150,252,829TotalAmt
Program Services$137,446,480ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,190,283ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,616,066FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,434,140BOYAmt
EOY$36,220,894EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,374,633BOYAmt
EOY$23,482,643EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,737,323BOYAmt
EOY$8,368,460EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$861,256BOYAmt
EOY$761,660EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,885,007BOYAmt
EOY$2,453,994EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$311,391,998LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$108,949,909LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$194,970,418BOYAmt
EOY$202,442,089EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,210,860BOYAmt
EOY$57,737,483EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,068,353BOYAmt
EOY$132,270,270EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$304,643BOYAmt
EOY$282,287EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$482,846,633BOYAmt
EOY$464,019,780EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,661,295BOYAmt
EOY$4,495,278EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$299,767BOYAmt
EOY$246,738EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,255,000BOYAmt
EOY$49,320,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,467,720BOYAmt
EOY$37,608,085EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,683,782BOYAmt
EOY$91,670,101EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$177,733,611BOYAmt
EOY$182,162,933EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,387,829BOYAmt
EOY$51,073,938EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,041,411BOYAmt
EOY$139,112,808EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$388,162,851BOYAmt
EOY$372,349,679EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$482,846,633BOYAmt
EOY$464,019,780EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$249,174ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$11,898,374NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,665,624OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,428,742CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,795,997CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$18,350,086CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,512,580CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$14,548,210CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$93,635,615TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,428,742CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,795,997CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$18,350,086CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,512,580CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$14,548,210CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$93,635,615TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$8,984,379SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$84,651,236PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,590,936CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,561,389CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,663,374CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,958,591CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,297,370CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,071,660TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$130,334CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years-$28,622CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$40,247CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year-$238,783CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year-$260,059CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total-$617,551TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,397,109CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,709,060CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,389,245CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,495,414TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$105,585,138TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$633,760,094GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.80170PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.81200PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$402,083AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$211,786,418BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,224,831ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$13,749,987InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,392,778OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$193,868,484EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$206,199,053BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,730,924ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,702,829InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,846,388OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$211,786,418EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$175,036,306BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$9,937,514ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$28,400,349InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,175,116OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$206,199,053EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$163,587,087BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,318,541ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$13,857,992InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,727,314OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$175,036,306EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$166,265,929BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,482,293ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$813,518InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,347,617OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$163,587,087EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.16560BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.71600PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.11840TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$23,817,129OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$23,817,129BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$244,635,640OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$87,407,420DepreciationAmt
Book Value$157,228,220BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$33,221,628OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$21,542,489DepreciationAmt
Book Value$11,679,139BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,717,601OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,717,601BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$202,442,089TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
LIMITED PARTNERSHIPS AND HEDGE FUNDS$82,271,005F
MORTGAGES, LAND CONTRACTS & OTHER$21,958,792F
PRIVATE EQUITY, ALTERNATIVES, OTHER$28,040,473F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$132,270,270TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ANNUITIES PAYABLE & TRUSTS$7,368,161
ACCUMULATED POST-RETIREMENT BENEFITS$10,058,877
REFUNDABLE FEDERAL PERKINS LOAN ADVANCES$5,755,239
STUDENTS AND OTHER DEPOSITS$2,064,245
ACCRUED LIABILITIES$5,155,416
INTERST RATE SWAP$7,206,147
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$37,608,085TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$98,901,322TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$11,898,374NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$9,047DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue-$3,665,624OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$15,554,951RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$114,456,273RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$847,771InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$34,699,611OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$35,547,382RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$150,003,655TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$114,714,494TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$9,047DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$9,047ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$114,705,447ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$847,771InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$34,699,611OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$35,547,382ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$150,252,829TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:HOPE COLLEGE, THROUGH THE CONSTRUCTION (2004-05) OF THE MARTHA MILLER CENTER FOR INTERNATIONAL COMMUNICATIONS, HAS PURCHASED $79,000 IN PIECES OF ART THAT ARE ON PERMANENT DISPLAY IN THIS BUILDING. IN FALL OF 2015, HOPE COLLEGE OPENED THE KRUIZENGA ART MUSEUM. STRATEGIC PIECES OF ART WERE PURCHASED TO PUT ON DISPLAY IN THE ART GALLERY WHICH WILL ASSIST THE COLLEGE'S ART, HISTORY, AND CULTURAL HERITAGE CURRICULUM.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGES IN VALUE OF SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENT -519,331. CHANGE IN VALUE OF SWAP AGREEMENTS -2,442,340. CHANGE IN POST RETIREMENT -703,953.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INSTITUTIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS & FELLOWSHIPS 34,699,611.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INSTITUTIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS & FELLOWSHIPS 34,699,611.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY STATEMENT IS INCLUDED ON VARIOUS PUBLICITY & POLICY STATEMENTS, INCLUDING OUR WEBSITE & TELEVISION ADS, AS WELL AS OUR CATALOG & STUDENT HANDBOOK, WHICH IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6HOPE COLLEGE RECEIVES GRANTS AND FINANCIAL AID FROM VARIOUS FEDERAL AND STATE AGENCIES THAT ARE USED IN THE FURTHERANCE OF THE COLLEGE'S EXEMPT PURPOSE OF PROVIDING QUALITY EDUCATION.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (11 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
EAST ASIA & PACIFIC00PROGRAM SERVICESSTUDENT RECRUITMENT/SUMMER TERM COURSES$11,492
EUROPE00PROGRAM SERVICESSUMMER TERM COURSES$494,570
EUROPE00PROGRAM SERVICESRESEARCH$5,561
NORTH AMERICA00PROGRAM SERVICESRESEARCH$6,135
NORTH AMERICA00PROGRAM SERVICESSUMMER TERM COURSES$2,207
SOUTH AMERICA00PROGRAM SERVICESSTUDENT IMMERSION TRIP$7,000
SOUTH ASIA00PROGRAM SERVICESRESEARCH$1,805
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA00PROGRAM SERVICESRESEARCH$4,108
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA00PROGRAM SERVICESSTUDENT IMMERSION TRIP$10,636
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA00PROGRAM SERVICESSUMMER TERM COURSES$64,135
EUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND & GREENLAND)00DIRECT FOREIGN INVESTMENTN/A$286,555
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$532,878SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$361,326ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$894,204TotalSpentAmt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (7 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtDescription Of Non Cash AsstDescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN7$144,610SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSEAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC46$544,047SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSEUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND & GREENLAND)8$195,650SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSMIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA2$81,887SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSNORTH AMERICA1$30,370SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSSOUTH ASIA1$13,000SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
SCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSSUB-SAHARAN AFRICA13$254,357SCHOLARSHIPSN/A
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIP - TUITION/BOOKSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2811RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$33,435,690NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceSCHOLARSHIPSNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHOPE SCHOLARSHIP/GRANT FUNDS ARE DISBURSED TO THE RECIPIENT UPON PROOF OF ELIGILIBITY (I.E. FINANCIAL NEED OR ACADEMIC MERIT) AND UPON PROOF OF EXPENSE INCURRED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOHN C KNAPP
PRESIDENT$314,382$0$0$0$11,636$0$27,825$0$47,351$0$401,194$0$0$0
THOMAS BYLSMA
CFO$189,889$0$0$0$6,832$0$19,929$0$22,162$0$238,812$0$0$0
RICHARD RAY
PROVOST$186,000$0$0$0$3,840$0$19,530$0$12,830$0$222,200$0$0$0
RICHARD A FROST
VP OF STUDENT DEVELOPMENT$149,522$0$0$0$3,840$0$15,094$0$44,502$0$212,958$0$0$0
WILLIAM VANDERBILT
VP FOR ADMISSIONS$169,000$0$0$0$3,840$0$17,745$0$15,479$0$206,064$0$0$0
RICHARD J PUCKETT
VP FOR DEVELOPMENT$244,612$0$0$0$3,840$0$2,018$0$30,975$0$281,445$0$0$0
JENNIFER G FELLINGER
VP OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS/MKTG$142,500$0$0$0$3,840$0$7,613$0$15,256$0$169,209$0$0$0
TODD P STEEN
FACULTY$139,629$0$0$0$0$0$14,084$0$11,577$0$165,290$0$0$0
GREG MAYBURY
DIRECTOR OF PHYSICAL PLANT$139,523$0$0$0$0$0$14,650$0$16,395$0$170,568$0$0$0
PETER SCHAKEL
FACULTY$131,707$0$0$0$0$0$13,829$0$5,214$0$150,750$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE PRESIDENT IS REQUIRED TO LIVE ON CAMPUS AS PART OF HIS EMPLOYMENT WITH THE COLLEGE. INCLUDED IN NONTAXABLE BENEFITS IS THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE USAGE OF THE PRESIDENT'S HOME WHICH IS VALUED AT $28,185. THE COLLEGE PROVIDES ANNUAL MEMBERSHIPS TO A LOCAL MARINA AND GOLF CLUB AS A WAY TO PROMOTE THE COLLEGE. THE VALUES OF THESE MEMBERSHIPS ARE $10,255 AND $9,427 REPSECTIVELY AND ARE SPLIT BETWEEN TAXABLE INCOME AND OTHER NON-TAXABLE INCOME ($9,043/$1,212) AND ($2,992/$6,435).ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITY
A800595186NONEAVAIL2010-12-17$10,200,000SEE PART VI000
THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION OF THE COUNTY OF OTTAWA
B386004883NONEAVAIL2011-12-14$10,000,000SEE PART VI000
MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITY
C800595186NONEAVAIL2012-03-28$11,220,000SEE PART VI000
MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITY
D800595186NONEAVAIL2013-08-08$16,255,000SEE PART VI000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr
A$5,240,000$10,200,000$10,200,000Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$3,895,000$10,000,000$9,998,9600Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)$1,040
C$40,000$11,220,000$6,220,000Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$5,000,0002014
D$1,920,000$16,255,000$16,255,000Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceCBondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A00Yes (1)0Yes (1)0000
B0Yes (1)Yes (1)0Yes (1)0000
C0Yes (1)00Yes (1)0000
D0Yes (1)Yes (1)0Yes (1)0000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0
C0
D0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, ROW A(1), COLUMN F:THE PURPOSE OF THE BONDS ISSUED ON DECEMBER 17, 2010 IS TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE MICHIGAN HIGHER EDUCATION FACILITIES AUTHORITY ("MHEFA") LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE REFUNDING BONDS (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), SERIES 1999, DATED MARCH 24, 1999.
PART I, ROW B(1), COLUMN F:THE PURPOSE OF THE BONDS ISSUED ON DECEMBER 14, 2011 IS TO ADVANCE REFUND A PORTION OF THE MHEFA LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE BONDS (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), SERIES 2002A, DATED MAY 7, 2002 (THE "SERIES 2002A BONDS").
PART I, ROW C(1), COLUMN F:THE PURPOSE OF THE BONDS ISSUED ON MARCH 28, 2012 IS (A) TO CURRENTLY REFUND A PORTION OF THE SERIES 2002A BONDS, AND (B) TO PAY THE COSTS OF THE ACQUISITION, CONSTRUCTION, FURNISHING AND EQUIPPING OF STUDENT HOUSING FACILITIES AND THE RENOVATION, REFURNISHING AND RE-EQUIPPING OF DINING FACILITIES AT PHELPS HALL AND RELATED PARKING AND SITE IMPROVEMENTS.
PART I, ROW D(1), COLUMN F:THE PURPOSE OF THE BONDS ISSUED ON AUGUST 8, 2013 IS TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE MHEFA VARIABLE RATE DEMAND LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE BONDS (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), SERIES 2002B, DATED MAY 7, 2002.
PART I, ROW A(2), COLUMN F:THE PURPOSE OF THE BONDS ISSUED ON MAY 28, 2015 (THE "SERIES 2015 BONDS") IS TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE MICHIGAN HIGHER EDUCATION FACILITIES AUTHORITY ("MHEFA") VARIABLE RATE DEMAND LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE AND REVENUE REFUNDING BONDS (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), SERIES 2004, DATED JULY 28, 2004 (THE "SERIES 2004 BONDS"). THE SERIES 2004 BONDS WERE ISSUED (A) TO CURRENTLY REFUND (I) A PORTION OF THE MHEFA LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE AND REVENUE REFUNDING BONDS, SERIES 1994 (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), DATED JUNE 16,1994 (THE "SERIES 1994 BONDS"), AND (II) THE MHEFA LIMITED OBLIGATION REVENUE BONDS (HOPE COLLEGE PROJECT), SERIES 1996B, DATED JUNE 4, 1996 (THE "SERIES 1996 BONDS"), (B) TO PAY THE COST OF CONSTRUCTING, EQUIPPING, AND FURNISHING THE DEVOS FIELD HOUSE AND THE MARTHA MILLER CENTER FOR GLOBAL COMMUNICATIONS, AND RENOVATING GRAVES HALL, LUBBER HALL AND THE DOW CENTER, (C) TO PAY CAPITALIZED INTEREST ON THE NEW MONEY PORTION OF THE BONDS, AND (D) TO PAY THE COSTS OF ISSUING AND SECURING THE BONDS.
PART III(1), LINE 3A(C):THERE IS A FOOD SERVICE CONTRACT THAT QUALIFIES FOR THE SAFE HARBOR UNDER REV. PROC. 97-13.
PART III(2), LINE 3A(A):THERE IS A FOOD SERVICE CONTRACT THAT QUALIFIES FOR THE SAFE HARBOR UNDER REV. PROC. 97-13.
PART III(1):PART III IS NOT COMPLETED FOR COLUMN A, COLUMN B, THE PORTION OF THE COLUMN C THAT IS ALLOCATED TO REFUNDING THE SERIES 2002A BONDS AND COLUMN D, ALL OF WHICH RELATE TO BONDS WHICH WERE ISSUED BEFORE 2003 OR REFUNDED BONDS ISSUED BEFORE 2003.
PART III(2):PART III IS NOT COMPLETED FOR THE PORTION OF COLUMN A WHICH IS ALLOCATED TO THE PORTION OF THE SERIES 2015 BONDS WHICH REFUNDED THE PORTION OF THE SERIES 2004 BONDS WHICH REFUNDED THE SERIES 1994 BONDS AND THE SERIES 1996 BONDS, BOTH OF WHICH WERE ISSUED PRIOR TO 2003.
PART IV(1), LINE 2B(C):IT HAS NOT YET BEEN DETERMINED WHETHER THE BONDS ISSUED ON MARCH 28, 2012 WILL QUALIFY FOR AN EXCEPTION TO REBATE.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN800595186BondIssuerEIN
CUSIPNONEAVAILCUSIPNum
Bond Issued2015-05-28BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$13,940,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSEE PART VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,200,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$13,940,000TotalProceedsAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$13,940,000OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Current RefundingYes (1)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebateYes (1)ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
EMILIE D WIERDA
SEE PART V$321,469SEE PART V0
RICHARD A FROST
SEE PART V$10,436,085SEE PART V0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCH L, PART IV, BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS INVOLVING INTERESTED PERSONS:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanation(A) NAME OF PERSON: EMILIE D. WIERDA(B) RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN INTERESTED PERSON AND ORGANIZATION: EMILIE D. WIERDA IS A BOARD MEMBER OF HOPE COLLEGE(C) AMOUNT OF TRANSACTION $321,469(D) DESCRIPTION OF TRANSACTION: EMILIE D. WIERDA IS A BOARD MEMBER OF HOPE COLLEGE AND IS THE DAUGHTER OF ELSA PRINCE BROEKHUIZEN WHO IS THE MAJORITY OWNER OF LUMIR CORPORATION FROM WHOM THE COLLEGE RENTS STUDENT HOUSING.(E) SHARING OF ORGANIZATION REVENUES? = NO(A) NAME OF PERSON: RICHARD A. FROST(B) RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN INTERESTED PERSON AND ORGANIZATION: RICHARD A. FROST IS A KEY EMPLOYEE OF HOPE COLLEGE(C) AMOUNT OF TRANSACTION $10,436,085(D) DESCRIPTION OF TRANSACTION: RICHARD A. FROST IS A KEY EMPLOYEE OF HOPE COLLEGE AND IS THE CHAIRPERSON OF CREATIVE DINING SERVICES. FINANCIAL ARRANGEMENT IS COMPETITIVELY PRICED. (E) SHARING OF ORGANIZATION REVENUES? = NOExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution13ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$157,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Books And Publications BooksAndPublicationsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$18,265NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution87ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,227,596NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesNYSE - FMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$160,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (4 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)DRYWALL AND FLOORING1$50,000FMV
Yes (X)PIANOS2$20,000FMV
Yes (X)OTHER6$6,609FMV
Yes (X)WATERFOWL COLLECTION1$3,060FMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 32B:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION USES A STOCK BROKER TO SELL SECURITIES SHORTLY AFTER RECEIPT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11MEMBERS OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ARE PROVIDED WITH A REASONABLE OPPORTUNITY TO REVIEW AND COMMENT TO EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP ON THE FORM 990 OF HOPE COLLEGE BEFORE IT IS FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. FURTHER, THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP OF HOPE COLLEGE PROVIDES THE MINUTES OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FORM 990 REVIEW TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SHOWING AN OVERVIEW OF THE HIGHLIGHTS AT THE NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING FOLLOWING THE FILING OF THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CMEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PREPARE AND SIGN CONFLICT STATEMENTS ANNUALLY. THESE STATEMENTS ARE REVIEWED AND PROVIDED TO TRUSTEE MEMBERS AT THE OCTOBER BOARD OF TRUSTEE MEETING TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONFLICT POLICY. MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE WITH A PERSONAL INVOLVEMENT IN A PARTICULAR DECISION WILL EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM DISCUSSION LEADING TO A DECISION AND FROM THE DECISION ITSELF, AND THIS DISCLOSURE AND ABSENCE WILL BE NOTED IN THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES (BOT) APPROVES A RECOMMENDED COMPENSATION INCREASE BROUGHT TO THE BOT FROM THE CFO. THE COMPENSATION INCREASE IS HIGHLY CORRELATED TO THE TUITION INCREASE APPROVED FOR THE FOLLOWING ACADEMIC YEAR. THE RATES RECOMMENDED ARE DETERMINED BY LOOKING AT THE FOLLOWING FACTORS: COST OF LIVING (CPI), CUPA (COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION) SURVEYS, AND THE LAKESHORE HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION SURVEYS - WHICH IS A CHAPTER OF THE SOCIETY OF HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT (SHRM). SINCE WE ARE NOT A UNION" SCHOOL WE DO NOT HAVE DELIBERATION BUT IF DISCUSSION DOES OCCUR DURING THE BOT APPROVAL PROCESS, IT WOULD BE DOCUMENTED IN THE BOT MINUTES FOR THAT SPECIFIC MEETING. THE CEO'S (PRESIDENT'S) COMPENSATION IS BASED UPON A RECOMMENDATION FROM THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND IS THEN APPROVED BY THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES. COMPARISON DATA IS USED ALONG WITH EVALUATION OF PERFORMANCE IN THEIR DECISION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18THE ORGANIZATION MAKES FORM 990 AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN SPLIT VALUE INTEREST AGREEMENTS -519,331. CHANGE IN POST RETIREMENT -703,953. CHANGE IN VALUE OF SWAP AGREEMENTS -2,442,340.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE OVERSIGHT PROCESS FOR THE AUDIT HAS NOT CHANGED SINCE LAST YEAR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.