CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-0495567)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-09-28
IRS object ID
201842719349300969
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-09-28T15:56:34-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN382492570PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOEREN MAYHEWBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line112060 S W 129TH COURT STE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityMIAMICityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP331864582ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN380495567EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOW CHEMICAL EMPLOYEES' CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlDOWCBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9898357794PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON RDAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDENNIS HANSONPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9898357794PhoneNum
Signature2018-08-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDOUGLAS J ORTHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01076394PTIN
Phone3052328272PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address174.228.138.66IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-08-12IPDt
IP Tm22:18:53IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA7DB26C3BB201601930FCFA0C4651552B54C26A2AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2018-06-14 16:35:46ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDENNIS HANSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON RDAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$230,702,677GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1359GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.DCECU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionDOW CHEMICAL EMPLOYEES' CREDIT UNION IS A PRINCIPLES-BASED FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE COMMITTED TO EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE, CONVENIENCE, VALUE AND SECURITY OPERATING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee173TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,000,662TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$82,508NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,685,172PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$25,419,612CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$10,698,923PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$12,104,462CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$983,797PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,000,662CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$34,367,892PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$38,524,736CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,147,784PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,480,682CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$22,654,245PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$25,730,388CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,802,029PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,211,070CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$565,863PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,313,666CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,528,730,587TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,638,260,455TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,364,412,308TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,467,766,188TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$164,318,279NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$170,494,267NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionDOW CHEMICAL EMPLOYEES' CREDIT UNION IS A PRINCIPLES-BASED FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE COMMITTED TO EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE, CONVENIENCE, VALUE AND SECURITY OPERATING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescDOW CHEMICAL EMPLOYEES' CREDIT UNION IS A MICHIGAN STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION PROVIDING APPROXIMATELY 61,000 MEMBERS WITH AFFORDABLE LOAN ACCOUNT SERVICES, SAVINGS, CHECKING ACCOUNTS, AND VARIOUS ELECTRONIC BASED SERVICES INCLUDING ATM ACCESS AND ONLINE BANKING. AS A COOPERATIVE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION WE STRIVE TO PROVIDE OUTSTANDING MEMBER VALUE AND ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING SERVICES AND SOLUTIONS THAT WILL IMPROVE OUR MEMBERS' FINANCIAL LIFE. WE OFFER LOWER RATES ON LOANS, HIGHER RATES ON DEPOSITS AND CHARGE VERY FEW/LOW SERVICE FEES. WE HAVE SERVED OUR MEMBERS FOR OVER 80 YEARS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document33078IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee173EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MICHAEL GOAD CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9898357794PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
GARY MCGUIRE
CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK FENSKE
VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHEAL KAPP
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DUNCAN STUART
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA MCKENNEY
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PERRY HOLMON
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT KASPRZYK
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY TATE
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK BACHMAN
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS HANSON
PRESIDENT/CEO40.00$503,289$0$38,470Yes (X)
ARTHUR PETERS
COO40.00$314,869$0$25,144Yes (X)
BARBARA JUNGA
VP OF FINANCE40.00$255,658$0$41,611Yes (X)
KENNETH ROZNOWSKI
VP OF LENDING40.00$232,615$0$30,916Yes (X)
SHEILA WRIGHT
SR. DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESO40.00$181,763$0$30,674Yes (X)
NORMAN M ZUREICH
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION40.00$145,247$0$17,892Yes (X)
LISA GRAY
DIRECTOR OF COMPLIANCE40.00$143,770$0$15,172Yes (X)
SUSAN VALLEY
DIRECTOR OF REMOTE SERVICE40.00$135,688$0$17,387Yes (X)
ALISON TAYLOR
CONTROLLER40.00$125,020$0$26,138Yes (X)
JOHN COSTELLO
DIRECTOR OF LENDING40.00$141,778$0$21,480Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,179,697TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$264,884TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K13IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES
PO BOX 609MONETTMO65708SOFTWARE LICENSES & MAINTENANCE$845,403
SENTINEL TECHNOLOGIES INC
PO BOX 85080CHICAGOIL606800851TELECOM AND DATA MANAGEMENT$635,809
AGP & ASSOCIATES INC
3562 RIDGECREST DRMIDLANDMI48642MARKETING AND ADVERTISING$535,200
PCM SARCOM
FILE 55327LOS ANGELESCA900745327IT NETWORK AND SYSTEMS HARDWARE AND SOFT$406,908
BUSINESS DATA INC
PO BOX 6081INGLEWOODCA903126081MEMBER STATEMENTS & NOTICES$376,874
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INCOME ON MEMBER LOANS522100$18,123,860$18,123,860
FEES AND CHARGES522100$7,295,752$7,295,752
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$25,419,612TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,398,715TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$12,398,715ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$191,674,542SecuritiesAmt
Other$209,146OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$191,972,267SecuritiesAmt
Other$205,674OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$297,725SecuritiesAmt
Other$3,472OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$294,253TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$294,253RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INVESTMENT/INSURANCE FEES525990$509,003$509,003
NON-MEMBER ATM FEES525990$491,659$491,659
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,000,662OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,524,736TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,125,359RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,000,662UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$12,398,715ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,655,009TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,518,173TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$697,573TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,955,499TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$654,428TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$629,345TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,093TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$141,882TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,233TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,028,804TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,073,230TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$623,483TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$549,044TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,388TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,190,826TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,933TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,583,400TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$112,965TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN EXPENSE$2,767,985
VISA/DEBIT/CREDIT$1,874,871
EQUIPMENT RENTAL AND MA$1,771,495
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$1,248,000

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$916,411TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,211,070TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,765,084BOYAmt
EOY$6,913,584EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,914,211BOYAmt
EOY$142,193,889EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$831,754,740BOYAmt
EOY$888,578,363EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$849,550BOYAmt
EOY$983,800EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$23,749,007LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$14,635,784LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,569,711BOYAmt
EOY$9,113,223EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$593,655,090BOYAmt
EOY$558,736,086EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,403,364BOYAmt
EOY$5,498,771EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,818,837BOYAmt
EOY$26,242,739EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,528,730,587BOYAmt
EOY$1,638,260,455EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,552,107BOYAmt
EOY$35,935,080EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$3,500,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,325,860,201BOYAmt
EOY$1,428,331,108EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,364,412,308BOYAmt
EOY$1,467,766,188EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$164,318,279BOYAmt
EOY$170,494,267EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$164,318,279BOYAmt
EOY$170,494,267EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,528,730,587BOYAmt
EOY$1,638,260,455EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,313,666ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$4,700,024NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$162,298OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$314,161OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$314,161BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,802,791OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,721,263DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,081,528BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,632,055OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,914,521DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,717,534BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$9,113,223TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARE ACCOUNTS$308,325,623
HI YIELD DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS$682,309,652
SHARE DRAFT ACCOUNTS$178,355,032
HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNTS$2,670,006
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT$256,670,795
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,428,331,108TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,524,132TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,524,132RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$604OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$604RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$38,524,736TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,210,466TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$604OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$604ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$37,211,070ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,211,070TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE (IRC SECTION 501(C)(14)), FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. MANY STATES HAVE SIMILAR LAWS. THE SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF SECTION 512 TO THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS. IN 2007, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) ISSUED A SERIES OF TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDA (TAM) TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL INCOME TAX LIABILITY. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY ARISING FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL CONDITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION REMAINS SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION FOR INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR YEARS ENDED AFTER DECEMBER 31, 2013.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GAINS FROM THE SALE OF OREO REPORTED AS PART OF NET NON-INTEREST EXPENSES WITHIN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GAINS FROM THE SALE OF OREO REPORTED AS PART OF NET NON-INTEREST EXPENSES I WITHIN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DENNIS HANSON
PRESIDENT/CEO$414,587$0$88,702$0$0$0$26,600$0$11,870$0$541,759$0$0$0
ARTHUR PETERS
COO$245,944$0$67,725$0$1,200$0$24,594$0$550$0$340,013$0$0$0
BARBARA JUNGA
VP OF FINANCE$218,910$0$36,748$0$0$0$29,236$0$12,375$0$297,269$0$0$0
KENNETH ROZNOWSKI
VP OF LENDING$196,438$0$36,177$0$0$0$19,046$0$11,870$0$263,531$0$0$0
SHEILA WRIGHT
SR. DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESO$159,615$0$22,148$0$0$0$15,962$0$14,712$0$212,437$0$0$0
NORMAN M ZUREICH
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION$131,931$0$13,316$0$0$0$12,684$0$5,208$0$163,139$0$0$0
LISA GRAY
DIRECTOR OF COMPLIANCE$130,752$0$13,018$0$0$0$12,975$0$2,197$0$158,942$0$0$0
SUSAN VALLEY
DIRECTOR OF REMOTE SERVICE$123,323$0$12,365$0$0$0$12,179$0$5,208$0$153,075$0$0$0
ALISON TAYLOR
CONTROLLER$113,687$0$11,333$0$0$0$11,369$0$14,769$0$151,158$0$0$0
JOHN COSTELLO
DIRECTOR OF LENDING$132,283$0$9,495$0$0$0$9,661$0$11,819$0$163,258$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPARTICIPANTSIN A SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN (SECTION 457(F)): BARBARA JUNGA - $7,943 CONTRIBUTIONExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ANY INDIVIDUAL THAT HAS AN ACCOUNT WITH THE CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE CREDIT UNION IS MEMBER OWNED AND EACH MEMBER IS ABLE TO ELECT THE VOLUNTEER BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHERE ARE CERTAIN REQUIREMENTS OF THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT THAT REQUIRE A VOTE OF THE MEMBERSHIP. NORMAL COURSE OF BUSINESS DOES NOT REQUIRE MEMBER APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BCERTAIN MEMBERS OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT PERFORM THEIR REVIEW OF THE FORM 990 IN ITS DRAFT FORM. ONCE ALL NECESSARY REVISIONS ARE MADE, A COPY OF THE REVISED FORM 990 IS REVIEWED WITH THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN. ADDITIONALLY, THE VERSION OF THE FORM APPROVED BY MANAGEMENT AND THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN IS PROVIDED TO EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO ELECTRONIC FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, ALL EMPLOYEES RECEIVE TRAINING TO REVIEW THE STANDARDS OF CONDUCT POLICY AND ALL EMPLOYEES ARE ASKED TO SIGN A STATEMENT DISCLOSING ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN AND AN OFFICER REVIEW ANY DISCLOSURES AND TAKE APPLICABLE ACTION, AS NEEDED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE CREDIT UNION UTILIZES A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE FOR ALL STAFF MEMBERS' COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS, INCLUDING EXECUTIVE PAY/PROGRAMS. WE UTILIZE AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO PROVIDE COMPARABILITY DATA AND FINAL APPROVAL OF COMPENSATION IS GIVEN BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19WE POST OUR MONTHLY FINANCIALS IN THE LOBBY AND OUR ANNUAL REPORT IS ON THE WEBSITE. BYLAWS WOULD BE AVAILABLE TO A MEMBER UPON REQUEST. BOARD POLICIES ARE NOT USUALLY MADE AVAILABLE. IF REQUESTED, WE WOULD EXPLAIN THE POLICY VS. MAKING COPIES AVAILABLE.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24EATM EXPENSE 400,613. MISC. EXP 210,938. TRAINING/DEVELOPMENT/EDUCATION 197,485. SHARE DRAFT/BILL PAY EXPENSE 107,375.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL GAINS/(LOSSES) 425,923. RECLASSIFICATION OF UNREALIZED GAINS/(LOSSES) ON THE SALE OF SECURITIES -263,625.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 2CTHE PROCESS THAT THE COMMITTEE GOES THROUGH FOR ASSUMING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.